24th November – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

I was trying to do He’s Unstoppable on Halo (the level), since it would be another one done in Heroic, but I was too blasé and kept doing stupid things to lose health. I ended up in PoA as suggested and despite some close calls (the Grunts in the crawlspaces are not helpful when you have Funeral Party on) made it through. I also managed to finally do The Library on Heroic without dying, the same stage that I had troubles with on Legendary. Must learn to do that better.

However I’m having significant problems with not killing Grunts on Two Betrayals. For now I’m just doing all the other missions in Legendary so I clear them up. Almost finished the achievements, which is in itself an achievement.

And I was very pleased to finally get all the Library items by scanning with the Kinect. It means I can turn off the Kinect input and stop throwing random grenades or dimming the brightness. And I mean random, no one is speaking and it’s still just hurling a grenade at the wall in front of me. Gah.

A year ago we had the Nature vs Nurture challenge for the first time (killing Moa), Bungie ditched Firefight Thursday for that week to give a vaguely Thanksgiving themed challenge.

Today’s challenges are:

  1. Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 3200 cR
  2. Scoped – Kill 100 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with precision weapons – 2000 cR
  3. Hyper Lethal Vector – Kill 100 enemies with headshots in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR
  4. Survivor – Earn 7 Sprees in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 2000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 3200 cR

You could do this in one game of Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or some of the other variants. 2X is good because you’re likely to get slightly more than 120 so it takes account of TKs from the Covvies.

Scoped – Kill 100 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with precision weapons – 2000 cR

Precision weapons are the DMR, Sniper Rifle, Focus Rifle and Needle Rifle – note not the pistol! Gruntpocalypse will get you through this challenge in one game if you stick with the DMR. As always, use Corvette since it’s such a small map and use one of the corridors off the spawn room to bottle neck and scope enemies without being too vulnerable. Your best bet is to go for any Score Attack type game and just make sure you loadout with the precision weapons and keep killing enemies.

Hyper Lethal Vector – Kill 100 enemies with headshots in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR

Gruntpocalypse and 2x Score Attack are great ways of doing this, you should be looking to get a lot of headshots in a game, especially if it’s on a simple map where you can line up the Grunts, like Corvette or Courtyard. If you get to a high number rather than doing a whole game again jump in Crashsite or Generator Defense and only defend until you have your total then give up the goal.

Survivor – Earn 7 Sprees in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 2000 cR

You get 120 kills in Gruntpoc so it’s an easy way to do it. If you can get kills using weapons (ie 5 grenade sticks, a shotgun, sniper rifle etc) then you get nearer the total – use Score Attack to get a range of weapons. Beachhead is quite good as you can use the vehicles to get more sprees – and now on Firefight Arcade you’ve got a good chance of using a variety of weapons, lots of killing sprees and grenades and the like. I like hitting up Gruntpoc then getting the 5 killing sprees.

So in theory one game of Gruntpocalypse, 2X or other SA variant and you’re done. Simples!

30 Responses to 24th November – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. My Little Housing Blog says:

    No campaign challenges today.

    Happy Thanksgiving to all American gamers 🙂

  2. Peggy Peggy says:

    These will have to wait until I get my final ten wins as after tonight I won’t have any more Halo time this week! Having said that you could potentially get these in one game…….

    • Scruff 815 says:

      “Having said that you could potentially get these in one game”

      CHALLENGE ACCEPTED.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        CHALLENGE COMPLETED.

      • Peggy Peggy says:

        Nice one, I’ll post game stats tomorrow or later tonight if I manage it!

        Good Luck 🙂

      • TheOneInYellow says:

        I agree with you Scruff, and this is exactly what I wanted to do today 🙂
        However, I knew, BLOODY KNEW, that there was going to be a day where I had both the will and skill to get all challenges in one match, and not get it for some STUPID reason 😦
        I chose Gruntpocalypse on Corvette, and had ALARM BELLS RINGING in the back of my head. I got the challenges done, with the exception of Covenant-cide, because SOME F!C*I&G GRUNTS decided to NOT SHOW UP!!!! Do you want to know by how many Grunts I was off from getting this ONE B*ST%RD CHALLENGE???!?!?!?! Well, take a look:

        http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/GameStats.aspx?gameid=858046213&player=TheOneInYellow

        AGGHHEHEFJDHFLJGDLKFLSKDNLKSDNKNDMNS!!!!?!!?!!11!!?!! >_<

        Oh, yeah, well done Scruff! ^_^

      • ChrisStrawhat says:

        You saving up for something Scruff? 500k cR 😀

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Pestilence 😀 Pestilence and Inclement Weather are the only things left for me to buy 🙂

      • Paul says:

        @The OneInYellow – that sucks. Maybe this is due to AI Suicide or friendly fire by the Grunts?

      • ChrisStrawhat says:

        Ah I have pestilence left as well. Bought Inclement back in Field Marshall though. Pestilence and that stupidly overpriced Gungnir attachment for 400 cR is all that’s left for me :E

      • ChrisStrawhat says:

        Lol that would be 400 THOUSAND cR, obviously *facepalm*

      • Braythor says:

        Done, done, done and done. Even got two vehicle kills out of it as well (gonna keep Installation 04 in mind for Flat Tyre).

        http://www.bungie.net/stats/reach/gamestats.aspx?gameid=858303156&player=Braythor

  3. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    I’m still confused about using the kinect with anniversary…
    Anyone have a, uh, tutorial?

