27th September – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. One Spartan Army – Kill 150 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2250 cR
  2. Demon – Kill 50 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking – 3000 cR
  3. If It Bleeds… – Find and kill the Gold Ranger-class Elite in any Campaign mission on Normal or harder – 5000 cR
  4. Double Double – Earn 2 Double Kills in the same match in Multiplayer Matchmaking – 2000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

One Spartan Army – Kill 150 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2250 cR

You get 120 Grunts in Gruntpocalypse, 125+ in 2x Score Attack, about 100 enemies in Score Attack and something like 330 in a Firefight Matchmaking game (although split between up to 4 people). There was a great comment a while ago (sorry I can’t remember who said it) that if you need to ‘top up’ your FF kills, jump into a game of Generator Defense or Crashsite and once you have your kills give up the defense. I say 2 games of 2X so that you’ve got a good chance of getting…

Demon – Kill 50 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking – 3000 cR

A lot of the unusual solo Firefight MM variants give around 25 Elites these days – 2X, Fiesta etc. Firefight Doubles might well be a good way to go here if you pick Arcadefight on a map you both like, although I’m not sure if that’ll give you 100 Elites to split. So as above, do 2x score attack twice and you should get this.

If It Bleeds… – Find and kill the Gold Ranger-class Elite in any Campaign mission on Normal or harder – 5000 cR

New challenge title, easier difficulty, double credit return (5k for one kill, sweet). And gives me a chance to scream ‘Get to the chopper‘ during gameplay even more. Your best bet is Winter Contingency from Rally Point Alpha. Follow this excellent guide to find the Gold Elite on all levels, or this comment from MJOLNIR Tester previously about finding him quickly on WC. We’ve also had lots of discussion on one particular Gold Ranger in New Alexandria.

Double Double – Earn 2 Double Kills in the same match in Multiplayer Matchmaking – 2000 cR

Double Kills are fairly easy to pick up,in Grifball especially. Multi Team will usually see you get 3 or 4, as you naturally get more people, closer together. Grenades and Heavy Weapons are your friend here. Team SWAT can also be good for this, and a good chance to play considering what the weekly challenge is, but really it’s whatever game you play well in.

59 Responses to 27th September – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Noobwarrior523 says:

    I have to start playing halo again…..

    • Zidane says:

      Oh yeah, I may stop when I teach inheritor 🙂

      • Zidane says:

        Reach even

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Lol, “when” and “Inheritor” in the same sentence.

        Though if I ever do get there – which is highly unlikely – then I guess I’ll be doing a lot of Custom Games, with the occasional ‘proper’ game night thrown in, since credits won’t matter anymore!

      • Zidane says:

        Only 6.8 million to go 🙂

      • Shane says:

        I’ve got just under 3 million to go now :-). 343 is making it a little easier as well.

  2. Scruff 815 says:

    I shall call this day’s challenges – One Cup Of Coffee Day.

    Prepare coffee, then boil kettle; kill Bob while kettle boils.
    2 games of FF Arcade whilst slowly supping my (big) coffee to get the FF challenges done.
    Have more of my coffee, then one game of SWAT, then celebrate my victory with the last mouthful.

    12,250cR, plus game completion, will take me dangerously close to ranking up. Get in.

  3. Woody says:

    Hmmm…. just 40 minutes of Halo time and in return you get over 12K credits. Not bad at all. Hero status is soon to come, especially if I can hit the weekly.

  4. FOREMILES says:

    Easy challenges and I am nowhere near my Xbox until Friday. Hope everyone else has fun.

  5. gans42 says:

    Pity I probably wont be playing at all today to snag these gifts

  6. Zoing says:

    The easiest way to do firefight challenges is to sign in a gueat player profile then go into ff doubles and find an arcadefight.once the game starts sign out the gueat profile then you have thhe entire arcade fight for yourself

    • lolgtfoplz says:

      and you can get banned for 2 weeks! great idea!

    • André says:

      Nice! I will try that.

      • André says:

        Ok maybe not. I was wondering about the ban. What if you played with both controllers half the game?

      • Noble343 says:

        you can’t get banned on signing a guest out…theres no tampering with the system or boosting 🙂

      • lolGTFOplz says:

        that is tampering with the system noble. my old roommate got banned for 2 weeks for doing that.

      • Zidane says:

        I also believe you can get banned for this! The only one that doesn’t carry warnings etc is quitting score attack

      • Noble343 says:

        thats weird ive done it atleast 20 times in firefight arcade haha..i will admit i got banned for 24 hours for having signing guests in and by them not making any movement for to long the system noticed…so learn from my mistake people!

      • Noble343 says:

        i still don’t see how it is tampering though cause its as if someone quits out and your left to fight for yourself!

      • lolGTFOplz says:

        eh, who knows. headshots and headshots and headshots.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Yeah, but it’s registered as a guest on your Gamertag, so it’s obviously a second controller.

        I wouldn’t do it. Even if you’ve been doing it for weeks without being noticed, you could still be banned or reset for it. It has happened before. Also you don’t get any assists if you play by yourself 🙂

    • HC Sangheili says:

      It’s a type of “network manipulation” which can be caught up in the banhammer.

      • André says:

        Ok, nice to know. I will play a few firefight games today then.

        Question if I already got a 24 hour ban a long time ago (achievement session with guest account) will the next one be 2 weeks then next again permanent/reset. or will it be a new 24 hour ban?

      • HC Sangheili says:

        Generally, I’ve seen feedback that it’s 24 hrs, 48 hrs, 1 week, 2 weeks, Credit Reset.

      • André says:

        Ok, thanks!

      • biodrumr says:

        No escalating scale on the banhammer. I recently came off a 2 week ban for boosting a weekly LASO. Which I did just to see if I’d get banned, lucky me.

