28th November – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Update – The issue’s been fixed, we’re back to 4 daily challenges, and Multiplicative has indeed been put in as the weekly challenge. You know there’ll be people who have issues from this with either the challenge that went or the challenge that’s been added but at least it’s setup for the rest of the week now.

I’m not sure what’s going on with the challenges today. Both Bungie and Xbox sites are listing the weekly as last week’s still, but now 5 daily challenges, one of which is the weekly challenge that I suspect should have been live this week. So it’ll probably be updated during the day in 5 or more hours once the folk at 343 have woken up and seen this issue, I’ll update when I hear or see more on it.

If you see yesterday’s post I wrote some details on getting a nice Reach credit bonus if you use the codes from the Terminal videos in Anniversary. Have a read as it’s incredibly useful for 107,000 credits if you find all the terminals.

Today’s challenges at least are:

  1. Fire When Ready – Kill 50 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 3000 cR
  2. Flat Tire – Kill 10 enemy vehicles in Firefight Matchmaking – 2343 cR
  3. Short, Controlled Bursts – Kill 200 enemies with automatic weapons in the Campaign today – 3000 cR
  4. Fortified Court – Kill 150 enemies on Courtyard in Firefight Matchmaking – 2250 cR
  5. Multiplicative – Earn 200 Multikills in multiplayer Matchmaking this week – 25000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Fire When Ready – Kill 50 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 3000 cR

As ever, Grifball, and you’ll get this in a game or two. Try and get at least one buddy to hold the bomb whilst you play for kills (and vengeance), or hold the bomb yourself and pick off the other team as they come at you with hammers.

Flat Tire – Kill 10 enemy vehicles in Firefight Matchmaking – 2343 cR

I’ve not yet tried the Anniversary Firefight map, so I don’t know how that is for vehicles. I’ll give it a few plays later I think. The best options for this are below. Key to point out is you must destroy the vehicle, not the driver first. You’re better off using something explosive (Spartan Laser, Plasma Launcher).

Score Attack – On Holdout you get Banshees in the rounds. If you can keep a Grunt alive at the end of a wave for a long time you have a higher chance of getting them to come out again and again. They don’t tend to appear when it’s raining
Firefight Doubles – Especially Beachhead, where vehicles are usually dropped at the beginning and end of each round, you can decide who gets to take them out and work on it (plus great for working on assists)

Short, Controlled Bursts – Kill 200 enemies with automatic weapons in the Campaign today – 3000 cR

Automatic weapons are those that fire repeatedly, namely the Assault Rifle, Plasma Repeater, Plasma Rifle, Needler and Spiker. In Campaign you want a mission with lots and lots of enemies quickly, and for today with lots of infantry foes. As usual, Winter Contingency’s a good one as it’s not too hard, and the enemies come quickly, particularly the first fight with Skirmishers and Grunts, or Rally Point Bravo with the courtyard fight. Stick to Normal difficulty so you don’t have to spend too long. There are tricks in some places like Rally Point Bravo on The Package where you can get a checkpoint just before a group of Grunts so you can take out 5 quickly, then restart checkpoint and do it again.

Fortified Court – Kill 150 enemies on Courtyard in Firefight Matchmaking – 2250 cR

Rule 1 for these is take the map the first time it comes up, whatever game type, in case you don’t see it again. If you don’t get it you can quit out, there have been some comments that it doesn’t count in 1 player modes like Score Attack, but I wouldn’t do it too often in case. There’s no game that has the kill volumes unless you can get FF Arcade with one other person max. I say 2 games of Gruntpoc or 2X Score Attack to get through this in 20 mins.

Multiplicative – Earn 200 Multikills in multiplayer Matchmaking this week – 25000 cR

Have a read of the weekly challenge post, and hopefully this will be resolved at some point during the day.

22 Responses to 28th November – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Gengo23 says:

    Minor correction to the Reach / Anniversary Terminals . . . ?

    You do indeed get 7,000 cR for each of the first 9 terminals entered ( 9 x 7,000 = 63,000 ).

    You do indeed get 37,000 cR for the tenth and final terminal. I don’t recall this 37,000 being on top of a 7,000 for the final, simply that the final payout was increased by 30,000 for a total of 100,000 cR for finding and redeeming all 10 terminals. ( You do have to find them all as well, you cannot just enter the codes ).

    But I’m not trying to sound hateful – I love this site, just don’t get much of a chance to interact here. I do check it nearly daily.

    Thanks for all you do.

  2. John Myers says:

    Anniversary firefight is good for getting the vehicles. Its like Holdout, you get Banshees at random points. Seems like most frequently at the start of the second round although I have seen one before then once or twice.

