Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 31st October

This week’s challenge is below, click Read More to view the commentary:

Endure: The Return – Complete four sets on any Firefight map in co-op play on Heroic or harder – 30,000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

As with last time, it doesn’t say Matchmaking, so there’s a possibility of doing this with two players or more in co-op on a hand made game type. So select the Firefight option from the main menu, get a squad together and jump into a game. A set is 4 rounds (3 normal and a bonus), and a normal round is 5 waves. So 64 waves when you consider the bonus a wave and you’re done.

You can change all the settings yourself quite easily, if you want it quickly done download my Firefight Invincible game type from Bungie.net and have fun wiping wave after wave of Elite Squad from the face of Reach (or the skies if you do the recommended and play on Corvette). Squad up with some buddies and just play through it.

One of the key things we found last time is you should keep playing into the fifth set – the game doesn’t seem to recognise the end of the fourth until you’ve moved on. In fact it’s better to just keep playing until it tells you it’s completed, just to be sure.

There are ways of speeding it up – obviously infinite health, shields, very powerful weapons and weak enemies are good. Grunts can come out faster and be easier to kill.

If you want to arrange a squad meetup and Firefight session please the comments during the week to sort it.

If you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries it’s easy… you can follow on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

122 Responses to Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 31st October

  1. Scruff 815 says:

    This challenge is stupid. But it’s 30,000 credits, so I won’t complain *too* much 😉

    I’m looking to bang this out as quickly as possible (so yes, FF Invincible but with Grunts), preferably this afternoon. Anyone want to join to speed the process up? All are welcome! Ideally looking to start at about 2pm UK time 🙂

    • PeteTheCat1 says:

      Hopefully I can get online around 2 Scruff, if not it shouldn’t be too long after that

    • gans42 says:

      damn you scruff doing this at a time i cant join. ill be doing this at 1230 EST, or 530 UK, if anyone wants to join

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Sorry gans 😦 Evenings aren’t so great for me at the moment unfortunately 😦

      • Peggy Peggy says:

        I’ll join you gans at 5.30 Uk, if thats ok??

        GT PEGGY PEGGY

        See a post I made below!

        Cheers

    • Daayv says:

      Can anyone confirm that Firefight Invincible counts?
      Thanks!

      • Scruff 815 says:

        It does; the only way you CAN get this challenge is in FF Customs. All the FF Matchmaking modes only last one set.

  2. HC Sangheili says:

    Think of it as a treat 😛

  3. Noobwarrior523 says:

    I need a partner for this…..this is so easy……

  4. SamCiphus says:

    Nice and easy, but boring. Not like Alexandria LASO, that was a lot of fun!

    • SynysterJACK says:

      that one wasnt that bad.. all u needed to do was to split screen co-op set the first player somewhere safe so he doesnt die and play it on the second controller so if u died u would just revert to checkpoint other than restarting. thats how i did it atleast
      GT: CrispedCloud1

      • SamCiphus says:

        I did it on my own, albeit i used the Save and Quit glitch, but i enjoyed following Tyrant’s walkthrough!

  5. Woody says:

    This challenge will be perfect for me and the kids. They like firefight as much as I do, but I have to admit that I’ve never done five sets…. at least I do think.

    It has been a while since I’ve been on here. Just like my on time, my time with Halo Reach has greatly decreased as well. Usually, I let the kids use my gamertag and add stats for me on Reach. Anyway, I hope everyone has been doing well.

  6. Zidane says:

    Can you use 2nd controller?

    • Scruff 815 says:

      As far as I know, yes. But try and have an actual person using the 2nd controller (rather than AFK), because it’ll make the challenge go a whole lot quicker.

    • TheSletchman says:

      I’d like to know, too. Though if you can, this “challenge” really isn’t one, is it? Also, my sister tells me this was only 10k credits last time, so that’s nice of them to triple it (if she’s right).

