3rd October – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Gunslinger – Kill 75 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2250 cR
  2. Came From Behind – Perform 2 Assassinations in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2200 cR
  3. Weapon Swap – Earn 10 sprees in a Firefight Matchmaking game on Heroic or harder – 2000 cR
  4. Hyper Lethal Vector – Kill 200 enemies with headshots in Firefight Matchmaking – 3000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Gunslinger – Kill 75 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2250 cR

Grifball as ever for high kill volumes. You can get 30, 40, 50 and more kills in a good game when you have your timing and eye in with the hammer. I imagine there are guys out there who will be able to get this challenge in one game.

Came From Behind – Perform 2 Assassinations in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2200 cR

Not too difficult, easy methods are just to hide around a corner in Sword Base or somewhere and jump guys as they go past. If you’re lucky you’ll find someone who’s AFK and hunt them down during the match.  It’s cheap but knowing spawn points can help you in regular multiplayer games – the rocks in Asylum for instance, or favourite camping positions like the lofts in Cage and Pinnacle or the stairs in Reflection. HaloBall Extreme is great for assassinations since you have a big map you’re running around like crazy people on! Another good tactic is Sniper and DMR game types, since people can’t see their motion trackers when zoomed in you might be able to sneak up on them. Don’t forget that reloading and sprinting make noise so people know you’re there.

Weapon Swap – Earn 10 sprees in a Firefight Matchmaking game on Heroic or harder – 2000 cR

Sprees are hard for weapons, especially in Firefight. I reckon Gruntpocalypse or some other easy Score Attack variant, get the 50 kills medal, then die and do another 50. You get 120 kills in Gruntpoc so it’s an easy way to do it. Alternatively use the Shotgun for three, sticky grenades, Swords, Hammers and anything else you can that gives a spree (this list on Halopedia shows all Spree medals available) to top up the killing sprees as well.

Hyper Lethal Vector – Kill 200 enemies with headshots in Firefight Matchmaking – 3000 cR

Gruntpocalypse and 2x Score Attack are great ways of doing this, you should be looking to get a lot of headshots in a game, especially if it’s on a simple map where you can line up the Grunts, like Corvette or Courtyard. If you get to a high number rather than doing a whole game again jump in Crashsite or Generator Defense and only defend until you have your total then give up the goal.

If you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries it’s easy… you can follow on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

44 Responses to 3rd October – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Scruff 815 says:

    I’ll see how many of these I can get done (I predict “not many”), with the priority being MM what with the Weekly and all.

    And my new favourite place for assassinations in team games (especially SWAT) – head to the top of the yellow lift in Sword Base. Stand to the left as you look at it, against the lift wall (so when you turn around to look at the room entrance, the lift exit is on your left). When you hear the ‘woosh’ of someone coming up, get ready, then turn slightly, take a step forward as they exit the lift and assassinate. If you go for the assassination on an enemy’s right side, it’ll still trigger. They won’t see you coming and it’ll happen before they’ve even landed on the floor. Get in 😀

    • Krandyt says:

      That’s a good tactic unless you get someone like me who goes through the lift backwards so I get the first shoot on campers. 

      • Scruff 815 says:

        True, you are in the minority though 😉

      • G says:

        Same here Krandyt, same here! Or at the very least I like to go up sideways and melee when I get to the top!

      • Krandyt says:

        One of my best MM moments was going up the lift backwards knowing there were 2 guys camping as I came out I got 1 of them with a sticky and then just backed out of the room, as they both set off to chase me they blew each other up in the doorway!  lol,

    • TheOneInYellow says:

      I hate yellow room, and shoot inside it from a GREAT DISTANCE (from the other side of the bridge).
      I also hate SWAT for the first time since H3 (see this week’s weekly challenge post) >_<.

  2. SakuraStardust says:

    that’s a smart method lol , these challenges look great. too bad my parents won’t let me play on weekdays D:

  3. Jesse says:

    50 wins… my nerves and stress levels won’t let me put up with that many losses before i get close to 50 wins. I’m no Dogmeat, that’s for sure.
    After about 5 games of swat, i’m ready to throw my xbox into the garbage. lol

    • Dogmeat says:

      Lol! Don’t stress, Jesse! You only get approximately 607 additional credits per win. There will be plenty of daily challenges along the way you can snag pretty easily that add up to much more than the weekly.

      FYI…I too am plagued with a plethora of bad players that lack sufficient skill or quit because they’re unhappy with the map and gamestyle on which the majority voted. They seem to come out of the woodwork on ‘win x games’ days/weeks as Scruff said. This weekly challenge, when it surfaced in the past, has been a source of frustration for me the same as everybody else. Having to play 3-4 times the amount of matches just to get the minimum wins for the day is no fun.

      I will stick to rumble pit, team slayer, multi team, etc. as I continue to simultaneously work on commendations. This may be a week where I finally get my glitched weekly count back on track. If I pull off 50 wins along the course of the week, however, so be it.

  4. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    For the gunslinger challenge Matthew put ‘ I imagine there are guys out there who will be able to get this challenge in one game.’.

