7th September – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. More Than a Handful – Kill 125 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2500 cR
  2. A Satisfied Thirst – Kill 250 Grunts in Firefight Matchmaking – 1875 cR
  3. Leadership Element – Kill 30 enemy leaders in the Campaign today – 1000 cR
  4. Home Field Advantage – Win 2 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1300 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

More Than a Handful – Kill 125 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2500 cR

Multi Team Battle or Grifball are the best ways to get lots and lots of kills, you tend to get more than any other modes. If you play Crazy King or Oddball you can get even more as some people who would shoot you go for the objective, and you can take them out. Seasoned Grifball players will also be able to get this in only a game or two, and if you can make an area in an Infection game defensible as a human you can rack up kills quickly. But looking at the other challenges you can get most of this done just with them.

A Satisfied Thirst – Kill 250 Grunts in Firefight Matchmaking – 1875 cR

This just cries out for a quick jaunt into your favourite Gruntpocalypse map. Personal recommendation is for Corvette, so you can use the platforms by the corridors into the spawn room to snipe quickly from. Then if you need to retreat you can do so easily and use the corridor to funnel Grunts down, shooting them as they appear. Thereโ€™s no requirement for how you kill them, so grenade, Pistol, DMR or melee, whatever seems appropriate. Two games wonโ€™t quite get you the 250, so jump into Crashsite or Generator Defense to get your total together.

Leadership Element – Kill 30 enemy leaders in the Campaign today – 1000 cR

Nightfall, the first dude with his back to you, either snipe him, beat him down or assassinate him, then restart the checkpoint again and again to get it quick. Other options are the Package or Pillar of Autumn levels (which have loads of leaders), the Target Designator on ONI: Sword Base since you get one or two in that beam and can reset the checkpoint just as the bombs fall.

Home Field Advantage – Win 2 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1300 cR

Stick to Team Slayer/SWAT/Snipers/Objective/Grifball/Action Sack for this. In those there are only two teams so your chances of winning are greatly improved. If you find a group of guys you play well with then stick with them.

Game night tomorrow night will be themed around Custom Maps run by Scruff 815. Have a read of the Game Night hub page to view further details.

46 Responses to 7th September – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. nexamsan says:

    First

  2. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    Hmm, I hope to achieve completion of all the above challenges later ๐Ÿ™‚

    On another note, I received a 15 000cR jackpot after a game of swat today… I thought there weren’t any super jackpots anymore? I’m not complaining it nearly put me up to General grade 4 (16 000cR to go, OMG!!) ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Woody says:

      I’m jealous. I haven’t seen a super jackpot in a month, if not more.

    • crazybydefault says:

      I think the closest I’ve gotten to something like that happening in the past month would me getting 3000 cR from the slot machine. I’m jealous!

      • Loral Johnson says:

        Monday night I got two 3000 cR Jackpots … very generous night

  3. Woody says:

    After all those stupid Elites I killed yesterday in campaign, now the Leadership Element wants to show its ugly head. Oh well, at least the challenges are easy to accomplish.

  4. SamCiphus says:

    Is it just me or are the Daily Challenges getting less and less inventive? They seem to just be your run of the mill “earn X amounts of kills” or “kill X amount of this enemy” or “just play slayer!”
    I want to see more obscure challenges, like destroying the drop pods in Solace, or finding a data pad.
    Until we see this, i think i’ll stick to AC Brotherhood.

    • gans42 says:

      destroying drop pods in solace sucks. you have to go through the whole space part with unskippable cutscenes, plus its never been worth more than 1200 i think, which is much less than worth it

    • John says:

      While I’m not keen on the drop pod challenge I do agree about the challenges being particularly poor this week kicking off with yet another LASO and dull challenges each day so far. Given GoW3 is out shortly and has a superb looking Horde mode you’d think they’d be putting some effort into more inventive challenges to keep people hooked. I did enjoy the under nine minutes challenge last week (did a legimate run on Sword Base) and was hoping to see more like that.

