28th October – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Really good last full day yesterday, bought Star Fluxx and spent a couple of hours playing it in a coffee and cake place called Flames, which served the largest cake slices you’ll see. In the evening we hit up La Fondue, unsurprisingly a fondue joint and enjoyed some alligator, antelope, kangaroo, buffalo, and more…a perfect repast for a carnivore such as myself (also followed by a chocolate and fudge fondue :D).

Today is last day (not Lastday, I’m already 30 so the joke doesn’t work anymore – bonus points if you can get the reference without the use of Google). I’m about to make French toast, then pack, then see a movie, play some Fluxx, generally chill out, and probably hit up In N Out for one final tasty burger before jetting home.

The challenges today are:

  1. Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 250 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 3800 cR
  2. Un, Deux, Trois – Win 3 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2900 cR
  3. Killing Frenzy – Earn a Killing Frenzy in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 4000 cR
  4. Credits for Completion – Complete 5 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1250 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 250 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 3800 cR

You’ve got a few choices for doing this really easily and quickly if you don’t get it in the other challenges…

  • Forge – make a game with players spawning in one spot and camp it
  • Firefight – Download my Firefight Invincible game type on my File Share, lots of Elites, lots of medals, lots of kills
  • ONI: Sword Base – Use the Target Designator trick (run past everyone at the beginning, grab it, turn around, fire, wait for the killing to stop and restart the checkpoint)
  • Package – There are points where you can get a checkpoint just before a number of Grunts appear in the final battle, so you can gun them down and restart

Un, Deux, Trois – Win 3 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2900 cR

If you play a Team Slayer/SWAT/Grifball/Snipers/Action Sack etc you’ll get this easier, since only two teams gives you a higher chance of winning than the 6 person multi team (for instance). Make sure you read this Weekly Challenge commentary for more hints on doing it quick.

Killing Frenzy – Earn a Killing Frenzy in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 4000 cR

The Frenzy is 10 kills without dying. Not necessarily in a short space of time. This will come down a lot to personal preference. Immediately I think Grifball, Infection, Juggernaut in Rumble Pit or Team SWAT for me. Grifball might be best although it’s so easy to be killed or betrayed you’re likely to get annoyed, however if you can get your timing in and get to the spawn points to take the opposition out as they spawn – annoying I know as the person spawning but admit it – you would if you were in that position! BTB can be really good if you can get in a tank type vehicle and just bombard the opponents.

Credits for Completion – Complete 5 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1250 cR

This is just completion, not wins, so easy to do. Grifball and score with the bomb really quickly is best really.

23 Responses to 28th October – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Marshy 40 says:

    Mmm … Death by chocolate !!

  2. Chris says:

    Nice! I am glad that you had a great time, Matthew!

    BTW, does anyone else know why my cR didn’t register on two of the daily challenges for today?

    However, after I completed the first two challenges without getting the credits, I was able to get the cR total for Shootin and Lootin.

    Weird.

  3. Dogmeat says:

    Bonus points for me…hooray! I got the Last Day reference on my own. Run, Matthew! RUN!! The Carousel is a lie! The Sandmen are coming for you! 😉

  4. Deaf Phantom says:

    yeah i am quiting halo isnt my game anymore so i’m going to play something else that doesnt have many hackers and bugs that halo has… bye

    • SamCiphus says:

      I assume it’s because of your Infection problems? Give another gametype a try for crying out loud!

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      If that’s how you feel, then fine. You can’t base your idea of Halo on one Gametype. Infection has a lot of people playing it from all parts of the world. It only makes sense that you would have problems. And if Halo really has that many hackers and bugs, what makes you think any other game would be better? Your reasoning is pretty flawed. Maybe you would’ve had a better time if you could focus on the all the good things instead of just complaining if one thing goes wrong.

    • @Deaf Phantom Why not try something else? If you like the casual environment of Infection then maybe try regular Team Slayer or Multi-team. Or you could try something completely different like Action Sack or Team Snipers. Don’t quit the game because you’re getting frustrated with one gametype. If I keep getting matched with full parties in BTB I usually switch to something like Grifball. See what I’m saying?

    • I quit playing cause of all the t-baggin jerks on there.

      • Deaf Phantom says:

        2 things one what jerry said and two cause there are many people hacking into the game to cheat their way to win… for example: a guy runs at you while you’re shooting at him then out of no where he disapper and you look confused if you killed him or not (just for a sec) then he jumps you from behind having no idea how he got there even tho he didnt show up on radar

      • SamCiphus says:

        Sounds like you’ve got a bad connection.

