13th November – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

19th January, 2011. That is the day RDC got it’s highest ever number of hits. Over 32,000 in all. Why? Because Bungie gave us Golden Tree City, the challenge to find the Gold Ranger-class Elite in New Alexandria. Up until that day no one had knowingly identified it as the BOB, and for the first couple of hours no one knew how to complete the challenge. I wrote this post, which is my most viewed post of all time too. So seeing it for the first time since then is pretty exciting.

To complete this challenge, the BOB flies a Banshee that appears at 6 minutes on one side of the map (near Club Errera), and boosts all the way across to the other side. You’ve got to be in place to take it out as it flies, but once you’ve seen it you can usually use restart checkpoint to make sure you catch it and take it down. I don’t know about other difficulties, but it’s definitely there on Legendary. I have seen some people find it at 5 minutes, but 6 seems to be the more likely time.

Today’s challenges are:

Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 2000cR

Best options for this specifically:

Forge – make a game with players spawning in one spot and camp it
Firefight – Download my Firefight Invincible game type on my File Share, lots of Elites, lots of medals, lots of kills (plus ‘cheevos if you’ve not done the Firefight ones)
ONI: Sword Base – Use the Target Designator trick (run past everyone at the beginning, grab it, turn around, fire, wait for the killing to stop and restart the checkpoint)
Package – There are points where you can get a checkpoint just before a number of Grunts appear in the final battle, so you can gun them down and restart

Flat Tire – Kill 5 enemy vehicles in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000cR

The best options for this are below. Key to point out is you must destroy the vehicle, not the driver first. You’re better off using something explosive (Spartan Laser, Plasma Launcher).

Score Attack – On Holdout you get Banshees in the rounds. If you can keep a Grunt alive at the end of a wave for a long time you have a higher chance of getting them to come out again and again. They don’t tend to appear when it’s raining
Firefight Doubles – Especially Beachhead, where vehicles are usually dropped at the beginning and end of each round, you can decide who gets to take them out and work on it (plus great for working on assists)

Golden Tree City – Find and kill the Gold Ranger-class Elite in a Banshee, fast and low, while on New Alexandria, on Legendary – 4500cR

See the start of this post for information on getting this challenge. A very simple 4500 credits! Tomorrow, the Package. Possibly deathless or L.D.

Headshot Honcho – Kill 9 enemies with headshots in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2160cR

Team SWAT every time for this. It’s in one game, but in SWAT you should easily get this number of headshots. If you’re not confident in your ability then perhaps try voting for an objective SWAT game, like Stockpile or 3 Plots, since there’s no kill volume target in them which should help you.

If you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries it’s easy… you can follow on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

27 Responses to 13th November – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Tethercat says:

    Yes!! Everyone here is awesome. I believe today or tomorrow I will get 59 of 59 achievements. What an anniversary gift! Thank you.

    • chriscray says:

      59? Do you mean 29, 28 daily, 1 weekly?

    • crazybydefault says:

      Welcome to the club! 😀

      The launch of Anniversary is adding new achievements to Reach (which I had a list of what the new ones were around here somewhere) so it looks like we’ll be holding an achievement hunting party soon! 😀

  2. Scruff 815 says:

    It’s not mentioned in the commentary, but Golden Tree City is worth 4500cR this time around. Which is actually tempting me to try it this time.

    And curse you, Flat Tire. Don’t think that’ll be happening.

    • Braythor says:

      It does mention it. Twice. Someone’s not looking properly… 🙂

      I’ll be doing no Reach today, instead preparing for a job interview tomorrow, oooo exciting. Hopefully there’ll be some nice long daily/weekly challenges I can do when I get back from it.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        It wasn’t in bold! It’s not my fault! I glanced! Damn WordPress not having an ‘edit’ function 😉

        Good luck tomorrow, mister 😀

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Huh. After saying that Flat Tire wouldn’t be happening, I got 6 vehicle kills in one game of FF Arcade on Holdout. How handy 😀

      • ChrisStrawhat says:

