8th November – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

I reached my first boss fight in Deus Ex. Yes it’s as bad as everyone has said. I’ve spent the entire game sneaking around, avoiding detection, honing my hacking skills as fast as I can, and suddenly it throws you into a combat situation that’s ‘frantically run around dealing damage and avoid taking it as much as possible’. And when you die, quickly and horribly, you wait for the loading screen and cutscene to run again (hooray for skipping cutscenes) before trying once more, with feeling.

Other than that the stealth elements are quite good fun. The story is not gripping me at all, but I think playing it directly after Mass Effect 2 doesn’t help it’s case.

Today’s challenges are:

  1. Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 150 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 2250 cR
  2. Support Structure – Earn 30 assists in Firefight Matchmaking – 2250 cR
  3. Eyes in the Sky – Kill 20 enemies with the Designator in ONI on Heroic – 2500 cR
  4. Participation Counts – Complete 4 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2400 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 150 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 2250 cR

You’re better off doing the other challenges first then mopping this up. Best options for this specifically:

  • Forge – make a game with players spawning in one spot and camp it
  • Firefight – Download my Firefight Invincible game type on my File Share, lots of Elites, lots of medals, lots of kills (plus ‘cheevos if you’ve not done the Firefight ones)
  • ONI: Sword Base – Use the Target Designator trick (run past everyone at the beginning, grab it, turn around, fire, wait for the killing to stop and restart the checkpoint)
  • Package – There are points where you can get a checkpoint just before a number of Grunts appear in the final battle, so you can gun them down and restart

Support Structure – Earn 30 assists in Firefight Matchmaking – 2250 cR

Assists are slightly harder on Firefight I think (you have to deal 40% damage and someone else kills them within 4 seconds). My recommendation is normally to play Courtyard, as you tend to stick together in the entrance to the spawn room so you’re more likely to help assist and get assists from your team mates, whereas you spread out on other maps. We have FF Doubles that will be really good for this – one of you arms the Plasma Pistol to over load, the other takes out the enemy. Particularly the Brutes and Elites are easiest to get this on, and communicate with your team that you’re doing this so they can get the kills and you get the assists.

Eyes in the Sky – Kill 20 enemies with the Designator in ONI on Heroic – 2500 cR

From the start of ONI: Sword Base, sprint past everyone by sticking to the right all the way down the ramp to where the Target Designator is. Turn around and fire it fairly centrally at the first of the barricades on the ramp. To get to the total, reset the checkpoint and do it again.

Participation Counts – Complete 4 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2400 cR

Complete 4 games. Don’t drop out. Get to the end of each. Just play through them. Doesn’t matter if you win or lose. Sorry, I can’t drag out this explanation any further. Is there a way of doing this quickly? Infection is a very fast game type so you’ll probably get it done in 10 minutes using that, or Grifball if you want to just go after the bomb score.

51 Responses to 8th November – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Krandyt says:

    Hi Matthew I’m also playing through deus ex, I totally agree with the joke that is the boss battles, just done the second and it’s no better! Being determined to get the pacifist achievement on the first play through it’s a bit of shock to the system when you have to switch to out and out combat, but apart from that am enjoying playing it. Even if my rank progress on reach has suffered.

    Also wanted to appologise to 10 dolla bagel, was just about to accept game invite last night when one of the kids woke up. Next time maybe.

  2. Peggy Peggy says:

    For the assists challenge, get into FF doubles and grab the Grenade Launcher. Use the secondary function (EMP) against groups of enemies, especially Brutes and Elites and you should get this done in 1 or 2 games. Might be an idea to tell the other guy though…….;)

    • l0 Dolla Bagel says:

      You were right about that. Except I would suggest FFA instead because most likely someone will finish em off quicker.

      Bit I did get 37 assists in one game so I was sure happy! 😀

  3. SamCiphus says:

    Well had my second last major exam yesterday, so now i’ve only got one left, on the 18th! And i’d totally play Reach this weekend, but…. It’s 11/11/11. I’ve had Skyrim preordered since February! (special edition too!)

    Good luck to all on today’s challenges, and the weekly, you won’t see me for a while!

