27th November – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Thanks to SgtMaj AJJ yesterday for pointing out that you can enter codes from the terminals in Anniversary on the console Waypoint for tasty credits. Go to Waypoint, hit X on the main screen (after you’ve pressed Start to enter), and you’ll be presented with some colours. Press the buttons that correspond to those colours on your controller, and you’ll then have a set of symbols which when entered in the correct order (shown at the end of the terminal videos or in this image I found via Google) give you access to the video, plus 7,000 cR.

Even better, when you find and enter all 10 you get an additional 37,000 credits, plus an 11th video, providing a link between Halo CE and Halo 2 (which I’m am really wanting to play at the moment, as soon as I get it back from a friend I’m going to hit that campaign hard!). I’ve read that you MUST find all 10 videos first for this to actually work, you can’t just input the codes. But they’re dead easy to find, especially when you use a video like Achievement Hunter’s which are useful and funny.

Anniversary update for me, I did the flipping Look Out for the Little Guys achievement, after my third play through of the level. Stupid Grunts are going to get shot so hard next time I play it! Quick tip for that first area with the ramps and Wraith – get the Sniper Rifle at the top of the ramps right outside the control room, then as you’re coming down to the last level before the ground there are two pieces of debris to use as cover. Just after going round the second piece an Elite will appear on the side of the Wraith and climb in. You have about 1.5 seconds to snipe him, but fortunately you should get a checkpoint just before this happens, so if you don’t restart from last save and try again. And again. And again. Until you’ve been able to take him out. Once you’ve done that it’s simply a matter of sniping the Elites and Jackals then running for the Banshee.

If I finally get a capture card (still not gotten round to that but perhaps Father Christmas might be kind) I’ll do a video of it to show you, plus some of the useful tips for later in the level (ie push the Ghost through the door that doesn’t open fully with your Banshee).

Anyway, today’s challenges are:

  1. Blastin’ and Relaxin’ – Kill 180 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 2343 cR
  2. Take a Dip – Kill 1000 enemies on Waterfront in Firefight Matchmaking – 3000 cR
  3. Weapon Swap – Earn 10 sprees in a Firefight Matchmaking game on Heroic or harder – 2000 cR
  4. Make A Wish… – Earn a Running Riot in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 5000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Blastin’ and Relaxin’ – Kill 180 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 2343 cR

If you do a score attack game in something like 2x Score Attack or Gruntpocalypse, then the challenges below you’ll be very close to the 180 total. Other options are another score attack game, maybe Generator Defense or Crashsite for the final few, or a couple more games in multiplayer.

Take a Dip – Kill 1000 enemies on Waterfront in Firefight Matchmaking – 3000 cR

I’m sure everyone’s going to jump on this as soon as right?? Several options, two rounds through anything in Score Attack will see you get this quickly. Or Firefight Doubles in ArcadeFight should get you both somewhere close to the total if not there, or FFA itself although with 4 people you probably won’t get the full kill volume. Beware the Suicide Grunts (there should be a spoof series of pictures based on the Suicide Girls), and the snipers on the cliff. With this I’d recommend picking whatever you see first on the map required.

Weapon Swap – Earn 10 sprees in a Firefight Matchmaking game on Heroic or harder – 2000 cR

Sprees are hard for weapons, especially in Firefight. I reckon Gruntpocalypse or some other easy Score Attack variant, get the 50 kills medal, then die and do another 50. You get 120 kills in Gruntpoc so it’s an easy way to do it. Alternatively use the Shotgun for three, sticky grenades, Swords, Hammers and anything else you can that gives a spree (this list on Halopedia shows all Spree medals available) to top up the killing sprees as well.

Make A Wish… – Earn a Running Riot in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 5000 cR

15 guys in a row without dying. That’s not to say 15 within a few seconds, but in the span of one ‘life’. Not the easiest, but they’ve upped the credit return which is good. Best advice? Grifball is always a good place if you can get your timing right and watch for betrayals. Juggernaut’s another good one. Infection can be good if you can get a decent team of humans together, but it’s hard to get 15 in the short space of time. In theory you can get this in any mode, it’s just harder to do it without dying in most variants. I expect everyone will have their own thoughts on this so please share in the comments.

