15th September – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below:

  1. One Spartan Army – Kill 400 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR
  2. Demon – Kill 30 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking – 1200 cR
  3. A Simple Spree – Earn any spree in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR
  4. Blast Radius – Kill 40 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with grenades – 1000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

One Spartan Army – Kill 400 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR

You get 120 Grunts in Gruntpocalypse, 100 enemies in Score Attack, up to about 130 in 2x Score Attack, and something like 330 in a Firefight Matchmaking game (although split between up to 4 people). I recommend three 2X Score Attack or Gruntpocalypse games (SA first to get the next challenge done), followed by a Crashsite or Generator Defense to get your final few kills.

Demon – Kill 30 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking – 1200 cR

Rocketfight’s usually a good one here, especially since they often up the amount of Elites you get, particularly in the Bonus Round. Fiesta Attack gave a lot more Elites than I’d seen before, but only about 25, and I think there are about 25 in 2x Score Attack too, so two games should give you all the Elites you need.

A Simple Spree – Earn any spree in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR

Sprees cover a lot of options, 5 kills with Shotguns, Sniper Rifle, Plasma Grenade sticks, Swords… and so on. Frankly, 10 kills with anything gets you a spree, so just do that and you’ve got a very easy 1000 credits, so perhaps a quick visit to Crashsite/Generator Defence just to do it in a minute or two.

Blast Radius – Kill 40 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with grenades – 1000 cR

Pick up Plasma Grenades from the Grunts and Brutes to use them, but keep picking up normal grenades from the ammo crate to help keep your supply up.

32 Responses to 15th September – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Woody says:

    I guess Rocketfight offers more Elites to everyone, except me. The last time I played with rockets, I was still getting than ten Elites. As for 2X Score Attack, I’ve killed as many as 28 several times in one match… 24 of them being the normal amount and the four extras coming from a drop pod.

    • gans42 says:

      yeah…that post is from back when rocket attack online had a bonus round of elites (and sniper fight had hunters :o) i usually stick to 2x also for elites.

  2. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    Right, so I will be playing two games of 2x score attack, using grenades to kill elites and getting a sticky spree, and then I’ll probably try a gruntpoc, then a quick generator defense to get the remaining kills. 🙂
    What’s on for game night tonight? I know I never play, but I just like to be in the know 😀

  3. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    Do kills with a detachable turret count as kills with a vehicle in MM as they do in FF?

    • HC Sangheili says:

      Yes, as long as it’s not detached =>

    • gans42 says:

      Ive gotten vehicle kills even without it detached. However I found plasma turrets dont work towards vehicles

      • Woody says:

        I will vouche for gans’ claim with the turrets. You can definitely earn vehicle kills whether it is attached or not. Plasma turrets do not give you anything toward commendation.

      • HC Sangheili says:

        I will test that feedback because, well, I simply don’t believe either of you 🙂

      • Woody says:

        Go ahead and test it. If I’m wrong, then I will dance around with a life size Master Chief poster, while singing “It’s Raining Men” and put it on Youtube. LoL

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Please be wrong, please be wrong, please be wrong…

      • Shane says:

        😀

      • JustHawkeye says:

        I’d like to see you dance with Master chief woody. More importantly is where you got your life size poster of mc.

  4. Scruff 815 says:

    No, to any of these. Can’t be bothered.

    So what’s the plan for game night? I’ll be on for my tourny game at 1am my time, I’m just hoping that other people are going to be around from 8pm to keep me company! 😀

  5. Woody says:

    Just adding my two pennies worth, instead of doing Crashsite to get a few kills for a remainder of a challenge, I simply leave out the game once the challenge is complete, assuming it is done within the first two waves. I figure once wave three is started, I may as well go ahead and complete the entire round.

    • John says:

      If you’re meaning you’re quitting then that puts you at a disadvantage as aside from quit bans you’ve less chance of a jackpot. I find Crashsite games are usually pretty quick anyway as it’s a poorly designed gametype.

      John

    • crazybydefault says:

      I just give up on the objective. That way I still get the credits for actually completing the game. Although there was the one time I managed to complete all 5 waves, when the only thing I was caring about was my health 😛

  6. TheOneInYellow says:

    I’m going to GameFest tomorrow naa na na naa naa 😛

    https://events.game.co.uk/gamefest/

    https://events.game.co.uk/gamefest/exhibitors/

    I get to play Halo CEA before ANY OF YOU WOOP woop woop woop WOOP WOOP woop woop woop!!!

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      Do you think you could rub it in just a little bit more? 😉

    • Shane says:

      Yeah, you could have added another WOOP :-).

      Of course, now you’re honour-bound to give us all a report!

    • 3py0nz3r0 says:

      Had fun playing with you during game night went to send you a friend request but your list was full! I’m sure I will catch you again. Have fun playing all those games!

    • TheOneInYellow says:

      I’ll try and give you a report after I get back, but until then, MORE FOR ME HA HA HA HA ha ha ha!!!! 😀

      Also, I’ll be sorting out my friends list over the next few days and making some room, so don’t be too disheartened. In any case, you can always hear my ‘beautiful’ voice on Game Nights 😉

  7. John says:

    I can’t believe a year on the game still has the same stupid problems at release, I really wish they would start properly punishing quitters. Every game I’ve had this evening everyone has quitted when the map was chosen even though they chose it leaving me to go alone on FF Limited. I’ve just been absolutely mauled on Courtyard thanks to the game giving me hunters and adding drop pod Elites then a full normal round. It’s extremely irritating given Reach has a chronic quitting problem (and always has) there is no game balancing for people stuck on their own, even switching off the drop pods would be a big help.

    John

    • Zidane says:

      Yeah doesn’t go away mate 😦

      • John says:

        Hmm….it does if I go for GoW3…I was hovering over the purchase button earlier but I’ve always found GoW games to be great in co-op but not very good on my own and my brother won’t be home for a while. A rotten night with Reach tonight really isn’t helping, when I finally got teamed up with someone he used up all the heavy ordinance on the grunts then died repeatedly and constantly got in my way with the game after being much the same.

        John

      • Zidane says:

        Ok

      • Zidane says:

        May I ask your age John?

      • John says:

        What would you guess my age is? (just out of interest)

        No more ranting tonight anyway, clearly Halo after some long shifts at work is not a good way to wind down.

  8. Zidane says:

    What’s the best way to get inconceivable medellin ff/cp?

    • crazybydefault says:

      Lone Wolf (campaign) on Easy probably.

    • callupchuck says:

      @crazy I don’t think easy difficulty adds medals/weapons/commendations. Only normal and higher.

      @zidane In the beginning for Long Night of Solace, before you go into the building, there is an infinite number of covenant dropships. I suggest getting a wraith and staying on top of the hill for the drops. Also there are an infinite number of banshees in New Alexandria.

Leave a Reply

