Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 24th October

This week’s challenge is below, click Read More to view the commentary:

Alexandria: LASO – Complete Alexandria, Legendary, All Skulls On (LASO) – 23430 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

New Alexandria, how I love thee. The objectives come in random order, flying a Falcon is like driving a Scorpion in 3D (I adore the Scorpion so much), and that Hospital section is a great piece of game design, it’s like a combination of a third person game type and elements of Two Betrayals from Halo: CE. Plus we finally have the Reflection map used in Campaign, and the nightclub is the same as the Firefight map in Halo: ODST. All in all this is a really wonderful mission, even in LASO.

The basic concept for the challenge is complete the mission on close to Mythic difficulty (Mythic is all of this challenge, in solo, without dying). I won’t post a full walkthrough here, because frankly the best one you can use is actually on Halo.Bungie.Org by Tyrant. As usual with these if you do die then quickly pause, save and exit, then restart from last checkpoint, so you don’t go back to the start of the mission.

As usual you shouldn’t need the Blind skull on to achieve this.

If you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries it’s easy… you can follow on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

39 Responses to Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 24th October

  1. daayv says:

    I love this mission… especially with Tyrant’s help. Beat it solo, then played through it with my son for his challenges as well.
    Good luck RDCers!

  2. SensoryFour34 says:

    I posted this on yesterday’s daily challenges today, but I’ll post it here too. (Maybe next time Matthew will post on time. 😉 Seriously, though, it sounds like you’re having a really good time.)

    The best thing to use for this actually ISN’T Tyrant’s Mythic Guide. He just recently posted a LASO Guide for this mission. This was specifically designed for these Weekly Challenges, and it has some things that he didn’t know about until after his Mythic Guide.

    (Somebody suggested shooting off both wings on the Banshee, and that might work, but it’s that much less it takes to destroy it. It’s up to you, I guess.) Hope this helped. 😀

    • prnzhrn says:

      i just started playing halo a month or so ago (just lettin yall know how noob i am) and with the help of this video i was able to knock this thing out earlier today. the challenge becomes incredibly easy… so for those that aren’t going to try it, you definitely should.

      thank you matt for cluing me in on the die>quickly save/quit>resume campaign trick, and sensoryfour for the video. :]

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        Thank Tyrant. That guy really knows what he’s talking about! And he makes it entertaining to watch too. 😀

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      I also recommend everyone subscribe to MythicTyrant on Youtube so you can see when he releases the other LASO Guides. Also, for those interested, once he gets 2000 subscribers, he will start posting a Halo 3 Legendary Guide. This will help a lot as you can imagine from the amount of help this gave. 🙂

  3. Zoing says:

    Im gonna try bringing a guest player into the mission and hiding him somewhere so i can spawn in on him

    • Scruff 815 says:

      That won’t work. Iron is on, so if you die, you revert to checkpoint. However it will stop you from having to do save/quit/resume every time 🙂

  4. Scruff 815 says:

    This’ll be the first LASO I do outside of Winter Contingency and Nightfall. Thanks 343i for making the credit reward worthwhile this time! 😀

    Me, Braythor, porottaja, and potentially gans, today, 2.30pm UK time. Oooh yeahhh.

  5. SamCiphus says:

    So that video may have me actually attempting this one! I’ve never attempted a LASO before, so thanks @SensoryFour for the motivation! Also thanks to 343i for the worthwhile credit return!

  6. Nick says:

    there is no amount of credits that would get me to go through the painstaking process of LASO 😡 hahahahaha

  7. BJ2603 says:

    I cannot stand LASO but after seeing the video I gave it a go. 3 times I glitched out of the hospital and got stuck with a beautiful panoramic view of Alexandria from a banshee I couldn’t get out of.

    In closing, screw LASO 

    • BJ2603 says:

      Then again, that’s what I get for trying to glitch out INSIDE the banshee. Forgive my stupidity… Now excuse me, LASO awaits haha

  8. Scruff 815 says:

    Game night: Thursday 27th October

    Anyone wanna host the early leg? The early leg being 8pm London time (3pm Eastern, 12pm mid-day Pacific). I’m out that night, but I will be back later, and will be online between around 11pm and 2am.

    There’s no formal plan as such… We’ll just play in whatever playlist we have the people for! The only rule I have for this week is NO CUSTOMS. Hoping to organise a full-on Halo Social / RDC Custom Games night at some point in the next few weeks you see! 🙂

    All are welcome for Game Night; the more the merrier and all that; so if you’re reading this thinking that you’re not invited because you haven’t ever posted on here, you are more than welcome to come along. Try and have a mic if possible, don’t be an asshat and we’ll all get along just fine 😀

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      And make sure you teabag Scruff, too. 😉

    • With the end of cross-country being Wednesday, I’ll actually be able to make it for a decent amount of time this week! 😀

      Speaking of customs, last week’s bubble-shield party was AWESOME!

