17th September – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below:

  1. One Spartan Army – Kill 150 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2250 cR
  2. Now I Have A Machine Gun – Earn 100 kills with automatic weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1500 cR
  3. Blast Radius – Kill 40 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with grenades – 1000 cR
  4. Deathless Alexandria – Complete New Alexandria on Legendary without dying – 2100 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

One Spartan Army – Kill 150 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2250 cR

You get 120 Grunts in Gruntpocalypse, about 100 enemies in Score Attack and something like 330 in a Firefight Matchmaking game (although split between up to 4 people). There was a great comment a while ago (sorry I can’t remember who said it) that if you need to ‘top up’ your FF kills, jump into a game of Generator Defense or Crashsite and once you have your kills give up the defense. Try something with lots of grenades, or the ability to pick up grenades to help with challenge 3.

Now I Have A Machine Gun – Earn 100 kills with automatic weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1500 cR

Your multiplayer automatic weapons are the Assault Rifle, Needler, Plasma Repeater and Plasma Rifle. I’d recommend Team Slayer in Elite Slayer, so that you can use the Needler to take guys out. Rumble Pit can be really helpful too running around blazing the AR, but it’s tempting to pick up other weapons.

Blast Radius – Kill 40 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with grenades – 1000 cR

Play Score Attack variants (such as 2X SA, Gruntpoc etc). Pick up Plasma Grenades from the Grunts and Brutes to use them, but keep picking up normal grenades from the ammo crate to help keep your supply up.

Deathless Alexandria – Complete New Alexandria on Legendary without dying – 2100 cR

This can be a really difficult mission to do on Legendary, especially without dying. So chances are you’ll want to use the trick of playing through the level as normal, then at the very last checkpoint save and quit, resume Campaign then you’re good to go. For advice on playing the Campaign, I always recommend using Tyrant’s Mythic guide, since it’s so good for Legendary playthroughs.

Gamefest continues in Birmingham. I got to play some Halo Anniversary multiplayer on Penance (the remake of Damnation) towards the end of the day. It very successfully reminded me of why I hated that map, although it reminds me a bit of some of the newest Forge additions in Reach, with multi level corridors and the like.

I’ve also been very impressed with Sonic Generations (those who know my penchant for platformers won’t be surprised), and a PS3 game called Journey, which has pulled me in and might be the 4th game on the PS3 I want to play.

24 Responses to 17th September – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    My current list of games to play/buy/finish are:
    Assassins creed Brotherhood
    Assassins creed revelations**
    Halo CEA**
    Just cause 2
    Skyrim**
    Infamous**
    Portal 2

    **= yet to be released
    But I just don’t have the time to play games anymore because my School Certificate is close by, and I don’t have the money :/

    In relation to the challenges, none of them will be completed today, I don’t feel like Firefight, campaign one will take too long, and the automatic weapons one, well, I would be lucky to even go into Rumble pit, let alone use the AR. 😮

  2. Noobwarrior523 says:

    I might go for the firefight one, very unlikely though, between school starting and various arcade games,AND, finally hitting field Marshall, my playing will probably become game night and various challenges too easy to let go, maybe a day when I’m feeling reach might happen every once in a while

    • Zidane says:

      Yeah I noticed that the last few days and nights figures have been very low on reach

    • Woody says:

      I’ve pretty much reduced my time on Reach as well. I’m only on there long enough to complete easy and quick challenges. Then I may play two rounds of Arcade FF, since it gives me the most credits, to close out the day of Reach. There are too many recent release games that have gotten my attention lately.

      Congrats on joining the cool ranks! LoL

  3. Darren says:

    Can someone please explain how to do the campaign trick?

    “So chances are you’ll want to use the trick of playing through the level as normal, then at the very last checkpoint save and quit, resume Campaign then you’re good to go.”

    From what I can read, you can play on normal and then switch to legendary after you save and quit? I don’t think that is possible though. Could someone clarify? Thanks so much guys!

