6th September – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1000 cR
  2. Demon – Kill 50 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking – 1500 cR
  3. Linked Up with Bungie.Net – Link your gamertag with Bungie.net and play a game in Halo: Reach Matchmaking – 3000 cR
  4. This Is My Rifle… – Earn 20 kills with precision weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1000 cR

Well the other challenges call for at least 70 kills, so in doing them you’ll be there as the Elites will get you more than just 50 kills. If you want just this, hit up 2X Score Attack or Gruntpocalypse.

Demon – Kill 50 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking – 1500 cR

Rocketfight’s usually a good one here, especially since they often up the amount of Elites you get, particularly in the Bonus Round. Fiesta Attack gave a lot more Elites than I’d seen before, but only about 25, and I think there are about 25 in 2x Score Attack too.

Linked Up with Bungie.Net – Link your gamertag with Bungie.net and play a game in Halo: Reach Matchmaking – 3000 cR

Last time we had this they changed the challenge during the day so I’ll be keeping an eye on it as the day progresses. It’s such an easy 3k to get though, you don’t even need to actually play, just enter the Matchmaking lobby and you’re there, on Firefight, Score Attack, any Matchmaking type. If you’re not already signed up, go to Bungie.net on your computer, and follow the instructions when you click ‘Sign Up’ in the top right, using the email you use for your XBL account to link the two. 3000 credits for about 15 seconds work! A good way of ensuring you’ve got it linked is by going to the Game Settings and turning on a nameplate, then when that name plate appears on your gamertag in game you know it’s worked.

This Is My Rifle… – Earn 20 kills with precision weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1000 cR

Precision weapons are the DMR, Sniper Rifle, Focus Beam and Needle Rifle. Team SWAT will do you well here. Unless you use melee or Pistol every kill will be a precision weapon kill, so play it a few times, try and get a good team who will cover your back (and you theirs), and just do this over 2 or 3 games.

  1. Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1000 cR
  2. Demon – Kill 50 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking – 1500 cR
  3. Linked Up with Bungie.Net – Link your gamertag with Bungie.net and play a game in Halo: Reach Matchmaking – 3000 cR
  4. This Is My Rifle… – Earn 20 kills with precision weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1000 cR
74 Responses to 6th September – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Zidane says:

    Yeah I’m doing the linked one before I start work just in case it changes like last time because anyone who did the original and then altered challenge got both sets of credits 🙂

    • Scruff 815 says:

      No, they took away the first bunch of credits and just gave you the ‘completed’ for the video one.

  2. Tomozaurus says:

    Surprised they still do “Linked Up with Bungie.Net” now that 343 are running things.

    • MadAmericanTacos says:

      Well it’s still bungie.net so that is probably why they havent changed it yet…

  3. Scruff 815 says:

    Easy, easy, easy, easy! Woo! 😀

    Super-excited for this week’s Game Night and what I figure will be the semi finals of the tournament this weekend! 😀 What’s the scoop on them both? 🙂

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      Where were you yesterday, Scruff? You weren’t on at any of the times you said you would be.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Yea I’m sorry. Got your message when I logged on this morning; the times I gave you weren’t times I was definitely going to be on, but times I *could* be on. Unfortunately I didn’t check my Xbox messages at all last night and didn’t get on to play, so I didn’t know to make the extra effort. Sorry! I need a day or two’s notice really so I can ensure I’m there 🙂

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        That’s understandable. Some other time I guess.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      I assume you’d be happy being Party Leader on Thursday night this week? Running custom games including new maps?

      I’ll post the tournament updates in the next couple of days – I’m hoping we can have the two groups on Saturday and the final on Sunday, but I’ll check everyone’s time zone and see what we can work out.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Aye, count me in! Will have to take a small break between around 10 and 11 but nothing major and will be back on afterwards. I’m sure the party can continue for a while without me 😉

        As for the tournament I think we’re pretty much down to the UK and America now, though you might need 3 groups of 5 rather than 2 groups – we’re down to 15 players after the last round!

      • Thanks to a cross-country meet, I won’t be available Saturday 😦 But I’m sure something can be worked out!

      • Matthew Vose says:

        Thanks, page is updated and you’re listed.

  4. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    I wonder how long it will be before the person that says “how do I link up” comes?

    It’s funny, for the past few days the posts have had in excess of 100 comments, and yesterday’s was… 6. I lol’d 😀

    Scruff, I have an idea that you will love so much that you will mysteriously suicide… Wanna hear it?