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Your sister is correct. All the credit rewards have gone up since 343i took over from Bungie, which is nice. 🙂

        Yeah, it’s not much of a challenge. But then, neither are the ‘speed-run a Campaign mission’ ones where you can just glitch Nightfall, either. Think of it as free credits 😉

      • TheSletchman says:

        @Scruff: Free Achievement too – only had the game a month or so and haven’t actually completed any of the Weekly’s yet (got close with the 700 kills but left it too late and my internet futzed out on me, so I missed out).

  7. Ruensig99 says:

    Ill be on for the next 2 hours if anyone wants to do this. Add me and we can knock it out. RueNSig99

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Hey, you messaged me on XBL about last week’s challenge… unfortunately you messaged me at 2.10am my time while I was sleeping like a baby 😉 Did you manage to get it done in the end?

      • Ruensig99 says:

        Nope. Passed out from too much bbq. Im online now if you wanna do the weekly

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Not heading on until 2pm (about 90 minutes from now). You’re welcome to join if you’re still on then; we have one empty slot remaining…

      • Ruensig99 says:

        will do

  8. PistonHead1989 says:

    Doing this now, any1 wana join?

    • PistonHead1989 says:

      Invulnerable with ordnance weapons on corvette against grunts

    • Scruff 815 says:

      In case you can’t be bothered reading the other posts on here, scroll up. RueNSig99 is looking for someone right now.

  9. Peggy Peggy says:

    I’m going to be on later today after work at about 5/5.30 pm (GMT) if anyone would care to join? I’ve got no second controller or mic (long story) so someone to help me out would be much appreciated. I’ve got EnderXero’s map from the last time we had this challenge, and I think it took about 20 minutes, send me a message or just add me

    Thanks Guys

    GT PEGGY PEGGY

  10. chriscray says:

    Yeah! I know this is an easy challenge, but that’s a nice break from the difficult ones.

    If I wanted to get the medals for the 500 and 1000 kills, I should do that with this weekly. How many sets or waves would that take?

    • Scruff 815 says:

      You’ll get them within the 4 sets. One set has ~330 enemies usually.

      However: I’m 99% sure that in terms of your FF medal chest on b.net, you won’t register the 500/1000 enemy medals, because you’re boosting them in what is essentially a Custom game. I know I’ve done this challenge before and I don’t have either of them ‘unlocked’ at b.net 😦

      http://www.bungie.net/stats/reach/careerstats/medals.aspx?player=Scruff%20815&vc=5

      • Project shave says:

        That reminds me, there are quite a few medals that are impossible to get. Thriller (running riot as a zombie in infection) isn’t possible to get through matchmaking. Why even bother creating it bungie?!

      • Zidane says:

        Spot on Scruff!

      • chriscray says:

        Thanks Scruff!

  11. eagles9412 says:

    anyone wanna do this now?

  12. BJ2603 says:

    Mixed emotions… Grateful for an easy 30k cR however this was no ‘challenge’. Oh well, the push for Field Marshall continues, 101k to go!

  13. aeoliant says:

    anyone wanna do this ‘legit’ add SAUSAGEFATTENER tonight (I’m on edt) around 9pm!!!

  14. thegoatboy says:

    I have a custom game on my File Share( http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/FileShare.aspx?player=thegoatboy ) called Endure. I made it back in April, the last time we did this.

    It’s all Hunters(goes superfast) with custom loadouts. You are also invincible, so which ever you choose you are stuck with it. Change the map to Corvette and pick normal difficulty.

    Enjoy.

  15. Grind says:

    Add me. I’ll be on within a few hours to do this one

    “Grind Y0ur mind”
    It’s a zero in “y0ur”

  16. Flacksguy says:

    OK
    Noob question:

    So if I download Matthews Invincible Game Type, I should be able to do this in a co op game with my son?
    Would I have to download the Game Type on his file also?

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Yes, you can do it co-op with your son. And no, he won’t need to download it too 🙂 Remember to go into Firefight on the main menu, rather than Firefight in Matchmaking!

      • Flacksguy says:

        Great, thanks Scruff.

        My son and I will give this a try tomorrow evening.
        ….tonight there is candy to be collected.

