2nd September – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. More than a Handful – Kill 77 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2310 cR
  2. Sweep the Leg – Perform an assassination in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1000 cR
  3. Streaky Shooter – Earn 3 Sprees in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1000 cR
  4. I Need Some Ammo – Complete a Campaign mission on Heroic or harder with the Famine skull on – 1250 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

More than a Handful – Kill 77 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2310 cR

Multi Team Battle or Grifball are the best ways to get lots and lots of kills, you tend to get more than any other modes. If you play Crazy King or Oddball you can get even more as some people who would shoot you go for the objective, and you can take them out. Seasoned Grifball players will also be able to get this in only a game or two, and if you can make an area in an Infection game defensible as a human you can rack up kills quickly. But looking at the other challenges you can get most of this done just with them.

Sweep the Leg – Perform an assassination in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1000 cR

So many options for assassinations – you can stealth it and hide somewhere to take someone out as they run past (Sword Base’s hallways, Pinnacle and Uncaged in the lofts etc). You can play Halo Ball Extreme (my favourite for this) as the massive map often means you’ll end up with someone not knowing you’re behind them at some point. Or just play normally – if you find someone AFK then you’re quids in. I found this week Multi-Team Slayer is excellent for Assassinations when you’re on a smaller map (Asylum) as you’ll invariably end up being able to take someone roughly from behind.

Streaky Shooter – Earn 3 Sprees in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1000 cR

This should apply to any spree, not just kills. So you can get sprees using:

  • Hammer
  • Shotgun
  • Sniper Rifle
  • Plasma Grenade sticks
  • Sword
  • Vehicles (two here – kills in vehicle where you do the killing, and kills as driver with passenger killing)
  • Spartan Laser
  • Assists
  • Some for specific variants of Juggernaut, Invasion and Infection

See the list on Halopedia for everything, especially as you can get 3 spree medals for each type. My recommendation – go for a weapon that allows you an easy spree, personally a Shotgun or Sword work for me. If you can take out 5 dudes you should get two sprees – one for 5 kills and one for the weapon (ie Grifball). Infection can be excellent for the number of medals you get per Zombie kill so if you can defend one position on your own or in a team you’ll get this easily.

I Need Some Ammo – Complete a Campaign mission on Heroic or harder with the Famine skull on – 1250 cR

Oh no, limited ammo, woe is me! Or… do the same for this 1250 as you did for the 30343 credits for the weekly challenge – run Nightfall, get this done in 7 minutes, tops. As a guide to Nightfall speed run I’ve picked this video off Youtube randomly, but there are hundreds like it. In fact we have further options and details on the time we did it in LASO on this Weekly Challenge page and comments. There are other levels you may be more familiar with, but honestly, you can do this in 5-6 minutes with minimal stress.

40 Responses to 2nd September – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    Hahahaha!!!!
    “as you’ll invariably end up being able to take someone roughly from behind.”
    Hahaha!!!! Wrong way to put it Matthew 😛

    Anyway I find rumble pit to be the best for assassinations, I average about 4 a game in that.

    Noobwarrier, when were you thinking of having our round for the tournament, im availiable all weekend, but I’m in Australia, so timezones may be a hassle…

    • Noobwarrior523 says:

      Galahad, We are doin it sometime saturday or Sunday…..might only be able to get on late EST tonight, most people can pretty much do it anytime on the weekend, so I just have to think of a time

  2. Woody says:

    Looks like this is a Grifball day for me. Hopefully my teammates won’t be as unorganized as the team I had in Classic Oddball yesterday. I had the most embarrassing defeat ever, losing 200-to-2.

  3. HC Sangheili says:

    Pizza is just like s3x; even when it”s bad,it’s good.

    Add anything to my coffee and it’s like s3x in a canoe; f*ckin close to water.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Wrong. And wrong. Bad pizza exists, as does bad s3x. As for adding things to coffee, simple; use a bigger mug! 😀

      • Matthew Vose says:

        Bigger mug just means I fit in more black coffee!!

        Although I don’t need any today after sampling some of the delights from a care package I got sent that included laffy taffy, pixie sticks, Chips Ahoy chocofudge and BBMTs.

        Bouncing a little from the sugar high now XD

    • bahahahaha. my new favorite comment for sure. 😀

  4. gans42 says:

    is it just me or have the challenges been really easy these past few days (not complaining, just observing)

    • Scruff 815 says:

      I like easy.

      I wouldn’t read too much into it though; I’m 90% sure that the daily challenges are selected at random by some crazy automatic machinery. Give it a few days and Flat Tire will be back, it’s almost a certainty 😉

    • Woody says:

      They’re all easy so far, but I’m sure we will run across some that will be aggravating.

  5. Scruff 815 says:

    I did the Campaign challenge during my morning coffee. Awesome. The others can wait until tonight, when I should be on for a few solid hours, yay! Speaking of which, TheOneInYellow – is tonight good for everyone for our tourny game?

    Also thanks to everyone for last night’s game night, even though I didn’t show up until 11.30pm, and particular thanks for all the teabagging. How kind of y’all.

    Now I must flee before the inevitable 2,000 comments start flooding in. Agh.

