8th September – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. One Spartan Army – Kill 250 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1875 cR
  2. Demon – Kill 40 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking – 1400 cR
  3. Points, Points – Score 20,000 points in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 1750 cR
  4. A Simple Spree – Earn any spree in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

One Spartan Army – Kill 250 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1875 cR

You get 120 Grunts in Gruntpocalypse, about 100 enemies in Score Attack, 120-135 in 2X SA, and something like 330 in a Firefight Matchmaking game (although split between up to 4 people). If you need to ‘top up’ your FF kills, jump into a game of Generator Defense or Crashsite and once you have your kills give up the defense. I reckon that two 2x Score Attacks should just about get you this (and the other challenges).

Demon – Kill 40 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking – 1400 cR

Rocketfight’s usually a good one here, especially since they often up the amount of Elites you get, particularly in the Bonus Round. Fiesta Attack gave a lot more Elites than I’d seen before, but only about 25, and I think there are about 25 in 2x Score Attack too, so your two games should give you all the Elites you need.

Points, Points – Score 20,000 points in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 1750 cR

2X Score Attack all the way on this one. Or any of the Arcade variants work too. I seem to remember completing this one with a couple friends in either Rocketfight or Fistfight on Courtyard. Just remember this has to be in one game.

A Simple Spree – Earn any spree in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR

Sprees cover a lot of options, 5 kills with Shotguns, Sniper Rifle, Plasma Grenade sticks, Swords… and so on. Frankly, 10 kills with anything gets you a spree, so just do that and you’ve got a very easy 1000 credits, so perhaps a quick visit to Crashsite/Generator Defence just to do it in a minute or two – although if you don’t pick this up with the shotgun challenge today I’ll be amazed!

So challenges 3 and 4 in game 1, challenges 1 and 2 in game 2, loads of credits, 30 minutes work.

Don’t forget it’s game night tonight, check out the hub page and come and join in.

  1. Demon – Kill 40 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking – 1400 cR
  2. Points, Points – Score 20,000 points in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 1750 cR
  3. A Simple Spree – Earn any spree in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR
51 Responses to 8th September – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. MadAmericanTacos says:

    Easy day for challenges, I think I will take care of them then keep working on ODST so I can get the last of the armour unlocked.

  2. JustHawkeye says:

    Hooray for firefight Thursday without a flat tire challenge. 🙂

  3. Scruff 815 says:

    Done, done, done and done, in two games of Arcadefight. And good lord FF Arcade is the way to go if you want credits. Didn’t rank up any commendations, but including the four challenges today I got over 15,000 cR in two games. Two! And I nearly betrayed a guy who tried to take out my Ghost! 😉

    No more Halo until tonight now. Serious life things (and Lego Batman) are calling me.

    • gans42 says:

      to answer your question from yesterday. i will prob be on for game night, though not guaranteed. if i am, itll be at 10PM UK time for about an hour, then 11:30PM UK time for a while (if im not playing bioshock 2)

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        I didn’t like bioshock… Not my sort of game…

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Cool. I’ll be doing a little break between 10pm and 11pm tonight unfortunately, so I might see you from 11.30 onwards? If not we’ll have to sort out a time for some point soon 🙂

      • gans42 says:

        awesome creative FPS with a great story and setting? yeah those tend to suck :p

    • lolgtfoplz says:

      Go play Pokemon!

  4. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    Ok, I will do the spree and the 20 000 points challenges for sure, then see how I feel about doing the others.

    Another thing, the weekly is doing my fudging head in!!!! It took about 4 hours to get up to the last part, and I only have 3 enemies left before the MAC cannon!!! Omg I’m ready to throw my controller at the television!!
    Its the dual wielding elite that is a pain in the a$$, one round from him burns my flesh like rubber (I die easily). I’m in a really difficult spot and don’t know what to do next 😦 I’m so close yet so far!!

