16th November – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Anniversary is… well it’s as good as HCE always was. I’ve not done much in it, but I’ve enjoyed it so far. Playing around with the Kinect stuff is kinda neat, and a nice indication of where we’re going. I’d love to see an achievement for scanning every scannable item with Kinect, but it is a bit harsh on the audience who don’t own one!

I’ll be on around 8pm UK time tonight to spend some time testing out the multiplayer matchmaking on the Anniversary game types and maps.

Today’s challenges are:

  1. Gunslinger – Kill 150 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 5500 cR
  2. One Game, One Spawn – Complete a Firefight Matchmaking game without dying – 2000 cR
  3. Pod Kettle Black – Kill 20 Elite Drop Pods in The Long Night of Solace – 1200 cR
  4. You Want This, Don’t You? – Earn 12 kills with precision weapons in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 3000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Gunslinger – Kill 150 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 5500 cR

Grifball as ever for high kill volumes. You can get 30, 40, 50 and more kills in a good game when you have your timing and eye in with the hammer. I’ll be trying to get this tonight, but I’ll be lucky if I get to the usual 75 let alone 150 with my “skills”.

One Game, One Spawn – Complete a Firefight Matchmaking game without dying – 2000 cR

As ever this is easiest in Gruntpoc or 2X Score Attack. The best strategies to make sure you stay alive are to use Sprint, letting you get to take out 30-50% of the wave before they get close enough to be a threat. Key things to be aware of are enemies with Plasma Launchers and Fuel Rod Guns, who will fire from further away; Grunts overcharging their Plasma Pistols; and guys throwing grenades as they get close. Take out anyone you see with a heavy or charged weapon first. If you see an enemy with a Plasma Grenade, shoot it and they’ll often drop it. If you hear one thrown or something fired then get out of there quickly. Always better to pull back to a different part of the map than make a brave stand. Don’t be a hero and dive in, you get plenty of time to take them all out.

Pod Kettle Black – Kill 20 Elite Drop Pods in The Long Night of Solace – 1200 cR

This is NOT trying to destroy drop pods in the ground based combat. This is when you play Long Night of Solace from Rally Point Alpha and you’re in the space combat section. After the first section defending the station, you take on a Covvie Corvette. That Corvette launches fighters at you. At the same time, it also launches 6 pods (2 groups of 3) from the bottom of the ship towards the planet. You can see them streak away. You can’t target them with missiles, and you have to be close to shoot them, but those are the Elite Drop Pods. It registers your kills after each wave have disappeared (entered Reach’s atmosphere). So go into that bit of the mission and fly beneath the corvette taking out all the pods you can and you’ll get it easy.

And it’s not always challenge 3 that doesn’t have it’s credit return increased to 343i standards, but it does occur in this slot more often. Intriguing.

You Want This, Don’t You? – Earn 12 kills with precision weapons in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 3000 cR

This is fairly easy in Team SWAT. Precision weapons are the DMR, Sniper Rifle, Needle Rifle and Focus Rifle. So in SWAT you can easily kit up the DMR and just play the game.

39 Responses to 16th November – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. My Little Housing Blog says:

    Pod Kettle Black is not one of my favourites but I will give it a try.

    Today I will get onyx level on Leadership Element, feels good to get some rewards after much gaming.

    • Paul says:

      come up from below, close in and target the ports that the pods drop from – they are a tight bunch for the first couple of seconds and you should get a kill or two each time. If they are rocketing past in a wide formation lower down it’s much harder

      • My Little Housing Blog says:

        Thank you, I will try that next time.