  17. yhblazed says:

    Did it earlier today with my brother, on a custom Firefight gametype. Took about one hour of holding RT, but managed to sit it through :/

  18. Dogmeat says:

    I found and used a firefight game type a while back the first time we had this *ahem* challenge (called “1,000,000 points in 10 minutes”, I believe) which gave you invincibility, 4x overshields (not that you need it), infinite ammo, bottomless clip, permanent invisibility, super speed, increased damage made by your weapons, the shortest bonus round time possible with no drop ship, and mega powerful gold ultra elites (for high points) on every wave. I also selected Corvette due to the map’s size (enemies get to you the fastest).

    The invisibility kept the enemies from going after my co-op guest account on the 2nd controller while I kept moving around to attract their attention out in the middle of the map. Because they were elites, there weren’t as many to deal with for each wave (like 8-10). They also close in on you very quickly unlike the more numerous, slow-moving grunts or hunters.

    Therefore, you can blitz 4 sets by yourself in 15-20 minutes! You will also hit a million points along the way for those that haven’t attained some of the firefight-related achievements. I can’t remember your starting loadout (rocket launcher and/or fuel rod). You can quickly pick up a fuel rod from one of the elites, though, and unleash the green fury!! 🙂

    • Dogmeat says:

      Wow…I totally missed the paragraph above where Matthew said he had a similar gametype! 😦 I forgot to mention that setting the difficulty to legendary maximizes the points you net from each enemy. However, Matthew also reminds you in the description for his fileshared gametype to do so. Anyone care to see who can complete the 4 sets in the fastest time and then post a link? 😀

      • 'Cos says:

        http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/GameStats.aspx?gameid=840862038&player=seventh dawg

        Done. 21 minutes with 3 people.
        Thanks Gans and Sharkbait!
        Thanks 343!

        Everyone have a good day. Happy Halloween. Eat some candy. Date a girl named Candy. Be someone’s candy! …Candy!

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Hmm. Thanks to the Reach server going wonky during my game (and thereby screwing Braythor out of the Weekly), there is no record of my game in my game history, even though the challenge is registered as complete and I got the credits.

        Oh well. It was 4 people in about 20 minutes. Thanks to Braythor, Pete & Ruensig! 😀

      • thegoatboy says:

        23 minutes. Just me using two accounts. It would have gone much faster with more “real” players.

  19. Peggy Peggy says:

    Anyone wanna do this now? I have no second controller so could do with a hand! I’m all set and ready to go, just need another person!!!

    GT – PEGGY PEGGY

  20. Ted says:

    with this work if I am signed in on xbox live under my profile and a buddy of mine is playing as a guest on my xbox with me? or does it have to be co-op online?

  21. Ted says:

    you could have but I started like 50 min ago. I know i just asked now but that was because I thought you could do it with a guest but then a kid down the hall in my dorm said you couldnt so i just wanted to make sure. I am almost done with the third set. sorry

  22. I’m running a never ending firefight right now…and will be for the next couple hours. add smokelurchbuds if you would like to join.

  23. Harrow Shooter says:

    Hey anyone want to do this with me add Harrow Shooter.

  24. MountaineerMike says:

    i’ve messaged a few people in the comments but i’m not sure they’re getting through. because for some reason i can’t add any friends w/ the tags i see here. i’m looking to do this sometime today. gamertag is MountaineerMike

  25. Jason says:

    gt Axel Foley….

    message me and I will send an invite- I am on for another hour then I might try later…Thanks

  26. chriscray says:

    OUCH! My son and I just did 40 minutes on this, completed four sets, and didn’t get the challenge! We even checked the challenge status during the game and it was ‘active’. Hmm, maybe cuz my sons xbox accnt is gold? It was his acct that we checked to see if the challenge was valid. And if so, I’d assume I at least get the challenge….

    Thoughts??

  27. chriscray says:

    Hey Y’all, I’m on a have my new map changed (see above) and am looking for someone to join in. GT as above!

  28. Jeff says:

    this has taken me 1 and a half hours and it hasnt worked, any help? plz.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Link to your game so we can work out what you’ve done wrong? Should only have taken you about 20 minutes.

