11th November – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Happy 11/11/11 day. For my US readers that’s 11/11/11 day. I hope that whatever your feelings, politics or views, everyone takes/took 2 minutes at 11am local time to remember the people who died in the line of duty for your nation.

Except for Kat. I was pleased when she fell after her driving antics earlier in the Campaign.

Good luck to everyone getting Skyrim today. I expect to see you in about 120 hours when you’re 70% of the way through the game! The Elder Scrolls are bit too epic for the time I have to spend with games (Morrowind sucked a large portion of my life once), but I know so many people will live and breathe the land of Skyrim for the next few months.

For me, I’m still looking forward to Halo: CE Anniversary next Tuesday. I’ll be hitting the Campaign (and the tasty achievements) first night, but feel free to add me and join me for a night of Anniversary/Reach multiplayer action on November 16th, kicking off around 8pm UK time. For both of you who don’t know my gamertag is Loreweaver :). Depending on the connection strength I’ll likely be looking for co-op partners during November and December too.

Today’s challenges are:

  1. Light Fare – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 3000 cR
  2. Sweep the Leg – Perform an Assassination in a multiplayer game – 2000 cR
  3. Go Right Ahead Folks – Earn a First Strike in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000 cR
  4. Pod Kettle Black – Kill 15 Elite Drop Pods in The Long Night of Solace – 2343 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Light Fare – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 3000 cR

If you want to do this specifically (as you’ll get it just playing for the other challenges) then jump into something on Score Attack, maybe Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or Fiesta Attack to get it done quickly and rack up the kills.

Sweep the Leg – Perform an Assassination in a multiplayer game – 2000 cR

So many options for assassinations – you can stealth it and hide somewhere to take someone out as they run past (Sword Base’s hallways, Pinnacle and Uncaged in the lofts etc). You can play Halo Ball Extreme (my favourite for this) as the massive map often means you’ll end up with someone not knowing you’re behind them at some point. Or just play normally – if you find someone AFK then you’re quids in. I found this week Multi-Team Slayer is excellent for Assassinations when you’re on a smaller map (Asylum) as you’ll invariably end up being able to take someone roughly from behind.

Go Right Ahead Folks – Earn a First Strike in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000 cR

Team SWAT, Grifball or Infection are good game types to get this in. Infection & Grifball particularly because you get a First Strike in every round, so it’s giving you a good chance to pick up the medal. In Team SWAT, Asylum, Countdown or Sword Base are good for picking it up. On Asylum, zoom your DMR through the central arena and watch for the opposite team coming down their ramp. Countdown you can look through the central area and see the opposite team there, and on Sword Base go to the top of the green lift if you’re red, as blues usually come up the lift first. If you’re blue then go to the ramp up from your starting point as you can often snipe someone who doesn’t expect it.

Pod Kettle Black – Kill 15 Elite Drop Pods in The Long Night of Solace – 2343 cR

This is NOT trying to destroy drop pods in the ground based combat. This is when you play Long Night of Solace from Rally Point Alpha and you’re in the space combat section. After the first section defending the station, you take on a Covvie Corvette. That Corvette launches fighters at you. At the same time, it also launches 6 pods (2 groups of 3) from the bottom of the ship towards the planet. You can see them streak away. You can’t target them with missiles, and you have to be close to shoot them, but those are the Elite Drop Pods. It registers your kills after each wave have disappeared (entered Reach’s atmosphere). So go into that bit of the mission and fly beneath the corvette taking out all the pods you can and you’ll get it easy.

39 Responses to 11th November – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. My Little Housing Blog says:

    I have two challenges to do today, and I am only one away from completing the weekly challenge, so I wonder what it will look like tomorrow in the daily challenges.

  2. Braythor says:

    Lest we forget. I walked past my local cathedral this morning, where a bunch of ‘occupy’ protesters are camped. Not a single one of them was wearing a poppy, and I think that speaks volumes.

    So, challenges, all pretty good. I think I’ll actually do the LNoS one, as I only need to kill 50 or so more enemy vehicles to get gold on that commendation, so a few more cR there for me.

  3. Scruff 815 says:

    “Happy 11/11/11 day. For my US readers that’s 11/11/11 day.” Haha 😀 Also, you’re mean. I was very sad when Kat died. Didn’t see it coming whatsoever and the music just after it happened was sooooo good.

    Might get a couple of these challenges done, but as usual for a Friday my free gaming time is severely limited.