    A reference to Mister X maybe? XD

    • lolGTFOplz says:

      i think i missed this mister x character, but i have heard about him 2 or 3 times from reading today, what has he became famous for? >.>

  5. lolGTFOplz says:

    these will get done today, yay! internet is working after calling time warner and complaining saturday, i should get a refund. anyways, i’m in my apartment, and i threw my back out. oh well, hopefully these muscle relaxers work like they say they do, idk. hopefully getting the weekly done by wednesday, that would be great, i have 140k in cR to catch up to my friend, he gained 70K over the weekend. its doubtful he completes this weekly challenge though 😀

    • Dogmeat says:

      Sorry to hear about your back! I didn’t completely throw mine out over the weekend fixing a leaky toilet, but I strained it pretty badly. 😦

      • lolGTFOplz says:

        Yeah i’m not sure when it happened but sunday while watching my favorite football team play all of a sudden i got these sharp pains, and it has continued on till today, thankfully i work a desk job so i do not need my physical strength for much but lifting paper, hopefully your strained back feels better as the day goes on Dogmeat!

  6. aeoliant says:

    343 should implement a different challenge system. they should have a pool of like 8-10 challenges and you can only do 4 max each day. just so they can add ridiculous daily challenges with high payouts for higher ranked people and still have the ez challenges for the noobs. This is just because I’ve been playing for a month now and at my current rate of cR (like 20k per day) it’ll take me 3 years to get to inheritor…

    • Scruff 815 says:

      These credits ARE way bigger payouts than what we’ve had. You’re now looking at around 10k per day, plus game completion credits, with a 30k weekly. That’s around 100,000 cR per week just in challenge completion.

      What rank are you? You know that your game completion credits go up as your rank does, right?

      Also don’t stress about getting to Inheritor. Most of us aren’t going to make it; it was never set as a particularly attainable goal. It is *supposed* to be ridiculous. There wouldn’t be any challenge in getting to Inheritor if we could all do it in a week.

      • aeoliant says:

        ya my 20k a day average includes the dailys/weeklys and basically 50% of my reach experience is with the 10k per day payouts.

        I just got to commander yesterday, which I know isn’t even close to high yet since I still rank up every couple of days. I did not know that your game completion points is a function of your rank.

        I guess I’m used to halo 3 where you could get to general pretty fast

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        You must play a lot! I know it took me WAY more than a month to get to Commander. I’ve given up on Inheritor, though. Now, all I care about is getting to the next rank (which will be Hero)

      • Shane says:

        Yep, you get a lot more credits at higher ranks. I get 9-10k per one full game of Firefight Arcade now that I’m nearly Inheritor (I play too much :-(). I could hit the daily credit cap in around four hours not counting challenge bonuses or jackpots. It’ll have taken me just over a year to reach Inheritor.

        I also like your idea in principle but it’s not practical – players may accidentally hit the lower challenges first which could be frustrating. Scruff is also correct that 343 are spoiling us with the payouts and Ferrero Rocher.

  7. gunslinger easy 75 kill in griffball game not unheard of

  8. famallama says:

    Well I would be on getting these, but alas xbox live is down.

  9. Zidane says:

    Xbox live down for everyone?

  10. ll spunkypants ll says:

    yep.

  11. JustHawkeye says:

    Crap. 😦

  12. Mister X says:

    2 games of 2x Score Attack and Btb. Remenber when i said i did a 180 killx in one game of btb? I wrote wrong. Its 2 games.

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      That’s still 90 kills per game! Maybe if you posted a link, people would actually believe you.
      Also, 2 games of 2x Score Attack means you would have to get at least 100 headshots per game with only 125 enemies in each!

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        yeah, I can never get more than 20 or so headshots in 2x score attack. The enemies die too easily. On the other hand, I can get an average of 100 in a Gruntpocalypse game. But to make it easy on myself, I think I’m gonna do the FF challenges in doubles attack with da wife. 170+ enemies each, and a whole bunch of grunts in the bonus round should make for both challenges achievable.

      • John says:

        I find FF Limited is good for headshots because as you say, enemies die too easily in 2x Score Attack whereas in Limited you need to be getting headshots to survive and keep going. Of the score attack modes I still find Skirmigeddon is actually the best as the Skirmishers are strong enough to take a few body shots and really need a head shot to take them down plus they can’t suicide to reduce your kill count.

        John

      • Shane says:

        Yep, nearly all my skirmisher kills tend to be headshots with the DMR or pistol.

  13. famallama says:

    All is well in the world now.

  14. I didn’t read over the weekend, but did someone post that Tyrant has his own site now?

    http://www.mythictyrant.com

    All his Halo guides in one convenient place, and he’s got a page for Halo: CEA.

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      Nobody did. I knew that, but didn’t even think about posting it here for some reason.

    • I stalk, er, I mean follow him on Twitter, so I knew about it! Didn’t think of posting about it though!

    • thegoatboy says:

      Thanks for the heads up Oreo. I have used his guides extensively to get through the LASO challenges. Without them I would have thrown my controller through the window…

  15. André says:

    Dammit I got 9/10 in gruntpocalypse, 2x score attack then I’m done.

  16. André says:

    I got 2 assassinations in one game of swat, challenge not completed? I had 2 medals must have counted as a melee. I swear I had 2 assassinate and 3rd one was halfway then some1 killed me.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Check your game history. You’ll probably find that you got yoinked or showstopped. If you did actually get two assassinations completed then it glitched somehow, but challenges very rarely glitch like that.

Leave a Reply