    And crazybydefault, thanks for the offer for the spot even though I missed it…*not my fault*… but I had fun trying to fight the past 3 weeks 🙂
    First off was lag, second was 3people and lag, and 3rd I missed it… But I don’t expect sympathy, most of it was my fault 😀

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      Oh and about the challenges, I’ll try to complete them all 😀

    • Scruff 815 says:

      TELL ME YOUR IDEA
      *poof*

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        Ok, here goes:
        A noob is on screen, looking around, when suddenly he is hit by a warthog with 3 guys in it. They reverse back and all get out, stand over body and look for a few seconds, then they all start teabagging. Then a HEAP of other people (10 or 11) arrive on mongooses, revenants, ghosts, whatever and they all get out and teabag the dead dude too 🙂 then after about 15 seconds they go back to their vehicles and depart off screen all at the same time. After a while (5-10 seconds) a lone Spartan runs on from left and shoots they body with a pistol and runs off right screen, all without stopping.

        Well thee you go, I would love to do that with a full party of 16 people, and render the video. 5 million views coming up!!

        Scruff, you just *messed* your undies, didn’t you?

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Hahaha 😀 If you can gather a full party to do that then count me in, it’ll be easy to knock up the required location / vehicles etc in Forge. It’s just a question of getting enough people together, and making sure that the dead body in question stays on the map long enough for all of that to happen.

        Also, the person who gets super-teabagged like that should kill & teabag someone else first; then it seems like it’s justified 😀

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        Ha yeah, having them kill someone else would seem… More fair…
        Anyway, maybe it could happen on gamenight? Because I know lots of people appear then?

      • Zidane says:

        Let me know if you need the numbers making up 🙂

      • Scruff 815 says:

        I think it’s a thing best planned for, and then a time set for it. Game nights are chaotic enough as it is, and often involve people who aren’t directly off of this here blog, so those people might not be down for something like that.

        However, if planned for then count me in, I’ll also do the necessary Forge parts providing you don’t need anything too complicated! 😉

      • gans42 says:

        ill join (especially if scruff is the teabagee 😉 )

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        It’s ok scruff, I’ll make a map and a gametype for it, and we might be able to do it on the weekend. We will also need someone with Bungie pro to render the movie too…*hint* 😀

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        And where do you think it should be set? I was thinking either the blood gulch or the pocket (asylum map area).

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        Actually scruff, if you would like you CAN make the map and gametype, as you probably know what should happen as in how people should spawn and stuff. 🙂

      • Scruff 815 says:

        I don’t know for sure, but I can certainly try it! 😀

        I’d say somewhere outdoorsy, but pretty flat. You don’t want a bouncing Warthog ruining the clip at the last second.

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        How about we both make a map, and then compare?

      • Noobwarrior523 says:

        I’ll join for that, dont think we can get 16 people by this weekend and I wanna drove te warthog! Even if poro joins too….

  5. DESTROYER says:

    Challenges seem easy enough. I just have to make time to squeeze them in today. Oh yea, I have to do the weekly AGAIN bc my Xbox froze last night right as I blew up the cruiser. *sigh*

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      I gave up after being killed by the first bunch of enemies like 10 times…
      And it’s so amusing I watch Emile and a mythic elite having a fist fight! Haha 🙂

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Just continue from your last saved checkpoint, it’ll work fine.

  6. lolgtfoplz says:

    still sick as hell. thank you living dead yesturday for being so easy and getting me those challenges. really dont want to be at work, but also cant afford to take the day off. good luck with challenges everyone, idk how many i’ll do today. bleck.

  7. MadAmericanTacos says:

    I almost forgot to tell everyone,
    I played a couple of games of FF with an Inheritor this weekend, she even had the haunted helmet to boot! My score = 26,000 her score = 87,000

    Oh and I finnal got promoted to Hero!

  8. fuzzjp says:

    Umm so I definitely have the icon enabled but it’s not counting it as completed. I’ve logged on and off of live, restarted the game, even logged off of bungie.net but nothing 😐

    • Scruff 815 says:

      It’s not about signing in to b.net, it’s about being LINKED to b.net. Do you have a little picture next to your Gamertag when you play Halo, like the Halo 2 symbol, the Halo 3 symbol, the ODST logo, etc? If you do then try signing into b.net and playing the game whilst logged in. Also you know you have to actually play a game online first, right? You don’t just load up Reach.

      • fuzzjp says:

        fuzzjp says:
        06/09/2011 at 08:13
        Umm so I definitely have the icon enabled but it’s not counting it as completed.

        And yes I’ve played several games….

      • Yeah im having the same problem, i have the nameplate enabled, played 4 games and still nothing :/

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Don’t know if it’ll help, but try logging into b.net, changing your nameplate, then turning on your Xbox and playing a game, whilst still logged in to b.net. Worth a shot at least.

