28th September – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Gunslinger – Kill 150 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 5500 cR
  2. A Walk in the… – Kill 125 enemies on Beachhead in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR
  3. L.D. Solace – Complete Long Night of Solace, without dying, on Legendary with Mythic, Thunderstorm, Tilt, and Tough Luck on – 8500 cR
  4. Better, Closer, Warmer – Earn at least 9 kills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2343 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Gunslinger – Kill 150 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 5500 cR

Grifball as ever for high kill volumes. You can get 30, 40, 50 and more kills in a good game when you have your timing and eye in with the hammer. Other good options include Infection, Squad Slayer and Multi Team. And of course if you’re still working on the weekly then this is a good challenge to hit up some SWAT in.

A Walk in the… – Kill 125 enemies on Beachhead in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR

Go to Co-operative – Score Attack in Matchmaking and keep cycling through the options until you get Beachhead, and select anything because you might have to take what you’re given, but if you can you want 2X Score Attack because you should get enough enemies in that game. What’s quite nice about Beachhead is the Warthog to the left of the map by the base, and the Ghost by the back section on the right (as you look at the beach). So you can pick up either some running over or some weapon kills with vehicles. Surprisingly low credits for this, but it is only one game of course.

L.D. Solace – Complete Long Night of Solace, without dying, on Legendary with Mythic, Thunderstorm, Tilt, and Tough Luck on – 8500 cR

The best advice I can give is to re-read Tyrant’s guide to doing it Mythic, as this is very similar to that, and all the advice when we saw this as a LASO challenge.

Better, Closer, Warmer – Earn at least 9 kills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2343 cR

Multiplayer, 9 kills. Should be easy in most formats, go with your best, Slayer, Rumble Pit, Grifball, Team SWAT, whatever really, should be quick and easy.

50 Responses to 28th September – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Krandyt says:

    Wouldn’t normally bother with the L.D. especially on LNoS as much as I like the level I rarely get through without a death or 5,but the Cr are too hard to resist, so the old save/quit,restart before the last set of elites should do the trick, will get the weekly with the 150 kills so yet again SWAT all the way! 

  2. Same, this is extrememly hard for me but those credits are very tempting!

  3. André says:

    343 is credit happy today! Looks like 45786cR for me today including the weekly, just for challenges.

  4. Scruff 815 says:

    Good lord, I’m almost tempted by the Campaign one. Not tempted enough though. Between having no commendations to increase, and very poor Campaign completion credit payouts in general, it’s still not worth the time investment for me.

    On the other hand, 150 kills in MM should take about 10 games. With an average payout of 2,000 per game, that works out to be about 25,500 cR total for that challenge. Much more worth it 😉 The FF one is a maybe depending on free time.

    Also I finally hit Mythic this morning. I was quite amused to rank up from a 312 cR payout from a Forge session 😉

    • gans42 says:

      whatre you forging scruff? and i have yet to try out your race map (i know im terrible)

      • Scruff 815 says:

        My plan is to do 6 levels to fulfill the whole LOST thing – preferably 6 different levels for 6 different game modes. I’m not sure what 6 modes to do though. 😕

        Anyhoo, I’m currently working on a medium-sized map for Team Slayer etc. Getting there slowly; making a good Slayer map is a *lot* more fiddly than making a good Race map!

      • Project shave says:

        LOST thing? As in the TV show? Because that would be rad!

      • gans42 says:

        well scruff, you can ask santaanas and ‘cos, im good at finding little holes that need fixin in the final stages of the map. so if you want, ill gladly help test your map out

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Thank you! I’ll take you up on that offer when I finish building it. 🙂 Should be another week or two depending on how well it goes and how much Forge time I put in. Got about 40% of it done so far; but most importantly, the rocket launcher and sniper spawns are set already 😉

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Shave – yeah, I’m a bit obsessed with LOST. I’m planning on doing 6 DHARMA facilities, the first one’s already done and is Station 4: The Die. It’s a race map and you can clicky: http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/FileDetails.aspx?fid=23284225&player=Scruff%20815

        It’s not so nerdy to the point where people who aren’t LOST fans won’t get it, it’ll just be a racetrack to them. But there are some cute little references and stuff in there for fans 🙂

      • Project shave says:

        Thats awesome scruff! I’ll definitely want to try them out!

