22nd September – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

There are 9,200 credits available today. You could get them in one game of 2x Score Attack (or FFA). If you do, post us a picture of the credit tally screen. 🙂

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Machmaking – 3200 cR
  2. Heroic Overwatch – Kill 125 enemies on Overlook on Heroic in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR
  3. Hyper Lethal Vector – Kill 100 enemies with headshots in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR
  4. A Simple Spree – Earn any Spree in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Machmaking – 3200 cR

You could do this in one game of Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or some of the other variants. 2X is good because you’re likely to get slightly more than 120 so it takes account of TKs from the Covvies.

Heroic Overwatch – Kill 125 enemies on Overlook on Heroic in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR

As I said at the start, the best way is to get a 2X Score Attack game type on Overlook, since you’ve got a good chance of getting more than 125 enemies in that game. We always have debates on these turning up when it’s map specific, some people so them appear a lot less, so as soon as you’re offered Overlook pick something, and do it twice (especially Crashsite or Generator Defense) if you need to top up.

Hyper Lethal Vector – Kill 100 enemies with headshots in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR

Yep, Gruntpocalypse and 2x Score Attack are great ways of doing this, you should be looking to get a lot of headshots in a game, especially if it’s on a simple map where you can line up the Grunts, like Corvette or Courtyard. If you get to a high number rather than doing a whole game again jump in Crashsite or Generator Defense and only defend until you have your total then give up the goal.

A Simple Spree – Earn any Spree in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR

Sprees cover a lot of options, 5 kills with Shotguns, Sniper Rifle, Plasma Grenade sticks, Swords… and so on. Frankly, 10 kills with anything gets you a spree, so just do that and you’ve got a very easy 1000 credits, so perhaps a quick visit to Crashsite/Generator Defence just to do it in a minute or two.

As I said, pick anything that comes up on Overlook, twice, and just hope you’re good enough to get a bucket load of headshots. 😉

36 Responses to 22nd September – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Noobwarrior523 says:

    Wow, you can get all 4 of these in one game, I was hoping to see some ridiculous challenges as some people have gotten the weekly already, but I’m okay with a game of 2x score attack giving me like 10k 😉

  2. Scruff 815 says:

    Argh, so close! Now I suck at getting headshots in 2xSA; Grunts and Jackals die too easily and it’s only when the Brutes come in that I can start getting them. Also 2xSA didn’t come up as an option. So instead, I did the unthinkable and went for Skirmigeddon.

    This might sound like a joke, but for today’s challenges, I really recommend it. Skirmishers seem to be in Big Head Mode all the time; the hit box on their heads seems to be way bigger than it should be. Anyway, grab a jetpack, leave the spawn building and hop around on the tops of the two silos immediately outside and to the left. Headshot away, then just jump down and get more ammo / health as and when you need it.
    http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/GameStats.aspx?gameid=806292810&player=Scruff%20815
    119 kills, 113 of which were headshots, 0 deaths. Booyah.

    • ITS ZAPHOX says:

      I agree with this. I don’t think I even have a Skirmisher kill that WASN’T a headshot.

    • Biggles 266 says:

      Yeah, jackals are annoying when you need headshots.

      I played a Skirmigeddon on Corvette for extra headshots. Not only did I complete it without dying, which I think is a personal first, I also managed all 120 kills as headshots.

      Originally I’d planned to do some Overlook and deliberately avoid any sprees, because I had 9 daily challenges for the week and I wanted to get all 4 of today’s dailies and the weekly in one round. Alas, a grunt dropped a grenade and killed his mate, giving me a double kill and a killing spree 😦

  3. Scruff 815 says:

    I’ma try and post this in as many different places as I can…

    GAME NIGHT INFO
    * Tonight – Thursday 22nd September. 8pm UK time, or maybe a little bit after because I need to eat food and stuff. I will also be taking a small break at around 9.30-10pm UK time, for an hour at the most, but I will be back afterwards.
    * Add my Gamertag if you haven’t already – and also check that I haven’t deleted you. Cleared out my friends list a bit recently and may have deleted some people who still play on game nights and the like. If so, sorry 😉
    * The plan – primarily MM, with a side of Customs to indulge in Seventh Dawg’s amazing Slayer maps (if he joins in and if we have enough people), and also the newly released Zero Bloom Slayer DMR’s gametype from 343i – http://www.bungie.net/stats/reach/filedetails.aspx?fid=23745054&player=HaloWaypoint
    * Valid photo ID is essential; BYOB; dress code is as revealing as possible

    • FireySplork says:

      Did you clear me?

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Nope! Mainly people I don’t recall ever playing with, or who haven’t been playing Reach in a while, etc 🙂

    • aeoliant says:

      how late are you guys gonna be on?

