25th September – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Killagruntjaro! – Earn 25 multikills in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 3000 cR
  2. Un, Deux, Trois – Win 3 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2900 cR
  3. Demon – Kill 30 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking – 2400 cR
  4. Nature vs Nurture – Kill 15 Moa in Winter Contingency on Normal or harder – 4000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Killagruntjaro! – Earn 25 multikills in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 3000 cR

In Gruntpocalypse or 2x Score Attack this is so easy. The Grunts come out of the doors/dropships/appear in groups of 4 or 5, and you can easily shoot 3 or 4 of them straight away. Multikills do stack so an Overkill counts as 3 – double, triple and 4 kills. Therefore just play the game and take them out when you see them together. I’m a big fan of using the Rocket Hog in Beachhead for this, just park it along the path to the left by the tree and defend your position.

Un, Deux, Trois – Win 3 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2900 cR

If you play a Team Slayer/SWAT/Grifball/Snipers/Action Sack etc you’ll get this easier, since only two teams gives you a higher chance of winning than the 6 person multi team (for instance). Make sure you read this Weekly Challenge commentary for more hints on doing it quick.

Demon – Kill 30 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking – 2400 cR

A lot of the unusual solo Firefight MM variants give around 25 Elites these days – 2X, Fiesta etc. Firefight Doubles might well be a good way to go here if you pick Arcadefight on a map you both like.

Nature vs Nurture – Kill 15 Moa in Winter Contingency on Normal or harder – 4000 cR

The Moa are scattered through the first two sections of Winter Contingency, one melee and they drop like a bag of stones. Last time we had this challenge we found you can even do it in Nightfall, go to Rally Point Alpha, run through the valley and you come across a group of four with a checkpoint before them. On Winter Contingency, two run around the corner when starting the mission so you can always just restart that, but I think you may have to sit through the Falcon flight to do so unless you can trigger a checkpoint. There are some more when you first fight Elites, and then more as you drive the truck around the place. You can run them over but it’s harder, I suggest jumping out and shooting or punching them. I reckon there are 15 in the level but a quick two runs would easily get this. I bet somewhere there’s a useful checkpoint just before a group of them too.

42 Responses to 25th September – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. André says:

    Got them all, easy cR!

    Firefight Doubles on Corvette has more than enough elites, 40+ kills each.

  2. Corporal Alexei says:

    4,000 cR for 15 moa? Wow, I’m loving the new increased payouts, but that seems excessive. But alas, why would I complain about that?! Happy Sunday all……and to my American breatheren….GO BEARS!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Noobwarrior523 says:

    4k for moas?!?!?!?!??

  4. Gengo23 says:

    Is there a 2X multiplier on all daily challenges?

    Last time I remember the MOA challenge, it was 2,000 cR.
    Last time I remember the 3 wins in MM, it was 1,450 cR.

    There was a Killagruntjaro! (with 35 multikills, not 25) for 1,750 cR.
    The last 30 Elite Demon (as the number can vary) was 1,200 cR.

    Being that I’m halfway from Field Marshall to Hero, I’m not comlaining.

  5. Project shave says:

    I’m so frustrated that the payouts doubled!!! My account got hacked, so it’s locked out for a few weeks and I’m halfway between hero and legend. I want my security helmet sideburns!!!

  6. Braythor says:

    Nice. I took the gamble and only did 2 yesterday so needed all 4 for the weekly. Thankfully no LD LNoS or such nonsense, so little more than an hour and I’m the best part of 50k cR better off.

  7. Noshkanok says:

    Nobody asked, but Rally Point Alpha on WC is great for the Moa, just drive like Colin McRae to the grove of trees near the stream before the bridge, and reset checkpoint as many times as necessary. Or jump out and shoot/melee like Colin Farrell. HA. Celebrity references.

    • Shane says:

      Yep, I was just going to post this. Just around the first bend there are about four Moas. I drove a little past them, got out of the truck, and hit a checkpoint after the third kill (the checkpoint may be dependent on killing the skirmishers first). Kill number four, reset, kill number four, reset,… It looked like a slapstick montage and took just over a minute.

      It also seems to count as a kill Jorge “accidentally” mows one down too. Oh, that Jorge!

      (While we’re at it, the Irish apologise for Colin Farrell, Boyzone, and Westlife)

  8. Mister Shhhhhhh says:

    Roasted Moa is much more tasty than roasted space monkeys!

  9. callupchuck says:

    Increased credit payouts for challenges are definitely permanent. After a year, the most common ranks are Generals and above. Why alienate your regular players to keep the credit payouts the same?

  10. Zidane says:

    Can you still build on commendations if you hit credit cap? It is Sunday after all 😉

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Yes, but I wouldn’t hit any commendation milestones if I were you. Because you’ll lose out on the credits for them, see 🙂

      I’m over a year in to Reach without hitting the credit cap!

  11. Scruff 815 says:

    Increased credit payouts make me happy. They actually make it worthwhile me playing Halo, which is nice. Tempting me out of my ‘other games’ haze and all 🙂

    3 down, just the 3 wins to go. Later on tonight or tomorrow morning for that, methinks 🙂

    • Zidane says:

      I’ve not hit it but close, just wondered if I should work on commendations, cheers Scruff

  12. Oreo (Lothorn) says:

    Definitely liking Sundays. Seem to be easy challenges worth a lot of cR. I hit the weekly on the third day, so the rest of the week has been a bonus. Only got on really late last night/early this morning to get the Storm and Covie-cide challenges. I was hoping for Skirmageddon on Corvette, but had to settle for Fiesta on Courtyard in score attack. I played with no sound on and still made it to the end with 124 kills!