    • DaRoflBandit says:

      Yea, but the banshees are almost impossible to hit, the go REALLY fast. You would have to be a pretty good shot with AND ONLY WITH the sniper rifle. D:

      • ChrisStrawhat says:

        I used to do flat tire on Holdout cause you would usually get 6 Banshees in one set (3 rounds) of Arcade.
        But this Anniversary map, Installation 04, I’ve only played it 3 times but I swear I got 5 banshees in ONE round (Score attack). Almost as soon as I shot one down I could hear that wooshing sound in the distance again. Maybe if you really hunt them down you could get more than 5? And if that pattern continues in Arcade for 3 rounds you could get 15 banshees in one game? W00t? Totally revolutionizes my Flat Tires. Can’t guarantee anything yet though I have yet to try that map out for real, I almost never play firefight anymore =(

        Funny thing happened on that score attack mission on “04”. When I killed my 5th Banshee in Score Attack game It suddenly said BETRAYAL! Even though I was the only player on the server, and I tripple checked in Theater mode that all the marine ODSTs were dead (not that it usually says you betrayed AI marines in the game anyway, right?). I think that some big debris from the Banshee hit an Elite in mid air who was dropped from the Spirit, and the Banshee pilot betrayed that Elite, which somehow I got responsible for -.-

        A clip of that last part will be uploaded to my file share today for anyone interested in my firefight mystery. Not rendered though =(
        Lol maybe I betrayed a Forerunner? Guardian? …Precursor…?

  3. crazybydefault says:

    West Coasterner here. It’s almost 7 AM, which is four hours after the challenges change, and I still see Multiplicative as a daily and the same weekly.

    Very odd… :S

  4. J.D@wg says:

    In Texas, (central time zone) it shows that the 50 wins is still the weekly, and that Multiplicative is just another daily. Maybe 343 is giving players two options for a weekly?

  5. LolGTFOplz says:

    Anyone know of a “MW3 daily challenges” website? >.<

  6. GamerGirl says:

    I earned 40 multikills earlier this morning and now that they’ve fixed the glitch I am registering no multikills! So frustrating! Anyone know how I might fix this situation?

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Ouch. Seems mine have reset too, but then I only had 10 anyway. I doubt there’s any way of getting them back now. 😦 Just play a bunch of Grifball with like-minded people, you’ll get 40 in one game easily enough 🙂

  7. xXMaster SoulXx says:

    CUSTOM CHALLENGE ERROR

    For some reason I am having a problem with getting my 4th custom challenge to go active in Multiplayer Matchmaking for example….I will create the following:

    Kills – 100

    Medals – 100

    Wins – 5

    Headshots – ….error you already have a challenge towards that “GOAL” which I don’t!

    If i put headshots first then I can’t do medals…if i do medals first it won’t let me do headshots! Its just Headshots and Medals im getting the error on! I thought i was the only one with this problem but i have a friend that just started having the same problem…you can only have 4 Multiplayer Matchmaking custom challenges active at one time… but basically when i try and create my last one it says i already have a challenge towards that goal when I DONT!!! Ive looked in my entire custom challenge history just to see if by anychance i hadn’t turned one in..but that can’t be either cuz when time runs up it will FAIL the challenge! so anyone else with the same problem?

    • Gengo23 says:

      It didn’t do this when CC first started – as I used HS, K, and M all in FFMM games with no issues. However, for some reason, it is counting the HS as a specific type of M – but for sure, the HS gives more cR.

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        I’ve had this problem too. I think it’s because to get a headshot, you have to get the medal. I guess 343 didn’t want us stacking Custom Challenges like that. It makes sense if you think about it. Kinda disappointing, though. 😦

  8. xXMaster SoulXx says:

    Hmmm so your saying Headshots are considered the same as a Medals Custom challenge now? … I can see that! I’ve also noticed that for winning 1 game it use to be 659cR now its 44cR….I guess 343 has lowered the cR amount for Custom Challenge and also took away having being able to active Headshots along with Medals because like you pointed out Headshots are obviously a type of Medal! Thanks Gengo23

  9. xXMaster SoulXx says:

    I also didn’t notice the challenges until a few days later so im guessing 343 had it more of a bonus of cR for people who used it right away!

  10. xXMaster SoulXx says:

    ***Changes***..not challenges…man my mind has nothing but challenges floating around haha

  11. Zidane says:

    1990 online, 64 in swat, can’t get a game, is this right? Can’t believe so few on, 3000 at 6 gmt thought it would have picked up not got worse 😦

    • Paul says:

      I’m seeing the same in grifball (54 playing) – just got the last few MM kills to finish off the challenges, but it was a struggle to find players. Fortunate to have first game where the opposition were too interested in pwning us to care about scoring, so got 45 kills in that one (they were all nearly triple digits) – guess they were aiming for the weekly early!

Leave a Reply

