Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 5th September

This week’s challenge is below, click Read More to view the commentary:

The Pillar of Autumn: LASO – Complete The Pillar of Autumn, Legendary, All Skulls On (LASO) – 17777 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

With all the Campaign challenges in LD (and last week’s incredibly difficult weekly) I’m not overly surprised at this.

If any of you read the book ‘The Fall of Reach’ you’ll know this is where the two stories wildly deviate. Honestly I preferred the story in the novel, however this climax is very well done. The biggest disappointment – you can’t take on, or steal, a Covvie Scarab. That would’ve been a lot of fun!

The basic concept for the challenge is complete the mission on close to Mythic difficulty (Mythic is all of this challenge, in solo, without dying). I won’t post a full walkthrough here, because frankly the best one you can use is actually on Halo.Bungie.Org by Tyrant. As usual with these if you do die then quickly pause, save and exit, then restart from last checkpoint, so you don’t go back to the start of the mission.

Usually now you don’t need the Blind skull on – as ever can I get confirmation of this in the comments please?

If you have any tips on how to complete this challenge more easily, please throw them in the comments section for everyone to use.

If you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries it’s easy… you can follow on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

76 Responses to Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 5th September

  1. mickoboy90 says:

    another LASO???c’mon…i hate LASO challenges so bloody much..oh well,i get a week off halo reach to do more bad company 2 😀

  2. Braythor says:

    Nope, not keen, no thanks, definitely not, don’t wanna, I’ll pass, jog on…I’m never doing Pillar LASO ever again, I still remember the nightmare that is the holdout map section. It’d have to be 100K cR at LEAST to get me to even consider it.

    Good luck to those that do go for it.

    • Peggy Peggy says:

      Totally agree, the three waves are nigh on impossible!
      Was hoping they’d keep a Campaign, Firefight, Multiplayer rotation for the weekly challenges!

    • Krandyt says:

      I’ll second that there’s no way I’m doing this again I still have nightmares about last time! Think I’ll take the week to play the new daus ex seeing as how my girlfriend took all the hints and bought it for me, still good luck to everyone else willing to do this weekly!

      • Nick686 says:

        Pillar is hard enough just on legendary, let alone with LASO. I agree, at least 75 k, if not more. They gave us 30 k last week for somthing waaay easier than this

  3. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    Is there anyone (preferably from Australia) that will want to do this on Thursday? Schools in Australia are striking then, so a full day without school and as much Xbox as I want!
    If there is anyone, just reply to this, I will be avaloa or from 9am Thursday morning (Australia = GMT 9)
    Thanks!

  4. AceRay96 says:

    I accept the challenge 343, especially since I’ve done this solo once before.

  5. AceRay96 says:

    I think the credit pay out should be at least 77,777 though…..

  6. Scruff 815 says:

    Last week: 30,343 cR for 4 minutes work.
    This week: 17,777 cR for several hours work.
    Today’s dailies if you do ’em all, including game completion cR: 30,000+, in a couple of hours.

    No thanks! 😀

  7. zeed says:

    nah pass this one

  8. Zidane says:

    Scruff, Cos, what you like at speed running these 😉 🙂

    • Scruff 815 says:

      I’m awesome. I can do it in 30 seconds flat. Just send me your credit card information and I’ll show you how.

      • Zidane says:

        And the the 3 digits on the back 🙂

      • Scruff 815 says:

        *especially* those three digits.

        To answer your question properly, it’s pretty impossible to speed run anything but Winter Contingency or Nightfall, so I don’t bother with these LASO challenges. The credit reward does not justify the time investment and difficulty level.

      • Zidane says:

        Oh had you down as doing this one Scruff, get the point of not being worth it!! Yesterday I tried doing the daily campaign, chose to be a human shield for the guys I got matched with

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Nah, I didn’t bother with any of the LASO’s except for WC & Nightfall. And won’t, unless they increase the credit amount by 3 or 4 times as much.

  9. gans42 says:

    Im gonna do this, though unlike last time, Im gonna attempt it solo (this way i dont have to do it in one sitting)

    • Sh4rkb41t says:

      Smart move, that was ridiculous the last time we did it. I haven’t decided if i’m gonna go for it but I feel like i’m gonna at least try

  10. MadAmericanTacos says:

    Nope, this is where I check out… LASO and I have never been friends since he started hitting on my girl, granted he had been drinking but that is still no excuse!

