30th November – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

I ordered Halo 2 yesterday for the PC. I do have it for the Xbox but I want to try and get the PC version’s achievements. Just ‘cos, y’know? 🙂

Today’s achievements are:

  1. More than a Handful – Kill 125 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2500 cR
  2. Flat Tire – Kill 10 enemy vehicles in Firefight Matchmaking – 2343 cR
  3. …Is a Virtue – Score 60,000 points in any Campaign mission with less than 3 deaths – 4500 cR
  4. Sweep the Leg – Perform an Assassination in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

More than a Handful – Kill 125 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2500 cR

Multi Team Battle or Grifball are the best ways to get lots and lots of kills, you tend to get more than any other modes. If you play Crazy King or Oddball you can get even more as some people who would shoot you go for the objective, and you can take them out. If you can make an area in an Infection game defensible as a human you can rack up kills quickly.

Flat Tire – Kill 10 enemy vehicles in Firefight Matchmaking – 2343 cR

Key to point out is you must destroy the vehicle, not the driver first. You’re better off using something explosive (Spartan Laser, Plasma Launcher). The Anniversary Firefight map, Installation 04, seems pretty good for Banshees, they appear pretty often. The best options outside of that are below.

Score Attack – On Holdout you get Banshees in the rounds. If you can keep a Grunt alive at the end of a wave for a long time you have a higher chance of getting them to come out again and again. They don’t tend to appear when it’s raining
Firefight Doubles – Especially Beachhead, where vehicles are usually dropped at the beginning and end of each round, you can decide who gets to take them out and work on it (plus great for working on assists)

…Is a Virtue – Score 60,000 points in any Campaign mission with less than 3 deaths – 4500 cR

To up the points you receive the two steps are to turn on as many skulls as you’re comfortable with and play in a higher difficulty setting. This is up to you, of course putting on skulls makes death more likely so it’s a fine line depending on your ability. The best places to score points in Campaign missions are Rally Point Alpha in Long Night of Solace, New Alexadnria, or Rally Point Bravo in Pillar Of Autumn. In LNOS you get massive points for taking out Banshees and Seraphs. In New Alexandria the same goes except Wraiths get you lots of points too. In PoA at the very end of the mission you jump in the cannon and start taking potshots at Phantoms that try and shoot you down. These are worth big points, but getting there through the Firefight and the double-hard Elites can be a painful thing. New Alexandria is likely easiest just be careful of your Falcon so you doesn’t explode around you!

Sweep the Leg – Perform an Assassination in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000 cR

So many options for assassinations – you can stealth it and hide somewhere to take someone out as they run past (Sword Base’s hallways, Pinnacle and Uncaged in the lofts etc). You can play Halo Ball Extreme (my favourite for this) as the massive map often means you’ll end up with someone not knowing you’re behind them at some point. Or just play normally – if you find someone AFK then you’re quids in. I found this week Multi-Team Slayer is excellent for Assassinations when you’re on a smaller map (Asylum) as you’ll invariably end up being able to take someone roughly from behind.

21 Responses to 30th November – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. chriscray says:

    As much as I love FF, I don’t like the 10 vehicles. It takes too many games, at least for me.

    But as far as MPMM goes, 1 assassination is easy peasy!

  2. Marshy 40 says:

    I like doing the assassinations on Grifball: it can be little bit more difficult, but so rewarding! It reminds me of the following story:

    Lawyer: so when mr. X hit your can in the back, you exclaimed “I’ll be buggered”
    Judge: and what did your client mean by that?
    Lawyer: I think, M’lud, that he means he was taken aback.

  3. SensoryFour34 says:

    Have we ever seen a Challenge like …Is a Virtue? I know there’s Points Pyramid, but I don’t remember having a certain amount of times you can die.

  4. xXMaster SoulXx says:

    HALO 2 BABY!!! …Good Times!

  5. xXMaster SoulXx says:

    Plugging the 360 controller into the computer via usb port for Halo 2 PC doesn’t feel the same as on console…far as the sensitivity in the joysticks but its very manageble

  6. xXMaster SoulXx says:

    Also Random thought I know there was a discussion on this awhile back and i haven’t done the math on this but say with the better payout on cR 343 has been giving us and now with the help of custom challenges….there is ALOT of people that will never make it to Inheritor even if they hit the cR CAP of 120,000 everyday until Halo 4 comes out…and if it comes out around the time they say it will “end of 2012” ….If everyone was to get Inheritor already there would be a huge drop in people online playing Halo….I myself have almost put in 3X the playtime compared to Halo 3 just because of wanting to get Inheritor one day…according by stats it says at the rate i am going i should hit it in a year! 🙂 hopefully right before Halo 4 and congrats to whoever has already gotten Inheritor

    • Dragao1010 AKA: Brian says:

      One day we shall get inheritor! Back in September, i started a thing where i have to get a minimum of 10k credits everyday no matter what and so far so good! LOL, but NOW with these custom challenges, i set my minimum to 50000 even though i tend to hit 100k everyday most of the time. The two best FF custom challenges at their minimum that i have done is 450 headshots + 450 kills which together is 15000crd set both at 3 hours. For campaign, i do Oni: Heroic target locater exploit, kills to 1000 and 950 medals both equal to 10k. Try em out, and you’ll be inheritor much less than a year!!!

