9th September – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. More Than a Handful – Kill 125 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2500 cR
  2. This is My Rifle… – Earn 30 kills with precision weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1250 cR
  3. Single Wield – Earn 77 kills with small arms weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1400 cR
  4. The Love of the Game – Complete 17 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1850 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

More Than a Handful – Kill 125 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2500 cR

Multi Team Battle or Grifball are the best ways to get lots and lots of kills, you tend to get more than any other modes. If you play Crazy King or Oddball you can get even more as some people who would shoot you go for the objective, and you can take them out. Seasoned Grifball players will also be able to get this in only a game or two, and if you can make an area in an Infection game defensible as a human you can rack up kills quickly. But looking at the other challenges you can get most of this done just with them, 17 games should get you 125 kills easy!

This is My Rifle… – Earn 30 kills with precision weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1250 cR

Precision weapons are the DMR, Sniper Rifle, Focus Beam and Needle Rifle. Team SWAT will do you well here. Unless you use melee or Pistol every kill will be a precision weapon kill, so play it a few times, try and get a good team who will cover your back (and you theirs), and just do this over 2 or 3 games. Don’t worry about getting SWAT Magnums because…

Single Wield – Earn 77 kills with small arms weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1400 cR

Team SWAT – Magnums will be a good way of doing this. The Plasma Pistol also counts as Small Arms, so think about using that to take guys down, it’s good for stripping away shields, but the Magnum is better for unshielded guys. Infection is good too – you can snipe the zombies using your pistol and get a few kills that way, esp in Cage, Courtyard  or Pinnacle where you can see Zs coming.

The Love of the Game – Complete 17 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1850 cR

Check out this weekly challenge post for lots of detail on getting through games quickly. It might take a bit of time but there’s no limitation on winning or weapons etc. Fastest games are often Infection as they go really quickly I find. Equally, it’s a good chance to try out different variants you might not have played, so jump in BTB, Rumble Pit and Arena to see what they’re like. And of course you can win 3 rounds of Grifball in 30 seconds if you’re just going for the bomb and the score, although you might get avoided for ‘playing the wrong way!’ 😀

52 Responses to 9th September – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Scruff 815 says:

    Multiplayer Friday! Well these challenges are more tricky than I’d like; not sure how many of these I’ll get done. Also I want to play a good chunk of Lego Batman, and I have stuff to do as well. We shall see! 😉

    Anyway, woooooo last night’s game night! It was highly chaotic – and I must apologise to any silent lurkers who tried to join but couldn’t, after one idiot forced our hand into making the party invite-only (“Haha! I still know people!” “Yeah? Well now it’s invite only. Bye-bye.”), but it was a great, great evening.

    Particular highlights:
    * Pillar of Fire’s incredible self-facial-sticky-grenade
    * Poro’s Shotgun CTF (Bubble Shield party!) and ridiculous Invasion variant
    * 15 people slamming straight into a huge wall right at the start of Poro’s race track
    * SANTAANAS’s really, really good Slayer / Multi Team map, Lighthouse.
    * 13 person Grifball on SANTAANAS’s other map, Blue. Woah. Grifball is insane with that many people playing 😀
    * ‘Cos’s modesty, despite having made two of the best Forge maps I’ve ever seen. Srsly. We need to play them as a big group on the next game night, even if it’s not a Customs night, just to play them. They are SO good. Just one game on each then we can move onto regular MM. Promise 😉

    Also thanks for all the kind words on my race track, and thanks to Gans for popping into Forge with me to fix a couple of spawn points, and also for letting me teabag him whilst in Monitor mode, it’s all much appreciated! 🙂 For those who didn’t play it / want to download it anyway:

    Map – http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/FileDetails.aspx?fid=23284225&player=Scruff%20815

    And regular Race will work fine with it, but there are a couple of tweaks in the DHARMA Race variant – http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/FileDetails.aspx?fid=23284230&player=Scruff%20815

    Recommendations and funny tags on each file much appreciated also 😉

    • HC Sangheili says:

      Fantastic summary Scruff. Are Cos’s maps up on Fileshare?

      • Woody says:

        I’m curious to see these maps for myself as well.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Not sure. I hope so though. I genuinely think they’re better than all of the ‘community maps’ currently featured in Team Slayer. They’re as good as Abridged (from BTB) as far as I’m concerned. I saved them from my temporary files though, so I can upload them if needs be 😀

    • Woody says:

      Wow! It seems I missed out on a lot. Someone had sent me an invite, can’t remember who at the moment, and I wanted to join, but by that time my XBox freedom was gone.

