23rd September – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

My last day in Illinois today, and I might possibly be able to get these challenges tomorrow morning when I’m back in the UK. Given I’ve only been able to get 4 challenges so far this week I’d definitely welcome them!

Also congrats to the chaps yesterday who got the ‘meta-challenge’ of all 4 dailys in one game. Colour me impressed!

  1. Gunslinger – Kill 150 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 5500 cR
  2. This is my Rifle… – Earn 30 kills with precision weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2500 cR
  3. …Got a Triple Double – Earn 3 Double Kills in the same match in Multiplayer Matchmaking – 3000 cR
  4. Credits for Completion – Complete 8 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2800 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Gunslinger – Kill 150 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 5500 cR

Grifball as ever for high kill volumes. You can get 30, 40, 50 and more kills in a good game when you have your timing and eye in with the hammer. Other good options include Infection, Squad Slayer and Multi Team, but for two of the others today I’d definitely go for Grifball anyway.

This is my Rifle… – Earn 30 kills with precision weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2500 cR

Precision weapons are the DMR, Sniper Rifle, Focus Beam and Needle Rifle. Team SWAT will do you well here. Unless you use melee or Pistol every kill will be a precision weapon kill, so play it a few times, try and get a good team who will cover your back (and you theirs), and just do this over 2 or 3 games.

…Got a Triple Double – Earn 3 Double Kills in the same match in Multiplayer Matchmaking – 3000 cR

Again Grifball, or Team SWAT, particularly somewhere like Sword Base. If you’re looking for alternatives, Multi Team is good, particularly Crazy King or Oddball so the round goes on longer and you can take out guys going for the objective.

Credits for Completion – Complete 8 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2800 cR

This is just completion, not wins, so easy to do. Two good options for this – play Living Dead–Infection for some really fast games, or Grifball and score with the bomb really quickly, once you’ve got your kills.

No meta-challenge today, but that’s definitely something I’m thinking of doing each week on random days. 😀

70 Responses to 23rd September – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Woody says:

    I hope 343I keeps up with these payouts for another week or two. Anyway, looks like this is going to be a Grifball day, except for the precision challenge. Thankfully, I had a huge confidence booster the other day after a good solo performance in SWAT.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      I hope this is the new standard of cR amounts. Certainly looks that way 🙂

      • Woody says:

        I hoping as well. We will gladly welcome the new standard, if that’s the case. I think the kids will welcome it more than me, since they want to catch me in ranking. LoL

  2. Mister X says:

    How i won the credits of Credits for completation challenge?

  3. Flacksguy says:

    No love again for us offline players
    There’s only been 5 Challenges we have been able to complete so far this week, with two days left.
    Though I had a shot at the Weekly , but it doesn’t look good anymore.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      That does suck for you, but don’t take it personally; Thursdays are ALWAYS Firefight challenges and Fridays are ALWAYS Matchmaking challenges. Hopefully the weekend ones will give you a bit of variety. 🙂

      To be fair though, as an offline player you earn WAY more credits for Campaign completion than online players.

      • Flacksguy says:

        Actually, when you sign up for silver, those large Campaign bonuses come to a halt. So do the Firefight bonuses.
        We’re kind of in a no-man’s land here.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Wow, that’s weird. I didn’t know that 😕

      • Shane says:

        The rationale is that some kids may be all modding up their boxes to get credits.

    • lolGTFOplz says:

      cant i just buy you a 3 month? . . .

    • Pedle Zelnip says:

      Is there ever “offline” challenges? I thought you have to sign into live to even see the challenges.

      Or do you mean “non matchmaking” (which pretty much means campaign)

      • Flacksguy says:

        Yes any Matchmaking Challenges are out.
        I can do Campaign Challenges, or those ‘any game mode’ Challenges of course, but the majority of Challenges are either Multi or FireFight MM.

  4. Scruff 815 says:

    I wasn’t going to bother with these today given that my evening is busy, my morning was busy, and my afternoon is semi-busy, but these credit payouts are just too good to refuse! Also I just had an Apprentice-esque phone interview and now I need to kill things. Lots of SWAT for me today then! 🙂

    As a side note, I’ll discuss this more over at HS but having played Zero Bloom Slayer DMR’s last night, I’m decidedly on the fence. It works much, much better on the old Halo maps than it does on the likes of Countdown. But yay for the changes to armour lock and active camo! 🙂

    • Krandyt says:

      I must have missed something, what changes have they made to those armour abilities?