  11. Noobwarrior523 says:

    NO I COULDNT BEAT THIS ON REGULAR LEGENDARY(well…..I did….but due to having nothing but a shotgun the last wave of brutes was hell) no weekly for me…….

  12. DFlamer says:

    Nooo way am I doing the weekly. I am skipping out. Why? The credits for completion are terribly miserable for a hard weekly. I hate LASO’s cuz of the iron skull. And like Scruff said, “today’s dailies if u do them all, including game completion, it’s 30,000 credits.” definitely not worth it…. I wish they’d put out a MM weekly…..

  13. Manh says:

    I hated this challenge and didn’t know you could do it without the blind skull on. Somehow managed it but I was close to giving up.

    http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/GameStats.aspx?gameid=627980401&player=ObliviouS%20PoKe

  14. Im sure i will do this sometime this week. Usually when we have a LASO i get it done on Monday, but i may do a little here and there and finish it up at the end of the week. 😉

  15. Braythor says:

    Out of curisosity, what is everyone’s most hated skull on Reach? Personally I loathe the tilt skull. I can deal with pretty much all the others, but tilt just bugs the hell out of me, especially when combined with famine and/or tough luck… It’s the main reason why I never do the LD challenges.

    • gans42 says:

      just use the plasma pistol

    • John says:

      Out of all of them my worst is Blind as I just find it such a pain in the neck.

      For the LASO’s where you don’t have blind it’s probably mythic as it means you can no longer drop Elites with a plasma pistol and a single headshot whereas as with Mythic they’re much more deadly as the plasma shot no longer takes out their shields in one shot. Brutes/hunters also get a crazy amount of health which means they take so much punishment before they drop.

      I did the first LASO but never even bothered trying another as I just find them annoying rather than enjoying the challenge. Last week I did the 9 minute co-op challenge on Sword Base legimately and while it took a few goes the challenge was good in trying to work out routes and timing.

      John

    • Mine is Famine, im really OCD about having full ammo. Im also one of those guys that reloads constantly. 😉

  16. MadAmericanTacos says:

    It might sound petty but I hate the IWHBYD skull cause it is completely pointless in reach. I mean in ODST thecovies would say the funniest stuff like “huddle together for warmth, but no inappropriate touching this time!” In Reach it is just a bunch of alien garble that you can’t understand 😦

  17. Project SHAVE says:

    Just got it done in about 5 minutes. Man I love having all the LASO game saves…

    =D

    • Zidane says:

      5 mins???

      • Scruff 815 says:

        READ MAN, READ!! “Man I love having all the LASO game saves…”

        i.e. he has all the save points at the end of every level, LASO. A couple of other people on here do, too. So you just put in your appropriate memory unit, fire up the Campaign, do the bit between last checkpoint and level end, and boom, challenge complete.

      • Zidane says:

        Scruff, relax just a question!!!!! Wow I thought I was having a bad week!

      • Zidane says:

        And it’s only Monday

    • Dogmeat says:

      I can’t remember if you are storing these on your computer or if you have several thumb/flash drives dedicated to the 360-formatted halo reach “cause.” If they are on the computer, how are you moving them on & off of the thumb drive? Do you have each gamesave in a labeled folder on the computer to keep track of which one corresponds to which level?

      • Project SHAVE says:

        For all of your LASO Weekly needs, I present to you this link: http://www.se7ensins.com/forums/topic/457087-all-missions-laso-gamesaves/

        Follow all the instructions and in 10 minutes or less you will have all the cR and none of the hassle!

        Don’t everybody thank me at once! ;D

      • Hey Shave,
        Doesent this get you *ahem* reset for modding? I know in the guide it says that you can do it once but it sounds kind of fishy. Just thinking that this might cost more than 10 minutes of our time…

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Bit of a grey area. Technically it’s not modding, because all you’re doing is using a pre-existing save to finish a level, which is a totally legitimate way of exploiting a small glitch in the ‘no deaths’ part of Reach. It’s basically a more advanced way of doing save/quit/resume to get around it.

        On the other hand, if 343 wanted to ban/reset you, it would only take one quick glance at your game history to show that you’re using an extensive collection of saves. And they *might* take an issue with that. But then they might think it’s fine.

        I dunno. I wouldn’t run the risk personally, but I’m 90% sure that people will be able to do it without any repercussions.