    • HC Sangheili says:

      Normal refers to playing the missing on Legendary as “normal” or “usual”.

      The trick comes in when the split second you’ve died, hit Start, then select Save and Quit. Back at the Campaign menu, Resume. You’ll restart at the last checkpoint and the Challenge will be active (press Start and scroll to the Challenges to confirm it’s highlighted). It doesn’t “see” that you died allowing you to make incremental progress for those particularly challenging missions, or those that an individual might not be as experienced.

      • Darren says:

        Thanks for the clarification. I have used the save and quit trick before especially on LASO challenges. The wording in the post is a little weird since it does say play through until the last checkpoint. Anyway, thanks for clearing that up.

      • Matt says:

        You can just play through the whole mission, then hit save and quit right when the cutscene starts. Takes a lot less time than doing it every time you die and it still tricks the game into believing you beat the mission without dying.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        You can play through until the last checkpoint of the level, dying as much as you like, then press save/quit/resume. The challenge will be live, even though you technically already died a bunch of times.

        However, 2100 credits is not even a little bit worth my time 😉

  4. HC Sangheili says:

    I’m partial to Corvette for Grenade objectives. 1 FF Doubles should cover both.

    If you can use a Banshee for the Hospital and the 2 switches for Club Errera, completing New Alexandria on Legendary should take about 20 minutes.

    Team Slayer has the best chance of consistent AR starts, but even with a DMR start, there will be a Needler pick up on most maps.

  5. Woody says:

    Wow… I had a first time experience playing Firefight a few minutes ago. I was playing on Holdout and a banshee swoped in from the sky onto the “Factory” section of the map, where I was at. I had never seen that before. If I had been thinking, I could had possibly hijacked the banshee, but there were a lot of Elites arounds and I was trying to go for perfection.

    • Noobwarrior523 says:

      You can hijack?!?!? If so I now know one way to get vehicular up 😉

      • Scruff 815 says:

        You can’t hijack a banshee in FF. Sorry 😉

      • Noobwarrior523 says:

        Dang, still love the map for grounded though!(I think im 70 from BRONZE, lol)

      • Woody says:

        I wasn’t sure at the time if it could be hijacked or not, but I missed out on at least making the attempt to do it. Oh well…. since Scruff said it can’t be done, I won’t lose sleep over it.

  6. TheOneInYellow says:

    Guy’s and Gal’s, sorry for such a late comment post, but please have a read at my impressions of yesterday’s GameFest. Also, have a GOOD look at the photo’s by Matthew, and you will see a ridiculously coincidence of MORE THAN ONE RDC MEMBER!!!

    https://reachdailychallenges.wordpress.com/2011/09/16/16th-september-halo-reach-daily-challenges-commentary/#comment-14001

    • Noobwarrior523 says:

      Really? You’re in one of the pictures?!? That’s awesome!

      • TheOneInYellow says:

        Second picture, fourth person (going from left to right) 🙂

      • Scruff 815 says:

        But… You’re not in yellow… 😕

      • TheOneInYellow says:

        Yep, I am GREY! Or Brown. Or…erm…..blue?

        (P.S. BTW, yellow is NOT my favourite colour. I know, shock, horror! :O)

    • 3py0nz3r0 says:

      Nice!

      • TheOneInYellow says:

        What’s odd is that neither Matthew or I knew who each other were, which is a bit of a shame, but it’s still nice to know that he can take pictures of RDC members when we least expect it (playing Halo) 😉

    • Nice! What a coincidence! I’m jealous. I want to go to GameFest 😦

  7. Oreo (Lothorn) says:

    Got on last night to do some challenges, so I did GB for first two games. Got nearly 6k cR from the first game with a 3k jackpot and one 2k challenge. Second game had another 3k jackpot. Switched to another playlist for one of the other challenges and got a third 3k in that one! Not a bad night. Tonight I was about to stop playing, but last game put me 688 cR from ranking up. Looks like ONI target designator for me.

Leave a Reply

