6th October – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below:

  1. Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 150 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 2250 cR
  2. A Simple Spree – Earn any spree in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR
  3. The T.G. Opposition – Kill 70 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with the Shotgun – 3000 cR
  4. Demon – Kill 50 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking – 3000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 150 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 2250 cR

You’re better off doing the other challenges first, particularly the Holdout FF challenge, then mopping this up. Best options for this specifically:

  • Forge – make a game with players spawning in one spot and camp it
  • Firefight – Download my Firefight Invincible game type on my File Share, lots of Elites, lots of medals, lots of kills (plus ‘cheevos if you’ve not done the Firefight ones)
  • ONI: Sword Base – Use the Target Designator trick (run past everyone at the beginning, grab it, turn around, fire, wait for the killing to stop and restart the checkpoint)
  • Package – There are points where you can get a checkpoint just before a number of Grunts appear in the final battle, so you can gun them down and restart

A Simple Spree – Earn any spree in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR

Sprees cover a lot of options, 5 kills with Shotguns, Sniper Rifle, Plasma Grenade sticks, Swords… and so on. Frankly, 10 kills with anything gets you a spree, so just do that and you’ve got a very easy 1000 credits, so perhaps a quick visit to Crashsite/Generator Defence just to do it in a minute or two.

The T.G. Opposition – Kill 70 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with the Shotgun – 3000 cR

The best way is 2X Score Attack on any map, particularly once the Brutes and Skirmishers turn up as they make real efforts to get to you. The Shotgun is one of the loadouts so you can use it for as long as you need, just let guys come to you rather than going into the fray.

Demon – Kill 50 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking – 3000 cR

A lot of the unusual solo Firefight MM variants give around 25 Elites these days – 2X, Fiesta etc. Firefight Doubles might well be a good way to go here if you pick Arcadefight on a map you both like, although I’m not sure if that’ll give you 100 Elites to split. So as above, do 2x score attack twice and you should get this.

91 Responses to 6th October – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. My Little Housing Blog says:

    Shootin’ and Lootin’ I will start doing as soon as I come home. Sitting down with some Halo after work is always a good way to relax.

  2. fuzzjp says:

    I like today’s challenges! All doable in a couple FF games 😀

  3. SamCiphus says:

    All done with these challenges! 2 games of SA and then some rocket attack, I like FF Thursday!

    Incidently, if anyone wants to work on the weekly with me, add me, “SamCiphus”. I’ll be on for another couple of hours, and I’m keen to get maybe a SWAT or Slayer party going!

  4. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    So.

    Lets get this straight. It’s a new start for Mister X. Let’s all treat him like a sensible newcomer.

    Mister X’s GT is: O Senhor X

    Mister X hasn’t played Reach since the 25th of September.

    And I think he apologises for his lies and childish behaviour.

    So welcome Mister X!

    Also I ranked up! Field Marshall! Cool ranks!!! OMFGLMFAOLOLBBQROFL!!!!!

    And today I went from 0 to 27 in the weekly. Lots of grifball, and I’m so sick of people betraying for the bomb, then wrapping it up in paper and gifting it to the other team!!!!! 

    Is there anyone that would like to team up tomorrow (Friday EST) with me from 9am Australian Eastern Standard Time to work on the weekly?

    • SamCiphus says:

      Shit, isn’t that tempting! I did however tell myself that i’d do some homework tomorrow, do you want to work on it now? I’m Australian too, on AEST, so if you’re keen?

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        Sorry I’m in bed, and all Halo’ed out for the day. I can play anytime tomorrow between 9am and 5pm. I’ll probably be on all day anyway, so shoot me a friend request. I don’t have many Australian people to play with, so your perfect!

    • Krandyt says:

      Add me gt same as username, last day at work today so if I’m on when you are, which is more than likely I’ll buddy up to get some games in.  well done hitting the “cool ranks” I’ve still got the long slog through general gr4 to go.  still shouldn’t take too long with these better cr payouts.

      Plus welcome mister X!

      • SamCiphus says:

        Hey Krandyt, mind if I send a request your way too? Keen to buddy up with some RDC guys!

        And I totally forgot, welcome Misteeeeer X!

