Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 10th October

This week’s challenge is below, click Read More to view the commentary:

Multiplicative – Earn 200 Multikills in multiplayer Matchmaking this week – 25000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

This is actually fairly easy to get I reckon. My usual tips apply here – go for Grifball, Team SWAT or Multi Team to get a good chance of quick kills (SWAT because you can kill in 1 shot to speed up the kill, Multi Team because people group together, Grifball because it’s one giant melee anyway!)

For SWAT and Multi-Team, some maps help better than others, my favourites are:

Sword Base – On SWAT you can hold the killing area at the top of green lift and take out a team as the rush you from any direction. On Multi Team if the top of that lift becomes a killing zone through some grenades in it then follow them up to mop up.

Pinnacle – Since you can see across the map you can hit two people even if they’re in different areas. The room and loft also help contain people to use the Rocket Launcher or Grenades on them.

Asylum – Similar to Pinnacle, but this is even better for sniping people who run across your field of vision.

Countdown – A nice killing area at the top of the lifts, Multi Team is good for this because everyone comes from different directions so you can steal kills and take out the person who was shooting as well. You might get a couple at the beginning if you go to shoot your opponents on the opposite side of the atrium.

Reflection – Again some nice killing areas at the top of the lift and along the long corridor.

I know there are more maps, but these are the ones where I think you’ve got a good chance of getting multikills.

And finally, don’t forget the multikills will stack. So an Overkill (4 enemies) will count as 3 for the double, triple and Overkill.

If you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries it’s easy… you can follow on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

62 Responses to Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 10th October

  1. My Little Housing Blog says:

    To site admin: I would like to add a link to your blog on my blog. Is this OK with you?

  2. SamCiphus says:

    You’re not going to catch me even attempting this. Got my final exams coming up!

  3. Jesse says:

    OK, One game of SWAT, one campaign, and 40 games of grifball, and all done. Next. 🙂

    All righty, maybe I’ll get started on that right now.

  4. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    Infection perhaps? Double kills come quite regularly, and when your last man standing you can easily get overkills or higher.
    Thats my choice anyway.

  5. Woody says:

    Well, it seems like more grifball for me. Since Mondays are “warden” free days for me and I’m off from work today for the first Monday in over a year, I will have lots of time to play and go for the challenge. Let the madness begin!

  6. gans42 says:

    Yay! I may be actually be able to do this. I can only play Tuesday night, Wednesday, and Sunday…I can do this in a grifball marathon

  7. LolGTFOplz says:

    Swat and infection. Good weekly to help me get closer to that sweet taste of onyx multikill (676 to go) I don’t think i’m specifically going to aim to get the weekly, i feel like it will just come naturally 🙂

  8. Braythor says:

    At first I thought this shouldn’t be too bad, but when I look at my commendations, I see that my total MM multikills are only at 1,976. So this is one week to get 10% of all mulitkills I’ve managed in 11 months…makes it less likely, statistically speaking. Still, only 40K to Hero, so I’ll certainly be trying.

    • LA says:

      The first time this came up, I had 200 total for like 3 or 4 months. Ended up getting around 250 in that one week though. Makes a large difference when you are actually TRYING to get the multi-kills.

    • Zidane says:

      Just looked at the same, need 305 for gold, will be I interesting how this weekly plays out

      • Paul says:

        I need 73 for gold – I think it’ll be a grifball extravaganza for this one:
        I’ve played 1484 competitive games, and 462 have been grifball
        I’ve gained 2432 multikill medals, and 2156 have been on grifball.
        Average 1.6 multikills per game total, but 4.7 per game of grifball

        so 50 games, trying for multikill, should be doable in the week.

    • I just looked at mine. I’m at only 1,291. I do play a lot of Big Team though, where multikills very rarely occur!

    • jay says:

      Sorry, stupid question but where did you look to see how many multikills you have? I can’t locate that stat. Thanks!