      • Deaf Phantom says:

        not really it works fine… played black ops and battlefield 3 no problem

      • ChrisStrawhat says:

        I’ve played Reach for a few months now pretty intensely, tried all gametypes frequently and I’ve never come across someone I’m sure hacked. Some people are pretty insane, and some of the best I took a look at in Theater after the game cause I wanted to learn their tricks, and they all checked out.
        If you wanna see hackers you should try MW2 on PC, wallhackers and aimbotters in every other game =P

        And what you described as hack, that enemies “teleport”(?) behind you, that doesn’t sound like a typical hack, more like lag. I hate when enemies get lagg to their advantage like when I’m shooting my last Rocket at the enemy and it somehow gets “consumed” by lagg in mid air and never explodes, and he takes his time to headshot me when I’m trying to change weapon :E

        .. Where was I? Oh yeah that’s probably not lag. And as suggested you should really try other game modes if you only play Infection. BTB and Invasion are my personal favourites, mixed up with a little Team Slayer or TU Beta (which is basically Team Slayer with few modifications)

      • Deaf Phantom says:

        didnt think of that… it might have been a lag and it was on swat just so you know lol but lag… i’ll have to keep that in mind next time chris

  5. chriscray says:

    Wow Matthew, I’m glad you had a good time. As for the carnivorous calvacade last night, I’m jealous. I always try the stuff I never had. In that regard, I’ve tried a lot ( as my rotund-Ness would point out) of different things. You got me at kangaroo, never had that! I guess some fellow Aussies are laughing! Fondue is always the sh!t!

    Safe travel home to the UK (ummm, kidney pie!)

  6. ZmanWhoHatesCookies says:

    I thought I would join the fray here.
    I’ve been lurking, but also thought i would observe “Halo Waypoint forums”, and sadly, that forum has become what the bungie reach forums have become: you need a lawyer to make a comment, because members will flame anyone who remotely skirts their TOS guidelines, and /or are told to conduct searches as every topic has already been covered.
    I won’t name names, but one user who used to be on this site, critiques anyone who dares make a comment on that site. It’s actually funny.. they log in to make snide comments, but do not actually play the game. Some refuse to play firefight, and ignore any FF challenges (even the easiest of FF challenges – snobbish strange behavior). Others the opposite. That very same person, indicated that they didn’t like the ‘tone’ on this site….yet on that site they critique anyone who dares open their mouth with a new thought! (Everyone wants to be an autocrat!). Or, and the BIGGEST mistake you can make there, NOT search to see if the topic thread already exists!!!!!

    So, this site is a happy medium; friendly, sane, not pretentious, entertaining, and informative, without the fear of getting flamed because you ask a “noobish” question. Here, I won’t feel the wrath of God if I dare use one word “bloom”! (or perhaps, ponder why sticky grenades do not stick on walls!!).

    So, thank god for a nice place like this.

    Cheers.

    PS. Hard to believe that the make believe world of Halo Reach, actually has cliques.
    PPS. If I get flamed, it’s ok. So fed up with that forum..so much BS.

    • SamCiphus says:

      Welcome to RDC Zman!
      You hopefully qon’t fibd us to difficult to get along with! (PS, if you ask any questions about bloom we’ll never talk ro you again! Haha! Seriously though, sorry to hear about the Waypoint forums!)

      If you wanna play some games sometime feel free to add me, GT: SamCiphus, and we can have a laugh!

    • Flacksguy says:

      Agreed Zman,
      This is the best place I’ve found to talk Halo, along with Halo Social.

  7. Noshkanok says:

    Glad you enjoyed some of the better parts of America. We do have some tasty grub.

  8. Scruff 815 says:

    Safe travels home Matthew!

    Thanks to poro for helping me with the challenges today! 🙂 Today’s Frenzy was gained from a game of Premium Battle against a team who didn’t have a clue what they were doing. Hurrah 😉

    Now I’m off to go onto forums about Call Of Duty to tell them that I don’t play Call Of Duty anymore. Seems like a thoroughly worthwhile use of my free time. Cough cough Jerry Wayne cough cough Deaf Phantom cough cough.

    • ChrisStrawhat says:

      Lol you *cough* said it, man
      Completely vital to let everyone who loves the game know that

  9. ChrisStrawhat says:

    Man I always have trouble with these Killing Frenzies, never able to get ’em when the challenges come up. Guess I’m not good enough yet 😀

    When Anniversary and Halo 4 comes out though I won’t begin as such a noob I was when I first got Reach :E

  10. chriscray says:

    I get the frenzie challange when 3 of 4 of the opposing team are AFK! but that was just luck.

Leave a Reply

