12th October – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Thanks for the love shown yesterday gang, I’m feeling really good having read through it, and love hearing that the site is useful and appreciated! Long may it last too.

Today’s challenges are below:

  1. More than a Handful – Kill 125 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2500 cR
  2. Flat Tire – Kill 10 enemy vehicles in Firefight Matchmaking – 2343 cR
  3. Tough Luck… On – Complete a Campaign mission on Heroic or harder with the Tough Luck Skull on – 2500 cR
  4. The Dream Shake – Earn 4 Double Kills in the same match in multiplayer Matchmaking – 4000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

More than a Handful – Kill 125 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2500 cR

Multi Team Battle or Grifball are the best ways to get lots and lots of kills, you tend to get more than any other modes. If you play Crazy King or Oddball you can get even more as some people who would shoot you go for the objective, and you can take them out. Seasoned Grifball players will also be able to get this in only a game or two, and if you can make an area in an Infection game defensible as a human you can rack up kills quickly.

Flat Tire – Kill 10 enemy vehicles in Firefight Matchmaking – 2343 cR

I was just thinking about this yesterday, since I rewrote the commentary last time we had it (2 months ago) but haven’t gotten to use it since. The best options for this are below. Key to point out is you must destroy the vehicle, not the driver first. You’re better off using something explosive (Spartan Laser, Plasma Launcher).

  • Score Attack – On Holdout you get Banshees in the rounds. If you can keep a Grunt alive at the end of a wave for a long time you have a higher chance of getting them to come out again and again. They don’t tend to appear when it’s raining
  • Firefight Doubles – Especially Beachhead, where vehicles are usually dropped at the beginning and end of each round, you can decide who gets to take them out and work on it (plus great for working on assists)

Tough Luck… On – Complete a Campaign mission on Heroic or harder with the Tough Luck Skull on – 2500 cR

A. New. Challenge. I think. Anyway, I’m giving exactly the same advice as every optional Campaign mission challenge – run Nightfall, get this done in 10 minutes, tops. As a guide to Nightfall speed run I’ve picked this video off Youtube randomly, but there are hundreds like it. In fact we have further options and details on the time we did it in LASO on this Weekly Challenge page and comments. There are other levels you may be more familiar with, but honestly, you can do this in 5-6 minutes with minimal stress.

The Dream Shake – Earn 4 Double Kills in the same match in multiplayer Matchmaking – 4000 cR

4 isn’t too bad these days, Team SWAT works well, but Grifball probably works better for this one too. This is of course 4 Double Kills, not multikills, so getting a Triple Kill won’t count as two towards this. Helps you towards the weekly as well which is good.

59 Responses to 12th October – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Noobwarrior523 says:

    It’s been quite a while since I posted, but I’m still here, just don’t see the point In talking about challenges I know I cant get on to get, hoping I could get on today, and have a mini grifball marathon to get some of that weekly done

    • gans42 says:

      Its pretty easy to do. I got 176 in 7 games (177 in 8 lol). I plan to finish up the weekly now with just one more game of grifball

      • Project shave says:

        It was good playing with you last night gans. Hopefully I can join up with you tonight and get a few more multi kills.

      • gans42 says:

        I wont be on tonight, taking a hiatus until saturday night, but ill play with you then

  2. Krandyt says:

    Damn that flat tyre! Was hoping they had forgotten about that one! So I’ll only be doing the 3 challenges today then, don’t have the patience to do that much firefight when I’ve still got the weekly to finish.

  3. Scruff 815 says:

    Well, Flat Tire is getting ignored.

    A quick run through Nightfall and then a miniature Grifball marathon won’t be too bad, I don’t want to spend too long in Halo when Brotherhood is calling me 😀

    Also, who’s down for some Game Night goodness tomorrow? NOT IN GRIFBALL THOUGH!! 😉

    • Braythor says:

      Oh but grifball’s so much fun, and it’s the only mode in which I stand a chance against most of you lot.

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      Unfortunately, I don’t think I’ll be able to make it. I’ve got a really busy day tomorrow, so I might only have enough time to do the challenges. 😦 This is the first one I’ve missed in quite a while.

    • I’ll be a little late, but I will definitely join in on the fun! 😀

      • Dragao1010 AKA: Brian says:

        you’ll be the one looking above your head this time 😉

      • That was hilarious 😛 Probably because one time when I did it, you didn’t notice for a good 30 seconds or so!

  4. My Little Housing Blog says:

    I don’t really like the Tough Luck skull, but I will give it a try.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Watch the guide on how to speed-run Nightfall. If you do it right, you won’t be throwing any grenades. Or firing a single shot. You can easily do it in under 5 minutes.