      • jay says:

        Oh ok I see – it’s in the medals area – “commendations.” I only have 768 total all-time. 😐 And the 200 won’t even put me near the next level, Gold. Oh well, I shall try.

  9. What is Earn 200 Multikills in multiplayer Matchmaking this week like is it 2 kills and you get one or 4 kills? I’m sorry but i don’t understand

  10. Jack Daly says:

    if anyone wants to play with me send me a friend request Division1Champ

  11. Zidane says:

    I got 3 multiple kills in 7 games of swat and 4 in 1 multi team, a few multi teams for me next, 7 down 193 to go!

    • Dogmeat says:

      Outside of grifball, this recent multi-team crazy king game contains the most multikills (24) in a single match that I have ever experienced! If only I could have 9 just like it this week, I would have the weekly challenge wrapped up in a little over 1 1/2 hours. 😉 I have also put this match (if anyone cares to watch it in its entirety) on my file share here. I don’t have any rendering minutes available. Therefore, you’ll have to download it to your 360 to view it in Reach’s theater mode. If only we could have won the match, that would have truly been epic! The difference between 1st and last place was only 10 seconds. 😦

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        +61!!! I’m lucky if I get 71 kills in a game of Grifball, much less with only 10 deaths! You are definitely deserving of your Inheritor rank.

  12. Zidane says:

    Also going to try gb, see how that fares

  13. Scruff 815 says:

    o hai internet!

    So BT messed up my connection and I’ve had no internet since Wednesday morning. Which kinda ruined my Weekly last week, which I was about halfway through 😦 Anyhoo, yay being back! And sorry to anyone who expected me to be around on Thursday!

    As for this Weekly, I think it might be do-able. Lots of SWAT with some Infection and Grifball. But then maybe not; I’m like halfway through AC: Brotherhood and it’s a little addictive.

    Anyway, I are glad to be back. And now off to catch up on various other internets! 😀

  14. John says:

    This looks pretty easy in Griffball particularly with the complete 12 games challenge today, after getting that one I’m 110 multikills in and that’s with a few of those games being very quick.

    John

    • Dogmeat says:

      You averaged 9-10 multikills per match! Nicely done!! 🙂

    • John says:

      That’s me done….got pretty scrappy later on but for some reason I was desperate to get it done tonight. Annoyingly I ranked up to mythic a few games before getting the weekly, I always prefer to rank up with the completion of a weekly challenge.

      John

  15. While Grifball would seem to be the obvious choice here, I already have MM close quarters maxed out, so I’m going to go with multi-team. More opportunities for kills with other weapons and I can still get it. For anyone attempting to get this via multi-team, I suggest grabbing a needler and DMR in Team HH or KOTH. Spam the needler into the hill or wait until there is a brawl with 4 or 5 people and open up 🙂 I’ve gotten quite a few overkills like this. Hope this helps, and if anyone wants to play with me I’ll be on tomorrow.

  16. ChrisStrawhat says:

    Been lurking here a few weeks. Awesome blog, awesome people.

    – All done with the weekly already.
    Played like… a 100 quick grifball games with my brother, and finally completed the 200 multikills. Way easier than I thought, even though it prolly took a couple hours. But by the end of it I could barely get single kills anymore, don’t know how I could possibly get worse, maybe got too tired =(
    (I am not a MrX, lol, gamer tag: CHris Strawhat)

    And sidenote: the payoff for killing BOB got up again, but with Bungie’s challenge name “Golden Opportunity”, what’s with that?

    • Dogmeat says:

      You had 2 games of SWAT and 3 multikills under your belt before your 20 sessions of grifball (which were completed over a 3 1/2 hour timespan). Your must have been going cross-eyed at the end! Still, you averaged 10 multikills per match. Excellent work!

      I believe the other BoB challenge is called “If it bleeds…” and is only worth half the credits for some reason for the same amount of effort.

