Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 21st November

This week’s challenge is below, click Read More to view the commentary:

Clear Eyes, Full Hearts – Win 50 games in multiplayer Matchmaking this week – 30,343 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

The challenge name is a reference to Friday Night Lights, apparently a speech and phrase often used to pep up the players and motivate them. Fourth time we’ve had this weekly too.

Anyway… what game types give you a better chance of winning? Rule #1 is definitely play a 2 team gametype. If you’ve got Rumble Pit, Infection or Multi Team going there are so many competitors that you’ve got to be pretty good to get the big W. Game types that you should be looking at:

  1. Grifball – Can be really easy to win, everyone gets annoyed at someone who grabs the bomb and scores quickly but it is easy and you can win a game in a minute or two
  2. Team Slayer/SWAT/Action Sack/Objective… – Any of the Team gametypes are good. 2 teams so you’ve got a higher chance of winning, especially if you trust your team and can play well together
  3. Invasion – Longer games and slightly trickier to win, but they’re really good at helping the whole gammut of Commendations, plus often help with the Challenges too
  4. Arena – Arena can be really tough as it’s some of the best players, but it’s still the same idea of two teams battling it out

There are more gametypes, frankly pick your best and keep at it. This is a proper weekly challenge that you can build on during the week, and then at the weekend top up if you need any more for it, look out for Daily Challenges that help too. It’d be a good chance to sample some of the newer playlists with the Anniversary maps just to try them and see if you can get some wins there too.

If you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries it’s easy… you can follow on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

13 Responses to Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 21st November

  1. t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

    Thanks for posting up today Matthew, and I believe I speak for everyone when I say your efforts and dedication is greatly appreciated. Good to hear that you’re still up for some Halo.

    Anyways I’d like to add that Action Sack offers a bunch of ‘quick’ games if you have some profciency in Haloball, Speedpile, Rocket CTF or Splockets. If time permits this week, I might party up with the RDC-ers during the Thanksgiving holiday.

    Goodluck with the challenges everyone. I’ll be lurking around for most of the week, but I’ll chime in if I have anything to contribute.

  2. Justin says:

    Definitely get together with a group of good players that will be on for a while and you can get 24 wins in one day just like me! …damn credit cap.

  3. Scruff 815 says:

    I know some people aren’t going to do this because you can earn a lot more in a week’s Custom Challenges, but if you think of it as an added extra – and as a way to force you to play more than you might otherwise – then it’s very much worthwhile. Let’s pretend that you play and win 50 games with no losses, at 10 games a day for 5 days. Every day you set yourself extra Customs of “win 10 games”, “get 150 medals”, “get 150 kills” and “get 100 headshots”. Call that 20,000 a day in Customs. That’s 100,000 cR per week in Custom Challenges. Plus 30,343 cR for this Weekly. Plus (at an average of 2,000 cR per game) 100,000 cR in game completion. That’s approaching 250,000 cR for one Weekly challenge.

    This challenge always goes best when you play as a group rather than with the usual useless / betraying / rage-quitting randoms, so as usual if you see me online playing Reach then it means I want to buddy up! If I’m playing something else then leave me alone, damnit 😉

  4. Peggy Peggy says:

    I’m in agreement with you Scruff. I set up a 50 wins over the maximum amount of time allowed, along with headshots, medals, kills and was just blasting out SWAT last night. I’m at 16/50 for the weekly so looking good, although I’m going to be rather restrcited to Halo time by the end of the week!
    If you see me on feel free to add me, I’ll be playing SWAT and SWAT alone

    Peggy Peggy FTW

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Good SWAT choice. I’ll also be doing some Team Slayer and Action Sack, just for the variety.

      Careful on your 50 wins Custom – the maximum time allowed is 60 hours, which is only 2.5 days. You’re gonna need to pick up the pace if you want to complete your Custom challenge as well as the weekly! I think doing smaller ‘win’ Customs over 3-12 hours is a better idea 🙂

      • Peggy Peggy says:

        But where’s the challenge in that 🙂

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Ha, I like your style 😉

        I don’t think I’m going to get this Weekly done 😕 I’m only up to 12 wins, and I won’t have time to play at all on Thursday, Friday or Saturday. That leaves today and Sunday. Agh.

  5. 43 out 50 wins: complete. I’m on a ROLL this week! 😀 No thanks to Dragao1010 and his group of friends. We’ve been on an awesome winning streak in Grifball!

    • Peggy Peggy says:

      43 out of 50….wow awesome man!
      I’m on 28/50, through a combination of Action Sack and Swat! But Scruff was right, I may have set my sights a little high with my customs! 😦

  6. SgtMaj AJJ says:

    Anyone notice the timer on Waypoint and b.net reflects an extra 7 days to complete?

    • I noticed that just now and came here to see if there was any news on it. With Thanksgiving this week, I’m woefully behind in wins (34/50 with 4.5 hours to go), so if there’s another week to do it…

  7. Pingback: Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 27th November « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

  8. Pingback: Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 28th November « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

Leave a Reply