  4. Scruff 815 says:

    Well hello there, FF assist challenge. You’ll be the first one I won’t be completing this week. Although it’s definitely gettable, I don’t have the time or patience to play the 5+ games of FF Arcade that it would require. Still, the other three are easy enough 🙂

    Around 23,000cR to go for Noble…

    • I saw that challenge and my face did this: 😡

      It’s impossible to get assists in Score Attack!

    • Quillian86 says:

      Actually, if we played together in a vehicle (i.e. a rockethog), we could easily get it. Up for the challenge? 🙂

      • I tend to have craptastic lag in FF, although I’ve noticed it isn’t quite as bad as it used to be. Just gotta finish up a few things and I’ll hop on! 🙂

  5. Scruff 815 says:

    The lack of incoming friend requests and/or apparent enthusiasm for this event is starting to become troubling! 😕

    THIS THURSDAY, THE 10TH OF NOVEMBER, IS CUSTOMS NIGHT!

    Join me (Scruff 815) and gans42 on Thursday November 10th from 8pm UK time onwards (which will be 3pm Eastern; see http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/converter.html for other places) for an evening of Custom Games. We’ll be playing the best maps and game variants currently out there, along with some home-baked creations from various RDC & Halo Social community members. If you’ve got a map or a game variant to share with the world, this is the time to do it. But please try and have it support 16 people, just in case.

    Simply add one or both of us to your friends list, fire up Reach on the 10th, and hit X to join us. With no customs matchmaking search tools, we are entirely limited to the people who show up. No people = no game night. Try and have a mic if possible, don’t go AFK, and don’t rage-quit in the middle of a game when you’re doing badly / you don’t like the game mode and we’ll all get along just fine 😀

    Expect to see this post repeated in the comments for the next couple of days until Matthew bans me or I get hired as a screen-writer to improve a thus-far incredibly dull second season of The Walking Dead, whichever happens first.

    PS: 17th November = CE:A Game Night 😀

    • gans42 says:

      I think I will jump on the copy paste band wagon:

      Guys some RL stuff came up that I won’t be on as much Thursday night, but don’t worry, my presence will still be known. I will just start later (probably around 6-7PM EST), and take an hour break at around 9 or 10PM EST. Scruff should (hopefully) be on until then, so no worries.

      Also, Scruff don’t worry, we may not get friend requests until Thursday itself, plus many people currently on our friends lists are looking forward to playing.

    • Noobwarrior523 says:

      Well, scruff, I can delete you then friend request you. Will that make you feel better about the lack of friend requests?

    • HC Sangheili says:

      It has been a little on the weak side, but the scene in the well was pure genious.

      • Braythor says:

        I’ve been really enjoying it, but then I suppose I am very easily pleased (shut up!).

        I agree, HC, that well scene was great, though the rest of that episode was pretty dull. But the previous ones I’ve thought were good, particularly the exploration of Shane’s mental state and the questions it and his actions bring up about humanity and morality in the absence of established social rules and laws etc.

        Challenge-related comments: Assists can go to hell, especially as I keep lagging on Holdout in FF arcade for some reason (never used to) and everyone is obsessed with FRG and rockets. The others, I’m gonna have me a good session on Reach later so will pick them up.

    • Paul says:

      my 12yr old would like to participate – any chance of having a kid-friendly period until 21:00 (basically be tolerant of his swearing, yelling and n00b cries of ‘please don’t kill me, wtf, pwned you, cheaters’ – he pronounces the ‘p’!!). I’ll join after he’s in bed but suck at most things

      • Paul says:

        I should probably mention he’s a better player than me….

        GT ElementalKing11

      • Scruff 815 says:

        21:00 in which time zone? As long as you don’t mind everyone else swearing and probably muting him then it’s fine by me 😉

      • Paul says:

        Touche. cheers Scruff

    • TheOneInYellow says:

      I’m there 🙂

  6. My Little Housing Blog says:

    Two challenges to do today. The ONI mission is not bad, I quite like it.