    • callupchuck says:

      I’ll be on around 2pm Pacific Time. If there isn’t a party going, I’ll be willing to PL for awhile. Just send me a message or friend request and hop in!

      I recently changed my armor configuration – going for a minimalist spartan.

    • porottaja says:

      I will propably become the party leader again because I am always on so early.

  9. Scruff 815 says:

    Thanks to porottaja for completing the Weekly for me and Braythor while we wasted our time doing things like flying around in the empty Falcon seats that don’t have guns on them, and having Braythor stand on my head while I jetpack into the air!

    We are so very awesome at Halo 😀

  10. ChrisStrawhat says:

    Finally did it. My first ever LASO. Way easier than I thought, actually, but I guess this is one of the easier maps if you know how to LASO it (hint hint for the very helpful video above).
    But guess what? “Online credit limit reached” BAM!!
    But I’m fairly sure I got at least 19k cR, so I only missed out on 4-5k. Could’ve been way worse! Very much worth it though 😀

  11. chriscray says:

    Alright, at first I saw LASO, and thought no way. But I watched that vid, thanks sensoryfour34, and that looks way easier than the mythic version. I’ll have to try it now!

    • Marshy 40 says:

      It’s very doable. Make sure that you get the hospital as first objective (just restart the mission until you do). On my first attempt, I got the hospital last, and could not get out the building after doing the despawning trick. Not sure if it actually matters, but when I tried again making sure I wnet to the hospital first, it worked fine. Also, on Club Errera, you can just sprint to exit after disabling the jammer. Did not fire a single shot there.

      • Dogmeat says:

        If the hospital is the first or second primary objective, the glitch will work with no problems (provided you follow Tyrant’s timing instructions to the letter). It is only when the hospital is the final (3rd) primary objective that you run into issues. It threw me afterwards when the objective marker for the hospital didn’t go away, and I started heading over to it at one point thinking I missed hearing the instructions on what to do next.

        I took a chance yesterday when Club Errera came up first and kept going instead of restarting the level right away. I was so relieved when the hospital was my next objective after helping Buck assist a squadron that was “pinned down” by a Phantom! This week was the first time I successfully pulled off the glitch. The first time I tried it (last time we had the New Alexandria LASO weekly challenge), the hospital was third. When the glitch didn’t happen, I fought my way through the building of enemies only to be met with locked doors. 😦 I had to restart the entire level and completed the hospital (in and back out) the traditional way. I wasn’t taking wasn’t more chances!

        This week’s LASO run was also the first time the grunts stayed asleep just inside the hospital. I then messed up trying to disable a banshee on the roof and had to head down to the entrance again for another plasma pistol after I depleted the ammo from the first one.

        Congrats to everyone who finished the weekly already! 🙂

      • Eskobar (André) says:

        I got the hospital last, used the spawn trick because those flying elites are really difficult in that area. Then took them out one by one where they got stuck in the the circular building. Weekly completed solo.

      • Bill Janis says:

        Marshy, that same thing happened to me. I had the hospital later, and could not get out of the building. The doors would not open, and I did not spawn outside and just had to walk up there. Redid it, hospital first, and it worked well! The quick “save and quit” is a godsend on this challenged.

  12. can this be done in co-op?

  13. Bill Janis says:

    Amazing Tyrant! Thank you sir!

  14. Eskobar (André) says:

    Nice weekly! I have limited internet atm so I’ll do most of it offline. 2 more mission after this and I have complete all missions slaso.

  15. Finished the weekly! By myself, I might add 😉

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      Yay! 😀 Same here! Except I managed to get the side mission that Tyrant specifically said he hated in his guide. Now I see why. You have to take out Elites and Engineers, but the main problem is the Banshee will not leave you alone! 😦

  16. Shane says:

    I’m on holiday this week so I’ll miss this challenge…

    Excellent! 😀

  17. FireySplork says:

    For the hosipital, if you do it in coop, have one person wait inside near the door while you take out the jammer. Then if he walks out onto the platform, it should spawn you beside him and you have skipped all the elites. 🙂

  18. Swift Broot says:

    About that stupid door in the hospital: after jacking the banshee, I kept getting screwed by the door and had to save quit at least 5 times before finally just hitting the stupid thing. It went down something like this: “You stupid [wham!]…flipping [wham!]…useless [wham!]… good for nothing door!!! [wham!][wham!][wham!] (pant pant pant)……….oh! look at that. The banshee’s inside now.” As you can see, if anyone’s having trouble getting the stupid banshee in the door before it closes and BLOWS YOUR BANSHEE AND TIME TO HECK, then, well, just feel free to hit it till it goes in ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………(ok ok. That’s what she said).

  19. Swift Broot says:

    Oh and by hitting “it”, I meant the banshee. Not the door. Though, if you just spent 5 minutes hitting the door, please send me a link to that video cuz….I want to watch it over and over and laugh heartily to myself. Yes innnn-deed.

Leave a Reply