      • MadAmericanTacos says:

        That’s what I thought as well, plus when I was reading the whole article, it turns out that you actually complete the game in co-op mode cause the orignal person that made the save never really gets erased. So basically you and the hundreds of others complete it using the save and that guy gets one too. Seems like a fat way to onyx up your Flawless and Demon commendations if you ask me lol

      • Paul says:

        Yeah, the guy that created them has completed almost 115,000 campaign missions in under 4 days of gameplay. Typically racks up a new mission every couple of minutes.

        http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/default.aspx?player=Showtime%20Jesse

        Only a General Grade 2 after the ban-hammer hit in May….

        http://m.bungie.net/Forums/posts.aspx?postID=60485419&postRepeater1-p=1

        But the man himself says this wasn’t for reusing game saves (funny thread as well)

        http://m.bungie.net/Forums/posts.aspx?postID=60474551&postRepeater1-p=28#60866288

  18. Brian says:

    Can laso challenges be done in co-op?

  19. Woody says:

    It’s to say that I won’t be doing this challenge. Legendary is already tough enough for me to do without dying, so there’s no way I can complete a LASO.

    • gans42 says:

      you can die. just save and quit when you do and just resume solo campaign

      • Woody says:

        I may give it a try tomorrow or the day after. Knowing my patience though, I probably won’t have my luck, especially if I die more than ten times.

  20. André says:

    I’m at the last part with 3 elites, throws perfect grenades, goes to cover when I shoot. I got no shields. Sometimes 1 plasma shot kills even though I’m at full health. I give up for today, might try more tomorrow. Current deaths/restarts: 39. Hours: 2-3 (with breaks).

    • Well man if you have made it past the Holdout part then your almost there so just dont give up. The advice i would give you is to definately follow Tyrants guide for this. He tells you go take out the engineer and the Grunts first. Then grab the DMR and a Plasma Pistol. You will have to watch his video to see what he does next because i really dont know how to tell you in words. Pretty much you just jump up onto some of the equipment stuff there and make your way up to the rafters. Go to the upper floor where the Elites arent at and they will fall back to the back of the level. Then go up the steps right above where the DMR ammo crate is and make a right. Then you do some more jumping up to the rafters and follow it all the way around til you drop down where your in front of a fence. You kill the FRG Elite and the others (if you cant get the others then dont worry about it, just stay away from them). Then you jump up to the Mac Cannon, go down the steps to trigger the checkpoint so the Dropships will come in, hide there until he says to fire. Run up the steps and jump in the Mac and fire a shot into the belly of the ship. Well, i really hope this helped but like i said its alot better to watch Tyrants video guide to see exactally what to do. Sorry for writing such a long piece. 🙂

      • André says:

        This last part is brutal compared to holdout. I have shot everything except 3 elites (2 with dual wield one with plasma rifle) and their really cheap, goes to hide when I shoot then the other one takes over and I have no more shots left on plasma pistol. I think I need to fix my shields and try some new strategy. I will try running to the cannon but I don’t think I’ll survive 2 shots+recharge with 3 elites shooting at me + the ships. I have full DMR ammo available so I could try snipe them down.

      • I just took care of the Field Marshall Elite (the one with the Fuel Rod gun) then hid from the other three while I waited for the cruiser to come into range. I basically followed all of Tyrant’s guide, with the exception of the Holdout part. On that part, I ran out of DMR ammo (surprisingly) and was out of needle rifle ammo halfway through the second wave, so I ran around with a shotgun and grenade launcher for the rest of that section. 😛

      • André says:

        Ok I will try that. I’m following ShadowStrike1 guide on youtube. I’ve done this mission Slaso before so I really shouldn’t have too much problem, it’s just very annoying near the end. I will backup my save file. Here is a nice brute kill on Holdout: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KEZ40pBbiY0.

      • André says:

        I didn’t have to kill the 3 elites, I just used the Mac cannon until low health, then shortcut to get health then back up same way (on the other side). I had to save sprint til I landed on the floor because that elite chase me down quick when I went for the health pack.

  21. I did it solo, in one sitting, in roughly 3 hours total gameplay time…

    I’m not doing that again. >.<

  22. RED1 says:

    The first time around, this challenge got the best of me. I (and the friends who I convinced to help me) tried tirelessly, while I tried to follow Tyrant’s guide and nothing went as planned. They eventually lost their patience after a never ending cycle of restart-at-last-checkpoints. I persuaded them to keep at it until we finished. But by the time I was finally ready to take control of the mac cannon, time had expired on the challenge. On top of that, I couldn’t even get the satisfaction of finishing the level because it check-pointed us in a crap situation where I couldn’t hop on with full shields, and there was no way to survive the phantom and banshee assault. After hours of grueling gameplay, we finally HAD to quit. A night of sleep lost, for icing on the cake, and a full day of school the next, spent groggy and defeated.

