14th September – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Fire When Ready – Kill 30 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1100 cR
  2. The T.G. Opposition – Kill 100 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with the Shotgun – 1000 cR
  3. If It Bleeds… – Find and kill the Gold Range-class Elite in any Campaign mission on Normal or harder – 2500 cR
  4. Chaddlesby’s Justic – Avenge your teammates’ deaths 7 times in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1840 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Fire When Ready – Kill 30 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1100 cR

As ever, Grifball, and you’ll get this in a game or two. Try and get at least one buddy to hold the bomb whilst you play for kills (and vengeance), or hold the bomb yourself and pick off the other team as they come at you with hammers.

The T.G. Opposition – Kill 100 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with the Shotgun – 1000 cR

This is the highest kill volume we’ve ever seen for this challenge. The best way is 2X Score Attack on any map, particularly once the Brutes and Skirmishers turn up as they make real efforts to get to you. The Shotgun is one of the loadouts so you can use it for as long as you need, just let guys come to you rather than going into the fray.

If It Bleeds… – Find and kill the Gold Range-class Elite in any Campaign mission on Normal or harder – 2500 cR

New challenge title, easier difficulty, same credit return. And gives me a chance to scream ‘Get to the chopper‘ during gameplay even more. Your best bet is Winter Contingency from Rally Point Alpha. Follow this excellent guide to find the Gold Elite on all levels, or this comment from MJOLNIR Tester previously about finding him quickly on WC. We’ve also had lots of discussion on one particular Gold Ranger in New Alexandria.

Chaddlesby’s Justic – Avenge your teammates’ deaths 7 times in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1840 cR

This is a challenge that’s almost rarer than Mew. Vengeance can be a difficult medal to get, as you have to kill the person who killed your team mate within a few seconds of the death. My usual advice is to team up with someone and do each other a favour on the challenge. It’s a shame there’s no assist challenge today, Revenge and assists can often go hand in hand! However Grifball is usually a great way to get Revenge and Avenger medals, keep an eye on your team mates, perhaps don’t rush in at the beginning and take out the guys who survive the initial melee. I like Team SWAT too if you stick with a buddy as well.

33 Responses to 14th September – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Noobwarrior523 says:

    This is a challenge that’s almost rarer than mew? You’re talking about the pokemon right? Anyway, I’m gonna focus some more on castle crashers(I finally bought it…) and/or crimson alliance (depends which friends are on) but I might do the golden ranger challenge(I love running him over!)

    • gans42 says:

      did you buy the full game of crimson alliance yet? after i get the dailies (and do some homework) im gonna be playing CA (and ill be starting a new character thats not ridiculously overpowered lol)

      • Noobwarrior523 says:

        Gans I didn’t download it yet but I have points, and on my mew statement, he’s not that rare, I actually caught him back when I use to play pokemon(he is overpowered, REALLY overpowered) just lemme finish my homework first

  2. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    We seem to be having the ‘kill the golden elite’ challenge quite a lot lately… well I have to say, getting to Field Marshall is pretty hard work… I once met a man who had very insightful news… He said the road to eternal bliss is often a bumpy one… (I didn’t really meet a man who said that, I made it up :D)

  3. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    My interesting happening of the week…
    Big team battle, revenants with sniper in passenger seat, sniper getting HEAPS of headshots. I thought it was weird, maybe even an aimbot, but:

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Best. Glitch. Ever. I love it. I also love this video, I’m fairly sure it should be impossible to get a Killionaire with the Sniper Rifle, esp with it’s reload times, but hey…

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        Hahaha, I love the guy at the end just teabagging…
        But this is on my list of things to do, play around with sniper in revenant. Does it auto aim in other vehicles too, or just the revenant?

    • Shane says:

      Goddamnit! That explains a horrible game I had a couple of months ago. Spawn, dead. Spawn, dead. On the other hand…. Wheelman commendation, hmm… would I be able to sleep at night?

  4. Woody says:

    These challenges daily challenges are depressing me. I’ve been doing a few challenges this week and by the time total credits are added from each game from completing the dailies, I barely get more than I would if I had done a quick FF Arcade game with heavy weapons. With that being said, I because it’s back to being a dedicate Firefighter on Arcade, since I’m always getting 3600 cR per game.