    Also, massive thanks to everyone who joined in last night’s Custom Game Night! As usual it was a bit of a chaotic mess in terms people coming and going / 15 people all talking at the same time / kids screaming into the mic / etc, but it was generally a whole heap of fun and some very nice new people came along too, which is always nice to see 😀

    Also thanks to people for playing on my two new maps; I’ll upload them to my fileshare after I iron out a couple of kinks, and once 343i work out a way of expanding fileshares now that Bungie Pro doesn’t exist 😦

    Shall post a longer ramble about my Game Night thoughts over at The Halo Social so that this post isn’t lost in the ether by tomorrow 🙂

    Have a great day’s challenge hunting, everyone 😀

    • PEM1989 says:

      Thank-you for letting me participate in game night, yesterday. As stated, it was chaotic, but still fun. I played with the group for about 2 hours, but had to leave abruptly to attend to a chore. I hope to join again next week.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Next week is going to be CE:A night; so make sure that you’ve got your copy if you want to play. 😀

        As stated in the commentary Matthew will be hosting an evening on Wednesday 16th; chances are I’ll be playing Thursday 17th because at the moment Thursdays are working out better for me, but I’ll confirm early next week.

      • gans42 says:

        And chances are I will always be on now through the first week of december for FINALLY getting through my school work until the week before finals

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      You were sad when Kat died? That’s weird. When that happened, it should’ve been all emotional, but all I could do was laugh and cheer. I don’t feel bad about it either. 😉

      • Scruff 815 says:

        I know, I seem to be the only person who liked her. Her and Emile were the two I liked; with a slight side of indifference for Jorge. Jun and Carter, on the other hand… Grr.

    • Paul says:

      Thanks also, Scruff. I didn’t contribute much apart from being a target but really enjoyed a couple of those maps. But what on earth was that bun-fight in the corridor all about? Spawn. Die. Spawn. Die. Repeat over. Not a game for anyone prone to flashing-light fits!

  4. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    Customs sounded fun, shame Im not playing halo constantly anymore.
    Played Skyrim, its similar to oblivion, jut more centred around spell casting and dragons. I had one minor problem though… How do I open my inventory…. I know that sounds noobs but I seriously can’t find anything on the Internet or in the book… Haha wow…

    • Matthew Vose says:

      I think… you open the Character Menu (B) and then you can scroll through Magic, Skills, Items and Map.

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        Hmm. (B) wasn’t doing anything for me. The only way I could access my inventory was by opening a chest then pressing left then down to inventory…
        Anyway, I shall explore through the guidebook and learn all there is to know. I already picked up on some references to old Daedric gods from oblivion such as Sheogorath and Hircine. But that’s probably spoiling it a little.

        It’s going to be a big few months what with Skyrim, anniversary and revelations.

  5. SamCiphus says:

    Morrowind and Skyrim!!!!

  6. chriscray says:

    Matthew, being a Vet I thank you for the recognition. I also laughed hard about your Kat comment. I felt like they turned my Ex during “that time of the month” into an NPC. Driving ability too.

    I was considering the RDC group games, but I had an intermittent connection last night. A couple of games didn’t count for the dailies, but for my son, when his completed daily(s) was erased, it did keep the weekly tally! Being his first night to play, he has 5 of 10 weekly, and we didn’t do the LASO. I was frustrated until I saw that. For how little he plays, he’s way better than me!

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Everyone was having connection trouble last night; although for the most part, it didn’t affect Custom Games too badly, though several people went down to ‘Recruit’ for a little while 😉

  7. Noobwarrior523 says:

    I found the pattern on the campaign challenges, the point is that 343 wants you to play the campaign over before CE:A, notice how the challenges are going in level order? On Tuesday the challenge will be for the pillar of autumn level, then you go and buy CE:A and play(i don’t know what the point is, I think it’s to connect the games, since the last cutscene of reach is pretty much right before the first cutscene of CE)

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Good shout. Unless we get new challenges then, my predictions are Roast em Toast em on Exodus, Golden Tree City on New Alexandria (exciting), and some combination of Deathless and L.D. for The Package and Pillar of Autumn.

      Unless there’s something new… 😀

      • Braythor says:

        Ah, good spot indeed noobwarrior. I hope Matthew’s right with the Roast ’em Toast ’em challenge, as it’s nice and easy. The bob one on NA bugs me cos I never can find him, so I’d rather something different, maybe a points pyramid one. The Package is my favourite level so anything on that is fine for me, but any LD/LASO/skulls challenge on PoA can go straight to hell.

  8. LolGTFOplz says:

    I remember Matthew talking about how he will be more actively playing Halo come November, that was a long time ago, and i was thinking, wow November is far away, but here we are. Nice to see your going to be playing more now that Halo CE is coming out. 🙂

    As for challenges, i’ve never done the pod kettle but i’m going to try it today. First strike i get in 36% of the games i play so that should come eventually. Assasination is given in a night of playing, as the same with the kills in any game mode.

    I really was getting aggravated with Multiplayer yesterday. Not going to lie i rage quited 3 times, and the fourth i rage rage rage shut off xbox. I’m getting sick of this 1.47 K/D and getting paired with such good players, i have to try hard (sit up in my chair lol) all the time. I’m just going to go negative from now on, so MLG playlist here i come!!!! lol. But seriously it does make it very difficult for my gf when we are playing because she has a .71 and i have 1.47 so with skill prioritized it puts it to 1.1 which really does not benefit her very much. It makes me feel bad :/

    But anywho Thanks to all of those who have served and or are serving in the armed forces, you make this country proud.

