18th October – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Yesterday was a great vacation day. In n Out was very tasty, so I’ll be going back to try something else there, and I caught the movie 50/50 which I thoroughly recommend. The Sharks lost 3-2 to the Ducks. But it was a pretty good experience (esp being behind the Sharks dugout as hopefully this picture shows), and I got a game puck out of the deal.

Today we’re driving down to Los Angeles for an event tonight that I’ll tell you about tomorrow if I manage to get in, followed by a stay in a fabulous Beverly Hills hotel (zip code 90210).

Today’s challenges are:

  1. Blastin’ and Relaxin’ – Kill 180 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 2343 cR
  2. Flat Tire – Kill 5 enemy vehicles in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR
  3. L.D. ONI – Complete ONI, without dying, on Legendary with Mythic, Thunderstorm, Tilt and Tough Luck on – 7500 cR
  4. Not as Clumsy or Random… – Earn 5 kills with precision weapons in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Blastin’ and Relaxin’ – Kill 180 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 2343 cR

If you’re going for just this challenge you’ve got a few choices for doing this really easily and quickly…

  • Forge – make a game with players spawning in one spot and camp it
  • Firefight – Download my Firefight Invincible game type on my File Share, lots of Elites, lots of medals, lots of kills
  • ONI: Sword Base – Use the Target Designator trick (run past everyone at the beginning, grab it, turn around, fire, wait for the killing to stop and restart the checkpoint)
  • Package – There are points where you can get a checkpoint just before a number of Grunts appear in the final battle, so you can gun them down and restart

Flat Tire – Kill 5 enemy vehicles in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR

I was just thinking about this yesterday, since I rewrote the commentary last time we had it (2 months ago) but haven’t gotten to use it since. The best options for this are below. Key to point out is you must destroy the vehicle, not the driver first. You’re better off using something explosive (Spartan Laser, Plasma Launcher).

  • Score Attack – On Holdout you get Banshees in the rounds. If you can keep a Grunt alive at the end of a wave for a long time you have a higher chance of getting them to come out again and again. They don’t tend to appear when it’s raining
  • Firefight Doubles – Especially Beachhead, where vehicles are usually dropped at the beginning and end of each round, you can decide who gets to take them out and work on it (plus great for working on assists)

L.D. ONI – Complete ONI, without dying, on Legendary with Mythic, Thunderstorm, Tilt and Tough Luck on – 7500 cR

As ever my advice is to read through the details on the LASO Weekly Challenge for this level, plus the Mythic guide by Tyrant, as the challenge itself is pretty close to LASO. If you die, save and quit immediately, then go back into the game to be back at your last checkpoint.

Not as Clumsy or Random… – Earn 5 kills with precision weapons in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000 cR

Jump into a Team SWAT match, take out some guys and it’s an easy top up of 2000 credits. Precision weapons are the DMR, Focus Rifle, Needle Rifle and Sniper Rifle.

38 Responses to 18th October – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. LolGTFOplz says:

    debating if i am going to do the ONI one…. probably not. i have to get to the mall to get dress clothes for Las Vegas next week.

    • Mikast says:

      I’m definitely not doing the ONI one. I’m just going to work on my kills. I’m at 426 of 700. Anyone else sick of grifball? Though I did get 66 kills in one game but it was such a frustrating match. These last two weekly challenges have made into a killing fest! I find it more fun when both teams are aggressive and try to score.

      • Yep, lots of people getting pissed when someone scores.

      • jay says:

        I am never not sick of Griffball.

        Does _everyone_ know not to score, and just play for kills? I don’t think so….

      • chriscray says:

        I’m flat out ignoring the weekly, grifball games are way too quick when I want (and announce) kills, and to long when I want to be on winning team. I esp. Hate when I hold the ball for kills, to be betrayed by win mongers.

        Long story short, I’m burnt out on grifball.

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        I’m sick of it too. (Even if I did get two Killing Frenzies in one game of it.)

  2. l0 Dolla Bagel says:

    It will be fun playing today with these challenges.
    Anyone want to jump into grifball for lots if kills today?

    • Dragao1010 AKA: Brian says:

      I’m down like james brown! and it looks like the oni challenge will be done in pfffft 1 second 😀 and i’m serious

  3. HC Sangheili says:

    For LD Oni, do you need to S&Q or can you just play through and if you die, S&Q only at the last checkpoint?

