29th October – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

So I’m back home now. Which is made slightly better by there being rugby league on the TV. And that boy Tomkins is running the show. Next Saturday I’ll be watching both games in the 4 Nations at Wembley, can’t wait!

For today though, I’ll be unpacking, relaxing, getting some food in (curry!) and maybe, just maybe, playing something on the Xbox 😀

The challenges for today are:

  1. Blastin’ and Relaxin’ – Kill 180 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 2343 cR
  2. Storm’s Comin’ – Complete a Campaign mission on Heroic or harder with Mythic and Thunderstorm on – 3500 cR
  3. Three Dog Fight – Earn a triple kill in Multiplayer Matchmaking – 2000 cR
  4. Who’s the Big Winner? – Win 12 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 10,000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Blastin’ and Relaxin’ – Kill 180 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 2343 cR

If you’re going for just this challenge you’ve got a few choices for doing this really easily and quickly…

  • Forge – make a game with players spawning in one spot and camp it
  • Firefight – Download my Firefight Invincible game type on my File Share, lots of Elites, lots of medals, lots of kills
  • ONI: Sword Base – Use the Target Designator trick (run past everyone at the beginning, grab it, turn around, fire, wait for the killing to stop and restart the checkpoint)
  • Package – There are points where you can get a checkpoint just before a number of Grunts appear in the final battle, so you can gun them down and restart

Storm’s Comin’ – Complete a Campaign mission on Heroic or harder with Mythic and Thunderstorm on – 3500 cR

I’m giving exactly the same advice as every optional Campaign mission challenge – run Nightfall, get this done in 10 minutes, tops. As a guide to Nightfall speed run I’ve picked this video off Youtube randomly, but there are hundreds like it. In fact we have further options and details on the time we did it in LASO on this Weekly Challenge page and comments. There are other levels you may be more familiar with, but honestly, you can do this in 5-6 minutes with minimal stress.

Three Dog Fight – Earn a triple kill in Multiplayer Matchmaking – 2000 cR

Multi-Team, Grifball and Team SWAT usually yield a good chance for multikills. Rumble Pit, particularly Juggernaut, is also an excellent place to do it in. Probably Grifball works best for you here, since it’s a massive melee with one hit kills for the most part.

Who’s the Big Winner? – Win 12 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 10,000 cR

This is just a little bit of a grind. Go for Team Slayer/SWAT/Snipers/Objective/Grifball/Action Sack game types so you only have two teams playing and a better chance of winning. I’d also recommend finding some guys you play well with and sticking with them. You’ll get lots of credits from the games and then a tasty tasty 10k bonus on winning your 12th. That’s all worth the gravy in my book.

18 Responses to 29th October – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Dragao1010 AKA: Brian says:

    Win 12 for 10k? Hey 343 i love you guys and stuff but just for today i’ll say jump off a cliff and survive and learn not to make a horrible challenge 😛

  2. Scruff 815 says:

    Welcome home Matthew! 🙂

    12 wins: DONE.

    Played 5 games solo. Won 1.
    Played 12 games with a group of people. Won 11. Thank you to the many, many people I played with today for helping me achieve this! 🙂 And for helping me get my first “Be The Bullet” in MM! 😀

  3. Flacksguy says:

    Not looking good for todays challenges,

    We’re having this freak snowstorm here in Virginia, which is VERY unusual for this time of year,
    The heavy snow is knocking out power all over the place

  4. Zidane says:

    Anyone want to do the weekly while I hide in the corner 🙂

  5. Zidane says:

    Mic is broken but can talk through tele

  6. Zidane says:

    Sent request mines zidanekgmr

  7. Zidane says:

    Anyone else game?

    • Siaberwocki says:

      Next time! Trying to level up fast so hitting as many daily and weeklys as possible! Already completed this week tho, and not to brag,it only took 4x as long as Tyrant! 😉

  8. ChrisStrawhat says:

    Thought the 12 wins would be horrible but me and my brother slaughtered in Invasion and Invasion Slayer games, almost 10 wins in a row by the end, and had a blast while doing it.
    BTW I can 100% surely confirm the Daily Credit Limit is 120k cR, for those wondering.
    Bought Gungnir helmet for 250 cR which I’d been saving up for, left me with 153 cR, when I hit 120 153 cR I hit the cap.
    Damnit, I could swear I heard people saying 343 doubled it to 240k ? :E

    Anyway loved todays challenges, looking forward to new ones tomorrow

    • ChrisStrawhat says:

      Well no, I’m pretty sure the Gungnir costs 250k cR most certainly NOT 250 cR 😀 Sorry for typo… I wish it cost 250 cR though :E Trying to finish all helmets with attachments

  9. SW1NE FLU says:

    I won 12 and didn’t get the points, but it says I completed it. Not the first time this has happened

    • Siaberwocki says:

      I think the points register AFTER the game tally, so you’re getting them, it’s just not displayed.

  10. BJ2603 says:

    What a grind. Grateful to a party early on (noobwarrior & bagel) but I ended up 12 wins from 19 games. 184k cR to Field Marshall!

  11. chriscray says:

    Todays LD Package game (10-30) has to be done w/o dying! I think I’ll be skipping that one!

Leave a Reply