    Also I have an idea, if you save and quit, your when you resume it loads from that, but if your Xbox turns off, and you didn’t save and quit, then it goes back to the last checkpoint that you were at when you last saved and quit, when you resume. Still following? So, in theory, if I save and quit just before the MAC part, and die ( therefore reverting back to the start of the mission, special thanks to the iron skull) it will be bad to save and quit, because it will save the checkpoint at the start of the mission. So if I die, and get the checkpoint at the start of the mission (bad), if I turn my Xbox of and start up Reach again it will have my checkpoint before the MAC part ready and waiting? Sorry for the long passage, and if it was confusing… But I just need clarification, and if it is right, well then:
    a) I’m a genius
    b) I hope it helps other people

    🙂 oh and Scruff I was playing infection today, and I landed (as a zombie) on top of an unknowing human, so I took the oppurtunity to teabag him for about a minute 🙂 then he realized so I killed him haha 😀

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      Read the long middle paragraph veeeeerrrrrryyyy slowly, it’s quite confusing 😮

    • MadAmericanTacos says:

      Wait, let me get my graphing calculator to help figure this one out lol.

    • Public Enimy says:

      If you only have 3 enemies left before you enter the MAC, do you have the hologram power up? if so send your hologram out infront to make just one elite chase after it. When this elite chases it perform the assasination then find cover. You can get a checkpoint after killing each elite that way if you die and reload your checkpoint you only have 2 left….1 left…MAC Cannon.

      Then if you have full health and shield see how many phantoms you can take out before the cruiser that is a good challenge.

      Good luck

    • Scruff 815 says:

      It took a while, but I see where you’re coming from with the checkpoints theory. However I don’t know for sure, and I wouldn’t like to test it blindly on a LASO. If you want to know for sure, I’d suggest putting Iron on and playing around with checkpoints to see if your theory is correct or not 😀

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        But I can’t “test” it without ruining my progress so far. But from past experience i.e. Going 3 quarters of the way through a level (on normal), having the electricity cut out and turn the Xbox back on to resume campaign at a checkpoint where I had saved and quit near the start of a level.

        So to sum it up, if you don’t save and quit, it reloads from the last checkpoint that you did save and quit from.

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      If some one who doesn’t have a campaign save cando something for me, they can have a cookie 🙂

      Can anyone please do this:
      1. Start a level on any difficulty with iron on.
      2. Go through util you get a checkpoint near the end of the level.
      3. Save and quit.
      4. Resume, and go through until you hit a checkpoint further on.
      5. DO NOT save and quit, just turn off your Xbox.
      6. Turn Xbox back on, resume campaign.
      7. Report whether you are; start or end of level.

      Thankyou in advance to anyone desperate enough for a cookie 😀

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        No, wait, step 2 should be START of level, not end. Step 4 should be near end

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        Follow these instructions, not those ^^^.

        1. Start a level on any difficulty with iron on.
        2. Go through util you get a checkpoint near the start of the level.
        3. Save and quit.
        4. Resume, and go through until you hit a checkpoint near the end of the level.
        5. DO NOT save and quit, just turn off your Xbox.
        6. Turn Xbox back on, resume campaign.
        7. Report whether you are; start or end of level.

      • SANTAANAS says:

        Galahad, this happened to me yesterday. At the MAC gun, I blew up the enemy ship and died at the same time. I thought I won because the final cutscene started, but to my horror it stopped and STARTED ME AT THE FIRST CUTSCENE! I thought all was lost, but I took a gamble and “Dasboarded” (Hit the Xbox Button and hit Y to return to Dashboard). When I reloaded my game, I was back at the MACINTOSH CANNON. THANK YOU DASHBOARD.

      • lolgtfoplz says:

        i can also add 2 cents to this, i was working on war machine/ right of way and accidentally reverted to start, it started to load and i frantically turned off my xbox, when it came back, i was still at my perfect save point.

    • SamCiphus says:

      Follow Tyrant’s instructions, and you can nail the field marshall without taking a hit. Use the bubble shield for cover and use the machinery on the second level to get onto a pipe that takes you round behind a fence to get a direct line to the field marshall.