  29. Quillian86 says:

    An easy 30K cR? Sweet! Oh, and let me just thank you and sing your praises AGAIN for creating the INVINCIBLE gametype!

    (Oh, and if anyone ever wants to play with me, my GT is “Quililan86”.)

  30. Zoing says:

    nak3d eli made a gametype specifically for this challenge follow this link

    http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/FileDetails.aspx?fid=24685624&player=Na

  31. rutgersunion says:

    Gonna do this 11/1 after 5pm EST if anybody is interested pm me. GT: rutgersunion

  32. Elite Eliwood says:

    Anyone online and wants to give it a go?

  33. airbellum says:

    ok, im tired, i have been struggling to the 50th set and the challenge just dont get complete, i have been playing coop with my brother almost the whole day and nothing happens, is there something im missing?

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Probably, yeah. 50th set? You know you’re only supposed to get to the 5th, right? Should take about 20 minutes?

      What’s your Gamertag, so we can check your game history?

      • airbellum says:

        Genuinev1kt0r, i have been battling over and over but it just dont work

    • Dogmeat says:

      So I noticed that some of your attempts didn’t last long enough to even make it to the 5th set (attempts were, on, average, 18 minutes or less). When you stated you completed 50 sets, you must have been referring to waves. 50 sets would have taken you around 5 hours. Even 50 rounds (of 5 waves each) would have taken about 1 hour and 45 minutes. As Matthew started, 4 sets consists of 64 waves!

      Additionally, you either finally figured out what you were doing wrong or have a different problem…namely that you haven’t realized you have already completed the weekly challenge and are still trying to do so!

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Dogmeat speaks the truth. Copied and pasted from the challenge section of your b.net profile:

        Endure: The Return

        Complete four sets on any Firefight map in co-op play on Heroic or harder.

        Challenge Completed

  34. Anyone up to shred through this real quick?

  35. TheSletchman says:

    Did this in 18 mins solo on Corvette. All hunters, bottomless clips and rockets doing 300% damage. About 6 hunters per wave and 1 rocket per kill. Easy as pie, could probably knock it down to 10 mins with other humans but my internet has been spotty all day.

    • DIXX U99 says:

      That is exactly the gametype i’ve got saved for this. It took me about 20-25 mins but i did stop halfway through and have a cig, they couldn’t kill me anyway. easy easy easy.

  36. biodrumr says:

    I’m gonna have to give that a shot. I did Matthew’s Firefight Invincible and shortened the bonus wave to 15 seconds, but it still took me 29 minutes to get it done solo.

  37. Quillian86 says:

    Ugh, silly me, I did it all by myself only to check and realize that it had to be CO-OP. So, anyone want to do it with me?

  38. jimmer says:

    GT: kungfupenguin89 anyone add me i would like to get this done, i just be on for the rest of the day i believe !

  39. il 4t h says:

    if anyone still needs it done add me and we can complete it. Gamertag = il_4t_h

  40. Eskobar (André) says:

    20 minutes with 2 players. We had to do it twice because I set the limit to 4 sets. Mistake because the challenge complete pops once you get to set Nr. 5. Gametype: 1million in 10 minutes, 15 seconds bonus round. All gold elites on corvette. Easy weekly!

  41. Tim channer says:

    Am I able to do this locally? I don’t have anybody online. Should I try just have a controller inactive and the other one do all the work?

    • Zidane says:

      That’s how I did mine, took 30 ish mins for me

    • I tried that last night and it didn’t work….wonder what I did wrong?

      • Zidane says:

        You need to go firefight not mm firefight, download a map, I think I downloaded invincible something! Mathew has a good one too! Just plug away, the main problem is you can’t tell if your progressing but just keep going, shouldn’t take more than 30! There was one guy on here thinking he could do it in ffmm. Bit of an odd weekly but hey

      • Zidane says:

        You got your second controller signed in as a guest?

      • yep, 2nd controller signed in as a guest and I used a 1000000points gameset i found a ways back. maybe I didn’t wait long enough….

