1st November – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Happy All Saints Day. Or 1st November depending on your religious thoughts.

Today’s challenges are:

  1. Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 3200 cR
  2. Survivor – Earn 5 Sprees in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 2000 cR
  3. Linked Up with Bungie.net – Link your gamertag with Bungie.net and play a game in Halo: Reach Matchmaking – 3000 cR
  4. Oops! All Kills – Earn 15 Multikills in multiplayer Matchmaking – 3000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 3200 cR

You could do this in one game of Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or some of the other variants. 2X is good because you’re likely to get slightly more than 120 so it takes account of TKs from the Covvies.

Survivor – Earn 5 Sprees in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 2000 cR

You get 120 kills in Gruntpoc so it’s an easy way to do it. If you can get kills using weapons (ie 5 grenade sticks, a shotgun, sniper rifle etc) then you get nearer the total – use Score Attack to get a range of weapons. Beachhead is quite good as you can use the vehicles to get more sprees – and now on Firefight Arcade you’ve got a good chance of using a variety of weapons, lots of killing sprees and grenades and the like. I like hitting up Gruntpoc then getting the 5 killing sprees.

Linked Up with Bungie.net – Link your gamertag with Bungie.net and play a game in Halo: Reach Matchmaking – 3000 cR

It’s such an easy 3k to get though, you don’t even need to actually play, just enter the Matchmaking lobby and you’re there, on Firefight, Score Attack, any Matchmaking type. If you’re not already signed up, go to Bungie.net on your computer, and follow the instructions when you click ‘Sign Up’ in the top right, using the email you use for your XBL account to link the two. 3000 credits for about 15 seconds work! A good way of ensuring you’ve got it linked is by going to the Game Settings and turning on a nameplate, then when that name plate appears on your gamertag in game you know it’s worked.

Oops! All Kills – Earn 15 Multikills in multiplayer Matchmaking – 3000 cR

Grifball is again one of your top options here, one game should get it pretty quickly. These will stack, so an Overkill (4 people) counts as 3 multikills. The objective variants are helpful because you can aim for people who are going for the objective (ie in the hill in Crazy King) where a natural firefight usually opens up.

35 Responses to 1st November – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. SamCiphus says:

    Three of these challenges are incredibly easy to get, one entrance to the lobby followed by one game! The multikills however, shan’t be bothered with.

    Thanks to BJ2603 for those fun games of SWAT the other day, I’m now General Grade 4, on the push to Field Marshall. If anyone else wants to add me, feel free, GT: SamCiphus.

    • SamCiphus says:

      Challenges done! (except multikills)

    • BJ2603 says:

      Hey man, had a blast, except for some serious lag! Always up for a game, easy 2 catch you being on same time zone!

      • SamCiphus says:

        Yeah, the lag wasn’t great, but we still managed 15 – 21 kills for those games.

  2. chriscray says:

    Wow, an easy day, even by my standards!

    BTW, I’m glad you had fun in Cali, but I’m also glad your back to RDC as this is usually my first read of the day!

    • Noobwarrior523 says:

      Same exact thoughts, I always check rdc real quick in the Morning to check if I should bother with some of the challenges later

      • SamCiphus says:

        The challenges change over at 9pm here in Australia, so I tend to be studying or playing xbox anyway, then we get the very punctual posts (thankyou Matthew!) and the enjoyable forums!

  3. Scruff 815 says:

    Done, done, done and done. If you hate Grifball as much as I do then SWAT is a nice way of getting multikills! 🙂

    Now excuse me while I write a lengthy post which I’m going to copy and paste pretty much every day for the next two weeks 😉

  4. Scruff 815 says:

    A DATE FOR YOUR DIARY: Thursday 11/11/11 is CUSTOMS NIGHT!