    • lolgtfoplz says:

      I’m good for tonight, as long as its after 1600 eastern time.

    • sorry i bugged out and missed you when i came back.

      bad news was indeed very bad news. 😦

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Crap 😦 Email me?

      • yup, already did. 😦

      • 'Cos says:

        @ Snickerdoodle

        Thanks for playing last night. You always make the games more fun. Also wanted to let you know you are in my thoughts, and hope today is a bit better for you. Take care and be well.

        I had much fun last night, so ‘thanks’ goes out to all i played with. (Too many to name – you know who you are.) Hoping to play with ya’ll next week to check out some new maps, if not sooner. Best of luck to all.

        – seventh dawg

        p.s. ; With relation to the conversation preceeding my comment. That is a YES to all. Pizza, coffee, and “love” are, for the most part, quite incredible. But it is true for anything in this world that as good as one particular type is, there is an equally awful type. This is the law of averages. There is such a thing as bad s$x. Just sayin’…

  6. SensoryFour34 says:

    Sounds like this is a good day to do the Weekly Challenge. Again. Since a lot of people have had it reset, I don’t think I’ll get banned for doing it just one more time. 😉

  7. lolgtfoplz says:

    I obtained 3 of the 4 challanges this morning. just was waiting for the shower to open up. campaign in 4:47, then played a game of rumble pit, got running riot, shotgun spree, sniper spree, etc etc, you know, the usual. so now just have to wait to get home and get 52 more kills. Good luck everrybody

  8. dabuck74 says:

    challenges arent too bad today,actually finished yesterdays and when i logged back on later they were all wiped clean so i did them again,easy credits i suppose!! did this happen for someones weekly? easy 60,000 right there if it did. am still looking to do the weekly w/someone later,just lmk please guys…GT….Dabuck74,thx.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Did this happen to someone’s weekly? I forget. I can’t remember after reading so many comments over the past couple of days about people mentioning their challenges being reset.

      Easy 60,000 credits and an easy rank reset right there! Wooooooooooooooo

      • yes, it’s happened to the weekly for some people. and while it’s obviously not your fault, *I* wouldn’t take advantage of the free credits too much. not saying i wouldn’t do it a second time but past that i’d be very wary.

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        Yeah. I had it reset too. I plan on doing it one more time, but if it resets again, I’m not gonna risk getting banned over 30k.

  9. SANTAANAS says:

    Nice playing my first RDC Game Night with you fun people, even though I lacked a DLC. Scruff, thanks for being cool with the Gentleman’s Teabag. Snickerdoodle, hope you’re doing well. Looking forward to next week.

    • lolgtfoplz says:

      so, the gf, is being a huge bitch, pardon the language but it is minimal as to what i really want to say. so what are you doing tonight? i need to headshot kids and need a good teammate. let me know

  10. Zidane says:

    Not had any of mine ever re set 😦

  11. Zidane says:

    Huge hug Snicks 😦

  12. 3py0nz3r0 says:

    @seventh dawg, SensoryFour34, snickerdoodle, Alina9002, and all the rest that were in and out of our group during last night’s game night , thanks for making my first one a fun one and hope to do some more games with you all in the future! GT: EPYON ZERO.

    @snickerdoodle, I hope hope things are going better for you today! 🙂

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      It was good having you there! It was even better to FINALLY get You Ate All The Chips! 😀 It would’ve been better if we didn’t have someone actually going for kills instead of the achievement, though.

  13. Maybe one of these nights I’ll actually get on early enough to play with some of you. It sounds like you are all having a blast with the game nights, but since I didn’t plan on spending a lot of time ‘on’ last night, I got the dailies done in only 3 games. 2x SA on Holdout, started with the pro-pipe and even took out a Banshee with it! EMP’d it and it fell off the ledge. When I got the kills I didn’t have a DMR, so I wasted several precision kills with the needle rifle, but got my swords in that game. Got more precision kills in Gruntpoc on Glacier, then finished up with Crashsite on Courtyard, which began with nearly a whole group of grunts killing themselves with 2 plasmas. It’s in my file share.

  14. tburk88 says:

    need help with weekly challenge!!! Which mission is easiest and how long does it take?

  15. Well, 12,000cR left to go to get to Nova. I was almost done with Reach for the night but since im so close, me and my girlfriend are going to do 2 more games of FF Doubles Arcade. I usually get between 6,000-8,000 cR per game. Nova here we come!!!! 😉

    • 'Cos says:

      Congrats to you…in advance. Hopefully i will be ‘Nova’ soon, so don’t get too lonely. Maybe we’ll actually play together one day. The higher up we both rank, the greater the chance i suppose. Best of luck the rest of the way. Wanna race to Inheritor? *laughing*

      – seventh dawg

      • LoL! Thanks! Yeah we hit Nova about an hour ago. We usually rank up once every month or so, but here lately its been taking a little longer since were so high up. Its definately going to take a while to get to Forerunner!

      • Oh and Cos, if you wanna play with me or my son just add us. If you send me an invite and i dont join, its probably my son playing. He doesnt pay much attention to my messages. LoL.

Leave a Reply