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Not generally; just in the Zero Bloom Slayer DMR’s gametype available from Halo Waypoint’s fileshare. It’s a teaser for the beta hopper playlist that starts in a couple of weeks.

        Armour Lock – if you’re already stuck with a plasma grenade then going into AL won’t bounce it off you (though it will bounce off one that hasn’t yet hit you). Also damage bleeds through while you’re in AL, so you’re no longer totally invincible.

        Active Camo – doesn’t last as long; standing still bonus significantly reduced.

    • gans42 says:

      i disagree scruff. i only played no reticule bloom on the new maps (zealot and countdown), and i thought it worked fine. with no bloom pistol>dmr. i was able to kill ‘cos every time because the rate of fire is significantly faster

      • Scruff 815 says:

        My problem with it is that it encourages trigger spam, rather than carefully controlled shots with a DMR as it is at the moment. But hey, something like this was always going to divide opinion 🙂

  5. Lord Kinbote says:

    “Active Camo – doesn’t last as long; standing still bonus significantly reduced”

    Oy. Then what’s the point of it? It sounds like it makes it fairly useless.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      No, it stops it from being so overpowered. As it is at the moment, if you stand still in active camo you can be there for over two minutes. That’s just stupid! In the new version you can still be invisible, just not for as long. It’s a much less drastic change than what they’ve done to AL 🙂

  6. SensoryFour34 says:

    Wow! 13,800 credits just for today! That’s as much as an old Weekly would’ve been! I’m loving this. 😀

  7. Mister X says:

    Sorry, i’m brazillian, my english = terrible. You know the 2800 cr you won on the Credits For Completation? So, how i won this cr? Like, i complete the challenge, but i didn’t won the 2800 cr.

    • lolGTFOplz says:

      I love you

    • Scruff 815 says:

      You completed all 8 games in less than an hour? Um… how?

      • Dogmeat says:

        Grifball? Infection? Fast SWAT matches?

      • Scruff 815 says:

        If you boosted it with a full party, yeah I could see how that would work. But Grifball and Infection are 3 round games. 8 games in 50 minutes = one game every 6.25 minutes, including all load times and game finding. That would be a stretch for a random player by themselves…

    • Woody says:

      Were all eight completions from multiplayer games?

  8. xXMaster SoulXx says:

    every here and there ill see that i complete a challenges but at the tally up screen when im done it doesn’t show the cR that i earned for that challenge…but i always see my total cR number increase at the bottom right of the screen

  9. Corporal Alexei says:

    Greetings from Chicago, Matthew…..I hope you enjoyed your time in our fine state. 🙂

  10. Mister X says:

    Look,just answer my question, please.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      We’re trying to.

      Have a look at your challenges for today. Does “Credits for Completion” show as completed or not?

    • lolGTFOplz says:

      just play some more matchmaking, bro.

    • Dogmeat says:

      I think I now understand what you’re asking. The credits you earned from the ‘game completion’ challenge do not appear in the credits summary from your 8th match. You actually get the credits between the 8th match ending entirely and searching for the next (9th) match. The credits are added to your bank of accumulated credits “behind the scenes”. The next time the challenge comes up, take note of your total credits before the final match. Add the credits you earn from the game itself, and wait for the challenge to indicate it is complete. You’ll see the credits were still added to your bank.

    • Zidane says:

      It happens 😉

  11. Dogmeat says:

    As Matthew stated, hats off to the meta challenge winners from yesterday! 🙂

    I also offer my condolences to the ones that also satisfied the weekly challenge in the same match and were affected by the challenge credit amount limitation of 32,767 (15 binary ones). Effectively, you were denied 1,433 credits that were rightfully yours. 😦

  12. lolGTFOplz says:

    i’m bored at work. so. whats everyone’s most positive and most negative competitive weapons?

    mine are:

    Sniper rifle – 3084 kills, 1190 deaths. +1894

    Assault rifle – 812 kills, 1439 deaths. -627

    • Dogmeat says:

      Since I am actively working on my Trigger Man commendation now, I expect to eventually go positive for the assault rifle. I was around -1140 a few weeks ago. Nevertheless, here are my current competitive weapon extremes:

      Magnum – 7697 kills, 3416 deaths. 4,281
      Assault Rifle – 6399 kills, 7174 deaths. -775

    • Braythor says:

      Gravity Hammer: 3305 kills, 2177 deaths, +1128
      Sniper Rifle: 123 kills, 309 deaths -186

      I love Grifball, I suck with the sniper rifle.

