13th September – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below:

  1. Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 150 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1125 cR
  2. Just Holdout – Kill 150 enemies on Holdout in Firefight Matchmaking – 1125 cR
  3. Cannon Fodder – Kill 50 infantry-class foes in the Campaign today – 1000 cR
  4. You Want This, Don’t You? – Earn 12 kills with precision weapons in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1500 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 150 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 1125 cR

You’re better off doing the other challenges first, particularly the Holdout FF challenge, then mopping this up. Best options for this specifically:

  • Forge – make a game with players spawning in one spot and camp it
  • Firefight – Download my Firefight Invincible game type on my File Share, lots of Elites, lots of medals, lots of kills (plus ‘cheevos if you’ve not done the Firefight ones)
  • ONI: Sword Base – Use the Target Designator trick (run past everyone at the beginning, grab it, turn around, fire, wait for the killing to stop and restart the checkpoint)
  • Package – There are points where you can get a checkpoint just before a number of Grunts appear in the final battle, so you can gun them down and restart

Just Holdout – Kill 150 enemies on Holdout in Firefight Matchmaking – 1125 cR

So you’re probably looking at two games of anything here – if you can get into Firefight Arcade or Limited on your own or with one other you might get this, but you might as well whizz through Gruntpocalypse, 2x Score Attack or something twice.

Cannon Fodder – Kill 50 infantry-class foes in the Campaign today – 1000 cR

Winter Contingency should give you over 50, assuming you clear out all areas when in the truck, and take out the Grunts when defending marines, and die having taken out all enemies in the courtyard at the start of Rally Point Bravo and do it twice. I think Tip of the Spear will give you enough infantry enemies through the whole mission, but it is a long mission that has a lot of potential for death and delay. Your other option is either the checkpoint respawn in the end of The Package, and use the Target Designator on ONI Sword Base – run straight to where it is, ignoring all enemies, grab it, turn around and blast the grunts. Then respawn to the checkpoint or restart mission to do it again.

You Want This, Don’t You? – Earn 12 kills with precision weapons in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1500 cR

This is fairly easy in Team SWAT. Precision weapons are the DMR, Sniper Rifle, Needle Rifle and Focus Rifle. So in SWAT you can easily kit up the DMR and just play the game.

25 Responses to 13th September – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Noobwarrior523 says:

    Nice simple challenges….also…at scruff, was playing geometry wars evolved, 81 million on pacifism?????that ruined my whole day, I hate that gamemode after getting the wax off ahievement, and you get a godlike score on it……

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Heh, thanks, I love Pacifism 😀 Unfortunately I am third on my own friends leaderboard. The top score on there is over 150 million. Gah 😦

      • Noobwarrior523 says:

        I was excited to beat loreweavers score on ONE gamemode(pacifism, you guys are actually the only two on my friends list who have the game) he had 2 million, so I’m thinking “scruff probably only has like 5 million” I look up, 81 million I really ruined my mood, I’ll have to beat you in a different gametype

    • gans42 says:

      yeah scruff i was in a party with noob and he just kept on yelling about how he has to beat you and the game sucks because its so hard (including the wax on wax off achievement)

    • Scruff 815 says:

      You know what really sucks with GW2? Being a tenth of a second away from getting the Smile achievement. Spent hours getting the board set up right, got all the way through to the last stage, and ran out of time before I could kill the last enemy. Genuinely threw my controller and that never happens!

  2. Woody says:

    Easy once again. I think it would be cool if we could get a day in which all four challenges are from past challenges worth 2500cR or more.

  3. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    I’ve got nothing to say.

    • But by saying you have nothing to to say, you have infact said something, so what are you really saying?

      • gans42 says:

        Nothing?

      • Shane says:

        If I had to describe this thread, I’d describe it as indescribable.

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        Really. By saying I have nothing to say I AM technically saying something, but I’m just putting my thoughts down so what I say about how I feel about saying things is null. So therefore I have nothing to say, making my earlier post ‘blank’.

        But seriously, last night I was bored out of my mind, I didn’t want to talk about anything to do with Xbox or any up coming game!
        But my daily routine of posting on RDC got the better of me, and I just HAD to put something down, which was that I had nothing to say, meaning that I really did have nothing to say, but then I should have waged nothing, but that would have not allowed me to post… Paradox here…

    • Woody says:

      C’mon…. surely you have something to say.

  4. Zidane says:

    That was a conversation killer 😦

  5. 'Cos says:

    Okay…Okay. I’ll say something. : “Something”. Done. Now what?

    Seriously though. Halo CEA needs to get here. Everyone left to go play other games. Maybe i should finally go back and finish Mass Effect…1! But i wanna rank up in Halo. Darn…

    • Noobwarrior523 says:

      I feel you, im really close to field Marshall (30k) but I have lost the urge to play reach(must beat scruff in geometry wars…..)

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        I have 262, 605cR left until Field Marshall… its too much… i’m dreading having to get upwards of 600 000cR to rank up… but I want it so bad!!

    • gans42 says:

      i basically play reach now for dailies, and then im either in bioshock 2 or crimson alliance

  6. Zidane says:

    Tyical random question, been put on probation for quitting games, first offence in nearly a year through consecutive bad experiences in living dead, not going to ay that o e anymore but how long does probation last?

    • 'Cos says:

      …about 15 minutes. 🙂

      • 'Cos says:

        And i only know this, by the way, because of an internet connection (or lack thereof) problem i had a couple of months ago. That’s been fixed. I don’t quit games…EVER!

    • Shane says:

      You’ll be on a short leash for a day or two so don’t quit any games for a while or else it’s back on probation. It’s a really bad system – if everyone else quits or is AFK and you quit last, you get penalized.

      Yeah, Living Dead = lots of team killing :-(.

  7. 'Cos says:

    Sorry. you’re banned for about 15 minutes. Shane is correct. You are on probation (can’t quit another game) for a couple days. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