  7. LolGTFOplz says:

    Assists are easy if you have a friend. 30 can easily be achieved, i needed like 75 to get up a commendation a few days ago, and ended up with 50 of them after one game. http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/GameStats.aspx?gameid=845002397&player=LolGTFOplz

    as for the rest, they also are easy which is good because today i’m being forced to play some board game called “sequence?” and then get to work on the babies book a little bit 🙂

    • biodrumr says:

      Exactly. A buddy and I always do this in Arcadefight in Firefight Doubles on Unearthed. We just stay in the spawn room. I pepper them with the assault rifle and he finishes them off with a headshot. Works really well on everything other than grunts and jackals, and I’m betting we can each get our 30 done in a single game, or at least really close.

  8. DaRoflBandit says:

    Is there any advice for a guy to do the assists challenge without a friend to play with? 😦

    • Scruff 815 says:

      My advice would be “don’t bother”, personally. It’ll probably take you at least 5 games doing it with randoms. I know I’m not going to bother; it’s not like I need this challenge to get the Weekly done.

      But if you’re going to try, then go for anything that gives you a sniper rifle (whether that be Sniperfight, Arcadefight, etc) and try and body-shot any enemies that other people are going for. Arcadefight is good because you can usually get a shot or two in before the inevitable FRG fire rains down on a group of enemies. Also gets easier when you get to the Elites, because you can just hit them until their shields go down and then hope someone finishes them off.

      • gans42 says:

        Also you can use the grenade launcher and EMP like crazy, its weak enough that it won’t even kill grunts, and you can use it to rack up assists.

  9. Hey guys! I had something odd happen on Firefight Matchmaking, I flew inside a pod drop as it was coming down, the result was the elites all standing around it and me looking for a way out. Has anybody else had this happen to them? I saved the video, it’s in my file share — SyKotic KoBra — Let me know what you think about this.

    • biodrumr says:

      That’s awesome. I’m totally gonna have to check this out later.

    • Dogmeat says:

      That has to be a first! Usually you die upon impact with the drop pod. Did you ever use the rocket launcher to commit suicide? The video stopped before you found a solution to your dilemma.

      This video could easily become quite popular and could catch a spot on “Fails of the Weak” if you submit it. However, you aren’t going to stimulate people’s curiosity to download and watch it with a name like “Waterfront” and a description that is just the map name with a timestamp.

      For those that watch this entertaining clip, help Sykotic Kobra out by suggesting an attention-grabbing title and description! I propose “Drop Pod Switcheroo” – “Lemme out! Lemme out! *looks around* On second thought, keep me in! Keep me in!”

      • Scruff 815 says:

        “Awesome mime artist” or “I’m trapped” spring to mind.

        But I agree; with the right name and enough people recommending/downloading to get the ball rolling, it could be a very popular video. Though FotW are so far behind with submissions it’d be months before it would feature, it’s still worth doing. I had the 5th most downloaded video on Reach for a while (“Grumpy Elite hates boxes”) and it’s fun seeing the numbers shoot up and the random tags appear on it.

        So my suggestion to you, Kobra, is to delete the video from your fileshare (because you can’t just rename it once it’s up), then re-upload with an attention-grabbing new name. Yes, you have to fanny about with the stupid Xbox “keyboard” for 10 minutes but it’ll be worth it 😀

      • Yeah I really didn’t think about the name or how to do any of this, I usually just post videos on my Facebook page. Looks like I got some work to do. Thanks for the input! I feel kinda dumb now, never thought about suicide, I was just in shock I guess, usually I just get splattered when I’m not paying attention to where I am. Also everybody else had quit the game before this happened.

      • Before I do this I need some more advice. This actually happened on my extra account Craizy Cracker, I loaded it to SyKoTic KoBra because I have minutes for videos already paid for under that profile on Bungie. I’m just wondering if I should use the Craizy profile and buy the minutes or would it matter? “Drop Pod Switcheroo” that may be a keeper thanks.

      • I’ll watch this once I get on, but a better name is definitely recommended! I have one file that had over 600 downloads in just over a day! 😀

  10. Richard says:

    if anyone can help me with this on u can add me soxmimi is my game tag

  11. LolGTFOplz says:

    so this is what just happened:

    >sitting at lunch table.
    >girl that works here says she’s going to be nice and pick up MW3 for her bf today.
    >two warehouse guys go “i haven’t played a video game since i was like twelve”
    >i dont dare tell them i play 4 hours every day, and slowly walk back to my office and look up reach vids.

    Tis the life i tell you. lol

    • biodrumr says:

      Is the girl hot? This is important in our community.