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Will see how late it goes! Could be a few hours, could be many hours. The latest I usually stay on til is like 2am my time (9pm Eastern I think)

  4. Robotperson says:

    Aha! A meta-challenge from Matthew! I was wondering how long it would take for you to come up with one. How many RDC credits do I get for completing it?

  5. Woody says:

    Getting all four challenges in one game is going to be challenging, but I will definitely give it a try once I get home from work. Gosh… seven and a half more hours to go. Anyway, 2X Score Attack seems to be the only way to go, because you’ll need the enemies from the drop pod just for the chance to get at least 125 kills. Rocket and Sniper fight doesn’t provide enough enemies in the final wave.

    FF Arcade is definitely out the question. You usually end with people who want to use heavy weapons to destroy everything. Even if you join up with three friends, someone will definitely be the odd man out in trying to get all four challenges.

    Now that I’m thinking more on the subject, Firefight Doubles with a friend may be a good route to go. I would suggest Corvette map. My best friend and I were playing doubles the other day and we both had well over 100 kills (don’t remember exact numbers) each. He was using heavy weapons and I was actually going for headshots.

    • Loral Johnson says:

      Yeah…. I think with some luck…. I was almost there but. (can you say prick on here?)… anyway some prick Grunt through a Hail Mary sticky at me and ruined my night…. Had to play another game to clean up Challenge 4 of 4.

  6. FireySplork says:

    After I get one of these, I get the weekly, ive been a little lazy recently, but oh well

  7. SensoryFour34 says:

    Love the challenges! I did notice that the commentary for A Simple Spree says and easy 1000 credits, though.

  8. Dammit…I got into a game of 2X Score Attack on Overlook. I wound up getting 124 kills. Sooo close, i just needed 1 more kill for the Overlook challenge. I also only got 87 headshots. Its tough pulling off headshots in 2X. 😦

  9. ll spunkypants ll says:

    Hey guys, Microsoft forced me to amend my gamertag again (can’t think why!)

    On a separate note, i’m on tonight, and need a volunteer for doubles attack to get all challenges and weekly. #creditfest

    Any takers?

  10. Woody says:

    I failed to get the four challenges done in one game. I simply ran out of time. Even if I had the time, I don’t think I would’ve gotten it done. I was terribly robbed of my chances with the Grunts. It seems like they were dropping like flies, no matter where I was hitting them at. Usually, they seem to endure at least two shots, but not this time. I only ran out of time, because I delayed the killing, hoping the drop ships would make up for some of the missed opportunities in earlier waves.

    I ended up with 119 kills and 77 of them were headshots. If I could have at least gotten the headshots from the Grunts and even some Jackles like normal, I would’ve had the four challenges.

  11. Damon says:

    I got all 4 challenges plus the weekly in one game. Do I win? 😀

    • Damon says:

      Pics or no proof, I know, I know.

      • Damon says:

        And also, after looking at it, why did I get such a random amount of credits for the challenges..?

        25k+2k+2k+2k+3200 = 34200..

        ???

      • Dogmeat says:

        Wow!! :-O You hit a maximum binary limit! Apparently, Bungie never thought there would ever be a value for the challenges “bucket” in a single match that was larger than 15 bits (represented by 15 1’s).

        I’m sorry that you were slighted about 1,500 credits, but I think it’s cool that your inadvertently discovered this limitation!

      • Damon says:

        #winning

      • Loral Johnson says:

        As a PhotoShop guru.. this pic looks very pixelated… so the doubt is still there… LOL

        Nice job man…. just messin’

  12. Xytan Vadamee says:

    Is it just me or are 343 Feeding us will thoes credits 😀

    • Xytan Vadamee says:

      With*
      iPadfail

      • Woody says:

        Well, I had mentioned earlier this week that I believe 343i were giving out these unusual high credits, hoping to lure us away from GOW3 a little bit. Basically, they want to keep us interested in Halo Reach…. at least that’s what I think.

  13. André says:

    4/4 in 1 game of Firefight Doubles with a random player.

    http://imageshack.us/f/827/imag0764v.jpg/

  14. ll spunkypants ll says:

    I managed all four in one game, but it seems i lost out on cr too! Pic to follow…..

  15. kenny mcintosh says:

    http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=2z88bgn&s=7

    My link for all challenges on 22nd in one game. Did double arcade and got my friend to quit then did the same for him.

  16. Retrograde says:

    Managed to get all the challenges and the weekly done in a game last night, here’s the pic of the credit total (it was starting to fade behind the promotion): http://i.imgur.com/848vS.jpg

    I liked how the credits were (343)46

Leave a Reply

