Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 28th November

Update – The issue’s been fixed (Monday, 6pm UK), we’re back to 4 daily challenges, and Multiplicative has indeed been put in as the weekly challenge. You know there’ll be people who have issues from this with either the challenge that went or the challenge that’s been added but at least it’s setup for the rest of the week now.

This week’s challenge is… I don’t know. Both Bungie.net and xbox.halo.com are showing last week’s weekly challenge still (having shown 2 weeks for it initially anyway), but also a daily challenge that reads as a weekly. Both are listed below, and I’ll update as this is sorted out during the day (probably in 5-10 hours once the US west coast has woken and seen it!):

Clear Eyes, Full Hearts – Win 50 games in multiplayer Matchmaking this week – 30,343 cR

Multiplicative – Earn 200 Multikills in multiplayer Matchmaking this week – 25,000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

If the weekly challenge from last week does still stand, then the previous information does work for it, so see this page for your commentary.

If it is Multiplicative, then it is actually fairly easy to get I reckon. My usual tips apply here – go for Grifball, Team SWAT or Multi Team to get a good chance of quick kills (SWAT because you can kill in 1 shot to speed up the kill, Multi Team because people group together, Grifball because it’s one giant melee anyway!)

For SWAT and Multi-Team, some maps help better than others, my favourites are:

Sword Base – On SWAT you can hold the killing area at the top of green lift and take out a team as the rush you from any direction. On Multi Team if the top of that lift becomes a killing zone through some grenades in it then follow them up to mop up.

Pinnacle – Since you can see across the map you can hit two people even if they’re in different areas. The room and loft also help contain people to use the Rocket Launcher or Grenades on them.

Asylum – Similar to Pinnacle, but this is even better for sniping people who run across your field of vision.

Countdown – A nice killing area at the top of the lifts, Multi Team is good for this because everyone comes from different directions so you can steal kills and take out the person who was shooting as well. You might get a couple at the beginning if you go to shoot your opponents on the opposite side of the atrium.

Reflection – Again some nice killing areas at the top of the lift and along the long corridor.

I know there are more maps, but these are the ones where I think you’ve got a good chance of getting multikills.

And finally, don’t forget the multikills will stack. So an Overkill (4 enemies) will count as 3 for the double, triple and Overkill.

If you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries it’s easy… you can follow on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

17 Responses to Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 28th November

  1. Pingback: 28th November – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

  2. Marshy 40 says:

    I looked on my XBOX during my lunch break, and the weekly shows as the 200 multikills. Probably indeed best to wait unti 343i has sorted it out.

  3. TheOneInYellow says:

    How very peculiar…
    I’m happy that, with friends from RDC blog, we were able to help each other and finish getting the weekly challenge (win 50 games) yesterday, so I will focus now on the (possibly) new weekly 🙂

  4. Scruff 815 says:

    I can confirm that (right now, at least) the “50 wins” Weekly is still active, even though it doesn’t show on the Xbox “challenges” screen. I still needed 5 wins to finish it off and it worked. Credits didn’t appear in the post-game credit report but I had gone from ~600,000 in the bank to ~630,000, so it definitely worked. I would recommend finishing it ASAP if you haven’t already though because there is a small chance that this might change during the week.

    Not going to bother with the new challenge though. Got CE:A’s achievements to finish and just got Portal 2 so I’ll be taking some time off Reach 🙂

    • SgtMaj AJJ says:

      3 cheers for P2! I love it, so much fun with the irreverent dialog and complex puzzles.

  5. Krandyt says:

    Doesn’t matter to me either way, not doing grinding matchmaking weeklys, if it was firefight or campaign I would’ve considered it. Got to get last few achievements on deus ex anyway, then it’s back to assassins creed 2, can’t believe I’ve left it so long to play such an awesome game series!

    • ChrisStrawhat says:

      I also found out Assassins Creed series like last year. Third game (Brotherhood) is awesome, best fighting mechanics ever, but the assassinations themselves are unchallenged in the second game. I am so looking forward to AC: Revelations to hit PC market (seems it was delayed?) because I started the series on PC and want to finish it there, because I am now a kick-ass assassin with the mouse+keyboard, don’t wanna start as a noob with the controller 😀

      Also won’t have much gaming time this week so I won’t bother with too many of the challenges at all, hope the custom challenges work this week so I can get some easy cR when just playing matchmaking.
      What’s up with the new (?) weekly being a daily? I remember I got that 200 multikills in the very first day that was a weekly (toooo much grifball -.-) so it is do-able in one day, but…. nah probably not gonna even try =P Some Team Slayer and Big Team Slayer before bed though.

  6. If Multiplicative is, in fact, this weeks weekly, it will be interesting for me! My Multikills commendation is only at 1684, so I’ll have to earn over 10% of that within one week!

    Oh well, I’ve been craving some Grifball anyway 😛

  7. SgtMaj AJJ says:

    I’ll try for multi’s generically this week but have low expectations. (Read: no Griff grindage for me)

    After hitting Inheritor, as expected, weekly grinds don’t have as much luster. Especially with CE:A becoming another obsession. (and *cough* Wars)

    Reach still has a special place and almost on daily.

  8. Anyone still getting cR for last week’s weekly challenge with the update? I’ve “still” got wins to get, so if/when I get my remaining 14 sometime this week and get the cR for them, I’ll post here.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      It’s not showing as a challenge on b.net anymore, so I doubt it. Easiest way to check is to win a game. If the little challenge progress thing on the right-hand side of the screen (in-game, just as the final scores come up) appears, then yes it’s still active. If not, it probably isn’t 😦

    • And no joy on Tuesday for finishing it up. Which sucks.

  9. kraig says:

    i have heard of people finishing this weekly twice because it was showing up as a daily for a while has anyone had this happen???

    • Scruff 815 says:

      It was possible to have done it twice; but then you would’ve needed to do the weekly (when it was a daily) within the 7 hours that it was online for. Which would’ve meant boosting it in Grifball, really. And then do it as a weekly afterwards.

      So yeah, 50,000 credits is a lot, but it would’ve meant HOURS OF GRIFBALL and that’s no fun for anyone 😉

Leave a Reply