      • gans42 says:

        DMR: 12,696 kills, 11,133 deaths, +1563
        AR: 521 kills, 689 deaths, -168

        I mainly play swat, and rarely play slayer variants

      • André says:

        DMR: 5,926 kills, 3,175 deaths, +2751
        AR: 521 kills, 615 deaths, -94

        I play team swat.

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        Gravity Hammer: 6112 kills, 5314 deaths, +798
        Bomb Explosion: 0 kills, 450 deaths, -450 (Not quite sure how this one works, so I’ll post the next one too)
        Energy Sword: 519 kills, 963 deaths, -444
        If you can’t tell, I play a LOT of Grifball! 😀 I swear I’ve gotten kills from the bomb exploding, so I’m not totally sure how this works. I also rarely get my hands on the sword.

      • Paul says:

        Gravity Hammer: 7138 kills, 6190 deaths, +948
        All my other weapons are negative 😳
        Energy Sword: 623 kills, 1690 deaths, -1067

        hate zombies but always seem to become one very quickly…

      • Zidane says:

        How do you get those stats? Gone to bungie but i can’t see or –

      • thegoatboy says:

        Gravity Hammer: 4190 K, 3571 D (+619)
        followed by
        Plasma Grenade: 1423 K, 878 D (+545)

        Energy Sword: 538 K, 1012 D (-474)
        followed by
        Assault Rifle: 1206 K, 1589 D (-383)

        Been playing more Grifball lately, I think most of those Sword kills are Grifball related. Oh yeah, and I too suck with the AR…

    • callupchuck says:

      DMR – 6317 kills, 2930 deaths. +3387

      Assault Rifle – 768 kills, 882 deaths. -114

      Drama – you are my hero today

    • crazybydefault says:

      DMR: 3751 kills, 2220 deaths. +1531

      Assault Rifle: 315 kills, 638 deaths. -323

      What’s funny, I’m not much of a SWAT player. I just use the DMR ALL the time! 😛

  13. lolGTFOplz says:

    sooo i stumbled across this. i guess you can’t get banned for boosting in griffball…. http://www.bungie.net/stats/reach/careerstats/default.aspx?player=supers0ak%20FTW&vc=3

    • ITS ZAPHOX says:

      thats messed up

    • Dogmeat says:

      This guy actually had his lifetime credits (and, subsequently, rank) reset a few months ago along with a 2 week ban on earning any more credits for idling in firefight (among other things). His commendations were not reset, but I suppose it doesn’t matter as he has posted “lessons learned” instructions on how to boost under the radar of the banhammer. :-/ He also was the first, I believe, to attain (though not through legitimate gameplay) 100% commendation status. It appears he is already a nova rank again!? *sigh*

      • lolGTFOplz says:

        WOW that’s crazy. -sigh- makes me wonder what reach has came to. =\

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      7000 Killionaires and 3000 Unfriggninbelieveables in 725 games of Grifball. What’s wrong with that? (sarcasm)

    • Jesse says:

      Got to give him credit for being creative! lol The point is, at this stage..i can beat a FF arcade with just 2 players. Big frig’n deal about idlers, betrayers, whatevers..it’s only a game! (smile)

      My question is, why did snickerdoodle leave..or “is no longer with us”..what happened there? was she banhammered from RDC???

  14. Zidane says:

    Seperate question, I’m 90k off forerunner, my rank is better than my ability but my hc of 37 in swat i think is ok, does it have any rellevence?

    • Zidane says:

      Hc I mean, rank I know doesn’t

    • crazybydefault says:

      My HC rank in BTB varies from 47 to 50. While I have some pretty great games, I have some not so great ones. I don’t think it really matters (HC says it’s just for fun anyway), but it’s a fun little stat to look at! 😀

  15. Bob says:

    For triple double living dead did it for me

  16. Bob says:

    I play team snipers

  17. André says:

    4/4 in 8 games of swat.

Leave a Reply

