30th September – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Light Fare – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 3000 cR
  2. Not as Clumsy or Random… – Earn 5 kills with precision weapons in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000 cR
  3. Three Dog Fight – Earn a Triple Kill in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2000 cR
  4. It was the Winter… – Complete Winter Contingency on Legendary without dying – 3000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Light Fare – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 3000 cR

If you want to do this specifically (as you’ll get it just playing for the other challenges) then jump into something on Score Attack, maybe Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or Fiesta Attack to get it done quickly and rack up the kills.

Not as Clumsy or Random… – Earn 5 kills with precision weapons in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000 cR

Jump into a Team SWAT match, take out some guys and it’s an easy top up of 2000 credits. Precision weapons are the DMR, Focus Rifle, Needle Rifle and Sniper Rifle.

Three Dog Fight – Earn a Triple Kill in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2000 cR

Multi-Team, Grifball and Team SWAT usually yield a good chance for multikills. Rumble Pit, particularly Juggernaut, is also an excellent place to do it in. Probably Grifball works best for you here, since it’s a massive melee with one hit kills for the most part.

It was the Winter… – Complete Winter Contingency on Legendary without dying – 3000 cR

This is not particularly hard on Winter Contingency, for the most part you can run the map and stay in the jeep to run things over and let Noble team do a lot of the work. What makes it hard is the base section. I always say take out the Elite with the Concussion Rifle at the beginning, so keep peppering him with shots and take him down. Use DMR and grenades on the Jackals and Grunts, then when you get to the last section use a Plasma Pistol overcharge on the Sword Elite and headshot him with the DMR. If you get really stuck, there is a glitch which can be exploited, by exiting the game and restarting from last checkpoint it opens up the challenge again, and you can continue from where you died. Use Tyrant’s Mythic guide for how to do the most expert path on WC.

26 Responses to 30th September – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Scruff 815 says:

    17 minutes in Campaign, one game of SWAT, two games of Rumble Pit and they’re all done. Not the best challenges today but at least they’re quick! 🙂

    Anyhoo, yay game night! Huzzah for crazybydefault getting his last two achievements (including You Ate All The Chips)! Huzzah for the teabag fest on every game! And huzzah for Sensory being the victim of my 1,000th asssassination! 😀

    • HC Sangheili says:

      Congrats or huzzah to Pete for registering 20 when the rest of us had 5 (-9 to -17) and to me for my Yoink on snicks during Multi-who_goes_for_the_objective_anyway-Team.

      I was actually able to play more than 2 games with the group this time. And man is it always a blast.

      To anyone that’s lurked around and not become part of the weekly game nights; it’s always a Running Riot of a good time.

    • Noobwarrior523 says:

      Dont forget Pete’s perfection!

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      I couldn’t believe our luck with getting Stockpile on BTB! And by the end of the game, I found out the random that we were trying to stop from doing anything actually had a mic, and he was pissed!

    • Shane says:

      🙂 I took a screenshot of my 1000th assassination… for the grandkids, dontcherknow.

  2. Krandyt says:

    Days plan- finish work at 4, challenges done by 5, pub garden by 6! I love Fridays! 

  3. Krandyt says:

  4. Woody says:

    I not sure if I will do the campaign challenge. I always seem to find a way to mess up, especially on Legendary. I guess I could do the 2-controller method.

    Anyway, I’m so happy… all I need is 10,522 more credits to FINALLY rank up to Legend. I thank 343i for the payout increase. If it wasn’t for them, I would probably be looking at another week before ranking up.

    • André says:

      I used save & quit method for that one. Run and drive past all the elites in the start.

  5. Jesse says:

    Dailies and weekly done. Now that was a grind. Nice to get paid handsomely for it all! 🙂

    • Krandyt says:

      Yeah saw that in the news paper today, one word.. unbelievable!!!!

    • lolGTFOplz says:

      WOW

    • Woody says:

      WTF….?! Seriously?!! This guy is definitely 20 years overdue for retirement from video games, if that’s his mentality towards gaming. Hell, I won’t even bother wasting my breath arguing with an individual online, even when that person says something negative about me. What for? It’s not like he/she is in my face talking trash.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      The Daily Mail – making Fox News look liberal since 1980.

      Take it with a pinch of salt people; it doesn’t mention how this guy knew where the kid lives, which means that they knew each other (probably through his sons). And there’s a tiny little mention of the kid calling him “a name”.

      So you could look at this as some guy beating up some random kid for killing him in COD.
      Or you could look at this as an innocent, mentally disabled man slightly roughing up a kid he knows who was calling him a pedo over and over again in a public forum.

      Not saying that he *didn’t* do this for no reason; just keep a balanced view on news reports. Especially when they come from the Daily Mail. 😕

      • Shane says:

        I’m not defending that guy’s actions but the kid’s “horrified mother” shouldn’t have given her little darling an 18s-rated game when he wasn’t mature enough to play with the big kids.

        That said… I really want to know what that name was!

  6. TheOneInYellow says:

    These were easy challenges today; got ‘Not as Clumsy or Random…’ and ‘Three Dog Fight’ in one Swat game on Zealot, then got the ‘Light Fare’ and ‘It Was The Winter…’ from playing Winter Contingency on Legendary. All in one hour (though that was beacuse I was wasting time on the campaign level, otherwise, I could have done all challenges easily in 30 mins).

    Awesome Credit’s payout too, which has reduced the amount of time I need before I reach Inheritor (250 days approx, and getting shorter).

    Going got try and get the weekly done later today also, so that I have the weekend to play more DE:HR and GoW 3 (whilst doing Reach challenges).

    ^_^

  7. lolGTFOplz says:

    Probably not going to get to the challenges today -sigh- got all 4 done yesterday by surprise, i really did not feel like packing haha. but tomorrow night i should be all moved in and ready to play lots and lots of reach till the baby comes 😀

    • Dogmeat says:

      Congrats on expecting! When is your bundle of joy due to arrive?

      • lolGTFOplz says:

        Thanks Dogmeat baby is due on March 2nd, just found out yesterday that its a boy 😀 i was surprised that we found so early (at 17 weeks) its like he knew we wanted to know and was like “here’s my family jewels” lol so cute 🙂

    • Shane says:

      *till* the baby comes? A friend of mine seems to be playing most nights while looking after his newborn. “Yeah honey, you go to bed, I’ll look after our little one…”
      :-D.

      • lolGTFOplz says:

        sounds like my friend as well, but with work i’m too tired to play past 930pm anymore….

      • lolGTFOplz says:

        and the baby isn’t even here yet!

      • Congrats on the soon-to-be new addition! I’ve got a 4 year old and a 9 month old, and they do act as a power drain on your gaming. Thankfully you can still play in front of the little one until about 18-24 months old before they figure out what’s happening. I stopped around then, because I didn’t want to deal with nightmares, etc. Kids are such sponges of information from around that time on that you’ll be surprised what they pick up. Had to stop watching Grey’s Anatomy when a guy jumped out of a window and my kid asked, “What happened?”

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        My wife and I still play while our 2 year old watches from his crib, but he usually knocks out soon after we start. However Oreo’s comments and my son’s recent midnight awakenings might convince me to change our gaming habits. I’m already trying to censor what my son sees on the tv screen, by making sure we’re in another room when something with blood or dead bodies is on the screen (which occurs quite frequently since my in-laws love criminal investigation shows, and they come over to baby sit 3 days out of the week).

        Anyways sorry I’ve been MIA lately. Work is picking up and it’s only going to get busier. I’ll try to drop a line if I got any good tips.

Leave a Reply