      • Paul says:

        you could also take a look at the Custom Challenge feature – see below – and build some extra points for yourself

  2. ChrisStrawhat says:

    Not gonna be bothering with Pod Kettle Black, feels like the credit return/time spent is not worth it as I easily can get 5500 cR in FF Arcade in 20 minutes, while Pod Kettle takes what, at least half that?
    Lol anyways nice -other- challenges

    • Lord Kinbote says:

      For FF Arcade, do you do that alone or is that with others? Do you have to have someone else ’cause I only saw that under FF Doubles and not under Score Attack, since I MOSTLY play by myself. I rarely play with someone else, when his free time and mine coincide. Arcade was very fun when he and I did it together. It was on Holdout, which I normally don’t like by myself, but it was REALLY fun in Arcade with him.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        FF Arcade is 4 players. And for some reason gives way more credits for game completion than any other game mode, including Doubles and Score Attack. You don’t need to go in as a group; as long as you’ve got Live, you can go in by yourself and get matched up with 3 random players.

      • ChrisStrawhat says:

        Yes I mostly play FF Arcade with 4 people; me and 3 randoms (who usually quit out early, lag like crazy, destroy my vehicle for no reason or just plain out suck :E /end rant). The more people; the faster the game ends; the faster you earn credits.
        FF Doubles work exactly the same way, you get just as many credits (or even a few more seeing as the game lasts a little longer when you’re only 2 people fighting), as long as you both vote for Arcade fight and *not* score attack.
        Teaming up with 3 friends for Arcade makes everything even better! Though almost all of my mates play BF3 or Black Ops. I’m the only Halo fan :E

    • xXMaster SoulXx says:

      I agree

  3. Scruff 815 says:

    I still don’t care about challenges. There’s a CE:A Campaign to finish.

    Not only that but Custom Challenges have pretty much killed off the need to do any kind of Daily / Weekly challenge. Or as an alternative, you can create Custom Challenges for every Daily / Weekly challenge that comes up and rake in double the credits.

    If you’re unaware of Custom Challenges, sign in to halo.xbox.com and go to your user profile, then select Challenges.

    Everyone’s going to be an Inheritor in about 3 weeks at this rate.

    • Shane says:

      Neato! It’s a pity the MM custom challenge options are so limited but hopefully that will change. I set up “Break 147 – kill 147 enemies in MM in 24 hours”. Not very exciting but 3708 extra credits isn’t bad.

      Anyway, I hit Inheritor last week so it’s CE:A for me too. “Jennnnkiiiiiins!”

    • Marshy 40 says:

      Yes, this is an interesting idea. I have just created a challenge to get 150 MM kills (mirroring today’s MM kill challenge), which will give me an extra 4390 cR upon completion of that daily. Smaks a little of cheating, but hey, that road to Forerunner is a grind …

    • crazybydefault says:

      I set up a challenge to win 25 games in 24 hours…

      Why yes, I WOULD like 9697 cR, thank you very much!

    • Paul says:

      Thanks Scruff – just replicated yesterdays Hyper Lethal Vector (12hr limit) for 4303cr. I can’t see how to clone the ‘without dying’ challenges though, and Drop Pods aren’t on offer either.

    • ChrisStrawhat says:

      SAY WHAT? How have I missed this? Gotta go check it out right now! How does it work I wonder..?

    • Chris says:

      Hey…if you come up with a good one that earns a lot of Cr’s in FIREFIGHT — let me know!!!

    • thegoatboy says:

      I was checking out the new version of Waypoint today and saw the Custom Challenges section, I was confused.

      I can’t wait to put some challenges together.

  4. Shane says:

    I’ve been putting together a Halo CE:A achievement guide on thehalosocial.com, grouping the achievements, skulls, and terminals by level to make it easier to get them as you go along. I’m editing the guide as I get the achievements myself so it should be nearly complete at the weekend.

    Let me know what you think.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      I’m currently avoiding it to be honest. Entirely because I don’t want to look at an actual guide for the skull/terminal locations; I want to either find them myself, or find them with the assistance of my buddies who also haven’t used an actual guide. Our findings so far are also in progress on thehalosocial.com.