      • My Little Housing Blog says:

        I did see the video. Never thought about doing it before, but it can be interesting to give it a try.

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        It’s definitely worth it. There are so many challenges that it makes easy.

  5. HC Sangheili says:

    With the weekly finished, FF Doubles (3 cheers for Flat Tire!!) and BTB are in order following a 5 minute Nightfall run.

  6. Woody says:

    The ONLY reason I may do Flat Tire is because I need five more in commendation to get promoted. The other challenges will go well for getting the weekly.

    Speaking of weekly, thanks to everyone I got a chance to play Grifball with last night. I went from a pathetic 13 double kills on Monday to well over 100 from last night. You all are the greatest!

    • gans42 says:

      Twas a pleasure woody! And it was quite mutual, we all (except santaanas) got a ton of multikills

      • Woody says:

        The only thing I didn’t like was dropping out the party constantly for some unknown reason.

    • Project shave says:

      If you’re on this evening I’ll join you woody. I would’ve played longer but my chick came over. Hubba hubba!

      • Woody says:

        I will be online for a little bit, but for how long basically depends on what time the “warden” gets off from work. I know I will be available from 3-6pm (CST), but after 6:00 is questionable.

      • Project shave says:

        That’s cool man, I should be available from 3-6 pst

  7. FatKidLovesCoke says:

    Oooh, some challenges here are easy, but I got baseball practice so I don’t know if I can get the time. :O But I have no school Friday, so an extra day of Reach 😀

  8. RainingMammoths says:

    Anyone else notice how versitile Griffball is lately? Seems like I’m always playing it to get challenges haha.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Good luck getting headshots in it 😉

    • LolGTFOplz says:

      Yes i can agree with you RainingMammoths, the 125 multiplayer kills as well as the dream shake, can both be achieved in Griffball relatively easily. Usually the dailies throughout the week tend to coincide with completeling the weekly i have noticed, and since the weekly can be achieved through Griffball i see where your coming from 😀

  9. leroygetz says:

    Game night would suit me perfect thursday, the other half working late. Are you going hosting something scruff?

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Yeah, nothing super-formal or anything. Just get a bunch of us together and play whatever we have the people for. Personal preference would be for TU Beta (for the variety and the big jackpots) and/or MLG (great maps, horrible when played with randoms). But I imagine we’ll play a bunch of stuff 🙂

  10. SensoryFour34 says:

    Big assignment due tomorrow, so I might only do the Nightfall Speed-Run. If I’m on later, I would be glad to join in on some Grifball with people.

  11. A 4-minute Nightfall run, a game of 2x score attack, and lots of multi-team & Grifball. I’m skipping Flat Tire, the credits just aren’t worth it. 3/4 for today.

  12. gans42 says:

    I was planning on finishing up the weekly in 9 games…i only needed 23 more, but my 9th game was with randoms that were hell bent on scoring and i only got 17 😦 i must get those last 6 in my 10th game!

    • Noobwarrior523 says:

      I will beat you! After 2 games so far I’ve gotten 49, hoping for an eight game weekly!

  13. LolGTFOplz says:

    “Thanks for the love shown yesterday gang” – Yes! i can officially tell everyone i’m in a gang! (video game gang) but still! 😛

    Had 2 great great games yesterday playing with the ol’ lady, (lol) @rainingmammoths and @cos’ first game 19-0 second game 19-1. was beautiful.

    As for challenges:
    Firefight: I’ve fallen in love with vehicle kills, and 10 is easy in doubles arcadefight on holdout, banshee’s are like shooting plates out of the sky. PULL!

    Multiplayer: Griffball, and some squad slayer for me.

    Campaign: Nightfall, as always.

    • HC Sangheili says:

      It was getting lonely with me thinking I was the only one that LOVED Flat Tire challenges 😉

    • 'Cos says:

      Nicely done, lolgtfoplz. It was much fun playing with you and rainingmammoths ( and Peppermint Lee!) last night. Sorry it could not continue last night, but i’ll be around later if you want. We did kinda rule! And, again…congrats to you both!

      • LolGTFOplz says:

        Thank you very much for the congratulations ‘cos! Tonight I should be on again and would love to play for sure!

  14. aeoliant says:

    i think I’m actually gonna do ‘tough luck on’ legit this time… bored of nightfall runs although now I can almost get through the wall in one try. I wanna do long night of solace. pew pew pew

    • I thought about doing that last time… it didn’t happen 😛

    • Woody says:

      Well, what is your secret to getting through that awful wall on the first try? I’ve only been able to do it once. There are a few other times when it may take three or four tries… but most of the time it takes me well over eight tries.