    Have a good weekend RDCers and i’ll see ya’ll on monday 🙂

  9. yhblazed says:

    They’re just handing these challenges out now, aren’t they? I got all 4 today in 3 hours, and I never get more than 3 in one given day. Not that I’m complaining, I only have 3 challenges left till I get the weekly.

  10. Dragao1010 AKA: Brian says:

    Halo Anniversary is just right around the corner……ahhhh and i also find it interesting that they remade “Headlong” from Halo 2(fav game of all time+Super mario World) and here i thought it was 100% of a remake of halo 1. But nope it’s 99.5% remake due to one H2 map lmao but hey i’m not complaining, headlong is awesome! DAMN YOU H2 SERVERS!!!

  11. Zidane says:

    Random question. Can you buy halo anniversary via xbox on the day?

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Via Games On Demand? I doubt it, they tend to be months later. Also, why would you? G.O.D. are always like 2 or 3 times the price that the games are in shops. I’m sure you don’t live THAT far away from a shop / a house that can have things delivered to it via Amazon. 😉

      • Zidane says:

        Lol Scruff, just wondered, you wit is infectious, I have just pre ordered both anniversary and 4 :-))

  12. t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

    I’m glad these challenges should be fast today (aside from LNoS which I’m going to skip). Had to walk to work due to APEC-related road closures, and I’m feeling tired 10 hours before I plan to get on Reach.

  13. Pete Skinner says:

    And is they the know that Prince Charles on Nov 14, 2011. He will be 63. I was born in London Nov 15,1948. My parents have to swap babies to Elizabeth. What had that she but i buy it that.

    But the NOV 15 is the important date.

    Cheers on Nov 15.

  14. Matt Knight says:

    Today was a good day!

    First Strike AND an assassination in Grifball.
    10/10 Daily Challenges done – 30,000 Credits

    PLUS I managed my first MP Killtacular so I got my last missing helm!

    Looking forward to Tuesday for HCEA but Wed is my dads 60th but Thursday day off ^_^

  15. Tony says:

    Mathew owns and runs this page, but does not even play the game?
    http://halo.xbox.com/en-us/stats?gamertag=Loreweaver&x=8&y=6&recent-searches=-1

    explain? bored with reach?????

    • DaRoflBandit says:

      Wow your right, he hasn’t played Reach since October 2nd in 2010! That’s weird…..

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Is it a problem that I’ve played other games? I assume in reading my blog you’ve seen that during the last 6 weeks I’ve been a best man, worked silly hours to clear stuff before my holiday, been on holiday, lost my uncle, and in the time I’ve had for games been playing Mass Effect 2 and Deus Ex.

      Hopefully on the stats page you also saw the 11 and some days I’ve logged in Reach over the last year. I’ll play more when Anniversary comes put (join me evening of the 16th if you want),but I play games for fun and I like a variety. Oh and achievements, I love achievements. 🙂

  16. A Peach Nut says:

    Hello all! The new guy here 🙂 I was looking forward to joining Custom Night for my first time (especially for any Lost-related maps) but missed it because of “warden”-related issues 😉 And now she has Skyrim, so my Reach and CE:A anniversary may be somewhat limited 😦 just wanted to let you all know I’ll still find time for same dailies, and hopefully join some of your MP/custom games!

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      Welcome! 😀 You didn’t really miss much. Most of the games were REALLY lagging for some reason. We couldn’t even enjoy them as much as we should’ve because of that. 😦 Just know that even with lag, the maps that some people here have made are better than most of the Forge maps in Team Slayer. 🙂

  17. I lol’d at the Kat joke. At first I was sad, but as I played the campaign over and over, I realized just how stupid Kat is. I was then thoroughly amused by her death 😛 But a big thank you to all of our veterans! We wouldn’t have our freedom if it wasn’t for your dedication! 🙂

    Great game night last night, aside from the screaming kids and the douchiness brought by an individual and his group of friends. Lots of fun games and I went back to save a lot of them!

    Oh and a happy birthday to SensoryFour34! 😀

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      And it was a pretty happy birthday. 😀 (After going to work just to find out that they were so far ahead of schedule that they didn’t even need me. I basically drove 20 minutes just to turn around and go back. 😦 )

  18. Jetpack333 says:

    Got all dailys in 15 minutes.

    Happy veterans day.

  19. Beermit says:

    Wow, it’s been too long since ive been on RDC.

    Loved the cat the Kat joke, but I’m definitely in the group losing Halo time to Skyrim, oh and college basketball. It’s that time of the year again folks! Rock Chalk Jayhawk!

    Hope everyone had a good Veterans day and a good final binary day of the century 😛

  20. thegoatboy says:

    Sure, now I get a Killing Fenzy:
    http://www.bungie.net/stats/reach/gamestats.aspx?gameid=849372244&player=thegoatboy

    Hoping for some big cR payouts this weekend… only 547,366 to Noble

    To all the Veterans out there, thanks for your service and sacrifice.

Leave a Reply