    • Gengo23 says:

      I see no reason why that would NOT work – the Iron skull isn’t on.

    • callupchuck says:

      I think if you’re going to cheese the system by S&Q before you die, might as well have a ball and not worry about dying at all. S&Q on the last checkpoint works.

      Also, the S&Q technique before death is really hard to pull off, imo. You have less than a second before that “Challenge Failed” notification pops up.

      • Eskobar (André) says:

        You can save and quit after the pop up and continue game.

  4. Dragao1010 AKA: Brian says:

    challenges overall seem easy peez, and yesterday, myself and 2 randoms(1 guy left) were up against a full team of high ranks one including an inheritor. So i’m like bring it! They spawn trapped the sh*t out of us BUT i still managed 30-35 whereas the other two went 14-68, like cmon

  5. Flacksguy says:

    Whoa,
    You had Excellent seats for that game, Matthew!
    Maybe it will get you hooked on Hockey while you’re here in the states.

    If anyone still needs the two Map Packs (Noble and Defiant), they are currently half price for anyone with a Gold membership.
    Plus, you can get 3 months of Gold for $10 (US) right now, if you didn’t already have that either.
    I didn’t, so I quick signed up this morning, and bought both Map Packs.
    I’ve been waiting for them to drop in price since July, when I missed the drop by one day.

    A quick question about online play…
    Even though I’ve played Campaign many times, I’ve never played even a second online. So will I be matched up with other players who are brand new to online play? Or will having completed Campaign so many times count as some sort of experience points?
    I’d like to start with other new players, since I don’t consider myself very good, and I don’t really want to spend my first couple of games lying dead on the ground.
    Also, I was thinking that Firefight might be a better place to get my feet wet,
    How do those games work? Are they teams of 2 or 4 or more? And you share the lives ? Is that correct?
    Thanks for any help.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      OK – in theory, you’ll be matched up with similarly ranked players. However, this only works if similarly ranked players are online; so stick to playlists with more people playing, like Team Slayer.

      Firefight is excellent but it’s nothing at all like competitive matchmaking. You can go into Doubles (one team of 2) or Firefight Limited / Arcade (one team of 4). You share the lives in Limited and certain Doubles modes, but in Arcade you have unlimited lives. But like I said, playing co-operatively is nothing at all like playing to kill.

      • Flacksguy says:

        Thanks Scruff,
        Appreciate the info.

        I think I’ll get started with Firefight, and then move onto Multiplayer when I get comfortable.

    • Dragao1010 AKA: Brian says:

      also a dmr tip since you’ll be wanting to use it alot : aim at there chest for the first 4 shots, then 5th shot= headshot. Also spam first two shots, wait for reticule to go back to normal spam the next two in the chest then wait for the headshot. In case you didnt know this already. I tend to this but instead i aim my shots towards the head cause i cannot help but think they’ll die quicker which they dont but oh wells

      • Braythor says:

        I knew it! I knew when I caved and bought Defiant last Thursday it would drop in price soon. I am SO F*($&”& p*”($£d off right now!!!

      • l0 Dolla Bagel says:

        @Braythor; Same thing happened to me when they dropped in Canada only. :/
        I was so mad because I really hate using money on xbox things. ahah.

      • Braythor says:

        It’s so damn annoying isn’t it? It bugged me even more because I’d been purposefully putting it off for the past few months, waiting for it to be half price again, and I had 540 points just sitting there, so I had to buy twice as many as I needed…Well, on the bright side, I suppose I got a good play out of them last game night.

    • crazybydefault says:

      Since Reach was the first Halo game I owned, I played through campaign on Normal then on Heroic before I even touched MM. I would then go into Firefight to get a little more of a handle on the way the weapons work and to work on practicing getting headshots, sticks, etc.

      MM is definitely a whole different breed of gameplay, but it’s a lot of fun! I’d recommend selecting “Similar Skill” on the MM settings.

      Here’s a link for some more info! 😉 http://www.brighthub.com/video-games/console/articles/87901.aspx

      Oh, and feel free to add any one of us if you’d like to party up! It’s a lot more fun if you’re with people you know!

  6. RainingMammoths says:

    I agree that 50/50 is phenominal! And thanks @flacksguy for the heads up on the map packs! I haven’t got them yet.

