31st October – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

No Halo-ween challenges today. 😦

And I’m back at work. Hurrah. Only 395 emails from my two weeks off. Down from last year sadly.

Today’s challenges are:

  1. More than a Handful – Kill 125 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2500 cR
  2. Eyes in the Sky – Kill 20 enemies with the Designator in ONI on Heroic – 1250 cR
  3. A Simple Spree – Earn any spree in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR
  4. Headshot Honcho – Kill 9 enemies with headshots in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2160 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

More than a Handful – Kill 125 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2500 cR

Multi Team Battle or Grifball are the best ways to get lots and lots of kills, you tend to get more than any other modes. If you play Crazy King or Oddball you can get even more as some people who would shoot you go for the objective, and you can take them out. Seasoned Grifball players will also be able to get this in only a game or two, and if you can make an area in an Infection game defensible as a human you can rack up kills quickly.

Eyes in the Sky – Kill 20 enemies with the Designator in ONI on Heroic – 1250 cR

From the start of ONI: Sword Base, sprint past everyone by sticking to the right all the way down the ramp to where the Target Designator is. Turn around and fire it fairly centrally at the first of the barricades on the ramp. To get to the total, reset the checkpoint and do it again.

A Simple Spree – Earn any spree in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR

Sprees cover a lot of options, 5 kills with Shotguns, Sniper Rifle, Plasma Grenade sticks, Swords… and so on. Frankly, 10 kills with anything gets you a spree, so just do that and you’ve got a very easy 2000 credits, perhaps a quick visit to Crashsite/Generator Defence just to do it in a minute or two.

Headshot Honcho – Kill 9 enemies with headshots in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2160 cR

Team SWAT every time for this. It’s in one game, but in SWAT you should easily get this number of headshots. If you’re not confident in your ability then perhaps try voting for an objective SWAT game, like Stockpile or 3 Plots, since there’s no kill volume target in them which should help you.

If you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries it’s easy… you can follow on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

18 Responses to 31st October – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Scruff 815 says:

    Today is a good day to try and get the Weekly done, given that these Daily challenges are pretty easy. I’ll also get three of these done, though 125 enemies might be a push depending on how much free time I end up with.

    And yay, today I’ll get enough credits to finally buy Heart Attack 😀

    • Noobwarrior523 says:

      Heart attack…I’m saving for inclement weather just to say I have it, I’m at 460k right now.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Nice. 🙂 I’ve been working on “buy the cheapest thing available!” this whole time; and other than that ridiculously expensive Security shoulder, Heart Attack is my cheapest remaining thing. Yay 😕

  2. Jew says:

    Lol 2k for 1 spree. Easyest thing ever.

  3. RainingMammoths says:

    Not the best payouts, but easy stuff! Sweet. More time for me to work in the Arena.

  4. Will Cline says:

    I used to be able to do the 125 kills quickly, but Grifball barely has anyone playing lately.

    • ChrisStrawhat says:

      I find that there is at least two players in every Grifball game that go hardcore for the plant. So annoying. Like if there is no challenge for winning or participating in games, there is literally NO REASON to go for the plant in Grifball :E
      Surely there are better more satisfying game types to win in 😀
      Grifball is for the kills. In a good game I can easily score 70 kills now that I’m finally getting better with the hammer, but most games aren’t good anymore, always like a two- or three-player party in the other team that haul ass for the plant, leaving me with barely 10 kills :E
      /end rant

      • Mikast says:

        I used to like grifball. But now everyone does what you just said. It’s sad really. Halo 3 grifball was fun. Not this kill o Rama 😦 I played the other day when it was get 12 wins and scored really quick and was called a f** for not letting them get kills. There are a lot of jerks out there… 😦

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        I only try to win if there’s a completion or winning challenge. Other than that, there’s no point. I usually go for kills any other time, and in a REALLY good game I can get upwards of 100 kills. Usually, though, I only get about 50 or so (if the other team doesn’t score immediately). You don’t have to worry about too many of those jerks here, at least. 😀

  5. My Little Housing Blog says:

    Was looking forward to some more fun campaign challenges, but no such luck for today.

    • Flacksguy says:

      Hey Little Housing Blog,
      You should be able to do the Eyes in the Sky Challenge.

      ….and you should be able to do the Weekly as well.
      It isn’t a FF Matchmaking Challenge.

      I completely understand how you feel. I was in the same boat until just a couple weeks ago when I decided to try a cheap trial of Gold.

  6. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    I’ve been playing AC Brotherhood lately, thanks a lot Scruff. X(
    I’m addicted to it!!! And I have no idea why I waited so long to play it! What a stupi idea it was to wait to play it until 15 days before Revelations comes out…

    As to Halo I havnt been commenting as much, but I have been reading everyday. I have noticed a flood of new people, and the older members have slowly disappeared, just saying.

    I will probably do the weekly, a quick ONI, then a generator defence, then back to Brotherhood!!

Leave a Reply