    Join me (Scruff 815) and gans42 on Thursday 11/11/11 from 8pm UK time onwards (3pm Eastern; see http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/converter.html for other places) for an evening of Custom Games. We’ll be playing the best maps and game variants currently out there, along with some home-baked creations from various RDC & Halo Social community members, including three of my LOST-themed maps. If you’ve got a map or a game variant to share with the world, this is the time to do it. But please try and have it support 16 people, just in case.

    Simply add one or both of us to your friends list, fire up Reach on the 11th, and hit X to join us. With no customs matchmaking search tools, we are entirely limited to the people who show up. No people = no game night. Try and have a mic if possible, and don’t go AFK, and we’ll all get along just fine 😀

    Expect to see this post repeated in the comments for a little while until Matthew bans me or makes an official post in a bid to shut me up, whichever happens first 😉

    • gans42 says:

      Just a quick correction, its thursday november 10th. The 11th is a friday. And Matthew, if you would be so super kind as to include these details in the post as this game night approaches, it will be super appreciated!

      • Scruff 815 says:

        That’ll teach me to not check these details in a calendar. Now I look like a right idiot 😉

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        Don’t forget about me! 😀 I’m always there for Customs. This will work really well considering the 10th is the day before my birthday, and I likely wouldn’t be there that day. (I love the fact that my birthday is 11/11/11 this year. 😉 )

    • Mmmmm customs… November 10th works for me! 😀

  5. Braythor says:

    Mmm more FF challenges. I’ve gone off FF a bit, as score attack is a bit dull. I went into arcade yesterday for the first time in ages, and remembered why I don’t do it that often – everyone picks arcadefight and chooses the FRG or rockets. I’ve maxed Get Loud so I don’t bother with them any more, instead choosing the sniper rifle, but getting kills when the others are destroying covvies with FRG rounds can be tough, especially when I had a brief delay between pressing fire and it actually firing, grrr…

    Scruff/gans, I’ll be passing on the customs night, partly because I’m not really into customs, but mainly because I’ve got an interview the monday after so would be best spending my time preparing for that. I might actually be employed by xmas!!! One can hope…

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Yeah, your best bet is either finding a respawn point that the other guys aren’t covering with FRGs, or going in with at least 2 others in your party so you can force Sniperfight or other modes on instead of Arcadefight.

      No worries on the customs night. This is a little far in advance but good luck on the interview! 😀

  6. LolGTFOplz says:

    Easy challenges today, glad that gave me a easy set on a day i have stuff to do, thanks 343. 🙂 Goodluck everyone

  7. chriscray says:

    11-11-11. Skyrim. That basically means I may be Reach-less for awhile. I’ve been playing that series since Daggerfall with an overclocked Cyrix POS computer! That and privateer. Wow, how computers, consoles and games have advanced!

    • SamCiphus says:

      Haha! I’ve had Skyrim preordered since February! I’ve played Arena, never Daggerfall, and i really hammered Morrowind and Oblivion, Morrowind being my favourite by a huge amount.

  8. T1M3C0NSUM3R says:

    I can actually play Halo today! This is wonderful! We’ve been without power thanks to the snowstorm that hit the northeast U.S. on Saturday. Finally got electricity around 2 PM yesterday and they fixed our cable and phone lines today. Glad to see they’re all reasonable challenges with decent payouts today. It pained me to miss three days worth of dailies!

  9. Dogmeat says:

    This question is off topic. However, does anyone else access this site via a mobile device? If so, did the formatting/appearance of the mobile version change yesterday or the day before that? I don’t really care for the new look and navigating the various daily entries. 😦 I am wondering if I inadvertently changed some setting on my phone that would explain what happened. Thanks!

    • Marshy 40 says:

      Sometimes I get a different format when using my iPad. It then has a link at the bottom saying “view standard site”. I always revert to that: the “special theme” looks very nice, but it is very slow and jerky.

    • Zidane says:

      Yeah same for me, yesterday it changed

    • SamCiphus says:

      Yeah, it changed, i don’t like it as much.