    • LolGTFOplz says:

      Dear Sir Mammoths,

      If you need any more Microsoft points, i have 400 sitting in my dresser that i would happily offer to you. I can remember your statement of “i have 800 points left” but if that is not enough for the current packs, of maps, i can give 400 to you. The 400 added to the 800 should be plenty to get the HALO: REACH map packs at half price. I hope this gentle gesture is greeted with open arms when viewing the XBOX live market place. Thank you for your time!

      Sincerely,

      LolGTFOplz ©

  7. Brian says:

    Btw banshees don’t count on holdout 😦

    • LolGTFOplz says:

      Banshees do count, you just have to kill them right, you have to either get lucky with the sniper in 2x (in arcade 2 shots with the sniper take them down easy) or use a spartan laser/plasma launcher. With guns such as the DMR the banshee driver is killed, a split second before the vehicle goes BOOM

    • ChrisStrawhat says:

      Actually Brian they do count. I always go for Holdout Banshee’s for vehicle kills, for commendations or challenges. Arcade fight (4 players) or Arcade Doubles (2 players)
      and I usually pick the sniper/dmr class on Holdout, putting 2 shots into “a skyward banshee for explosive results” 😀 Works every time.
      Don’t know how it could’ve gone wrong for you. Maybe you played on a different playlist (like score attack) and somehow killed the pilot before vehicle with like the dmr?

      Try arcade doubles for almost guaranteed 5 Banshee’s if you make it to the end of Round 3 before time’s up, for stupidly easy kills with the sniper or rocket launcher (I find the Banshee’s are terrible at evading rockets if it’s a little laggy, lol)

      • Brian says:

        Well I was playing 2x score attack and using the dmr. Perhaps I shall trying using a power weapon next time the challenge appears! Thanks for the responses cause I won’t be playing arcade again for it 😀

      • Eskobar (André) says:

        I used score attack: rockets and sniper modes. sniper is easiest because banshee can dodge the rockets which can get annoying. Watch out for the heavy rain, it makes them less frequent, 5minute wait. otherwise 2-3min.

  8. Jimmy says:

    It’s nice to see that you guys run into Grifball morons as well.

    And Matt, don’t forget about In-N-Out’s secret menu. Animal style is your friend.

  9. Corporal Alexei says:

    I’m tired of grifball as well…..however, thats nothing compared to how pissed I get when I am CONSTANTLY betrayed in Infection. Seems like everytime I play some shitbag ends up with a -12.

  10. Eskobar (André) says:

    ONI Sword Base Slaso. Backup save for later. The wraith should be good help on this mission.

    • Eskobar (André) says:

      Done.. damn tough with mostly plasma pistol and shotgun for the last parts (hunters to rockets). Though it didn’t take too long to complete, one of the easier Slaso mission I’d say.

  11. crazybydefault says:

    Screw Flat Tire. Screw LD ONI… well, actually, I might attempt it. 😛

    Anyways, I had several good games of Invasion yesterday! It’s becoming my new favorite game mode!

  12. ll spunkypants ll says:

    L.D ONI. I hate you. Mainly because i made the following schoolboy errors:

    1.) Thinking the sprint to td would work: 20 minute fail. Realised this, 5 mins to clear the area “manually”

    2.) Hijacked the wraith, 1st time, cleared out relay station, and drove to anti aircraft gun. Killed all the grunts, and thought”thats me done then, i’ll just park my Wraith here and assasinate our general friend. Simples.” Forgot about drop ships. Another 30 mins down the drain…..

    3.) Got gauss hog through barricade, killed hunters. Easy part now, I thought to my self! TOTALLY forgot to spam plasma cannon field marshall through window…….

    4.) In banshee/phantom bit, realised I still had AL rather than sprint :s Had to push George in to final area, whilst playing “hide the spartan” After another 30 mins managed to blow fm off the edge of the ledge. Job done.

    #Doing it the hard way

  13. Deaf Phantom says:

    i dont think anyone knew this but best to remember this for next time

    for L.D. ONI all you needed was 2 or more players and have one sit back while the other(s) do all the killing and risking his life to make sure that player gets through without dying then after he (the non-dead player) gets the challenge they switch places and do it again

    lol its like killing them as you respawn for fun, me and my partner did it and took us a total of 2 & 1/2 hours to get it done but it might go quickly if there are more

Leave a Reply

