5th November – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Apologies for the delay, a long day heading north and back to my London abode. You get commentary again because I’m now settled in and calm on my sofa.

I hope my English readers are celebrating the day with the burning of some Guy on a bonfire.

Today’s challenges are:

Light Fare – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 3000 cR

If you want to do this specifically (as you’ll get it just playing for the other challenges) then jump into something on Score Attack, maybe Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or Fiesta Attack to get it done quickly and rack up the kills.

Helping Hand – Earn 10 assists today in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2000 cR

Note, this is not in 1 game, so I reckon just play as normal and you’ll get there. As ever with an assist challenge, tell your team you’re going for it, and if possible pair up with someone. In Sniper game types this is very powerful as you can try to both shoot the same person in the body and one of you should get an assist.

Explosive Ordnance Distribution – Earn 5 kills with ordnance weapons in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1250 cR

Is it always the third challenge that seems to have the credit return at Bungie levels? Anyway… EOD weapons include: Rocket Launcher, Grenade Launcher, Spartan Laser, Plasma Launcher, and the Concussion Rifle. The very best modes for this are found in the Action Sack game types. I prefer DinoBlasters – you’re given a Concussion Rifle with an unlimited clip, so these kills should be really simple. Other good options are BOOMBall and Splockets.

Lost Tyree, Lost Hutch – Complete Long Night of Solace on Legendary without dying – 3800 cR

The best advice I can give is to re-read Tyrant’s guide to doing it Mythic, and all the advice when we saw this as a LASO challenge. With these challenges you often see that you can play through the level on Legendary but dying as you would normally (or many times as I would!), then save and quit just at the end of the mission, resume the level and it will have considered you to have not died.

14 Responses to 5th November – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Lord Kinbote says:

    Remember, remember the 5th of November…

  2. Braythor says:

    There’s no need for apologies, Matthew, I’m sure everyone understands if you’re late or don’t feel like posting at all. If I had the slightest idea what to do I’d’ve offered to take up the reins for you.

    Challenges weren’t bad today (except the LNoS, forget that), finished them with Scruff, Yellow, Poro and Bagel in some nice matches. Came so very close to my first perfection on a game of splockets, but 3 of the other team quit and someone *cough*yellow*cough* kept betraying people. Still, got a frenzy out of it, which is a rare thing for me outside of grifball.

    Now I’m playing for the hell of it. I’m not bothering with bonfire night this year; too many students in the area have been playing with small explosives for the past week or so and it’s boring now. LOUD NOISES!

    On a Halo related note, I just played Eden Minor for the first time, and I like it, its a really well thought out map.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      I went to watch the local fireworks show. Twas all family-friendly and ace. “Ooooooh”, and “Aaaaaaaah” etc.

      I will also accept anyone watching V For Vendetta as a suitable Bonfire Night activity. Because it’s awesome.

      • Braythor says:

        Agreed, superb film. It’s on tonight too, I think… yeah BBC2, started 15 mins ago. But I’m playing Reach so… On a related note, one of my life’s dreams is to see the 1812 overture played, outdoors, with artillery. That would be awesome. We brought the last new year in with that piece, played very loud, and I timed it so the ‘well known’ part kicked in at 00:00. That was fun.

  3. Scruff 815 says:

    Hey Matthew, hope you’re doing alright 🙂

    In terms of the challenges today, I found Rocket CTF to be excellent for assists. The slightly higher damage tolerance and rockets flying everywhere means that you’ll get a lot in a very short space of time. Especially if the other team keep helpfully delivering the flag to your team’s scoring zone 😕

  4. Scruff 815 says:

    Ahem.

    REMEMBER, REMEMBER, THE 10TH OF NOVEMBER. Because it’s CUSTOMS NIGHT!

    Join me (Scruff 815) and gans42 on Thursday November 10th from 8pm UK time onwards (which will be 3pm Eastern; see http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/converter.html for other places) for an evening of Custom Games. We’ll be playing the best maps and game variants currently out there, along with some home-baked creations from various RDC & Halo Social community members. If you’ve got a map or a game variant to share with the world, this is the time to do it. But please try and have it support 16 people, just in case.

    Simply add one or both of us to your friends list, fire up Reach on the 10th, and hit X to join us. With no customs matchmaking search tools, we are entirely limited to the people who show up. No people = no game night. Try and have a mic if possible, don’t go AFK, and don’t rage-quit in the middle of a game when you’re doing badly / you don’t like the game mode and we’ll all get along just fine 😉

    Expect to see this post repeated in the comments for a little while until Matthew bans me or I die after repeatedly punching myself in the face after once again witnessing Frankie Cocozza murder everything that is good with the world, whichever happens first.

    PS: 17th November = CE:A Game Night 😀

    • gans42 says:

      Hey, I just want to add that when adding me to your friends list, please just shoot me a message saying game night, rdc, or something that’ll let me know who you are. Any friend requests I get without a message I’ll just assume its a random request

      • A Peach Nut says:

        That was me 🙂 Sorry. Thanks to you and Scruff 815 for letting me into this community, I visit every day for months now and am always impressed by the people here. Anybody from here feel free to send a friend request to “A Peach Nut” so I can play with you all!

    • I’m really hoping to have CE:A by that time! D:

  5. Tomblie says:

    Can we do LNoS in coop and have it count for the challenge?

    • l0 Dolla Bagel says:

      You can, but it is quite a bit harder.
      You can not save and quit so you have to do it in one whole game while on co-op, and there is always the revert to last save glitch on solo, where as soon as you die, you revert to last checkpoint.

      So I would suggest singleplayer over anything. 🙂

  6. astarwarsfan says:

    Love the Star Wars reference in the last challenge… but it was “…Lost Dutch” in the movie.

  7. SensoryFour34 says:

    Again, there’s a better way to do Lost Tyree, Lost Hutch (whatever that means) challenge. Tyrant also did a LASO Guide for this one, but I’m too lazy to post it right now. 😛 If you really care, just look it up on Youtube or his new site, mythictyrant.com. It works better than his Mythic Guide does. Personally, I don’t think it’s worth it.

Leave a Reply