      • Krandyt says:

        Yeah sure, only just started getting more involved with RDC (after a year of lurking lol) so would like to buddy up with more people too, send it over I’ll be online as and when I can 

    • John says:

      How long did that take you? So far I’m either 2 or 3 out of 50 but don’t think I’ll be going for the weekly.

      I do find it very annoying when someone betrays me for the bomb when I’m not idling or hanging around then they just run at the enemy base with no chance whatsoever and die. I also don’t understand bomb carriers who wait for their team to die then try to get the bomb to the detonation point on their own taking the entire enemy team themselves and generally failing miserably.

      John

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        Um I started at 9am this morning, and finished about 5pm, so including breaks I played about a total of 7 hours omg. I’m on holidays don’t knock it. I played around 2 hours of firefight, and 1 hour I did a LASO just for the hell of it (shocking to some). So 4 hours of matchmaking, mostly grifball where the whole game lasted less than 5 mins on most occasions, and I also switched between some infection and team slayer. So it averaged to around a win every 8.8 minutes. Wow. But it really wasn’t like that. It didn’t feel like it anyway. I reckon I played around 50-70 games total today, so yeah very grindy, but going solo and being matched up with total ***** is really hard to keep me sane.

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        Wait. 50-70 games in 4 hours? Im beginning to sound like Mist… Don’t let me say it please 😉

        But actually I mug have played more than 4 hours… Much more…

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        *must. Okay I’m going to read Halo: Ghosts of Onyx for a while 😀

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        You know, I didn’t like that book all that much. It was kinda confusing. I liked Contact Harvest a lot more. Maybe because it’s about Johnson. 😀

      • Ghost of Onyx is a better read the second time, and it makes a lot more sense.

    • Woody says:

      Wow…. that is a lot of wins in one day. I’m still stuck on nine wins for the week. It’s look pretty grim for me getting the weekly. 😦

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        My god after playing solid halo all day, I can’t say I’m proud to have ONLY 27 wins… But I’m proud to have made progress

      • Woody says:

        Well, if it makes you feel better, if I had the same amount of time to play Halo, I probably wouldn’t get to 20 wins. With the bad luck I have, 70-80 percent of my games would probably have quitters and traitors.

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        Yeah, I think 343 really needs to crack down on quitters and afk’ers more. Perma-ban FTW!

      • Shane says:

        Yep. I’ve seen a load more quitters with this week’s challenge than usual. It’s particularly weird when teammates quit while we’re winning. I’ve had a couple of great games though with me and just one other random beating the other team.

  5. SamCiphus says:

    Yep, Request sent! I was thinking of getting on early, so probably 9, to play with crazybydefault and anyone else, not certain though, so if I am, join us!

  6. Woody says:

    Another easy challenge day. All four challenges can possibly be done in two games of 2x Score Attack, if you can get lucky enough to get Elites from any of the drop pods.

  7. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    I HATE zero bloom!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • chris walker says:

      Sir Galahad 63, I was playing with a kid who said the bloom was reduced, not zeroed. In any case, I was getting schooled in the TU matchmaking. I’m not a fan, but I haven’t given time to get used to it either. I guess I should look up what exactly these changes are, and change strategy based on that. I have some control on how I approach enemy engagement, whereas skill seems to fluctuate between poor to mediocre. 😦

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        I like the reduced bloom better. It just feels more natural. With zero bloom, you might want to try grabbing a Needle Rifles since it’s automatic. 🙂

      • ZB Peggy Peggy says:

        Amen to the SensoryFour comment, it feels like im cheatingl! ;)…….however I’ve been having problems jumping from zero, reduced bloom, etc into normal playlists, hence why I’m only 29/50 on the weekly and have little Halo time left for the week due to other non-xbox commitments

        Feel free to add Gamertag Peggy Peggy

  8. xXMaster SoulXx says:

    I didn’t play last night because of the Fall Festival I have in the town of Evansville Indiana which is the 2nd largest compared to Marti Gras 🙂 I had some deep fried bacon and deep fried pickle chips…they have other things such as brain sandwiches, pigeon poo, dirty diapers, chocolate covered krickets….tons of stuff!

  9. SensoryFour34 says:

    Another Impromptu Game Night tonight! We planning on working on the Weekly and playing the Beta Hopper playlist (hopefully with a full party 😉 ). It starts at 8:00 GMT which is about 4:00 EDT I believe. Hope to see everyone there.