27 Responses to 27th November – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. yh says:

    Hard challenges today after the easy ones yday. Will probably just do the first one.

    • jay says:

      Well 180 isn’t hard, nor is 1000 – both just have a requisite amount of gameplay. And really 10 sprees isn’t hard either if you swap your weapons around a little once in a while. Or just start with the shotgun. So the only challenging one would be Running Riot – which NOPE – I won’t even try. I can never even get the Frenzy when it’s a challenge (and only once in a while even when it’s not a challenge.)

      • yh says:

        Yeah, I do all the Kill x enemies in Reach today because I just use a custom FF gametype I made.

        Unfortunately, my mad skills won’t allow me to complete any of the “spree”s challenges lol.

  2. Gah, why couldn’t the Running Riot one be yesterday?!

    Also, I was playing as the challenges rolled over, and I can tell you: Do NOT try to go for a Running Riot. Just play naturally! I would get on a Frenzy then die right after!

  3. Loral Johnson says:

    Is this still a forum for Halo: Reach?

    There seems to be paragraph after paragraph of commentary about the Anniversary Edition version, then the obligatory, “oh yeah, here’s today’s challenges…..”

    As the game says: “Eyes on the prize” …

    • Matthew Vose says:

      It’s still ReachDailyChallenges, and I still post commentary on how to get the challenges every day. But it’s also my blog, and I like to talk about what I’m playing at the moment (see October where I talked about Mass Effect 2, and early November with Deus Ex).

      I’m not playing multiplayer at the moment because I’m enjoying something different, if you don’t like that don’t read it, the challenge commentary is always there.

      If you want a purely Halo Reach discussion area, I’d recommend the Reach area on halo.xbox.com, or the Halo Social forum set up by readers of my blog. But I warn you, they talk about other games on those sites too.

      Oh, and if you read the paragraphs above it tells you how to use Anniversary terminals and Waypoint to get yourself a 107,000 credit bonus in Reach.

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        The thing is, in a normal conversation, do you ever just stay on one topic? Chances are you don’t. You talk about multiple topics and they each lead to another one. If someone talks about something else, you don’t get mad in real life. You might not even notice. You just go with it.

    • ITS ZAPHOX says:

      get wrecked

  4. MAD 1976 says:

    Heh, funny you mentioned wanting to play Halo 2; same here and I just finished playing it for a couple of hours. After H2 I plan on playing Halo 3 again as well…just want to play the games in order again, been a while.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      I know right?? I’m tempted to get H2 for the PC and get the achievements on it, just for something different. I’ve still not done H3 or ODST in Legendary so they’re on the future list to do. I may well need co-op assistance on those!

      • Noobwarrior523 says:

        I’m open to do it, I got xbox live when reach came out, so I have 1 achievement in 3, if you’re doing it, just ask me(I’ll probably be on MW3,I’ve become addicted) and thanks about the terminals credits! That will probably get me close enough to hero that I may start playing reach again.

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        I plan on playing it again, too. This time, I’m gonna wait until Tyrant comes out with his Halo 3 Guide because I can guarantee that will make it a lot easier.

      • SgtMaj AJJ says:

        Sensory,

        Tyrant’s guides that link back to HBO for H3: http://www.mythictyrant.com/halo-3-guides.html

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        I meant Tyrant’s Legendary Guide. I knew he had a Mythic one already, but he’s planning on uploading his Legendary Guide as soon as he hits 2000 subscribers on YouTube. (He’s currently at 1836, so it should be fairly soon. I hope.) Sorry for the confusion.

      • SgtMaj AJJ says:

        No worries 🙂

      • MAD 1976 says:

        Ugh, ODST is booooring.
        H3 legendary has been a while, so don’t mind doing it again.

  5. Steve Bergen says:

    I got a running riot last night in Team Swat. I will see if I can get it today, but the chances as very slim. I got it on sword base most of the kills in the lift room.

    gt stevebergen

  6. ChrisStrawhat says:

    1000 kills in FF, let alone one of my least favorite maps? Fat chance.
    I focused my morning on the Running Riot, I thought Big Team would be good cause even if you can’t get the tank/banshee or the power weapons in time, it is really easy to pick off stragglers with the DMR/Needle Rifle from afar if you have decent aim – just spam 4 shots (even at long range) to drop their shield, wait for the reticule to shrink, and put the last round in the guys brain. Often you’ve dropped his shield so fast he doesn’t even realize what’s happening till he’s dead.