    • John says:

      I think it’s partially due to the network connection, I find the optimum time to play is in the evening here as that’s when most Uk players are on. When I was playing earlier I was getting the nine-kill multikill and managed just under 30 multikills for some matches but now it’s after 1am there’s few UK players and I can’t even land single kills never mind multikills. I see the hammer connect and looks like it kills the player but it never counts, they are still alive and I’m dead even when the enemy is facing the away from me.

      John

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      Can anyone get over that? Mr. X apologized, promised not to do it anymore, and said he would actually like to make friends here. That reference to him was totally unnecessary. Just leave him alone already. Okay?

      • ChrisStrawhat says:

        Sorry if I offended anyone, especially the man X in question, I had only read comments regarding him(?) on one challenge, where people bashed him for not leaving his gamertag. Merry Christmas

  17. Zidane says:

    Up to 29 in multi kills, gb key but kd going uptake a hammering! Hats off John

  18. Brian says:

    curses, i was hoping for a laso and not using a gamesave……….. oh well 200 double kills shouldnt be too bad todays dailies help as well

  19. daayv says:

    A bit more of a grind for me than others here, although I did have one great match of Griftball where I earned the Dreamcrusher award.
    152 down… should finish this tomorrow.

    Daayv

  20. Jesse says:

    Another off topic, but a buddy of mine always had self esteem/depression issues. He positively hates himself after some games. If you lack confidence, and lost a job, and have depression, sucking at Reach can take you into the abyss. Feel sorry for the guy.
    Lesson, if you feel sh*tty about you’re life, you won’t feel better when you suck at Reach that’s for sure! I try to tell him that, but he’s hooked on the game. Almost a bad drug for him.
    But anyway, I’m realizing that match making in Reach is beginning to get on my nerves, cause i’m getting worse for some reason..time to hang up the controller..as it were.
    Cheers guys.

  21. Digipatd says:

    Weekly done! Eleven games of Grifball. 😀

  22. TheOneInYellow says:

    Not a bad weekly, I guess (after checking out my HaloWaypoint and HaloCharts stats), so yeah, this will be good fun with the RDC community.

    In the words of a famous game character icon (from another cult classic series, much the way Halo is):

    “Bring it!” 😀

  23. fuzzjp says:

    Easiest way = get a good squad together for Zombies. I’m up to 110 after a day. Hold up in the tallest vent and let the Multi-kills roll!

    Hit me up if you want to party up!

    Gamer Tag: FUZZJP

  24. Paul says:

    completed in 33 consecutive games of Grifball, some of which were less than spectacular. Half dozen games where a player on my team left before the start (although I actually scored quite well for multikills in some of these – I guess the opposition cluster around you more when there are less of you) and one appalling game against a team of 5 – you could just tell that the 5th extra was going to team kill and he did. Thankfully they just wanted the win instead of spawn-killing so it was mercifully quick. I did beat him down right at the start though 😈

    Agree with the comment that late games seem to confer invulnerability on the opposition if they are NorAm-based – I had a number of games where I smacked someone down from behind 3 or 4 times, and they just kept going.

  25. Shane says:

    If you’re doing this with Grifball, I think the trick is to try and grind this challenge out as early in the week as possible or wait until the weekend. Yesterday most people were going for the challenge. Today it’s mainly been Two-Minute Timothys with their premature insemination. Of the goal. With the ball.

    Ahem.

  26. Pingback: Page not found « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

  27. Lord Grenade says:

    I need some help in getting the weekly, I’m not used to play Grifball and after playing two nights I just have 76 multi-kills with an average of 4 per game.

    If someone is still doing it today msg me, GT: Lord Grenade

    • Shane says:

      I won’t be playing it again much this week but some tips:
      1 – change your game settings to Good Connection or whatever the setting is – lag is what gets you killed quickly;
      2 – keep track of the players who repeatedly pummel you against all odds. Chances are, they have a better ping than you. Avoid them and concentrate on the other players;
      3 – keep one eye on the field and another on the radar. This will help getting you killed by the opposition OR your own team;
      4 – play Blargball. Small map = lots of multikills.

Leave a Reply