    • HC Sangheili says:

      This house is going to try to join for more than a couple of games. Halfway to the weekly, would be nice to pad that a bit more tonight.

    • chris walker says:

      Nice, I’ve been lone wolfing it too long, and all the friends that want to play all want to play custom games. I’ll be on approx 8:30 gmt ( 4:30 edt). Im 22/50 weekly, I think. My GT is chriscray. I’ll hit you guys up!

  10. HC Sangheili says:

    RDC Community question:

    You jump into the Griffball playlist Lone Wolf style and are matched with a party of 3, against any other team. The match begins and you march towards the bomb, taking out a couple, while your teammate grabs the bomb.

    You continue to march on towards the goal as the other team respawns. Being a good offensive linesman, you continue to remove the obstacles (other team) creating a path for your running back to charge the bomb onto the plate.

    After clearing this path, you quickly see that your teams bomb carrier is not going for the objective and the other 2 teammates are beginning to spawn kill the opposing team.

    Do you join in the spawn fun?
    Sit back and cover the middle?
    Go after your teammate for the bomb?
    Stare out at the scenery?
    Sit your controller down to get a drink refill?

  11. xXMaster SoulXx says:

    What is the “TU” in beta stand for? i know i should prolly know…but i don’t…:(

  12. lolGTFOplz says:

    RDC question, Scruff probably could answer this, he’s pretty active with 343.

    Did the max cR for one day get changed to 240k? my friend is trying to tell me monday that it did, and i am trying to call BS on him, anybody know?

    • l0 Dolla Bagel says:

      I hope he is not bull shitting. XD
      But it is wierd because when I used to play halo all day, I would max out and now I don’t so it may be possible I would say.

    • HC Sangheili says:

      I don’t think it has. 343i’s forum doesn’t have any chatter about it actually being raised short of “must haz cR limits lifted”.

      I haven’t had a chance to play enough to hit it for about a week or so, but I will test it out for you this weekend.

    • 'Cos says:

      I hit max credits for the past three days. It is still set to 120k/day. I wish they would increase the limit though.

      • Dogmeat says:

        I see how you would benefit from a daily limit increase, SD. At the max of 120k credits per day, you’re looking at a solid 2 months until Inheritor! 😦

      • 'Cos says:

        Yup, that’s the plan. I started out as a Nova 15 days ago, and want to be at least a Forerunner by the time Halo:CEA comes out. I’m WAY ahead of my personal schedule. I’m already at 1.5 million out of 2 million to rank up. I’m loving the increased payouts across the board, but i so wish they would increase the limitations. Having to time out my credits received is a pain in the… Like last night. I had to stop for two hours until the daily credit totals reset just to make sure i got the credits for the weekly. And today i only need 35k for the daily cap. Looks like i’m playin’ Halo “for free” today!

  13. l0 Dolla Bagel says:

    Sent a few of you friend requests. 🙂
    Also, 145 posts yesterday?!?
    That must be a new record. aha

    • gans42 says:

      I havent played with you (or at all really) in a while. Tuesday night wanna beat some fools?

      • Jesse says:

        um, stop calling me a fool! (haha, because I’m one of those MM dudes who get stomped!)

  14. crazybydefault says:

    I ran into some awesome random people in Grifball last night. I partied up with them and won the next 10 games! I wish I could have played more, but I had to go to bed! 😦

    Nice challenges today! I’ve been craving some more Firefight after the challenge yesterday!

    • aeoliant says:

      hey thanks for those 2 games yesterday, sorry I had to leave after our sick comeback in the second one

      • crazybydefault says:

        Not a problem! That was a pretty epic comeback! You played great that game!

    • Brian says:

      Our win streak must continue later today! and that tie was lame as fudgcicles :/

      • crazybydefault says:

        That tie was a killjoy :/ We were doing so awesome too!

  15. RainingMammoths says:

    (First Post!) Looks fairly easy, even though I’m not a fan of Firefight.

    • lolgtfoplz says:

      Welcome to the RDC Community RainingMammoths -rolls out the red carpet-

      On a more serious note: IF I CAN GET TICKETS TO THE GAME THIS FOOTBALL GAME, would you like to go with me? i’m about 85% sure i’ll have tickets

      RainingMammoths is a good friend of mine everyone, and he finally posted, w00t!!!