    But this week, I, as a lone wolf, will methodically find my vengeance…

    EAT SH*T AND DIE PILLAR OF DEATH!!!

    • You can take care of the cruiser without shields. It’s pretty much impossible to take care of all of the Phantoms and Banshees beforehand, so I just sit by it and wait for the cue from Keyes. Although I hop in just before I think he’ll give it to get an early charge, since it takes two hits to kill it (thanks to the Mythic skull!)

    • RED1 says:

      No way, you barely make the two mac shots with full shields…how could I ever mange to stay alive long enough without em?

  23. This thread never fails to deliver…. LOL

    Not sure if I’ll do it today, but may try tomorrow night.

    I just can’t pass up a good challenge, and as much as I hate the thought of this LASO, I may have to do it… maybe co-op so I have someone to bitch with… LOL

  24. Dean Truelove says:

    tried this tonight with 3 friends. we all hated each other and the level after the 3 hours plus it took us to conclude that whats the point anymore.
    definietely should be worth 10X more Cr though.

    • 'Cos says:

      Reasons like this is why i do mine SLASO. I am responsible for myself. Woudn’t say it’s harder co-op, just a different set of challenges is all. Finally got the weekly last night on my third attempt. Tried different techniques each time until i was able to find my way through the final battles on Holdout with enough ammo for the particular weapons i brought. Such a sense of accomplishment when you finish solo. Good luck to all still attempting the weekly. Persistence is key…

      • I tried doing it co-op the first time this challenge came up, and decided that I was just going to run it solo for every LASO challenge afterward. Most of my friends are awesome people, but with such a frustrating challenge, people dying (when you’re fine) just gets annoying.

        It’s definitely a sense of accomplishment when you finish it though! Just keep trying! 😉

  25. Zidane says:

    This challenge is a monkey

  26. d3uc3isup says:

    Do it in coop…you can die as much as you want

  27. Public Enimy says:

    Did it co-op, found the best way to get to the cannon was to send out a hologram up one set of stairs while co-op p2 assasinated the elite then retreat for checkpoint. worked everytime until there were no enimies.

    Tried different attacks on the cruiser at the end. noticed a pattern of the attacking phantoms so charged the cannon after each hit whilst turning to find the next. Took out 11 phantoms then hit the cruiser, job well done!

    Public Enimy (gt)

  28. AceRay96 says:

    im done with these friggin lasos; ive done them all already and their payouts arent worth it anymore

    • I just do ’em because I can 😛 Doesn’t matter if it was worth only 700 cR or 70,000! They offer me a challenge, and I accept it!

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Don’t worry about AceRay96. He spends his time commenting on things that he’s not going to do. It’s a thoroughly justified way to spend one’s time. Later on today I’m going to go over to the McDonald’s forum and tell them very angrily about how I’m not going to eat a Big Mac today.

      • Sounds fun! I’ll go to school and tell my teachers that I’m not going to do my homework!

  29. Nefraneer says:

    Agreed, these are not worth it. We can play 2X Score Attack for 1 hour for more points. Last week’s challenge was more like it! That 30K was beautiful, and I just signed in another player, left it alone, and basically still did it coop.

  30. RED1 says:

    POA, LASO update…

    DAMN YOU XBOX 360!! (or possibly bungie…idk who to blame)

    So that last several days, I’ve been putting in a a few (or several) hours a day, make my way through the level, and religiously saving my perfect checkpoints. Tons of ammo, all the de-spawns, finally got the concussion stack jump down and made it to the mac gun, made it through the whole landing pad fight without ever even getting shot, assassinated the last Zealot, regained full shields, have the hologram utility, only thing left to do is take the cruiser out. I get a checkpoint, save my perfect run, just in case something lame happens, like a banshee bomb or something.

    Back in the campaign lobby menu, waiting for the “Resume Campaign” option to show up, as I have been doing so many times throughout the mission…and it’s only giving me “Start New Mission”!!! It somehow lost all of my hard earned progress…and now it’s refusing to save any checkpoints. WTF!!!

  31. Tomozaurus says:

    NO. You don’t need the blind skull on. I do practically every LD challenge and I never have the blind skull on.

  32. SoundEffekt says:

    I just did. Mother of god.You’ll have to coerce me into 100,000 credits to do that again.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Haha congrats 😀 And just a few hours before the challenge expires as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

