30th October – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Jet lag’s a royal pain right? Awake till 3am (well, 2am now the clocks have gone back, but whatever) and constantly waking up every hour from 6am onwards. Gah.

Still, I have Mass Effect 2 to keep me company. My Renegade character, River Shepard, is currently tearing through the galaxy with her blonde locks, vicious facial scarring and glowing red eyes. She’s a far cry from the Paragon Aeryn Shepard who was everyone’s friend (and more to a couple of the crew) 😀

And yes, I’m a huge sci fi geek. And proud of it.

Don’t forget for those of you whose Daylight Savings Time adjusted last night the challenges are now an hour earlier. They’ll be back to the normal time next weekend when the West coast goes back an hour too.

I’m hopeful of something themed for 31st October for the new challenges tomorrow. Perhaps something Haloween themed (d’you see what I did there?). Any thoughts on what that would be?

Today’s challenges are:

  1. Light Fare – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 3000 cR
  2. Participation Counts – Complete 4 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2400 cR
  3. L.D. Package – Complete the Package, without dying, on Legendary with Mythic, Thunderstorm, Tilt and Tough Luck on – 5000 cR
  4. Return of the Mack – Kill 50 Elites in Campaign on Normal or harder – 1700 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Light Fare – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 3000 cR

If you want to do this specifically (as you’ll get it just playing for the other challenges) then jump into something on Score Attack, maybe Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or Fiesta Attack to get it done quickly and rack up the kills.

Participation Counts – Complete 4 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2400 cR

Complete 4 games. Don’t drop out. Get to the end of each. Just play through them. Doesn’t matter if you win or lose. Sorry, I can’t drag out this explanation any further. Is there a way of doing this quickly? Infection is a very fast game type so you’ll probably get it done in 10 minutes using that, or Grifball if you want to just go after the bomb score.

L.D. Package – Complete the Package, without dying, on Legendary with Mythic, Thunderstorm, Tilt and Tough Luck on – 5000 cR

As ever, you’ve gotta play through the whole thing (unless you’ve done it before and saved a checkpoint on a memory stick for it), so you’re best guide is the Mythic guide which can be found by following this link.

Return of the Mack – Kill 50 Elites in Campaign on Normal or harder – 1700 cR

There are two good ways of getting this – ONI: Sword Base, where just playing through there are 30-40 I think, and it’s definitely worth using the target designator at the beginning on the first group (run hugging the right wall, grab the TD, either turn around and blast, then reset to last checkpoint, or try to get through the Wraiths, TD them then reset checkpoint). Or play Nightfall and try to get a checkpoint near the first Elite, then snipe or assassinate him, and again reset to last checkpoint. This is quicker but you get more kills and commendations on the ONI TD trick.

23 Responses to 30th October – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Nancy Ferro says:

    Challenges are great if they want to give them to you.
    I have over 100,000 credits I have been cheated out of.
    I am not over credit limit for the days either.
    Sometimes I get them and sometimes I don’t.
    They really should get it straightened out and if we don’t get them, they should tell us why.
    There is no one to call or complain to. They keep pretty well hidden.
    I just finished the last one for 10,000 and it said challenge complete after but NO credits again. I get credits for the games after so I know I’m not banned from credits.
    I wish someone would fix this. You kill yourself to get it done in time and for NOTHING.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Jesus. Write down how many credits you have. Then complete a challenge. Then look at how many credits you have.

      Many, many times (particularly challenges that involve completing/winning [x] games), you get the credits given to you after the games. Just because you don’t get a massive neon sign telling you that you got the credits in the post-game report doesn’t mean you got the credits. You did.

      And yes, 343 Industries are run by invisible ninjas who have absolutely no contact information. Definitely not their official forums over at halo.xbox.com. And several times I have literally killed myself to complete challenges and for NOTHING. NOT EVEN ANY FUN. JUST NOTHING.

      Wahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

  2. Project shave says:

    I have NEVER experienced the issue that you’re talking about. In fact, I’ve never heard anyone else complain about it either. Interesting…

    • Nancy Ferro says:

      Have been on the bungie forum and there are other people having the same problem but don’t know to what extent. That is really bothering me as I try to make the challenges in time only to find out they didn’t give me the credits.
      Could you please look into this further?
      Thanks
      Your the only one that responded with any type of answer to my question. If I contact the bungie site, they come back with some other answer that doesn’t match my question. Robots!!!!

      • Dogmeat says:

        If you would explain the steps in more detail that you performed to determine for a certainty the credits did not get added to your lifetime total, we may be inclined to believe you. Scruff offered some advice on how to prove you actually are receiving the credits. I suspect you are expecting to receive notification in a way other than the method Bungie had put in place for certain challenges.

      • Nancy Ferro says:

        Thank you, I will have to keep tabs on my challenges from now of to check. I automatically thought it would come up at the end of the challenge like I thought they did. It usually says x amount of credits earned for a particular challenge. I thought that was the way they always do it.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        I did answer your question. I even gave you the contact information for 343 industries since Bungie haven’t run the ship in months.

        halo.xbox.com

        Did you see that? It’s right there.

        And again, you’re not being ripped out of credits.

  3. Saandcrawler says:

    I often get that with campaign challenges. If I bother to retry I check that the challenge is still highlighted just before completion, but then still do not receive it. Sometimes it works if I switch to scoring on or off. Or just give up.

    • ChrisStrawhat says:

      Never had any problem with that. Yes, many times the challenge credits do not SHOW UP in the post-game “credits earned” macThingy with the slot machine and game completion credits – that do not mean you did not receive them. As said above if you’re that unsure that you aren’t getting your hard earned cR, write down *exactly* how many cR you have before the game starts, and then look afterwards, subtracting the “game completion credits”, “slot machine”, “performance bonus” and “commendation” credits, and you should see there are say 2000~ (or whatever the challenge is worth) cR not accounted for.

      I’m pretty sure though you’re not being cheated out. And 100k? Wow are you experiencing this on every challenge? Hard to believe. Hope it works out for you though

      • Nancy Ferro says:

        I’m sorry but I think you misunderstood me when I said I was cheated out of 100,000 credits.
        That was over time. 30,000 one time 7,777 the other and so forth. It totalled up to over 100,000.

  4. Lord Kinbote says:

    I’ve heard conflicting reports of whether you’ll get banned for doing the target designator trick. Can anyone confirm one way or another? My previous xbox got banned from LIVE and I’d rather my new one not.

    • Caulpris says:

      I can confirm that they don’t ban for that.

    • Zidane says:

      What were you banned for?

      • Lord Kinbote says:

        For having a modded Xbox. It was done as an over all sweep a couple of years ago since I never really played on LIVE and a bunch of people got banned at the same time. I definitely didn’t play any modded games on LIVE.

      • Zidane says:

        Fair enough, you can’t get banned for any campaign credit farming!

  5. My Little Housing Blog says:

    I enjoyed two good challenges today, looking forward to more tomorrow.

  6. chriscray says:

    FF is my friend! I hope the new weekly is a FF based challenge!

  7. Big Gonzilla says:

    Thanks for all the advice! My son and I are now reading your blog every day. We wish we would have known about this months ago. Keep up the great work…and we are looking forward to HALO A.E. posts! Our “time change” is not until next weekend. Hard time for a “holiday?”

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Don’t count on ’em; Halo: CE:A doesn’t have challenges. Though the CE:A multiplayer is part of Reach, so you’ll get them in that regard.

      Halo 4, on the other hand, probably will 😀

Leave a Reply