  16. Mister X says:

    Hi people! I sorry for the lies, all i wanna have a new start. So, thanks for everything, and sorry for the lies. So, challenges today you can do in 2 or 3 games of 2x score attack.

    • 'Cos says:

      Hello Mister X. Thanks for the apology, now let’s move on…

      Welcome to RDC! You have many people here that will treat you right, and be great online friends if you are humble, respectful, and friendly.

      …and correct. One can certainly finish the challenges in two games of firefight. Or one if you’re good like Shane. Nice job, sir. I’m off to attempt the same now.

      Good luck to all, and since i finished my weekly yesterday with friends, i’m willing to return the favor today if anyone wants help.

      GameNight here i come…

      -seventh dawg

    • crazybydefault says:

      Hi! Thanks for the apology! 😉 We’re really an awesome group, we just expect people to be just as awesome!

      Now off to attempt to finish the dailies in one game! 😀

  17. Rob says:

    Hello To All In My favorite Forum,

    My son got to General this weekend and is now grinding on up to get that Inclement Weather armor effect. He is at 1.2 mill credits, so a few more months and then he goes back down to zero and makes himself a flashing target for every matchmaking game! It’s ok because he really wants to get it and that is his perogative.

    Challenges look good today.

    Hope everyone is healthy, happy, and has fun playing Halo Reach today with skill and graceful moves.

    Shamboola

    • HC Sangheili says:

      Congrats on his progress!

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      I’m not that patient. I stopped at a million and bought Pestilence. I like it more than Inclement Weather because it doesn’t make you as big of a target, but it’s his choice. Hope he gets his wish. 🙂

  18. Brian says:

    A question for all the smextastic RDC members here, what was the first halo game you ever played? Personally mine was halo 2 and i still play the campaign till this very day 😀

    • LolGTFOplz says:

      First game i ever played was halo 3, played custom games with my buddy that lived down the road all the time, snipers and lasers ONLY. never played halo 3 online till about 2 years ago, when i got to my dorm at college, gosh have i grown sense then. i tried halo 2 at some point and just couldn’t stand it lol.

      • Shane says:

        Halo: CE on PC. Good times! Probably delayed my studies for at least a year. Yoyorast Island, we will remember you.

      • Dogmeat says:

        Same as Shane (today’s daily challenge VIP IMHO) for me…Halo CE on the PC. Still having the code from that game allowed me to get the spartan helmet nameplate for having played HCE, H3, Reach Beta, and Reach (played H2 campaign and online as a guest at a friend’s house…didn’t have a live account back then). I wore that nameplate with pride until earning a star nameplate in one of the Bungie all-star contests. I was featured a few times and overlooked entirely for other submissions. I was finally picked for the week with the theme of Covenant forces. Three of my submissions (of which two were featured) are still in my fileshare. I am saddened a bit after all of that work that Bungie made the star nameplate available to EVERYONE several weeks later. Ahh well!

      • Noshkanok says:

        Halo CE on original Xbox. Crazy awesome at the time. I also played through 2, 3, and of course Reach.

      • First was Halo on the original Xbox, and I’ve gone on to play through all the other non-PC games, except Halo Wars. I own it, but haven’t played it yet, because I’ve been too busy with Reach. Having played H2 on Live back in the day meant I had the cred to use the special nameplate, but I dropped it for the Bungie plate when they released the app. I love those people.

  19. Shane says:

    Bam! One game.
    http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/GameStats.aspx?gameid=819000424&player=OG%20667

    Just call me… Monsieur Ix, part deux, electric boogaloo.

    • Jesse says:

      Sounds like a new challenge… complete all challenges in one game for additional credits.
      “Mythic” is all skulls on.
      How about we call it the “Bam Challenge”, if you complete all challenges in one game, you get the “Bam! challenge completed” .. perhaps that sounds lame.

  20. I’m loving both ZB and the new 85% bloom playlists in the TU. Feels batter to me. I really messed up yesterday and played some H3 to help my buddy get some achievements in campaign and tried to play Reach and got wrecked my first few games.

    If any of you need help with achievements in any of the games let me know I have every achievement in the Halo games (except Reach damn stockpile) let me know.