    Also, it has getting to the point where I would prefer to do custom matches rather than the same MM games that either aggravate me or make me yawn.

  5. Matthew Vose says:

    My interesting happening of yesterday, using the Target Designator to get my Infantry kills, and an Elite fires at me with the Concussion Rifle. The TD locks onto the Concussion shot and then tracks back towards me. This happened twice!

    I’ve made clips but it won’t upload to file share (apparently the default automated name and/or description is now blocked!!), so when I can, I will.

    • gans42 says:

      check noobwarrior523’s file share, he has a similar video present (it locks on to a concussion shot from the drop ship gun)

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      That also happened to me Matthew, about a month ago, I was taking some screenshots and it just said they wouldnt upload automatically because the description was wrong, as it would if it had swearing, even though I hadn’t made a description, it was all auto…

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      I understand that. Apparently, it doesn’t like ONI Sword Base anymore. They’re going too far if it won’t accept the default name anymore. 😦

      • Scruff 815 says:

        You also can’t use Epic or Fail. The swear filter really is stupid, but all you can do is work around it. Fale instead of Fail, etc. Looking forward to watching the TD thing, anyway 😀

  6. Peggy Peggy FTW says:

    @Sir Galahad, there is some crazy glitch whereby any passenger in the passenger seat of vehicle has there bullet magnetism increased. If you haven’t got the sniper try using a charged plasma pistol shot as a passenger! It will track ten times better than on foot! 🙂

  7. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    How would I hook a capture card (USB one end, the red, yellow, white things and a black thingy on the other end) to my Xbox if I’m currently using an HDMI cable to link my tv and Xbox?

    • TheFarLeft says:

      You have to run the feed through the capture card. You can use the capture card in standard definition, otherwise you need to get an HD capture card. It’s expensive though… I wish every game came with some sort of theater mode :/

  8. Nexamsan says:

    I finally found the WC Bob yesterday while goofing off. In my experience the easiest Bob in on Oni Swordbase as u r coming back to base. The TD should be there then run up on left past everyone and continue left for a Bob, who usually dresses in white armor and dual weilds. One lock on with the TD kills him.

    • JustHawkeye says:

      I find that’s the easiest Bob to find. Just load up wc rally point alpha , great a traceability truck and splatter yourself an elite.

  9. DESTROYER says:

    Well, these challenges look easy enough. I just got my 52nd weekly challenge last night. 😀 😀 Today is Halo Reach’s one year anniversary. I remember unboxing it like it was yesterday.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      I wish I remembered unboxing it a year ago. Sadly Game Gears, the company I ordered it from, didn’t deliver it until the 22nd September – supposedly the third copy they shipped to me. The service was pretty poor.

      Suffice to say they were berated on Twitter and Facebook and I’ve never ordered from them again. Nor shall I.

  10. Cory says:

    Thanks to MJOLNIR’s tip, I got the Gold Ranger on the third run. Thanks.

  11. Scruff 815 says:

    Been thinking of game night related ways of celebrating Reach’s birthday and the best I’ve come up with is to do it similarly to Bungie day – 4, 5, 6 or 8 player teams vs. the world, playing in a particular playlist. Or not. ‘Tis the only idea I’ve got, anyway 😉

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Heh, lots of 4 person squads go into Slayer/SWAT/Grifball/some 4v4 with the aim of playing against another RDC group, as fate decides.

      • JustHawkeye says:

        Lor3to and I did randomly encounter a rdc person in matchmaking. It was weird, but I guess preferring a player works after all, better than avoiding someone.

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        I know. I just played a game with two people who weren’t in a party and avoided them both just to play with both of them again the next game!

  12. 'Cos says:

    That was me, and i thought it to be cool to finally be paired up against someone i alredy knew. Knew it would happen sooner or late. Glad it was the two of you. 😉

  13. SensoryFour34 says:

    So is Game Night tomorrow gonna be regular Matchmaking or what?

Leave a Reply