        This challenge ALWAYS causes problems for some people 😕

  9. Zidane says:

    950k till forerunner 😦

  10. 'Cos says:

    @ Mad AmericanTacos : congrats on your rank. Movin’ on up!!

    Hello to all my Halo friends. Here’s my dilemma. Weekly done. Custom forged maps (2) are ready to be unleashed into the Halo world Thusday for gamenight. Going for easy dailies now. What to do with the rest of my day off? Halo3? ODST? Reach? Decisions, decisions…

    Anyone want to check out my maps and get an ‘exclusive’ preview? I believe i will be submitting at least one to xbox live after gamenight. I’m so anxious. And can’t wait to hear what you think.
    \
    Anyways, i’ll be around if you care to play something…anything. It’s pouring down here in Atlanta and i’m not going anywhere today. Ahhh, the life…

    – seventh dawg

    • lolgtfoplz says:

      rain rain go away….

    • Zidane says:

      How can I see them Cos?

    • Noobwarrior523 says:

      I wouldn’t mind seeing one of the maps

      • 'Cos says:

        I’ll transfer my maps and have them ready @…say…4pm Est! We’ll take a walkthrough.. Thanks guys.

    • SANTAANAS says:

      I’ll check them out with you, Dawg.

      • 'Cos says:

        Thanks SANTAANAS and THE TIDDLYWINKS for letting me show one of my forge maps. And being rather enthusiastic about it to boot. 🙂 I will take your advice, and make the appropriate changes…including the name. Who would have thought “Cloud Base” would not be accepted. Whatever…

        Thanks again, and will be looking to party up again later if you want. Good day…

        P.S. : i found a picture of my dogs i will send to you later. Maybe you can tell me what HE is? I felt bad trying to describe him earlier. Epic fail on my part…

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        This is getting out of hand. It won’t accept fail, ONI Sword Base, or Cloud Base. I was thinking it didn’t like Sword, but maybe it just hates Base? Either way, it’s ridiculous!

  11. Zidane says:

    I like field Marshall rank, I believe the highest human officer can receive???

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Yeah, it’s the last military-based one. Kinda annoyed me that it went back to being silver after being gold for so long 😉

  12. Quillian86 says:

    I’m already logged in to Bungie.net, I already have an account with them; what do I do?

    (Also, just wanted to say hi and thanks for making such a great blog!)

    -Quillian86

  13. 'Cos says:

    @ Quillian86 :

    From your Bungie.net profile, go to Halo “Game Settings”. Select desired nameplate. Click “Save Settings”. Load up Reach in 360. Search for game of choice. Collect 3000 cR.
    Done…and welcome aboard.

    • Quillian86 says:

      ‘Cos,

      Got it. Thanks, man! (Also, got a question: whenever this comes up as a daily challenge, is there any way to un-link it and re-link it all over again?)

      Sincerely,
      Quillian86

      • 'Cos says:

        @ Quillian86 : Not that i know of. You can reset your nameplate to ‘default’ so it has the appearance of not being linked…but i believe the link is good as long as your Bungie.net account is.

        @ Zidane : Follow instructions above. “Halo Game Settings” will appear as a link option when you ‘drag’ over the”Profile” link top right of Bungie.net personal profile page. From there…pretty self-explanatory, really. Good luck…

        …and if anyone wants the ‘star’ nameplate, i still have three available i believe as a gift. First responses get the nameplate. And…Go…

      • Zidane says:

        I’ll take one Cos and thanks for info 🙂

      • Zidane says:

        Another stupid one cos, is the star nameplate just a star as that is what I have changed mine to

  14. Zidane says:

    Stupid question, talk of nameplate being turned on, where can you find this?

  15. Zidane says:

    Tried doing the weekly, got up to the first wraith 😦 is it any easier in co-op etc?

    • Take out the secondary gunner, then run up and board it. It won’t shoot you when you’re close (but it will attempt to splatter you!)

      Hope that helps! 😉

  16. 'Cos says:

    UPDATE :

    Zidane…tried sending you the gifted ‘Star’ nameplate. Says here “Player already has offer granted.” So, if you already have the nameplate, you no longer need one.

    By the way, it appears i still have six (6) available as gifts. Anyone want a ‘Star’ nameplate? All ya gotta do is ask…

  17. Zidane says:

    Cheers Cos, I wasn’t sure, new to halo bar 1 & a bit of 2, first time researching/cimmunicating but big thanks!

  18. Zidane says:

    Just for the he’ll of it, do I have name plates to give away and how do you know?

Leave a Reply