      • LolGTFOplz says:

        I can conclude that the female is not attractive to me. lol

    • Noobwarrior523 says:

      Those guys are just saying that, anything really, is considered a video game, I highly doubt that those guys don’t have some retarded apps on their phones. ( I know I do)

    • Yeah I know the feeling 😛 Especially since I’m one of about three people at my school who play Halo regularly. Most think it’s too “cartoony”

  12. Braythor says:

    After doing the assists challenges with Yellow, and getting 31 in one game, I can recommend Nadefight as the way to go. Simply fire a grenade from the launcher into a group of covvies but hold and release the trigger for an EMP blast. This removes exactly the right amount of health for any follow up shots from other players to kill and grant you the assist.

    • TheOneInYellow says:

      Yay I helped. And I was right about Nadefight too! 😀

      However, as you discovered, me using the GL exclusively in most FF games has rendered me useless in getting assists; I’m far too good getting kills with that weapon 😦

  13. Quillian86 says:

    Okay, who else wants to work together to get the “Support Structure” challenge? I’m a pretty good driver with a ‘Hog, so if anyone wants to play in the “Unearthed” map for firefight matchmaking, I can drive while someone else fires with the rockethog. 🙂 I’M ONLINE NOW, PLEASE LET ME KNOW!

    • jay says:

      gamertag?

    • jay says:

      Actually I just tried to add you but honestly I have no idea how to set up games. bouncierorc868

    • Scruff 815 says:

      I know this is going to sound stupid, but driver assists don’t actually count as assists. You could drive a Warthog around for hours with someone killing from the back seat and not one of them would count as an assist for the purposes of today’s challenge. Sorry 😦

  14. GameGirl says:

    Hello Reach Peeps –

    Here’s my question du jour: there are times when completing a challenge that the credits don’t appear in the summary at the end of the match.

    Example: when I completed the 4 multiplayer games today it said “Challenge Completed” however, there were no credits for it in the summary. Just the usual completion, performance, slot machine, etc.

    Is this common? Am I actually getting credits (outside of the summary)?

    Also is there any accounting of how many credits are awarded in each game? Like a historical list?

    Gracias.

    • Often times, they’re sometimes awarded mid-game. As long as the challenge shows up as “Completed” you have your credits! 😉

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Yes, it happens to everyone; and yes, you are getting your credits. There’s no way to prove it unfortunately, other than writing down the amount of credits you have, then looking at how many you have after finishing one of those ‘complete [x] games’ challenges. But you are getting them, so fear not 🙂

  15. TheOneInYellow says:

    Hey Matthew.

    I am a bit indifferent about the boss fights. Yes, they are immersion breaking from the point of view of how the other game mechanics works (you can’t use previous skills, such as using pheromones, to help you in such situations), but I do enjoy the difficulty as, and I firmly believe this, bosses should be difficult and challenging.

    I used most of my Stun Gun ammo and by bonus pre-order Double Barrelled Huntsman Silverback Shotgun, though any heavy weapon will work too. Just stun him first, lay the smack into him, then run a way screaming like a little girl, hide for a few seconds, and rinse/repeat 😉

    The second boss was was arguably easier fare, especially with a very destructive augmentation that you can choose to obtain and upgrade fully, but I shan’t spoil that for you ;).

    Personally, I would have preferred an approach in which, the boss battles do remain exactly the same (no change in themselves), but before the battle, there could have been options that either:
    – allowed you to avoid said boss battle (with dire consequences later in the game),
    – a talk between the boss and Jenson. Here, if you got bad responses, after the boss battle, the information received (from the boss or otherwise) is limited. On the other hand, if you got good responses from the boss prior to battle, then you get very good information and story after winning the battle,
    – or a talk/communication with an NPC/computer that could determine how much help you can gain before the battle.

    Here is a little article about the developers and their thoughts about the boss battles:

    http://www.next-gen.biz/news/eidos-montreal-admits-deus-ex-boss-error

    Otherwise, the story really hit home for me, but then I played the original, which has played a part in my bias towards loving DE:HR. It’s also a good game that supports players who like to be semi-archaeologists (must explore EVERYWHERE), and good story telling 😀

Leave a Reply