    • FireySplork says:

      Did the same thing when i hit Legend two days ago

  5. Woody says:

    Looks like I will be using the two controller method for the campaign challenge, assuming I even bother to do it.

  6. Zoing says:

    Wow the ld challenge gives more credits thean the best served cold weekly challenge

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Yeah, 343i are doing much bigger payouts than Bungie gave.

      Makes sense though; the average rank is a lot higher these days, so a credit reward of 7,777 for a weekly challenge was pretty pathetic. You could get more than that in one game of Firefight with a couple of daily challenges on it.

      • Project shave says:

        I think 343i raised the cR payouts because of the release of GoW. Gotta keep people interested in Reach somehow!

        In the meantime, I’ve already got LD Solace and Better, Closer, Warmer done. Getting the weekly done today too! Woo hoo!

      • Scruff 815 says:

        I think the payouts have been big since 343 took over. Bungie carried on doing them until way after Bungie Day, it was like 2 or 3 weeks ago that 343 fully took over. 🙂

  7. Scruff 815 says:

    Impromptu Game Night – join me tomorrow, Thursday 29th September. 8pm (UK time) til late (with a small break in the middle if you’re me). Various game modes depending on numbers and what people fancy playing and whether people have the DLC – but strictly no Customs; I’ma save that for a future week when a few more of us have finished the maps that we have in creation at the moment.

    Tell yer friends. Unless they’re asshats. In which case please don’t tell them.

    If you’re one of those lurkers who reads but doesn’t write, you’re still welcome, just add me (GT is my name on here) and come along at 8pm UK time or later.

    • crazybydefault says:

      Thank God I’m skipping cross-country practice and replacing it with a study session for AP Government. I should actually be able to make it!

  8. André says:

    Hopefully score attack wont count against the quit ban. Beachhead, I had to search 3-4 times for it. Spent more time vetoing maps than playing.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      From what I hear, Score Attack quits are fine. Personally I just fling myself off a cliff for a couple of minutes so I die ‘legit’ but that’s just because I’m over-cautious 😉

    • Gengo23 says:

      My understanding is that if you “dashboard” while it is still counting down (from map vote, not map load) that it is perfectly fine.

      Basically, if you go into your bnet profile, if it shows a DNF, it counts, if the game doesn’t show at all (which it won’t by the first sentence) then no worries.

      • André says:

        Ok nice to know. I quit one of each kind today & I played crash site. Ban is only 10 minutes (I think) so no worries. My connection seems to work good now too.

  9. Oreo (Lothorn) says:

    Funny thing happened last night while trying to complete the FF challenges. Second game of 4 player ended up being just me and another in the lobby. Don’t know how it happened, but I made It count in arcade fight on corvette.

  10. André says:

    Might as well do SLASO today and save it on USB image for later.

    • André says:

      I been at the last battle for an hour now (damn elites). 4 hours total. But I never have to do this again! (hopefully).

      • André says:

        In the end I managed to assassinate them all. Phew, Finally!!!

      • Oreo (Lothorn) says:

        I guess you didn’t get into the Pelican to use the turret? That is my preferred way to finish that mission, and I think it’s in Tyrant’s guide. For those that don’t know, you can run into the hanger at the end and, if they haven’t blown it up, you can get into the nose turret of the Pelican and hose down the entire hanger while being invincible. You’ve gotta crouch next to it and press X.

      • André says:

        No, I have yet to get that to work. I usually assassinate all elites like last time only today was really difficult. they spot me quick and I had no shields and the checkpoint I was on had 1 rocket elite chasing me so I had to run and hope for the best. The 4 elites are usually busy shooting Jorge so its all about sneaking around and taking them down one by one.