      John

      • gans42 says:

        im not disagreeing about the variety, but id rather have grindesque challenges than bad ones. and im happy with the 250 grunts. we hadnt had that in a while, and i hadnt played gruntpoc in a while (oh how i missed the constant popping and cheering of heads)

      • SamCiphus says:

        Yeah, i just used the drop pod challenge as an example, but it’s the lack of variety this week that prompted me to write. If there were more inventive challenges worth more cR, I would play all the way up to the release of Halo 4!

  5. lolgtfoplz says:

    2 challenges done, the elitie one, and the win one (griffball) before work, easy. i think i might attempt the weekly sometime soon, anyone down to do it with me? my friend that i went to highschool with has it completed and i think that’s absolutely bull. SO I HAVE TO GET IT DONE!!!! and i cant do it alone. lol. well, let me know on here or live if your up for it ๐Ÿ˜› thanks. goodluck

  6. Nexamsan says:

    I guess I will follow the leader and start being active on the site, with permission of course. I have been following Matt’s and Snickerdoodle’s (along with everyone else’s) advice since around January. I am an EST player. And sorry sensory434 about the “first” comment, I was driving to work and figured that would break the ice since I’m not articulated enough to text and drive at the same time. I wasn’t trying to be a troll.

    • John says:

      A ‘first’ post like that never breaks the ice, it’s just irritating so I’d refrain from doing it in the future

      John

    • Scruff 815 says:

      You know who else isn’t articulated enough to text and drive at the same time? Ryan Dunn.

      /toosoon

      • crazybydefault says:

        I feel terrible for laughing at that comment ๐Ÿ˜›

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      It’s good to see another new poster, just don’t ever post that again and you might be able to stay. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. HC Sangheili says:

    Who’s still up for Halo 3 and ODST achievement hunting…?

    Perhaps a future game night could have a cheevo group, or an ad-hoc night put together.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      I’m in the midst of organising a H3 night. Will keep you posted; likely be another week or two yet.

      • HC Sangheili says:

        Good deal. When you get closer to a date, I’ll take some time off of work to accommodate the timezones.

    • I’m up for it, but I don’t think we’re on the same schedule. US Central Time.

  8. Monkey449 says:

    I played team slayer this morning and ended with 16 kills. Challenge only registered 9/125.

    Anyone had this happen before?

    • LA says:

      I have never had it happen to that degree, but it’s not uncommon for it to leave off a kill or two. Have theories as to why, but never tested.

    • SANTAANAS says:

      In Team Slayer I had 4 Double Kills for the Dream Shake Challenge, the last Double Kill being the very last kills of the match. The medal never popped up. Carnage Report read: 3 Double Kills. Challenge showed up uncompleted afterwards.

    • Phatal Flaw says:

      I’ve had that happen in close headshot challenges, I’ve only needed three or four, I watched the medal pop up on screen then saved and quit the mission. Only to find out it only counted two or three. Maybe Halo needs to go back to kindergarten?

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      The only time anything like that has ever happened was with the three assassinations in a game. I got two and then it didn’t count the next two or three. I was surprised when it said I had gotten eight that game, though.

  9. Scruff 815 says:

    So having had a particularly busy day today I tried to get some of these done in the free half an hour I had this morning. Played like 5 games of SWAT and lost EVERY SINGLE ONE OF THEM. I swear, every time there’s a ‘win x games’ challenge I’m paired with betrayers / suiciders / tiny TV people / recruits, against 4-strong teams of Inheritors, Forerunners, etc. Ugh.

    Still, will try and get these done and then move on to my new mistress, Lego Batman ๐Ÿ˜‰ The Reach draw is sadly waning for me at the moment, but then it is only a couple of months to Halo: CE and that’ll definitely draw me back in. Still super-excited for game night and tourny weekend anyhoo ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Dogmeat says:

      That stinks about the 5 losses, Scruff! ๐Ÿ˜ฅ I enjoyed lego batman a lot! Don’t feel too bad about “cheating”. Lol! ๐Ÿ˜€

      My schedule doesn’t allow me to get in on game nights or tournaments, but it is cool to see so many from this forum enjoy them.