      Once I’ve got all the skulls and terminals I shall go into your achievement guide and have a look-see, I know there are going to be loads of achievements that I’ll still need to get afterwards 😀

      • Shane says:

        Your thread is the more fun way to go alright. There’s less nudity in mine. I just have bitter memories of collecting 99/100 flags on Assassin’s Creed is all :-(. Never again!

      • callupchuck says:

        Feathers in AC2 were the most difficult and time consuming imo

    • FOREMILES says:

      I’ll have to check out your guide. Found my first skull yesterday after searching for a couple hours. They are never where you think one should be. BTW, the Grunt Funeral skull is cool; I’ve been using it through my Heroic journey (one step at a time).

      MM will get a try shortly. Have fun.

  5. Noble343 says:

    For people who don’t have enough time to play Halo like others its a great idea for custom challenges! some of us will prolly just make inheritor right befor Halo 4 comes out!

  6. Peggy says:

    sorry I’ve been out the loop for a while (waypoint does not like my phone, WordPress does however, look it just capitalized itself for me) can someone tell me what this create your own chall0enges stuff is about, I believe it was mooted a while ago on waypoint, but they can’t seriously being letting people give themselves credits?

    Peggy Peggy Ftw

    • Paul says:

      go to halo.xbox.com and sign in with your Live details, then find your profile – two ways to get to the challenges:

      1) towards top left is your character menu – hover over this to get a dropdown list that includes challenges (I find the menu a bit unresponsive)
      2) at the top of your profile, next to your name and rank emblem, there’s a down arrow which brings up a menu that includes the Custom Challenge builder

      once you get to the challenges page, select from a few options and create, the cr are automatically assigned based on the perceived difficulty. A nice option for those like MLHB that can’t do MM

  7. Zidane says:

    Do you earn points for commendations on anniversary campaign for reach stats ie small arms kills etc?

  8. Deaf Phantom says:

    my halo CEA wont be here for a few days cause some dumba** sent it yesterday when it was to be ship saterday… if i dont get the right stuff i’m going to give that guy hell he’ll wish he was never born

  9. Zidane says:

    I’m intrigued about setting you own challenges, my copy arrived today but can’t pick up until tomorrow 😦

  10. Zidane says:

    Can you play daily/weekly chalkanges vis anniversary disc?

    • ChrisStrawhat says:

      The Anniversary disc has 1 firefight map and 6 (?) “new” multiplayer maps, in which you can get most of the daily and weekly challenges, except for the campaign (reach campaign) or just somehow reach-only challenges (like finding BOBs).
      The Anniversary Campaign is totally different, it is off the reach/stats/commendation/challenge/credit grid, in a manner of speaking.

      However, I would suggest you copy over all the new maps from anniversary onto your Reach, and play them from there, since that’s where I guess the action will be for quite a while longer. More maps, more gametypes, more players – more fun!

      • Zidane says:

        May I ask how you can copy over maps?

      • Paul says:

        From The Halo Bulletin 11/09/11 (so I can’t be wrong this time… can I?)

        “Halo: Anniversary and the Anniversary Map Pack are two different pieces of content, so here are the various ways to access the maps.

        • If you own Halo: Anniversary but not Halo: Reach, you will launch the Anniversary maps from the disc menu.

        • If you own Halo: Anniversary and Halo: Reach, we recommend installing the maps using the Anniversary Map Pack code that comes with Anniversary. You will then be able to launch the Anniversary maps from both the Anniversary and Reach menus.

        • If you purchase the Anniversary Map Pack, you will install the maps like any other piece of DLC. You will then be able to launch the Anniversary maps from the Reach menu.”

  11. SensoryFour34 says:

    The Kinect really is pretty fun to use. I’m probably gonna end up scanning everything no matter what. It’s just really entertaining and gives you something else to look out for and think about.

  12. crazybydefault says:

    I came home to a nice surprise: CE:A was on my doorstep! 😀 I shall no have no interaction with people in real life for the next few hours…

Leave a Reply