        I’d never done any boosting before or been banned for anything, and they had me by the morning after the boosting. 2 week ban, just ended on Sunday. Be careful, the banhammer is watching…

    • Shane says:

  7. lolgtfoplz says:

    Bob, i’m sorry but you will be killed again this week. it just has to be done… as for the rest of them, easy. given that i have packing to do i will probably just complete the dailies and be done with it. got the weekly done already, so i dont have to worry about that one 🙂 good luck everyone!

  8. Project shave says:

    Easy challenges. I like. I wasnt going to go for the weekly until I jumped into a game of swat last night. An hour or so later and I’m already halfway through the weekly!

  9. nexamsan says:

    Something weird happened to me last night while playing slayer. I went into armor lock and popped a guys sheilds then killed him and the lockin and poppin achievement was completed…..I was on swordbase on the bridge near the yellow lift and I don’t have either variant map packs……

    • lolGTFOplz says:

      reach was acting funny for me as well yesterday, but nothing as crazy as that, all i can say is congratz!

    • HC Sangheili says:

      Must have popped your collar.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Other people have reported similar things since the Title Update. Chances are that Halo: CE:A will come with the ‘complete Reach multiplayer experience’ then, since the TU was for CE:A and all…

  10. Zidane says:

    Does anyone know if there is an actual credit cap, I’m sure I hit it at 99k but I’ve heard many times it’s 120k, close to doing weekly and I’ll hold off until tomorrow, just don’t want lose those credits! Getting about 9k per firefight game at the min 🙂

    • Jesse says:

      I’m with ya on the 120K/Day. Reach began with 60K/Day, then doubled it. (I still wonder how all those inheritors got there so fast with out getting hammered by the banhammer.

    • lolGTFOplz says:

      yeah i’ve gotten the slowdownbro hammer one time. after playing all day on a saturday, i’m assuming it was around 120k. lol

      • Zidane says:

        But I hot it the other day well before 120, does it change with rank?

      • Zidane says:

        Got

      • Jesse says:

        There definitely is no “slow down” ban hammer. If you are playing legit as you max out, then you’re OK. For sh*ts and giggles, I legitimately maxed my Cr limit every day for a week, no issues whatsoever.

        I don’t get the credit limit though. We paid for the game, we pay for our Gold Membership, and they want more players online playing, what difference does it make if we earn 300K a day (if we’re that bored!). Again, it’s not like real $$$. Strange logic that hopefully 343 changes.

    • Dogmeat says:

      I hit the 120k cap twice in the last week due in part to my rank earning over 3-4k credits per multi-team mp match (not including those 3k jackpots). The first time was because of the weekly and daily challenge payouts on one day last week. The second was part of an experiment (that is almost finished).

      You know how most people roll their time zone forward to start earning credits for the next day? Bungie indicated that it was an acceptable practice as they are only borrowing credits, and it would catch up to them eventually. I’ve never done so, but I tried rolling the clock to a time zone 5 hours BACK the other day. This allowed me to hit the cap (so I wouldn’t be earning credits so quickly) and still work on a particular commendation without having to quit any matches and suffer a penalty. More details on this experiment will follow tomorrow.

      The cap is definitely set to 120k.

      • xXMaster SoulXx says:

        Setting the cR cap to 120k is all a marketing setup…first it was 60,000 to make sure people didn’t get to far ahead! …cause there are Halo Freaks out there that will put every living breath of their lives into earning credits! By not letting people get to far in cR leveling up left Bungie (now 343i) with more chances to tease people with! …such as Halo Anniversary! when it comes out everyone still has plenty of cR to earn besides the few hundred inheritors already http://www.halocharts.com
        The biggest notice was how few of cR they gave us until Gears of War 3 came out then it was like cR heaven!…Marketing setup like i said…to keep people playing Halo 🙂 anyways i could go on and on but you get the point!

      • Zidane says:

        Cheers!

  11. Brady Cook says:

    For Gold class ranger challenge

  12. Rob Harrison says:

    I am asking a question of all of you because this seems to be the sanest and most intelligent group of Halo Reach players out there.

    I play only about an hour a day at most and have just a bit over 1 mill credit and am closing in on General. I do the daily challenges and my son does the multiplayer and that seems to work well because I am dreadful at multiplayer. He wants to get the inclement weather armor effect but that is still 3-4 months away given we have another mill in credits to go. Is that armor effect worth it? Bugs me that you have to swap out the flaming helmet to use it. Also, it would seem to be a real easy way for others (opposing teams and players) to see you in multiplayer with all of that lightening flashing about.

    I really appreciate this site. Good solid well written info and good natured discussion of a fun game.

    Thoughts?

    Rob

    • gans42 says:

      Thats the last thing ill buy. Reasons? Too expensive and it says “hi look at me, im here, shoot me please” Though then again flaming helmets have the same effect

    • Brady Cook says:

      I saved up for probably 2 months for the inclement weather and I would say it is worth it. My spartan looks way better and I believe its more intimidating. Plus the screen shots are cooler (: If its gonna take you another 3-4 I wouldn’t save up to buy it, I would purchase something else. It is worth the wait though

    • Scruff 815 says:

      I’d wait if I were you. The amount of credits you earn per game goes up as you rank up (not including grades), so if you’re Brigadier now, then you’ll be earning around twice as many credits per game by the time you hit Hero or something similar. Which means that the time it takes to earn a million credits now is a lot longer than the time it’ll take you to earn a million credits in a few ranks time.

      If you’ve already got over 1 million then you could get Pestilence. Looks pretty sweet to me, and not a lot of people use it either.

Leave a Reply