    • gans42 says:

      thats because you didnt play with me. i have a tiny tv and i still pwned my games of swat today lol. its been a while since you and i played together ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      • Scruff 815 says:

        By “tiny TV people” I mean the people who have like 3 people playing on one console ๐Ÿ˜‰

        I know ๐Ÿ˜ฆ You gonna be around for game night?

  10. Dogmeat says:

    Well, I am happy to have some easy/straightforward daily challenges today after completing the weekly LASO last night. It took me about an hour solo, and I made sure to copy my gamesave at the last checkpoint to a USB (and then export it to my computer for safe keeping) this time! If this challenge surfaces again as either a LASO weekly or an L.D. daily, I’ll be ready. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I should have known that the 52nd weekly challenge to round out the year would be a LASO (and the final campaign mission at that)! Nevertheless, my personal goal to complete an entire year of consecutive weekly challenges is at long last complete!!! B-)

    I am now performing an experiment of sorts for the next 555 matches. I need to average about 3,000 credits per match. My goal is to rank up on my 7,777th match. As side objectives, I am trying to onyx my sidearm and heavy weapon commendations (will definitely happen) while getting the trigger man commendation to gold (“iffy”). It will have to be a careful balance of challenges, firefight, and matchmaking. Hopefully, I can time it right! :-O

    • lolgtfoplz says:

      Too much….

    • Woody says:

      Wow… I just got dizzy reading this experiment. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

    • HC Sangheili says:

      Whats your GT?

      • Dogmeat says:

        GT: DogmeatOnAStick

        Every time somebody asks me that question, I feel obligated to explain how my GT came to pass. Dogmeat was already taken (obviously), but I wanted some derivative given how long I have used that gamertag on a variety of pc games. I like the name because it’s self deprecating rather than boastful, and I have used it loooong before the Fallout series began. After many, many unsuccessful tries to find an available GT, I started trying anything. I had just watched a Jeff Dunham routine with his Jalapeno character. Little did I know that LIVE would just accept an available GT request rather than ask for confirmation that you really wanted it. :-S I also didn’t realize until it was too late the negative connotation the GT carries. *sigh* I refuse to pay an additional $10 to change it!

        I also want to remind you of the weirdness that happened on a Firefight Thursday back in June. I posted this explanation before. I repeated two daily challenges when they reverted after some kind of matchmaking server crash. The count for completing the two dailies a second time was incremented to my weekly instead! Therefore, my stats say I completed 54 weekly challenges instead of 52. *sigh again* Now that I have finished my weekly challenge goal, though, I can skip a couple of weeks (LASO ones most likely) down the road to realign the true count.

    • Oreo (Lothorn) says:

      How do you export a save to your computer? I’ve just been trying to scam some small thumbdrives at work, but that sounds like a much simpler option.

      • Dogmeat says:

        The “modio” program (which some use for working with modded gamesaves somehow) will let you explore the usb device and export the gamesave off of it. It will be a 10-11mb file that starts with an ‘s’ under the ‘Reach’ folder on your thumb drive. I placed the gamesave in a labeled folder on my computer to keep it (and any future ones I do) straight. That’s all I know as I only did all this for the first time last night.

        You could do the same thing with multiple usb drives, I suppose, if you can get them cheaply enough and have a way to tell them apart (labled somehow).

      • Thanks, Dogmeat. I think I’ll try going the route of cheap 1 or 2 GB drives. I’d only need 10 or so.

  11. SensoryFour34 says:

    We should do something special next week to celebrate the one year anniversary of Reach! Especially since that’s the reason this site even exists! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Any suggestions Sensory? What were you thinking?

    • crazybydefault says:

      I thought the same thing! I have no ideas as to what we should do, though. Hopefully someone more creative than me can offer up a few suggestions! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        I’m with you. I’m not usually that creative either. I’ll let everyone know if I come up with something, but right now I’m hoping someone else can. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I was just kinda bringing it up to consider.

    • SamCiphus says:

      Some kind of commemorative custom map?

Leave a Reply

