9th October – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are:

  1. Light Fare – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 3000 cR
  2. Weapon Swap – Earn 10 sprees in a Firefight Matchmaking game on Heroic or harder – 2000 cR
  3. Came From Behind – Perform 2 Assassinations in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2200 cR
  4. Who’s the Big Winner? – Win 10 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 5000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Light Fare – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 3000 cR

If you want to do this specifically (as you’ll get close to it just playing for the other challenges) then jump into something on Score Attack, maybe Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or Fiesta Attack to get it done quickly and rack up the kills.

Weapon Swap – Earn 10 sprees in a Firefight Matchmaking game on Heroic or harder – 2000 cR

Sprees are hard for weapons, especially in Firefight. I reckon Gruntpocalypse or some other easy Score Attack variant, get the 50 kills medal, then die and do another 50. You get 120 kills in Gruntpoc so it’s an easy way to do it. Alternatively use the Shotgun for three, sticky grenades, Swords, Hammers and anything else you can that gives a spree (this list on Halopedia shows all Spree medals available) to top up the killing sprees as well.

Came From Behind – Perform 2 Assassinations in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2200 cR

Not too difficult, easy methods are just to hide around a corner in Sword Base or somewhere and jump guys as they go past. If you’re lucky you’ll find someone who’s AFK and hunt them down during the match.  It’s cheap but knowing spawn points can help you in regular multiplayer games – the rocks in Asylum for instance, or favourite camping positions like the lofts in Cage and Pinnacle or the stairs in Reflection. HaloBall Extreme is great for assassinations since you have a big map you’re running around like crazy people on! Another good tactic is Sniper and DMR game types, since people can’t see their motion trackers when zoomed in you might be able to sneak up on them. Don’t forget that reloading and sprinting make noise so people know you’re there.

Who’s the Big Winner? – Win 10 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 5000 cR

This is just a little bit of a grind. Go for Team Slayer/SWAT/Snipers/Objective/Grifball/Action Sack game types so you only have two teams playing and a better chance of winning. I’d also recommend finding some guys you play well with and sticking with them. You’ll get lots of credits from the games and then a tasty bonus on winning your 10th. That’s all worth the gravy in my book.

30 Responses to 9th October – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. SamCiphus says:

    Don’t think I can be bothered with the 10 wins today. Going for the other three, which are relatively easy, then i’m done. Got no chance for the weekly, so I don’t see the point.

    Had good times in the last 24 hours playing with crazy, snickerdoodle, I0 Dolla Bagel, And many others. Had a blast! Thankd guys and gals!

    • SamCiphus says:

      Woops! *thanks

    • Woody says:

      Though I’m still trying for the weekly, I may have to give it up. I’m still in need of 27 wins, which is very possible for me to get in one day, but not when I have to divide my day off with the “warden”.

      • jay says:

        Same for me on the weekly. I wil likely try for the 10 wins today. But I’m only 25/50 there right now, and this 10 will leave me 15 short… I won’t have that kind of time today :(.

        Oh well! 10 wins/5k cR won’t hurt my feelings. Leveled up to General yesterday.

      • Zidane says:

        Try for the 10 and if you get in the groove than an additional 13 may come easy to you!

      • Gengo23 says:

        I’m at 41/50 – and it has been an incredible grind to get me to this point – I really hope to get at least the 9 remaining for the weekly, which means I will inevitably spend an additional hour trying for the remaining 1 for the daily.

        Someone wants a LASO next week, I’d be fine with another FF one. However, I would rather it be a “kill 10,000 in FFMM this week” or something crazy like that – the “150 waves / 75 rounds” brings out AFK’ers like crazy (and I prefer FFA to SA).

    • Hey! It was awesome getting several games in with you!