    • SANTAANAS says:

      Thanks for the kind words, Scruff! Fixing my maps a little before I put them up on the fileshare.
      We definitely need to do a BTB on each of ‘Cos maps, they were seriously underplayed last time. I would also like to see a proper 4 v 4 slayer on my maps, and am thinking of adding obj gametypes to Lighthouse. Oddball? King of the Hill? Infection?
      Scruff, your track is really, really fun. You have a great sense in forging; it’s crazy that was your first.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Given that your map is made considerably easier to get around with the use of a jetpack, I’d say that KOTH would be the best objective game. That would get CRAZY what with all the multi-layered platforms etc. Oddball wouldn’t work so well since you can’t jetpack and carry the ball at the same time, and Infection COULD work but jetpacking zombies just sounds wrong 😉

        Definitely count me in for a 4v4 on Lighthouse 😀

      • SANTAANAS says:

        Awesome! KOTH should be fun because of all the layers, and Oddball could be a blast because the ball carrier can run up to the top, then jump all the way down, then work their way back up via the various chutes all over the level.
        I designed the level with jet packers in mind, so that everyone else on foot can have an advantage.

    • 'Cos says:

      Thanks Scruff for the very kind words. Much work went into the design and (continuous) completion. Glad to know it is appreciated, and would love to play again with a full party.

      As for the time spent making the maps, i know that Scruff, Poro, SANTAANAS, and others also know what i’m talking about. I thoroughly enjoyed Poro and Scruff’s race maps. Very unique, creative, and original. I actually want to go into Scruff’s again and take the “scenic” route. I feel i missed half the really cool additions you made with reference to ‘Lost’. Nonetheless, i like the nostalgic drive. SANTAANAS : I would love to play a team game on your map as well. I liked the size of the map in relation to the battles being fought. Intense without being frustrating. Well done sir.

      By the way…I am sorry i had to leave early last night. While eating dinner and planning to jump back online, i received a phone call which led me out the door and not return till 4 am. I am off to work now on my double, but will be ready to game later tonight if anyone still needs those challenges.

      Gans : Sorry buddy. Yes i want your help, and am looking forward to your comments. Please and thanks.

      I can put my maps on my fileshare, however i would rather hold off until i have had a full party check it out. If people really want it before then, i will put it on FileShare.

      Sorry for the length of the post, but had a few things to say today…obviously. Good luck to all, and i am so very appreciative of the friends i have found here. Thank you all.

      – seventh dawg

      • gans42 says:

        ‘cos whenever you see me on send me an invite id love to help. ijust helped santana a ton with his today

    • gans42 says:

      “Haha! I still know people!” “Yeah? Well now it’s invite only. Bye-bye.”
      not gonna quote me and give me credit?

  2. Woody says:

    Goodness, these challenges are a grind for me, considering the weapons needed. I guess I could get the “warden’s” son to use my gamertag to do the challenges. He’ll love that, because he’s been wanting to use my profile for a looooong time. Today maybe his lucky day…. maybe. LoL

    • I know right, a little grind but a nice way to end the work week. At least this way I know I am going to get a few hours of play time tonight.

      • Woody says:

        For me, grinders work better on Mondays and Tuesday, because I don’t see my girl as much, which means more play time.

    • Project SHAVE says:

      Woody, every time you talk about the “warden”, I laugh so hard.

      • Woody says:

        LOL – I need to stop calling her that. I’m going to have people getting the wrong impression about her. She’s really a sweetheart, but I feel like I’m going to some sort of prison when I have to give up my XBox time. Lol

  3. AceRay96 says:

    YES! a small arms challenge at long last! I just absolutely love to use the magnum and now I get paid for using it; this challenge was made for me

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Flipping ‘eck kids. There’s no need for it, this isn’t B.net okay? I won’t put up with it here, and I know they wouldn’t put up with it on halo.xbox.com either.

      Aceray – stop with the language and abuse.

      Scruff – stop antagonising.

      Any more and you both get put on the naughty step then sent to bed with no supper :p

  4. gans42 says:

    I’m taking the 3rd challenge as a sign to work on my SWAT Magnums game. Compared to my regular SWAT skills, my pistols skills are significantly worse. If any of you guys see me online today in the swat lobby feel free to join me. I hate hate hate playing with randoms.