  5. lolgtfoplz says:

    didn’t play yesturday, stayed at the girlfriend’s house. going to make up for it today, really need to work on getting my rank up. well good luck everyone and happy game night/ ff Thursday

    • Woody says:

      Yeah, the girlfriend (“warden” in my case) can be the biggest daily challenge of the game. I’m always racing with time to get my challenges before she arrives home from work. Once she gets home my Halo Reach time ends.

      • lolgtfoplz says:

        MR WOOD(y),

        Are you going to be on at all tonight?

        That is all.

        Kindest regards,

        LolGTFOplz

      • lolgtfoplz says:

        i totally replied to this on another comment. yes, my gf, made me take her to the movies. “hooray” dont be afraid of the dark, 2 thumbs down. tim hortons afterword, blueberry danish, also recieved 2 thumbs down, i was sitting in tim hortons and i go to her, we could be playing halo, and she said, “it probably would have gone better” lol

      • lolgtfoplz says:

        atleast my gf plays reach with me, but not when we are together, that’s our time, sounds like your “warden” (that cracks me up everytime) doesn’t really enjoy you playing at all. lol

      • Woody says:

        Unfortunately, I have a small window of opportunity to play online. I will have just enough time to completely all four challenges. So basically, I will be online from 5:30 to 6:30pm (CST).

  6. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    I can’t wait to be promoted to Field Marshall!! 316 000cR to go! I’ll finally be in the “cool” ranks!

    • HC Sangheili says:

      lol @ cool ranks

      The higher rank makes you that much more of a target 😉

      • And attract teabaggers like crazy! I think the amount of it has trippled since I hit Hero

      • HC Sangheili says:

        As a Forerunner, I must have a “place virtual balls here” sign on my Spartan.

      • crazybydefault says:

        I’m almost to General Grade 4, so I’m right behind you! 😀

        I played against an Inheritor one time, and everyone on my team was targeting only him. I felt kinda bad for him…

      • Dogmeat says:

        I agree wholeheartedly, Sangheili! My “favorite” two teabag scenarios are:

        – When you take on 2-3 opponents at once and finish off all but one who is more than happy to come dance on your corpse as if he is an amazing player.

        – When you’re working on the side arm or trigger man commendations for the entire match (still pulling a positive k/d spread) and somebody thinks that applying a shotgun or a sword to your spartan’s face was a real feat that deserves a celebratory humping moment.

  7. Woody says:

    Easy, easy, easy!! That’s just the way I like it. Two and a half games will be all that any of us will need, assuming you’re doing it solo. 20,000 points is way too easy to get in firefight.

  8. Nexamsan says:

    what do you guys think of these ideas for challenges:

    Holdout Of Ammo-complete a game of ffmm on Holdout only using melee attacks.

    Pandorum!-Kill 150 enemies with headshots on Corvette.

    D-Day Attack-Complete a game of ffmm on Beachhead only using USNC weapons.

    That’s a Lot of Dam(not curse) Energy-Kill 100 enemies on waterfront using Covenant weapons.

    Night Court-Kill 10 enemies with the hammer on courtyard in a ffmm game.

    Others to some later.

  9. crazybydefault says:

    My high-score in Score Attack is twice the amount of the challenge 😛 Easy challenges today!

  10. AceRay96 says:

    ah screw these low paying challenges. i swear im done with halo now

    • Dogmeat says:

      Thanks for sharing! It’s been nice not knowing you! 🙂

    • I know right! How dare they present us with things that make the game more interesting and even go as far as actually PAYING US for something we are going to do anyway. Its like my job, sure I get a normal paycheck for doing my job but how dare they actually give me a bonus for doing it well. Wosre yet they even give it too me for GOING OUT OF MY WAY to make sure I do things that help myself and other progress.

      Like Dogmeat said: Thanks for sharing! It’s been nice knowing you!

  11. Shane says:

    Ignore this post – I’m writing a guide and testing some markup tags to hopefully help save Matthew’s time.

    bold

  12. Shane says:
    pre

Leave a Reply