      I’m with ya on the “having no chance for the weekly”. I’m currently at 30 wins, and unless I get a good party going, it’s highly unlikely I’ll complete it. And two words: calculus homework. 😦

  2. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    Enough halo for me. I’m sick of trying to win. I’m hoping for a nice LASO next week, for the weekly 😀 perhaps a “survive x amount of minutes on Lone Wolf, LASO”?
    Ideas anyone?

    Also, what is everones favorite armour ability for Matchmaking, campaign, and firefight?
    Mine are sprint for MM (I love sprint!!), bubbl le shield for Firefight, and campaign is probably sprint again. Love my sprint 🙂

    • BJ2603 says:

      Definitely sprint for campaign and MM. Firefight depends on what will get me to ammo from my camp spot and back in the shortest possible time lol

    • SamCiphus says:

      Bubble shield for campaign, especially legendary and LASO, jetpack/active camo for MM, jetpack for convenience, active camo when im sniping! In FF, sprint or armour lock, because they’re the funnest to use!

    • Brian says:

      Definitely sprint! Ever since I developed the rushing urge from CoD, I can’t help but sprint everywhere in reach! Though legendary, that’s not going to be the case!

    • Sprint and Evade. I never use anything else 😛 Well, except for in Big Team where people tend to horde the vehicles, then I’ll occasionally use AL.

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      Depending on the map and team, I usually use either Sprint or Hologram for Matchmaking, Campaign I almost always use Sprint, and Firefight I use Armor Lock if that’s a choice, or Drop Shield if it isn’t.

  3. BJ2603 says:

    Another quick resolve 4 weapon swap is sniper variants. 20 kills = 5 spree medals, then suicide and repeat. Should rack up 100 kills too (plus some MUCH needed sniping practice if you’re anything like me)

    Happy hunting!

  4. Brian says:

    2 assassinations in one game eh? Hey kind sir on opposite team, I’ll make you an offer lol. Anybody else get that tingle in their pants when it’s Monday, then you boot up your computer, And THEN, click on rdc to eagarly know what the weekly is? I know I do! And I swear if it’s 50 wins again, I will send 343 an angry letter! Oh I swear I will!! 😀

  5. Jack Daly says:

    if anyone needs help with the weekly send me a friend request at Division1Champ

  6. Project shave says:

    I only have 18 wins toward the weekly, so I’ve really lost interest in trying to get it. mainly because I reached my goal last night, Legend baby! Got me them security helmet sideburns cuz!

    if anyone wants to go for wins, add me and I’ll play with ya! GT: project shave

  7. JustHawkeye says:

    A note for every one needing more than 15 wins for the weekly.

    Be careful because you could hit the cap and not get your credits. That’s what happened to me. I needed 20 wins and with all the nice challenge payouts and jackpots I hit my cap. 😦

    • Woody says:

      Oh… I almost forgot about that. Thanks for the reminder. I guess I will just be playing to see if I can cap out and will just have to settle with that.

    • l0 Dolla Bagel says:

      Same thing happened to me when there was the 77 revenge thing.
      Said challenge complete but I only got 500 credits so then I stopped getting credits and I knew the that I maxes out. ):
      I feel the pain. aha

  8. Eli says:

    Hey guys, do they daily/weekly challenges count towards the daily credit cap?

  9. Shane says:

    Just a warning for RDC: Don’t move your timezone forward to get more daily credits and *then* move it back immediately. I did that yesterday and while my credits are showing but not counting (which is fair enough), my commendations have stopped increasing. I haven’t gotten credit banned – apparently this is just a glitch. Hopefully all will be good again tomorrow.

  10. Zidane says:

    I would like to see a combined mm/ff/campaign, kill 5000 in all or complete 50 mm 40ff and 10 campaign 🙂

  11. Zoing says:

    Yessss its thanksgiving in canada so no school for me tomorrow ( dont mean to be a jerk)

  12. BJ2603 says:

    When I finish work, I have 4 hours to take down the weekly. That’s only 38 wins. Who’s with me? 

Leave a Reply