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      There should be a list of words you can say under Kinect. All you have to do is say them. If you just want to use it for scanning things, just say “Analyze” and then “Scan”. There’s not much more to it.

  4. Scruff 815 says:

    http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/FileDetails.aspx?fid=25053252&player=Scruff%20815 <- Watch that. In fact, download it and recommend it. I'm not above begging for downloads/recommendations. It's from a game of Skirmish last night in which a guy on the enemy team spawned underneath the floor of Powerhouse, leaving us unable to hit him at all but him able to kill everyone that wandered into the shower area. Very, very broken.

  5. Scruff 815 says:

    Don’t know if this’ll help you or not Matthew… copypasta from xbox360achievements.org:

    Look out for the little guys
    Beat the level “Two Betrayals” on Heroic or Legendary without killing any grunts

    Co-Op attainable: Yes
    Dummy Controller: Yes

    Don’t kill cannon fodder? That seems kinda redundant… Fortunately, the number of Grunts on this level is fairly limited. the real trick is to let the Flood and Covenant fight it out with each other, than pass through when the fighting has finally stopped. The flood will almost always beat the covenant or at least wipe out most of the grunts before they lose. Just skip past the rest in whatever vehicle you’re using.The majority of the grunts will be encountered within the first part of the level as you escape the pyramid. Once you get past the first core and inside on the bridge, the grunts are gone until you get close to the scene where you lost the tank in “Assault on the Control Room.”

    On Co-op, you can have one player kill the grunts while the other player hangs back to get that profile the achievement.

  6. Dragao1010 AKA: Brian says:

    Just wondering what kind of custom challenges people make that are super simple to do! A good combo of two are kills+medals in campaign Oni-Heroic. (target locater exploit) 1000kills and 950 medals in 5m or less set for 3h for 10k every 3h you set the challenges!

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Not bad; but having already maxed out my Campaign Commendations, the last thing I want to do is sit there reloading the same checkpoint over and over again. I’ve seen it all too much already! 😉

      I tend to wait until I know I’m going to be online for a good stretch, then pile on the MM challenges. Kills, medals and wins (since I can no longer do headshots as well) and I’ll usually add an extra 20,000 – 30,000 on to however much I get from game completion and ‘regular’ daily challenges.

      • ChrisStrawhat says:

        Agreed. Multiplayer Matchmaking challenges all the way. 50-200 kills, 70-300 medals, 20-100 headshots, 3-10 wins. That’s what I usually set up, equals between 20-60k cR (in 3-5h). That’s how you max out easy =P Only been able to do it saturdays and sundays so far though :E Too much work on week days.

        No more campaign or firefight daily/weekly challenges for me :E

        However at the moment I can’t combo those 4 MM challenges, have to choose between two of the Medals, Headshots and Kills challenges.

    • ITS ZAPHOX says:

      I have two methods I use to maximize custom challenge credit output:

      1) Set up three challenges, all in Firefight Matchmaking. The first challenge is 800 kills, the second challenge is 800 medals, and the third challenge is 500 headshots. These come out to exactly 10,000 credits each, giving a total of 30,000 cR. The gametype I found to be the best for this is Score Attack > Skirmaggeadon. It usually takes me around 90-110 minutes to complete these.

      2) Set two challenges for campaign. These should be set to heroic difficulty and ONI: Sword Base. The first challenge should be 1,000 kills. The second challenge should be 1,000 medals. Then proceed to use the air strike locator method to quickly rack up kills/medals.

      Hope this helped!

      • DaRoflBandit says:

        Unfortunately, Bungie made it so you can get credit banned (Credit banning is a ban from gaining credits for a certain amount of time) for a day, 2 weeks, or even an entire rank, credit, and armory reset if you credit boost, like using the target locator on Sword Base. I know, I’ve seen people get credit banned before, it’s real. So don’t credit boost! 😦

      • Scruff 815 says:

        There are plenty of things you can get banned for; credit farming on ONI (or any other Campaign method) is NOT one of them. You can boost them to your heart’s content. What they care about is people going AFK during Firefight games etc.

  7. Braythor says:

    I think I’ll do these on score attack, as I wouldn’t mind playing some more Installation 4; only played it once, but it looks lovely.

    By the way, has anyone else noticed that both Bungie.net and waypoint are saying there’s 10 days left for the weekly?

    • Scruff 815 says:

      That’s weird. Is it a two weekly challenge? I’m a bit dubious about it though; I don’t want to leave the wins until next week and then find out that I’m too late 😕

  8. ChrisStrawhat says:

    Seriously anyone good any good tips for getting that Unfriggin? :E
    I almost never get past Running Riot..
    Got my second perfection today though<3

  9. Will Cline says:

    I so wanted to write that I accomplished all 4 in one game today, but alas, only 119 kills in a Gruntpocalypse on Corvette, and I had to suffer through a Crashsite for the final kill. Now, 3 more wins and my weekly will be complete. Happy Thanksgiving, all!

  10. All four challenges in one game? Psh, no problem 😛

    http://www.bungie.net/stats/reach/gamestats.aspx?gameid=858675050&player=crazybydefault

    Great few games after getting home from gorging myself on food! 😀

    • Eskobar (André) says:

      Nice! Skirmigeddon is definately the way to go. 4/4 in one game for me too. 120 enemies with no risk in them killing them self with grenades etc.

Leave a Reply