      • Scruff 815 says:

        You have to wait until the 5th set starts! 🙂

  42. tamperedblade says:

    Hey everyone, newbie here.
    So i tried doing this directly from main meny > firefight and not in matchmaking, corvette invincible and bottomless clip limitless rounds and had another controller logged in with a siler xbox account (mines gold). I fought through till a set after the bonus round but didnt get the achievement. Whats going on?

    • DIXX U99 says:

      if you send me a friend request and i don’t even have to accept check my file share and the game type settings are there, just make sure you’re on heroic with a guest signed in and it’s up to you but i think corvette is the easiest. you should have it done in about 20-25 mins solo.

      • DIXX U99 says:

        sorry my gamertag is U99 DIXX

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Well it’s not an achievement, it’s just a challenge. So if you’re expecting a bleep-bloop ‘achievement unlocked’ thing, you’re not going to get it. Also you need to fight through four sets (so after four bonus rounds) and then wait for the fifth to start. Also you need to be on Heroic difficulty.

        If you have done that, then please leave your Gamertag and we can have a look at your game history and see what you’re doing wrong. That advice applies to the other people below this message too…

      • yeah, that’s the problem i had. I thought it meant get to the bonus round and it’s done. I didn’t realize it actually meant FOUR bonus rounds. took a while but I got it last night w/ a dummy controller. Thanks for the help guys!

  43. Richard says:

    can anyone help me with this one soxmimi

    • Scruff 815 says:

      From your profile:

      “Endure: The Return

      Complete four sets on any Firefight map in co-op play on Heroic or harder.

      Challenge Completed”

  44. tamperedblade says:

    im still having trouble. somebody help! can it be done with 2 players or do you need more??

    • Scruff 815 says:

      From looking at your game history it looks like you’re not playing for long enough. 18 minutes and less than 400 kills seems dubious for what is essentially one person playing.

      It needs to be four sets, and you need to start the fifth. In other words you need to play through until after you’ve completed four bonus rounds; a grand total of 64 waves.

      • tamperedblade says:

        oh i get it, i completeley misunderstood what one “set” was. i think i mistook it for a round. thanks a ton for clarifying that. silly me. that’s what so great about this site, the patience people have with other who make careless mistakes.
        thanks again

  45. Dave says:

    lets try it now. maybe we can get one set done.. send me a message OLD RUSS 2

  46. TinyE says:

    I tried to set up the settings as invulnerable and bottomless clip and stuff but when i go into the game it seems that none of the settings i changed are working… how do i get the settings to stay, i tried saving it as a game type but it didn’t work unless i did something wrong???

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Just download the gametype in the challenge guide above. Go into Firefight, select that game mode, choose Corvette as a map and off you go.

  47. Jen says:

    Hubby and I tried it last night. Did the 4 sets and still didn’t complete the challenge. Has anyone completed this yet?

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Yeah, most people have completed it. Most common problem people are having so far is that they’re not waiting to start the 5th set. If you put the game settings to 4 sets you’re not going to get it; you have to play all the way through, do four bonus rounds, and then wait for the fifth set to start.

  48. ITS ZAPHOX says:

    Anyone want to do this sometime in the next few hours? Add my gamertag: Grenada44 if you want to grind this bad boy out

  49. jay says:

    Anyone care to screen shot where it shows the set/round/wave? I have churned through this TWICE and it didn’t complete either time, and I’m on time 3 now, and want to MAKE SURE it works.

    • jay says:

      ie, is this:

      challenge complete???

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Yes; on there you’re on the second round of the fifth set. An easier way to check if your challenge is complete is to press start and have a look at the challenge screen. Or post your Gamertag here. If it still hasn’t worked it possible you’re doing something else wrong; perhaps not doing it co-op, or on Heroic difficulty, etc.

  50. italais says:

    If anyone is still down to do it, my gamertag is “italais”

    message me

  51. italais says:

    Just completed it, thanks.

  52. Abishai Gray says:

    anyone want to do this with me? GT: linkabi9AG

Leave a Reply