  11. lolGTFOplz says:

    challenges done yesterday – 0 challenges getting done today – 0 where is my xbox you might ask? and your guess will be as good as mine, entire room is full of boxes and bins and baconstrips and baconstrips and baconstrips and ok you get the idea. its full of stuff from my closet, so i’m not going to get to play again today… -sigh- such good challenges i’m missing out on. good luck to you all!

  12. Shane says:

    For A Walk in the… I’d recommend Firefight Arcade instead. For twice the amount of time you have a good chance of getting 2-3 perfect rounds, lots of Grounded kills, and with the bonus round you could reach 125 kills.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      This is true, but you only get (at most) three map choices. Which means, realistically, you’d have to play about 5 games before Beachhead even comes up as an option. Score Attack and FF Doubles allow you to veto again and again until Beachhead comes up for you 🙂

      • Dogmeat says:

        I don’t know if it’s true, but beachhead seems to come up in the choices for arcadefight more often than the others. It certainly is one of the most chosen (for vehicles presumably). My attempts to play doubles often results in random teammates who: aren’t very good (meaning 1 1/2 rounds instead of 2-3), quit early, or who sit up in a spot that the AI can’t “see” (I am never the “marked man” because my connection rate is never chosen to be the host) meaning the AI wanders around aimlessly instead of running towards us, wasting precious time. I am only able to work on my perfectionist and grounded commendations for firefight now, and the doubles “formula” doesn’t lend itself to accomplishing either! 😦

      • Shane says:

        D’oh! Scruff and biodrumr are right – clearly Firefight Doubles is better than Arcade here, especially if you have a partner in crime. I’m just personally not playing Score Attack anymore since I only have the same two commendations to work on and more players usually = more fun.

        However, Dogmeat’s also right about dud Doubles partners. I submitted a guide to RDC a few weeks ago about how to get Grounded and Perfectionist commendations maxed out – Doubles works very well here with a good partner. I usually get 7-10 vehicle kills in a game on Beachhead.

    • biodrumr says:

      Gonna have to agree with Scruff on this one. But I’ll take it one step farther and so go with FF Doubles, and then an Arcadefight on your map of choice.

      You get the same number of enemies ~330ish in a FF Doubles Arcadefight as you would get in a 4 player Firefight Arcade…and obviously only split between 2 people.

      A buddy and I completed yesterday’s Demon and One Spartan Army challenges in a single game on Corvette. That’s 100 elites in a single game, and more than 300 enemies. Nice.

  13. Dogmeat says:

    Well, my experiment has finally reached an end. Through some careful planning, I managed to max my rank on the 7,777th match! 343i didn’t make it easy with their increased credit payouts. There were a few challenges I had to forego since I would have earned credits too quickly.

    From the time I started this experiment 777 matches ago, I managed to onyx my heavy weapon and sidearm commendations. I also (at the tail end) got my trigger man commendation to gold! What a royal pain it is to try and keep a positive k/d ratio using only the assault rifle while everyone else is gallavanting around with their DMRs and power/heavy weapons! Nevertheless, my negative weapon usage for the assault rifle has diminished to -49. The spartan laser is now my worst matchmaking competitive weapon with a -250 k/d difference.

    I am looking forward to adding firefight back into my regimen. At this point, I’ll just be enjoying the game 100% again instead of focusing on specific goals that would definitely become a little nerve-racking at times. I’ll still be cognizant of my incomplete commendations, but the push to complete them by a certain timeframe won’t be there.

    Anyone else have any “success stories” or funny experiences during a match to share?

