14th November – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

I forgot to mention yesterday, England beat NZ in the rugby. With a great performance it finished 28-6 to England. Given NZ are the World Cup and 4 Nations holders it’s like England beating Spain in the football, but by 5-1.

Only one more day until Anniversary arrives. I’ve not received mine yet, which is good given I’m not at home tonight to play it, so I’ll be on hitting up one of my favourite single player games tomorrow evening. Then join me on Wednesday 16th November for some Anniversary/Reach multiplayer goodness, gamertag Loreweaver. You want to test out how powerful that new old pistol is, well I’m an excellent target as I look at the floor and run in a circle!! XD

Today’s challenges are:

  1. Fire When Ready – Kill 50 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 3000 cR
  2. Sweep the Leg – Perform an Assassination in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000 cR
  3. Five-time Champ – Win 5 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 4343 cR
  4. Deathless Package – Complete The Package on Legendary without dying – 4400 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Fire When Ready – Kill 50 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 3000 cR

As ever, Grifball, and you’ll get this in a game or two. Try and get at least one buddy to hold the bomb whilst you play for kills (and vengeance), or hold the bomb yourself and pick off the other team as they come at you with hammers.

Sweep the Leg – Perform an Assassination in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000 cR

So many options for assassinations – you can stealth it and hide somewhere to take someone out as they run past (Sword Base’s hallways, Pinnacle and Uncaged in the lofts etc). You can play Halo Ball Extreme (my favourite for this) as the massive map often means you’ll end up with someone not knowing you’re behind them at some point. Or just play normally – if you find someone AFK then you’re quids in. I found this week Multi-Team Slayer is excellent for Assassinations when you’re on a smaller map (Asylum) as you’ll invariably end up being able to take someone roughly from behind.

Five-time Champ – Win 5 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 4343 cR

Team Slayer and SWAT will be excellent for this, as there are only two teams so a much better chance of winning than in multi team. If you are doing Multi Team, try objective based types and go for the objective itself, most teams don’t. I mean Crazy King, Oddball, Rocket Race. Grifball can be good if you’re ready to grab the bomb and score you can win really quickly, but with the weekly being what it is, stick to SWAT for those precision kills.

Deathless Package – Complete The Package on Legendary without dying – 4400 cR

Called it. This shouldn’t be too bad for us, especially if you’ve done the LASO on The Package previously. I’m not going to post it all here, but your best thing to do is to follow Tyrant’s guide to playing it in Mythic. If you die you can quickly hit pause then save and quit, then from the menu go back into the game at the last checkpoint. Previously we have been able to play through as you would with dying included, then at the very last checkpoint quit the game, go back in and finish it and you’re good.

If you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries it’s easy… you can follow on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

9 Responses to 14th November – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. TheOneInYellow says:

    Do NOT like today’s challenges; it’s taking time away from Assassin’s Creed: Revelations, Dark Souls, and Batman: Arkham City 😦

    However, the weekly, combined with the maps from my copy of CEA coming today or tomorrow (I will be playing the maps in Reach), is very cool and worth it 😉

    • Paul says:

      In case anyone wonders…..

      The Anniversary maps are advertised in Reach at the moment (playable by anyone with an early copy of CEA) but can’t be downloaded from Live yet – they will be available on 15th November but you DON’T need to download them if you have CEA, just enter the code that comes with it.

  2. Braythor says:

    Mmm I like today’s challenges, I shall be doing them all and having a damn good session. Might even hit Legend (only 34K to go). The Package should be a diddle; I only died once when I did the LASO on it, and that was because I made a stupid mistake by accidently flying the banshee into a pack of enemies and getting it stuck on a rock… And no skulls today! Hurray.

  3. SensoryFour34 says:

    You were doing so well. I thought you had finally learned that to look for Tyrant’s LASO Guide. 😉 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5hpHamHH6tw&feature=channel_video_title

  4. jay says:

    So Tyrant’s guide to The Package, the video is 41 minutes long. Challenge gets 4000 cR. I get an average of 1200-1500 per MM game, which take around 8-10 minutes each. So let’s say I had a REALLY GOOD RUN at MM, (which is fair since it would take a REALLY GOOD RUN for me to get the Package): (41/8)*1500=7687 cR.

    Not to mention I’d be cleaning up some of the other daily AND the weekly this way. So why in the world would I even think about trying that challenge.

    • Braythor says:

      Keep in mind though that Tyrant’s guide is a LASO, this challenge is just legendary, which is far easier. A good player could do this in 30-35 mins easy. I see your point however, the cR return is not much compared to MM, and is sweet FA compared to firefight.
      I did it because it adds a couple hundred to my various campaign commendations as well (I know some people adopt ‘techniques’ for those, but I prefer just to get them as I play), and The Package is probably my favourite level.

    • ChrisStrawhat says:

      Bare in mind for those (like myself) who mostly do challenges for the credit return, that in a normal game of FF Arcade I average 5500 cR.
      I am right now Noble (pushing for Eclipse) and I guess that high rank has a lot to do with the awesome credit return I get for game completion (3000-4000 for Arcade) and if I play with the jackhammer (rocket launcher) and just spam multikills as much as I can, I easily get 1500 cR in commendations (even though most of those commendations should be maxed out on Onyx already? lol), and with Performance Bonus and Slot machine that equals between 5000 and 6000 cR. If I complete challenges or level up a commendation, or hit a slot machine jackpot (3000 cR?) I can see 10 k for ONE GAME.

      So for credits earned/time spent I strongly recommend Arcade! ~20 min games for over 5000 cR (if you are high rank – slightly lower credit return if you are lower rank I suppose?).
      Arcade gets boring fast since you’re just spamming power weapons, but well worth it if you can stick it to the end.

      Altough I mostly like to go for simple MM, way more fun but with lower pay-offs for some reason 😀

Leave a Reply