    On 3 maps in a row (!) I was killed at 14, 14 respectively 13 killstreak. I always voted for Hemorrhage and made a run for the Wraith in the beginning, but every time when I managed to outsprint someone else wanting it, the ******** tries to walk in front of me so I accidently betray him and he can boot me, or he throws grenades and DMRs me, or just picks up the ghost and follows me around shooting in my *ss till the enemy sniper can pick me off with one bullet.
    One time this moron grabbed the sniper and put all 12 rounds in my tank till it exploded. Did I get the option to boot him? NOOOOO

    Maybe gonna try later tonight. Usually don’t have any problem with Riots =(

  7. Mr Postman 117 says:

    Nice info on the waypoint credits. But now it shows that im getting credits for my games but it is not adding them to my overall credits. It never said I reached my dail limit and doesnt show 0 credits for my games.

  8. alex700 says:

    Yes Thank you to SgtMaj AJJ and to Matthew Vose 🙂 for the mentioning of the codes for terminals in Halo waypoint yesterday. I entered those in last night and I am now 33,000 CR into Legend rank. I am still working on winning 9 mulitplayer game wins tonight to complete the weekly challenge.

  9. Nancy says:

    Well, they did it to me again.
    I was going for the weekly challenge tonight and got down to three more games needed to win when they put a message on the screen saying the daily limit was met.
    I worked all week for the 30.343 credits and the last minute they stopped everything.
    I’m sorry but that’s just not fair.
    They try to keep the modders from getting too many credits at one time but they can still find a way to mod. We are the only ones that gets hurt from this.
    What is there to look forward to if they keep doing this?
    They put the challenges up there and stop you from making them.
    This is the worse game rules that I have ever seen. It’s just not fun.
    I hope this new company will do it different, if not I might be cancelling my online. There is just no other way to do it. They say one thing and don’t give it to us when it’s met.
    All because we went over on the credits for the day.
    We have other things to do and can’t always be on. We have to do this in our spare time and if it is longer one day than the others, it messes up our limit.

    • MAD 1976 says:

      Damn, that sucks monkeyballs.
      Maybe mentioning this on the official Halo site (if you haven’t already) will wake someone up??

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Don’t go chasing waaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhterfalls, Nancy.

      The credit cap has been in since day 1. The ability to earn a maximum of 120,000 credits in one day is nothing new, nor is it part of “the worse game rules” ever. They haven’t said “one thing and don’t give it to us when it’s met”. They’ve ALWAYS said that you can earn a maximum of 120,000 credits in one day.

      For one thing, if you can only get on for Sunday and you hit your credit cap, then change your console time/date settings so it’s Monday. Voila; an extra potential 120,000 credits.

      For another thing, the Weekly challenge still has another Week on it. On Thanksgiving they bolted an extra week onto the challenge so everyone had time to do it.

      RAH RAH INTERNET RAGE RAH

  10. Pingback: 28th November – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

  11. xXMaster SoulXx says:

    CUSTOM CHALLENGE ERROR

    For some reason I am having a problem with getting my 4th custom challenge to go active in Multiplayer Matchmaking for example….I will create the following:

    Kills – 100

    Medals – 100

    Wins – 5

    Headshots – ….error you already have a challenge towards that “GOAL” which I don’t!

    If i put headshots first then I can’t do medals…if i do medals first it won’t let me do headshots! Its just Headshots and Medals im getting the error on! I thought i was the only one with this problem but i have a friend that just started having the same problem…you can only have 4 Multiplayer Matchmaking custom challenges active at one time… but basically when i try and create my last one it says i already have a challenge towards that goal when I DONT!!! Ive looked in my entire custom challenge history just to see if by anychance i hadn’t turned one in..but that can’t be either cuz when time runs up it will FAIL the challenge! so anyone else with the same problem?

Leave a Reply