  10. Shamboola says:

    Hello Fellow RDCophiles,

    My son is slowly grinding towards Field Marshall and is abour 170k away. This daily and the weekly will certainly help. We have two Xboxes and thus the co-opt for the weekly will be a bit of a bore, but filled with juicy credtis.

    So, what type of set-ups do you all play on? My son uses a 31″ flat screen Vizio (720p), an NAD amp and Infinity Qa speakers. Just stereo sound, but he prefers his Turtle Beach headphones ($99 US). They came with an attached mic for multiplyaer conversatons with his buddies. They sound pretty good and allow the payer to hear those sneakly guys getting ready to assasinate him.

    (Another nice pair of quality headphones that do not have a mic are the Grado SR80i ($99 US). You can see them reviewed at http://www.goodcans.com)

    In the man cave garage, the other Xbox resides, with a 52″ rear projection Pioneer Elite (1080i), and a 7.1 surround system with older MIrage speakers and a Denon receiver powering it all. When I turn out the lights and turn up the sound, it feels as if I am in the middle of a real war. Quite invigorating and probably what the makers of Reach would appreciate.

    Yes, it is over the top, but we have fun and play with wild abandon!

    Tell me what you all have under the hood!

    Shamboola

    • Zidane says:

      The problem I have when I turn the light out is that I can’t see a bloody thing, makes cooking very dangerous!

    • LolGTFOplz says:

      i run a 14inch 240p black and white tv.

      • Zidane says:

        The problem I find with black and White tele’s is that you can’t tell who is who, going to get my eyes tested I think 🙂

    • Dragao1010 AKA: Brian says:

      My set-up is simple really, my room+3 shelf table with xbox 360/xbox/n64/Wii+ 40′ flatscreen ❤ + turtle beaches. And for those reading this i highly suggest you buy a headset of some sort because you become even deadlier though it's less useful in reach except Team SWAT where the only thing you can hear is heavy breathing from the sprint ability

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Depends on which room I’m in. I mostly play on the 32″ in the Scruffcave that I sit a couple of feet away from (it’s a small cave), with 5.1 surround sound. If it’s late at night, the Xbox relocates to the 42″ TV, also with 5.1 surround sound. Strangely I play better on the 32″. Also, surround sound is invaluable in terms of not getting assassinated / knowing where people are.

    • Shane says:

      I play on a 24” monitor with Turtle Beach headphones. The headphones broke after week 1, the right earpiece dangling and unusable. I “fixed” this with some superglue but it didn’t hold after multiple attempts of ten minutes so I left them down. When I picked them up the following day, the superglue had worked. But… when I left them down the piece shifted so my right speaker is now pointing away from my ear.

      I should probably fix that.

      I’ve got two 24” monitors and possibly play on the worst one in terms of response time. The better one has an (actual) response time of 16ms, the other is comparable. Response time is the important factor for FPS so possibly that’s why Scruff does better on the smaller one.

    • I play on a 36″ standard-def CRT TV. It’s a newer model (2006 I believe) so it has great color quality and clarity.

      I have a dedicated gaming chair I use. It rocks back and forth, so it’s awesome.

      For audio, I rely on my Plantronics Gamecom X40’s. Built-in stereo sound, game chat, and microphone. In case you wonder why I’m so loud over XBL, the gain in the mic is RIDICULOUS. It picks up the sound of my door quietly shutting from 10 feet away! Linky: http://www.plantronics.com/us/product/gamecom-x40

      So not a SUPER awesome setup, but it’s good enough for me! 😀

      • Shane says:

        Well a CRT avoids the response time lag entirely so that actually helps a lot.

  11. Zidane says:

    Seriously?

  12. Shamboola says:

    That is an interesting observation about the response time. Given how fast these shots come, I am sure it makes a difference. And yes Scruff, the extra soundscape has saved my son in many a game from getting the ol’ knife in the back.

    Shamboola

Leave a Reply

