17th November – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Thanks to the people I played with last night, several coming and going initially, the HC and I settled in for a few games where we were good-bad-good-bad! Sorry I couldn’t stay on long, I had an article to write for Pixel Perfect that should hopefully be available later today.

Firefight Thursday is back. You can do this if you play Anniversary and access the Matchmaking menu, then pick Firefight options. I’ve not played with these yet and will try to tonight if I get more writing done in a good time.

The challenges for today are:

  1. Light Fare – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 3000 cR
  2. Survivor – Earn 9 Sprees in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 2000 cR
  3. Heroic Demon – Kill 20 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking on Heroic or harder – 2200 cR
  4. Hyper Lethal Vector – Kill 100 enemies with headshots in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR

Potentially these are all available in one game of 2X Score Attack, depending on your proficiency at headshots.

Commentary follows after the break…

Light Fare – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 3000 cR

If you want to do this specifically (as you’ll get it just playing for the other challenges) then jump into something on Score Attack, maybe Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or Fiesta Attack to get it done quickly and rack up the kills.

Survivor – Earn 9 Sprees in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 2000 cR

You get 120 kills in Gruntpoc so it’s an easy way to do it. If you can get kills using weapons (ie 5 grenade sticks, a shotgun, sniper rifle etc) then you get nearer the total – use Score Attack to get a range of weapons. Beachhead is quite good as you can use the vehicles to get more sprees – and now on Firefight Arcade you’ve got a good chance of using a variety of weapons, lots of killing sprees and grenades and the like. I like hitting up Gruntpoc then getting the 5 killing sprees.

Heroic Demon – Kill 20 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking on Heroic or harder – 2200 cR

It’s been a while since we saw this, and the total’s low enough that 2X Score Attack, Firefight Doubles or FFA are all good for it. Rocketfight’s usually a good one here, especially since they often up the amount of Elites you get, particularly in the Bonus Round. Fiesta Attack gave a lot more Elites than I’d seen before, but only about 25, and I think there are about 25 in 2x Score Attack too.

Hyper Lethal Vector – Kill 100 enemies with headshots in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR

Gruntpocalypse and 2x Score Attack are great ways of doing this, you should be looking to get a lot of headshots in a game, especially if it’s on a simple map where you can line up the Grunts, like Corvette or Courtyard. If you get to a high number rather than doing a whole game again jump in Crashsite or Generator Defense and only defend until you have your total then give up the goal.

34 Responses to 17th November – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. ChrisStrawhat says:

    For whatever reason everytime I have to get 20 (or more) Elites in 2x Score Attack in the last wave, they always drop 5 Elite Generals instead of the like ~30 noob elites :E

    Anyhoo a random Offtopic here: The custom challenges, when you complete a challenge, and Turn it In, that timer still goes right? And A) when it reaches zero you get your cR payout? Or B) do you have to keep it in your list once completed till the timer runs out?
    If A), then what happens if you have like 20 challenges completed and you just wait for their timers to run out and them BAM credit limit reached at once ? :E Hmm.
    Big thanks to whoever knows this<3
    Gonna do some experimenting after work.

    Love your site Matthew

    • gans42 says:

      You get a small handful of generals in regular score attack, you sure that you’re playing 2x?

      • Scruff 815 says:

        I find that the amount of Elites in 2x also depends on what map you play. Some maps (e.g. Unearthed) seem to give a much higher amount.

    • BJ2603 says:

      In my experiment I created a challenge 100 headshots in MM within 5 hours for a 9109 cR return. I’ve ‘turned it in’ with 1hr 40mins left on the challenge.

      From what I can see in Waypoint, turning in a challenge frees up the spot on your active challenge list, but won’t complete the challenge until timer hits zero. It seems to just hover in no-mans-land.

      So yes, be wary of your cR limit (not that I ever play enough to get close to 120k cR in a days play)

  2. Sean says:

    The only time you get the 24ish regular elites is 2x score attack. Maybe Fiesta attack as well – but i never do that one. I actually just do all my firefight challenges in FF Doubles nowadays. Way better cR payout that 2x score attack and it doesn’t take very much longer to complete

  3. Scruff 815 says:

    Go home, Firefight. I’ve got a Campaign to finish. Curse you, Two Betrayals 😕

    What I *can* be bothered with though, is a Game Night. Plan:

    8pm UK time (3pm Eastern, etc.). Join me (Scruff 815) for a night spent in the CE:A Matchmaking playlist. This means you will need to have a copy of CE:A, or at least have downloaded the map pack. Keep going until I fall asleep at about 2am. Minus a small break in the middle. Stop laughing, Braythor. 😀

    Top tip: Set up a bunch of Custom Challenges for yourself for tonight if you’re going to be playing loads of games. I’ll set some up in a bit and come back with the info and relevant cR amounts…

    • gans42 says:

      Scruff you’re only on two betrayals…you’ll never finish and play co-op with me! (I am actually only on The Library, but I don’t mind switching to co-op whenever.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Yeah I will 😀 Even if we both get our skull and terminal hunt done separately, I’m still going to need to do the entire Campaign in Legendary Co-op. Plus a load of the level-specific achievements. So you can put dibs on me now if you want 😀

      • gans42 says:

        DIBS!!! Everyone here saw it, I claimed Scruff! And I actually got most of the level specific achievements (well at least as far as I have gotten…through 343), the only one I missed so far is the stealthily taking out the enemies in the first encounter of truth and reconciliation.