        Yeah dude it’s stupid easy to get Flat Tire in FF Arcade on Holdout. That’s what I’ve been trying to tell everyone 😀 Just grab the sniper/dmr class, head back up the stairway (from where you entered this area in the Campaign version), snipe some enemies to help your team and wait for that Banshee swoosh, pick him off with 2 bullets.
        For a completed set (3 rounds) there is almost guaranteed 6 banshees. You gotta be quick with the sniper though so your mates don’t blast him before you :E

  3. Matt says:

    Golden Tree City is too unreliable to be worth any more time. I’ve spent about a half hour (on Legendary) trying to earn 4500 credits when I could get 5000 minimum in two games of BTB (assuming each went the full 15 minutes). I saw the relevant Banshee exactly once, and when I reverted to the last checkpoint to give myself time to catch it, it didn’t spawn. I appreciate the novelty value of the BoB on this level but Bungie needs to make it at least as reliable as the final one on Spire before I’ll consider another attempt.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      This is the first time I killed him, and also the first time I’ve tried. Just hovered around doing circles outside the bottom of Club Errera and at almost exactly 6 minutes in, he showed up.

    • Dan Bennett says:

      I’ve been after him all afternoon, killed him 4 times but still haven’t completed the challenge!!
      I forgot to go on Reach yesterday which means I need all four today and so far this is the only I haven’t managed to do! I even went on Coop with a friend and that time BOB didn’t even show up! Seriously getting annoyed now.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        If you’d killed him, the challenge would’ve completed. Chances are you’re killing a different one. The one you want only boosts in a straight line, never shoots back at you, and the marines in your Falcon won’t shoot at him either.

        Hover around the bottom of Club Errera. Wait until the mission timer hits 6 minutes, then keep an eye out for him.

        If you’re still having trouble, go into Theater and fly around until you see where and when he spawns from.

      • Dan Bennett says:

        So it turns out the one I was killing wasn’t the gold elite, it was just a banshee on a really low patrol, but equally I can’t find the actual banshee I need to kill on any of my 4 gameplay clips in the theatre.

      • Dan Bennett says:

        I’ve just played the level again, going straight over to Club Errera where I just circled killing banshees as they challenged me. After 8 minutes without seeing BOB I ended the game and went into Theatre where I fast forwarded to 6 mins, searched the whole city, went to 6:05 and searched the whole city, repeating until 7 mins and then gave up.

  4. SensoryFour34 says:

    I did it once and hated it. I’m not doing Golden Tree City again. It took me forever and 4500 credits just isn’t worth it.

  5. Jetpack333 says:

    What achievement do u still need?

  6. Siaberwocki says:

    It always rains on me in Holdout. Always…

  7. Ted says:

    can this be done on co-op?

  8. Dancewav says:

    Anyone Else got Halo Anniversary yet ? I have, they haven’t gone overboard on the manual was my first observation….

    • DaRoflBandit says:

      How would you get it this early?

      • crazybydefault says:

        Some places seem to be shipping it super early. There are reports on Waypoint of people who have received it last Wednesday.

    • Brady Cook says:

      Mine is scheduled for delivery tomorrow morning, I preordered it about 4 months ago from walmart.com.

      Its nice that its actually coming early unlike when i ordered nba 2k12 it took about 4 days after the game came out to receive it.

  9. Sean says:

    In case it helps anyone, I just got Golden Tree and my Bob spawned at exactly six minutes, just NORTH of the burning building to the WEST of Club Errera. If you are the entrance to the Club it should be easy to spot when turning 90ish degrees West . Not many windows, and it’s the only one on fire. He flew EAST past Club Errera and turned sharply NORTH after passing the Club (he passed the club to the south). He flew straight north until he blew up 🙂

  10. AHK says:

    This thing doesn’t exist or I must be completely missing it…approximate altitude at which this BOB will spawn?

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Low. I was hovering at around 100, and when chasing him the ‘TOO LOW!’ message popped up a couple of times.

Leave a Reply

