15th October – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Greetings from the California Bay area where I’m having trouble sleeping. The flight over was excellent as ever with Virgin Atlantic. I got to see Cars 2 (disappointing), The Devil’s Double (excellent despite a thin story) and The Conspirator (average because of a thin story).

And it always amazes me that it takes 11 hours to fly to the west coast, something like 6,000 miles, and then it takes over an hour to do the 100 or so metres through immigration. That’s the bit that puts me off coming to the US. Particularly it drives people away from business trips as they might as well teleconference. I do wonder what the other people who take so long do, it never takes more than a minute or two for me to scan my right fingers, take the photo and then go.

Anyway, rant over, today’s challenges:

  1. One Spartan Army – Kill 150 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2250 cR
  2. Sweep the Leg – Perform an Assassination in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000 cR
  3. Double Nickels – Earn 2 killing sprees in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 3000 cR
  4. Stronger, Harder – Complete a Campaign mission on Heroic with Famine, Tough Luck and Thunderstorm on – 2000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

One Spartan Army – Kill 150 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2250 cR

You get 120 Grunts in Gruntpocalypse, 125+ in 2x Score Attack, about 100 enemies in Score Attack and something like 330 in a Firefight Matchmaking game (although split between up to 4 people). There was a great comment a while ago (sorry I can’t remember who said it) that if you need to ‘top up’ your FF kills, jump into a game of Generator Defense or Crashsite and once you have your kills give up the defense.

Sweep the Leg – Perform an Assassination in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000 cR

So many options for assassinations – you can stealth it and hide somewhere to take someone out as they run past (Sword Base’s hallways, Pinnacle and Uncaged in the lofts etc). You can play Halo Ball Extreme (my favourite for this) as the massive map often means you’ll end up with someone not knowing you’re behind them at some point. Or just play normally – if you find someone AFK then you’re quids in. I found this week Multi-Team Slayer is excellent for Assassinations when you’re on a smaller map (Asylum) as you’ll invariably end up being able to take someone roughly from behind.

Double Nickels – Earn 2 killing sprees in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 3000 cR

This is two in one game. Try and get a weapon you like and aim to take out 5 guys with it. This is pure kills, not what you use. Of course one option is to play something like Boardwalk and snipe people from far away. Don’t get so engrossed in your scope you miss what’s happening around you though! Close Quarters often works well – so Grifball will be really good for getting this too. BTB works very well from the vehicles, especially the Falcon or Scorpion.

Stronger, Harder – Complete a Campaign mission on Heroic with Famine, Tough Luck and Thunderstorm on – 2000 cR

We haven’t seen this one since January, when it was worth more credits (2750), so why it’s worth fewer now, and fewer than yesterday’s arguably easier Campaign challenge I don’t know. Anyway, I’m giving exactly the same advice as every optional Campaign mission challenge – run Nightfall, get this done in 10 minutes, tops. As a guide to Nightfall speed run I’ve picked this video off Youtube randomly, but there are hundreds like it. In fact we have further options and details on the time we did it in LASO on this Weekly Challenge page and comments. There are other levels you may be more familiar with, but honestly, you can do this in 5-6 minutes with minimal stress.

Some of you might have noticed the Achievements for Halo CEA have been announced, check out the full list here. I don’t think there are any there that will be particularly bad, there’s no ‘Came to hear me beg’ equivalent that I can see so that’s okay.

16 Responses to 15th October – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Mister X says:

    Cold and rain here… So, time to play with a hot chocolate! So, today is Nightfall, 3 – 5 games of Griffball, and you done!

    • Scruff 815 says:

      The 150 enemies is in Firefight. So, Nightfall, 2 games of FF, then an Infection and a Slayer Pro should do it 😀

      • Gengo23 says:

        You should be able to do one game of FFD or FFA and get 150.