  5. Corporal Alexei says:

    I guess Rumble Pit gives the magnum as the secondary weapon, but it’ll take a few good headshots to strip the shields before the kill. I just wonder how often Swat –Magnums will come up in the lobby….and how many people will choose it. Like Matthew said, Infection could be good too.

    • gans42 says:

      you do know in regular swat you still have a magnum as a secondary weapon right?

      • Corporal Alexei says:

        D’oh! Thanks, Gans. Since I never use it, I completely overlooked it. 🙂

      • gans42 says:

        lol no prob. i hardly use it either so i can understand that

  6. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    Well after all that theory thinking yesterday, I didn’t need it! I killed the cruiser first try! I had no shields when I got in too!
    ’twas a nice juicy 17 777cR earned rightfully, solo, not using Modio or stuff like that… I’m very proud of myself 🙂

  7. Scruff 815 says:

    So my first comment is awaiting moderation. CURSE YOU, TWO LINKS TO B.NET! Something to keep in mind if you’re going to post links to your gametypes / maps from last night; only do one link per post, otherwise Matthew’s going to have to approve everyone’s comments individually 😉

  8. Woody says:

    I thought the same thing about never giving up on Halo. Lately, I haven’t been playing Reach as much, because of recently release games (M12 & NCAA12) taking time away. I can only imagine the time I will have for Reach once GOW3 and Halo CE Anniversary comes out.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Well, the multiplayer component of CE:A is part of Reach anyway. 🙂

      • I wonder if they are going to use the same ranking system in CE… Back in H3 it was a brutal process to get promoted and god forbid you lost a few games cause you would actually go DOWN in rank. The one good thing about that was it severly limited my online time when I was drinking lol

      • I wonder if they are going to use the same ranking system in CE… Back in H3 it was a brutal process to get promoted and god forbid you lost a few games cause you would actually go DOWN in rank. The one good thing about that was it severly limited my online time when I was drinking lol

      • Scruff 815 says:

        I *hated* that ranking system in Halo 3. All that happened was:

        Play a few games and do awesome. Get promoted and play against much, much higher ranks.
        Play a few games and do terrible. Get demoted whilst getting battered for many a game.
        Repeat to fade.

        And FYI, CE’s matchmaking is part of Reach. It is not its own separate entity. It is essentially DLC, and is part of Reach. Any kills you get count towards your Reach service record. Any credits you earn count towards your Reach rank. As far as CE itself is concerned, it is just a solo/co-op Campaign. It’s a bit like the Mythic disc from ODST. 🙂

      • Bart fultz says:

        Halo 3’s rank system was definitely not a whole lot of fun, I had the same experience with it myself. You play all day to rank up+ lose one match and you are back down, that = 😦 !

      • 'Cos says:

        …and thank the “Halo gods” for that! 🙂 It’s probably my saving grace for completing my Commendations and Rank. Saving my pistol Commendation for CE. Smart!

    • Well Woody, when GOW3 comes out we need to get together and play it. 🙂

    • Woody says:

      Michael, I will gladly shoot up some stuff on GOW3 with you when it comes out.

  9. lolgtfoplz says:

    That one kid has almost 9000 pistol kills,
    my car has green rims now.
    The challenges today will not get done,
    i have to finish the other 2 rims of my car.
    Concert saturday,
    with bullet for my valentine/seether/a7x and escape the fate. (i’m being dragged along.)
    I hope you all have a good weekend,
    and i’ll be back to posting on monday.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Nice! It’s been an age since I saw Seether, both times I have before are some of the most memorable concerts I’ve been to 😀

      Enjoy.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Throw things at A7X for me. Preferably big, heavy, pointy things.

      • lolgtfoplz says:

        warthogs? >.> only band i want to see is escape the fate, and thanks Seether just because Matthew said it would be a good showing. so, i will full bottles of beer and a7x for you scruff, and post the link to my arrest the next day. 🙂

      • … I like A7X!

        *hides from Scruff*

        But in all seriousness, I’m jealous! I haven’t seen Seether or Escape the Fate in concert… and I want to.

  10. Bingdiddybong says:

    Awesome when u complete it with good credits
    :-3

  11. Woody says:

    Oh wow…. I see what you mean about repling, Sensory.

Leave a Reply