      • LolGTFOplz says:

        What you need to do Woody is line it up so your spartan getting out of the vehicle is directly lined up with the middle crack of the door, where it normally would open, being a door. lol i can get it the first time 95% of the time now, before i’d struggle for 5 minutes with the damn thing! ~.~

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Also I find that the back end of the forklift needs to be sticking out slightly, away from the gate.

      • aeoliant says:

        the final trick is to move your spartan into the wall when you get out of the truck. everything they said is true too

      • Woody says:

        Thanks guys! I’m going to give it a try when I get a chance.

      • Dogmeat says:

        Getting through those blast doors also works best if your spartan remains optimistic. Staying positive and upbeat can help in so many circumstances! Make sure your virtual character, Noble 6, knows this. Cheer him on if he seems uncertain about this feat. Like Bill Cosby’s routine about karate, your spartan has to be thinking “two feet past” those doors. 😉

      • Scruff 815 says:

        ^ GENIUS. Cannot stop laughing.

      • LolGTFOplz says:

        Mr. Dogmeat,

        Question, have you completedweekly challenge? just wondering, was looking at your stats and noticed the very high number.

      • Dogmeat says:

        @Scruff 815 –
        Thanks! There are times that I definitely miss contributing to the There I Fixed It website (also Dogmeat there). The community changed a year or so back when Ms. Fix-It turned over the moderator “reins” to Not So Handy Andy. Favorite comments were no longer chosen the following day, taking away the incentive to try so hard to come up with something witty.

        @Lolgtfoplz –
        I am sitting at 156 multikills. However, I have been limiting myself to Rumble Pit and Multi Team matches as I occasionally take time out to focus on assassinations and the AR instead.

        Last night felt more like an uphill battle than the first night (lot of amazing players were thrown into the same games), though I gained about 75 each night. Hopefully, I have enough energy to wrap up the weekly challenge tonight. Grifball would have been the obvious choice. It is the only gametype I have reached an HC skill of 50.

        Congrats to everyone who completed it already! 🙂

      • LolGTFOplz says:

        @dogmeat: yeah that came out completely wrong, felt like English was my second language, what i really meant to say is, have you completed every weekly challange, i had put daily in there on accident deleted it and that’s what it ended up as after i tried to change it (my origanal message)

        and since i have your attention and i read your post of 50 hc skill in griffball thats impressive, you are very close to getting that 50 in multi-team. this must be difficult because you have to place first in order to get the win correct?

        sorry for all the questions, your account is just so interesting haha.

      • Dogmeat says:

        I understand now, lolgtfoplz! Yes, I have still managed to get all the weeklies since the game came out. My count still remains glitched at 2 higher than it should be, though.

        I am not sure how I am sitting at 49 for multi team! Wins help to be sure. However, I don’t place first that much due to the hazards of randoms and quitters. I do try to win but know I would get very frustrated very quickly if I became too wrapped up in losing for that gametype. It just comes with the territory.

        By all means, someone please correct me if I am wrong! I think the skill rating has to be mostly weighted on individual performance and maybe sticking it out when your team abandons you. I very rarely quit as it presents a challenge. Sometimes I get completely destroyed as a result! 😦

        There is also the likelihood that finishing in the upper half (1st or 2nd place) helps for multi team. I say this because I am also a 47 for rumble pit. Yet, I very rarely come in 1st place! I am looking forward to the day when I can use whatever weapon suits me again. It is pretty satisfying coming out the victor, though, with my puny assault rifle against the sprinting sword, shotty, and double-pummel players who think they are God’s gift to the online Reach community! 😉

      • LolGTFOplz says:

        I’m going to make the assumption that multi-team counts as a victory for only the first team. i’m 91-18 in multi team, and i know i don’t get 3rd or 4th that many times! where as rumble pit, i’m going to make the assumption that it is a victory (on HC) if you place in the top 4, because i’m 150 – 123 in rumble pit and i know for damn sure that i haven’t placed 1st 123 times in rumble pit! lol! just my thoughts on it, i could be wrong though.

        As for that Assault Riffle your forced to use due to commendations my hat is off to you, because that things a POS. its my worst gun. i’m dreading the day that i have to only use the AR due to commendation restrictions.

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        @Woody It just takes practice. The best way would be to just do it on Easy until you feel like you’ve got it down.

      • Dogmeat says:

        Okay. I couldn’t get this Bill Cosby routine out of my head. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