  13. Zidane says:

    Re Snickerdpodle, don’t want to know why she isn’t inhere any longer but appreciate knowing she is ok?’

  14. Paul says:

    Weirdest thing. Just did 2x SA on Courtyard and thought I was being smart by using the target locator to deal with the elites – got a killpocalypse for one group. However at end of game, although I had killed 24 elites in total, I only got credit for 15 towards the challenge.

    I think the reason is that the buggers killed me just before the orbital strike landed, so I have 9 kills from the grave. Only kills when you’re alive count for the challenge.

    Anyone had a similar experience or able to confirm this idea?

  15. Jesse says:

    I have noticed that the payouts for completing FF matches are back before their changes (in spring), when FF Arcade was about 15 minutes. The challenge payout are up, but definitely, the payout at the end of matches are a lot lower.

  16. Tomozaurus says:

    I leave my XBox for a week, come back, and the payouts are double?! Awesome.

  17. Zidane says:

    I knew I was close to credit cap but ive been capped at 99k, I thought it was 120? Anyone share?

    • Zidane says:

      The credits are good but I’m not fussed either way as it’s all relative but I have noticed a lot go missing over the last few weeks, I presume down To new releases

    • Lord Kinbote says:

      What is this credit cap people are speaking of? Do you mean there’s a cap on the total # of cR you can get or on a daily or weekly basis? How could it be 99k or 120k total if some of the things in the armory cost 1 and 2 million? I’m only up to Major Grade 3 ’cause I usually only do Campaign and only just recently started venturing into Firefight in the last week or so.

      Can’t really do multiplayer. The constant motion gets me nauseous.

      • Zidane says:

        You can only receive x amount of credits in a day, I believed it to be 120k but got cut off at 99k tonight

  18. Jesse says:

    Ya, definitely dropped. I think about 1500 a game.

    PS. I’m with you on wondering what happened to our friend Snickerdoodle. She was a daily fixture here at RDC.

    • Zidane says:

      I re read her blog on Italy, hope she is ok 😦

      • Hey guys, thanks for the concern! I’m alive and doing well but the past couple weeks have been both busy and rough for me so I’ve not been around here much.

        I went to visit my grandmother and other family in France for a bit and did not really have access XBOX or anything so I wasn’t going to bother seeing what challenges I missed and be sad over it. 😛 (Don’t worry, blog updates are in the works so if you’re interested, keep your eyes peeled this week.)

        Between traveling, working/training with my pup, derby stuff, and the new community I’ve been working on, this has kind of taken a back seat for me.

        I hear it’s been mentioned here a couple times already but I started up a forum for people from here, there, and wherever to be able to talk about more than just the challenges. I know a lot of information gets lost in past posts/comments here and that was making me sad and I realized something else was needed. Yes, the Waypoint forums are an awesome resource but just a lot larger in the grand scheme of things than I was wanting. I like having a niche community where everyone “knows” each other so I went ahead and started my own forum to accomplish that goal.

        Things are going well and you guys are all more than welcome to join us over there if you’d like, the more the merrier! I’m not trying to replace RDC or anything like that and they aren’t mutually exclusive and all are welcome.

        Halo Social

        All that said, I can’t promise I’ll be around here much because I do have a fair amount going on lately but I do try and pop into HS at least once a day so feel free to come over and chat with us!

        Ciao!

  19. Attyred says:

    Ugh. Ten friggin’ games of swat and only one win. Screw you people who quit before the game even starts.

  20. Lord Kinbote says:

    Score Attack x2 on Beachhead, I believe, is great for both Kiligruntjaro and Demon. Got both of these in one game. Jump down and get the target locator early on (it’s in the closest ordinance hub to where you spawn) and get back up and look for a couple of clusters. That should get you 5 or 6 multikills right off the bat. Everything else is just moppin’ ’em up as quickly as possible, but it wasn’t too tough and I did most of it with the pistol, even most of the Elites. That was mainly a mistake though. i forgot to choose the DMR and got the pistol and assault rifle instead. Whoops. 😉

  21. Zoing says:

    I noticed my payout go up but thats probable because i hit general yester day eg: colonel 1000cr for game complete
    Brigadier:1500 cr for game complete
    General:2000 cr for game complete

    • Zidane says:

      I’ve got 118k before now thinking cap was 120 and stopped, very surprised at 99 😦

  22. Zidane says:

    Anyone want to guess at weekly tomorrow?

  23. Lord Kinbote says:

    Okay. Thanks, Zidane for the explanation. I think the most I’ve ever gotten was around 60k when i got a few dailies and a weekly at once.

  24. Zidane says:

    I maybe mistaken but didn’t we see 777 kills in a week in mm, new one should be be worth 77k but I’m not liking hitting credit cap today!!!!

  25. Hilltop86 says:

    I’m thinking a speed run will be the next weekly challenge.

  26. Jesse says:

    … for fun joined some MLG games. I am amazed how how fast these guys could kill me (head shot) with the sniper rifle while hopping around like a bunch of rabbits. I think i stood there thinking, ok, stop hopping around so i can shoot you! lol
    Impressive (not the amount of times I died), but the ability to aim and kill ya that quickly. I also notice most of them don’t even bother with daily challenges.
    Summary: I was schooled badly! 🙂

Leave a Reply