        And while I agree that speedrunning Nightfall will be fairly easy, I don’t like the fact that the payout is less for more skulls being active.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Yeah, but there isn’t a skull that affects forklift drivability. Doing Nightfall on Legendary with all skulls on is almost exactly the same as doing Nightfall on Easy with no skulls on 😉

      • André says:

        I have a savefile on nightfall with 12 skulls, last checkpoint 😉

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        The only skull that makes a difference is Black Eye and even then, it’s not a big difference.

      • André says:

        Depends if they start shooting at you. I did legendary all skulls on first try 5-6 minutes. though it didnt save last checkpoint/cutscene. I redid it took me 10 restarts because of all the shooting.

  2. Scruff 815 says:

    11 hours? It was 16 last time I went! Also I ❤ Virgin Atlantic 😀 And immigration queues are long EVERYWHERE. At least US Customs people are generally friendly and chatty, unlike the assholes at Heathrow 😕

    Anyhoo, easy challenges. Good. I'm on the last level of Brotherhood and it's far too exciting to be thinking about Halo too much 😉

    • Dragao1010 AKA: Brian says:

      Than i shall spoil brotherhood for you! Ezio meets up with masterchief and takes on the templars and live happily ever after 😀

    • callupchuck says:

      Last sequence of Brotherhood definitely caught me by surprise. Mainly because I didn’t realize it was the end of the game. But also mainly because it was another WTH-happened moment like A2. But also mainly because you turned on the light, and that freaked her out.

      • TheOneInYellow says:

        Though I am STOKED that Batman Arkham City CE is coming next Friday (seriously, I really am excited), I also cannot wait for the last Triple AAA game this year, Assassin’s Creed Revelations (I’m getting the Animus Edition).
        After AC:B, I seriously want to continue the story ASAP, especially as this is Ezio’s last role. Though everyone, including me, loves Altaïr ibn-La’Ahad, I think Ezio Auditore da Firenze deserves better recognition and love, as we knew his life, played his life, and seen how shit really hits the fan when you are part of the Brotherhood. He is as iconic as Master Chief, Adam Jenson, Solid Snake, Marcus/Dom, and so forth. The mere fact that we also get to see (even play?) as Altaïr and Desmond makes AC:R WIN! ^_^

  3. Matt says:

    Double Nickels is BTB all the way, preferably on either Hemorrhage or Abridged. I earn a Killing Frenzy probably 4 out of 5 games on Abridged and a Running Riot in probably 1 in 10 BTB games generally.

    I’ve noticed, apropos of nothing, that Evade is UNSTOPPABLE on Trident. I picked up Evade and the Sniper (and when that ran out picked up a Needle Rifle) and earned a Running Riot right off the bat in a Neutral Bomb Assault game on Trident. After about 12 kills in the other team got annoyed (apparently they couldn’t find the Sniper on their side 🙂 ) and three people came to our base but I assassinated one, grenade + headshotted the second, and evaded the third until my shields came back and I could beat him with NR spam. I’m not at all good at Reach, so I imagine some of the regulars on this blog will find that Evade + Trident’s all-angles geometry will allow them to really dominate a game.

    • I hate Trident with a burning passion. I don’t know why, but it pisses me off every time I play on it. My favorite is probably Wayont! Especially blue side. I don’t mind Abridged; for the most part I sit back and defend our objective (since no one else does) and often finish games on that map without dying!

  4. Mister X says:

    Scruff, i didn’t saw the Firefight, thanks.

  5. Dragao1010 AKA: Brian says:

    definitely gonna put my back against somebody in grifball then leap epic bounds behind them then assassinate them!

  6. Just got back from a cross-country race. I’m so tired that I know I’d end up screwing up all of the progress I’ve made over the past few days in one or two games. So I’m going to watch all of RvB season 9 instead 😛

    And if you think California customs is bad? On my flight back from Rome, I landed in JFK, where it took me two hours to make it through. And they seem to enjoy yelling at people 😦

Leave a Reply