    • biodrumr says:

      I’ve been having problems since I bought Reach with “So they came to hear me beg” or whatever the one is called where you have to assassinate the elite from the air. I’ve tried it over and over, easily a few hundred times, been successful about 20-30 times, and never gotten the achievement. Pisses me off.

      • Dogmeat says:

        The key is to cancel your sprint AA after jumping off of the cliff at the beginning of the PoA level from a point in the air high enough that hitting the ground would register as a suicide. Leaving sprint activated for too long apparently softens your fall enough to keep you alive upon impact.

        Sadly, I received that achievement due to a glitch on the ONI level while assassinating an elite when we were both already on the ground. I think it was because the warthog lunged backwards from an explosion and would have killed me when it hit me had I not been in the middle of the assassination. I hope you get the achievement soon!

      • SamCiphus says:

        Setting it on Legendary helps, because you receive more damage, according to a forum I read.
        It took me about 60 or 70 times to get it too!

    • Shane says:

      I’m sure I’m missing some Halo 3 achievements if you’re up to working on those. I’m in the PST (GMT -8) timezone.

      Is the Stockpile achievement “You Ate All the Chips”? I’ve fulfilled the criterium legitimately a few times at this stage but I’ve also helped friends get it using the custom game cheat.

      http://www.xbox360achievements.org/forum/showthread.php?t=300025

  21. Nexamsan says:

    What is this “bloom” you guys are talking about…..I will be on later tonight around 10 GMT or 5EST. I’m a mediocre legend. Gamer tag is the same as above.

    • RainingMammoths says:

      When you shoot a weapon in Reach, your reticle (gun cursor) sort of expands with exery shot. Play a match now and you’ll notice it ha.

  22. ZB Peggy Peggy says:

    anyone on now?

    GT peggy peggy

  23. t1m3c0nsum3r says:

    I’ve been lurking around here since… May? Anyway, thought I’d post and see if anybody wants to play. I play a lot of SWAT, BTB, and Team Slayer, but I’m really up for anything. Also, I hate being party leader. If any of that sounds like a good time to you, add me. If not, I still love you. You guys are my favorite Halo fans on the internet because none of you seem to be asshats. ❤

  24. chris walker says:

    Hey RDC peeps, who’s up for challenges! I’m online, but I don’t know the GT’s for y’all. Hit me up, plz. My GT is chriscray

    • SamCiphus says:

      I have a laggy FF connection, but i’ll play some slayer with you? GT – SamCiphus

  25. Daayv says:

    Long time lurker, not sure if this is my first post but…
    Thanks to the crew here who have made my Halo life so much more fulfilling.

    Not sure where to ask this but is it possible to get together with fellow RDCers and play some Griftball games with “slightly modified” rules to bang out some super quick games?

    By slightly modified I mean maybe if you die you wait in the corner until the match is over, or some other rule that makes the game go very fast.

  26. l0 Dolla Bagel says:

    Apparently adding people through iPod doesn’t work so I just sent about 15 requests right now so please accept if you see my gamertag. =^_________^=
    Welcome to all the new people by the way, surprised to see so many in one day!

    Oh yeah and gans, you need to play a lot more!
    It is fun playing with you. ):

    • SamCiphus says:

      We’re playing grifball, you’re welcome to join if you wish! We need one more guy.

  27. My GT is in parentheses above, if anyone wants to add me. I’m not likely to initiate contact to join a party, because I figure most are probably doing their own thing, so if you see me on and want to join up, please send me an invite.

  28. PEM1989 says:

    I have posted before, but this is the first time I am giving my gametag.
    Last night, I went from 32 wins to 49. I lost 5 in a row before I gave up.
    Today, started off with MM, had my team abandon me, but still managed the win.
    Went on to FF, played agressively to try to get all challenges in one game. Did not come close, but finished 2 challenges.
    Second FF, played more conservatively and finished the 3rd challenge.
    Third FF, got the 4th challenge…but, also got my maximum daily allowable credit.
    That’s it. 4 games and maxed out on credit.

  29. DrDave says:

    Anyone want to play some quick games of grifball? We need 6 more players. If you die, go stand in the corner. If you win 2 in a row… don’t try so hard.
    gamertag daayv

  30. SamCiphus says:

    I’d like to thank Digi, Galahad and others for a good session over the past couple of hours!

Leave a Reply