    • Noobwarrior523 says:

      Glad to hear you’re insane experiment worked out!!!!and congrats on inheritor!!!!! That’s one hell of an achievement

      • Dogmeat says:

        Thank you! 🙂

        My observations so far of gameplay since then have been:
        – I get double-teamed more often (might be my imagination).
        – The frequency at which players are tea-bagging my dead spartan have more than tripled (definitely not my imagination). Note to self…don’t play tired…my sensory perception takes a nose dive!
        – I am still earning credits from each match! What am I to do 10 million credits (and counting)? It’s too bad I can’t share them with all of you. 😦

      • Noobwarrior523 says:

        Yeah, its ritual to teabag the inheritor…..only time I will pull off a “proper” teabagging(only teabag I do is friends and last man standing in infection)

    • lolGTFOplz says:

      Congratz @dogmeat. that is so crazy you got it on your 7777th game, WOW, i remember when you first posted about that a while back, and that’s funny you get tea bagged 3x more…. lol, whats your gt? if you dont mind, i would love to see your bungie stats.

    • Shane says:

      Nicely played, sir!

      Haters gonna hate, noobs gonna teabag.

  14. MJOLNIR Tester says:

    A Walk in the… – Kill 125 enemies on Beachhead in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR

    One of my favorite Score Attack (solo) maps.

    Wait for 2x Score Attack. If you don’t get it by the end of the choices given, just sign out, sign back in, then try again.

    I usually pick Medic loadout, although it almost doesn’t matter.

    After spawning switch to the pistol, run to the ammo locker, then keep to the far right until you get to the far right end of the balcony. Pick off any grunts between you and the Ghost. When the coast is clear hop off the balcony, run to the Ghost, board and it make a right turn and head toward the beach. Then turn left and follow the beach and across the lagoon to the big rock in the Access Road area. This avoids the Grunts so they don’t EMP your Ghost. Park the Ghost in the shelter of the rock, you’ll use it at the end.

    Head toward the Rocket Hog. Pick off any Grunts in the area as you move so they won’t attack you while you drive. Board the Hog, head down to the Access Road area, do a U-turn. Park the Hog with the cliff rocks on your right. Get out and get on the rocket launcher. If you parked in the right spot you’ll have a good view of everyone approaching you.

    Then it is just a matter of spamming rockets. Be alert for drop pods and “Reinforcements”. If a drop pod lands in range you can plaster it with rockets. When you hear “Reinforcements” look for a group of enemies to spawn near you and you can take them all out at once.

    I stay on the rocket hog through the Grunt, Jackal, Brute, and Skirmisher waves. Don’t let the Brutes get close because they will toss plasma grenades and destroy the Hog.

    When you hear “Reinforcements” at the end of the Skirmisher wave, finish off the last Skirmisher and then run over to your Ghost. A Phantom will often drop Elites in the lagoon, and you can use the big rock for cover until it leaves. Stay in the Access Road area, near the rocket hog, and keep firing with the Ghost’s guns. Keep your distance from the Elites and back up down the road if you must, but keep firing. You should be able to wipe out of the all enemies with no deaths.

  15. 'Cos says:

    150 kills in MM. I don’t have much time today to play, so griffball it is.

    I need my boy, Gans! Wanna grifball and/or look at scenery again?

    Good luck to all today!

    p.s. : I really, really dislike a campaign of this difficulty being the challenge for a Wednesday!

  16. Jesse says:

    how the **** do these SWAT ‘pro’ kids who just hop around aim so fast? I don’t have anger issues but i almost whipped my controller at my LCD. Hopping like a bunch rabbits, and killing me? then teabagging? VERY irritating. 🙂

  17. André says:

    Just played Swat now and I gotta say these are some really good players today. I’ll stick to rumble pit for rest of today’s challenge + weekly.

    • André says:

      Or any good playlist with DMR, any suggestions?

      • André says:

        Rumble pit worked great, around 25 kills each game.

      • Shane says:

        I like MultiTeam – typically less precision kills per game but lots of frantic fun plus Elite Slayer comes with a needle rifle loudout. Otherwise, callupchuck suggested Team Objective which has DMR loudouts.

Leave a Reply