    • Braythor says:

      I did have a little chuckle, Scruff, but then it turned to a sob because I don’t have CE:A… 😦

      I might do these challenges, they’re not that time-consuming, but I might just carry on with Dead Space 2, which is good but not as good as the first one.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Have a shufty at the Shoutbox at HS. I might try and turn tonight into a two-game night for those who don’t have CE:A. And then when it gets late and I get bored of playing the same 6 maps I’ll hop over and join you! 😀

  4. Scruff 815 says:

    CHALLENGES FOR TONIGHT:

    Well, do ya? Punk? – 9390 cR – 150 headshots in MM
    Medium Fare – 5008 cR – 200 kills in MM
    More of the same – 9390 cR – 250 medals in MM
    Poro’s Team – 3756 cR – 10 wins in MM
    (all set to 24 hours)

    That’s 27,544 cR in Custom Challenges alone.

    • thegoatboy says:

      I think I am really going to like this Custom Challenge thingy.

    • Retrograde says:

      Scruff, i just tried creating your Well, do ya? Punk? challenge and it only gave 3227 credits, wanna add me as a friend and invite me? GT: Retrograde Z

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Friend request sent. Either you put it in Firefight rather than Matchmaking, or you didn’t set it for 24 hours or something. Either way I’ll send you the challenge later 🙂

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Crap. Looks like you can only send the challenges to your friends at the point of challenge creation. I’ve gone into the Custom Challenges menu and I can’t do anything now other than turn them in or forfeit them.

        If anyone knows a way around this so I can send these out, I’m all ears…

    • LolGTFOplz says:

      wait what is this? sorry kindof been out of the halo loop for about a week now, mw3 has gotten to me…

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Custom challenges. Go to halo.xbox.com and have a play around, or if that’s not helping you, Google it. 🙂

    • Zidane says:

      If You set them to 24 hours and say you don’t complete 2 does it just reset so you can make others?

  5. Dragao1010 AKA: Brian says:

    Hurray for easy firefight challenges! And how is everyone enjoying Halo :CEA? The terminals/skulls are sooo much funner to find without watching a video though my co op partner started to use it when we started “The Library” cause it would “impossible” to find a little skull” in that level in particular :/

    • ChrisStrawhat says:

      The Library Skull and Terminal were actually the easiest to find 😀 Found ’em both in the first playthrough. Kept checking around every corner and walked up to every glowing panel, kept thinking we were looking for a needle in a haystack… but when you actually do find them it’s actually the simplest location ever :E For both of them.

  6. Zidane says:

    Downloading map pack, wow it’s taking ages 😦

  7. ChrisStrawhat says:

    All dailies done and done.

    The Custom Challenge website has had a major meltdown or something :E It signed me out, now I can’t sign back in, when I finally get signed in I get re-directed to live.box.com for some stupid reason where I can’t access no challenges :E
    In 1 hour 3 of my challenges will expire, and I don’t know if my progress now counts or what. 2 hours of SWAT pain wasted! Dammitall! Are their servers overloaded or what? /end rant

    • Marshy 40 says:

      Yep, I’m experiencing the same.

      • ChrisStrawhat says:

        Ok, thank God I’m not the only one. Was thinking maybe it was my internet operator’s fault. Thanks for the quick response.

        Hope I still get these hard earned credits =PP

      • Zidane says:

        How do You set up custom challenges, google not helping or I’m not helping lol

      • ChrisStrawhat says:

        Zidane go to halo.xbox.com, Sign Up at the top right of the home page. Now in the top middle of the site you should see your gamertag and rank, right next to it is a small down arrow. Click it, choose “Challenges” to the right. From there you can Create up to 5 of your own challenges at the same time.
        Good hunting!

      • Marshy 40 says:

        Even though the servers were down, I still got my extra credits after the challenge time expired.

  8. Zidane says:

    God the magnum sounds good 🙂

  9. Zidane says:

    If you can’t access xbox.comvia mobile is the only slternstive to use a pc to set ones own challages?

  10. Zidane says:

    Not happening tonight, scruff give me a shout if your about mate

  11. BJ2603 says:

    This just feels cheap and wrong :p

    Custom challenges:
    Earn 100 HS in MM – 10988 cR
    Earn 100 kills in MM – 4395 cR
    Earn 100 medals in MM – 6593 cR
    3hr limits on all of them

    90 mins and 8 games of SWAT later, turn them in. It almost feels like boosting ha ha

  12. ChrisStrawhat says:

    OK Great now I have FAILED on 3 challenges from yesterday night because halo.xbox.com DIDN*T WORK and didn’t LET ME finish them! /@((%¤$@@!!!
    I guess when I’m in the middle of the night here, it’s prime time over in the US 7-10 at night, so maybe you Yanks overloaded the system ? =P Anyhoo hope the challenges work better today. Off to do some easy boosting before work =P

Leave a Reply