      • Gengo23 says:

        For Oni, does it have to be Heroic? What is the difference in the kills / medals on Heroic versus Normal?

      • ChrisStrawhat says:

        Actually I think I read somewhere on my first day of playing Reach, that if you hit the cap EVERYDAY you Reach Inheritor (from Recruit) in 6 months. If that’s true… then yeah. Do the math. ~12 months till H4 hit the shelves, and most people are probably more than halfway there (well I have no idea what ‘halfway’ is, “credits earned”-wise, cause I have no idea how long the last ranks are. I’m silently hoping Nova, Forerunner and Reclaimer aren’t more than 1,5 mil each 😀 Thinking I’m wrong though…
        Anyway I’m pushing for Nova now (one fourth in on Eclipse, only Pestilence remains in the armory)

    • Dragao1010 AKA: Brian says:

      For Oni yes heroic, but try getting the checkpoint just right before the missles hit them so basically Load campaign, split second boom revert, split second boom revert etc. lol and to Chris, Inheritor is 20 mil so halfway is i know you know 😉

  7. J.D@wg says:

    Any one else notice that you said “achievements” not “challenges? Under Today’s Daily Challenges. Ha

  8. Flacksguy says:

    Ha Ha Ha,
    Matthew has Acheivements on the brain.

    Man, I really hope they do an updated version of Halo 2.
    I’m having such a blast with CE/A.

  9. Braythor says:

    Ok, I did Flat Tyre, mainly because I only needed 11 to up the commendation. Installation 04 definitely is the way to go if you have it: it seems to produce 3 banshees per game (score attack), but also remember that if a grunt gets on the turret in the middle platform bit (and they always seem to), that counts as a vehicle kill too, as long as you blow up the turret AND the grunt. Word of advice – gruntpocalypse is not the best choice of mode for this, as the turret rips you apart VERY quickly, even from a distance. 2X SA works better, and if you can pick up a spartan laser from the ordnance drops, you’re laughing.

    • Dragao1010 AKA: Brian says:

      3 in one match? not bad, gonna have to let two grunts live and drive around on the mongoose till the banshees come lol

    • Paul says:

      Sniper Attack on Installation 04 – 5 Banshees, very easy. I dashed to the opposite end of the map from where you spawn and jetpacked on top of a rock – no-one came near me for a while and was able to pick off the banshees as they came in from over the cliff and headed towards the sea.

      No rain either so hopefully a guaranteed 5 each time.

  10. chriscray says:

    My son just told me on grifball, I should bump up my control sensiivity. He says that’s why I get schooled in grifball. Is this true? Also, how does that affect trigger pull? It’s like the other day when peeps who played for a long time realized they learned new sh!t!

    Help!

    Also, hit me up for challenges, I’m going now. GT is chriscray

    • I usually do bump my sensitivity up in Grifball. I normally play on 3-4, but I kick it up to around 6 for GB!

      • ChrisStrawhat says:

        I personally don’t like the idea of putting up sensitivity for different playlists, even for GB. I’ve only played Halo online (or any game on Xbox online for that matter) for a few months, so I guess I have some catching up to do with getting used to the controller and stick maneuvering – but I’ve finally decided (after much play on 4 and 5) that 3 is my sensitivity. So I try to hardcore 3 now, to really get used to it. In every game mode, so not to confuse the brain 😛
        The only thing I’m really lacking right now is Sniper aim, which I guess is the toughest one – but I hope by playing on the same sense at all times helps you somewhat in that too.

        And yes, 5 is no doubt fast enough to turn around, even in grifball, and 4 is not far behind. 3 feels too slow a lot of times, but as long as you usually know where the enemies are you don’t have to do 180’s too often, and that speed is more than enough.

        Higher sens does not affect trigger pulls at all. If you’re getting schooled from enemies face to face, then it is most likely your connection or your timing with the hammer you need to work on. If you feel you can’t turn around fast enough to the sides for approaching enemies – then you might want to bump up the sens, to be able to keep up in the chaos.
        As I said above, I play on 3 even in grifball and I never have any problems with turning around. Always know where the 4 enemies are, and use your radar alot to spot enemies closing in from behind, and you should be set there, whatever sens u play on.

  11. MJOLNIR Tester says:

    Flat Tire – Kill 10 enemy vehicles in Firefight Matchmaking – 2343 cR

    Firefight Doubles (2nd controller or 2nd player)
    Firefight Arcade (infinite lives and ammo)
    Holdout
    Active Camo loadout (sniper rifle and DMR)

    4 or 5 Banshees will appear per game. The sniper rifle takes them out easily. I usually stay on the platform (up several flights of stairs) next to the large building. It keeps you from being outflanked because there is only one approach. I will usually trade the DMR for a fuel rod gun, plasma rifle, or plasma repeater if one is dropped.

    • Marshy 40 says:

      Holdout on FF Score Attack: Sniper Attack also works fine. Use the jetpack loadout, and after killing most of the grunts (leave some alive; you know your good when your score is around 1200), fly to the roof where the Onager cannon was in the campaign. Then you can take out the 5 banshees you should get (if you’re quick enough about killing the grunts) in the game. Sometimes a grunt will man the turret and that gets you an extra vehicle kill. Sovgaz showed a video a while back on this blog on how to do this, although I find it easier to hop on the the white “post box” pillar, and then use that to boost to the top.

  12. Dan says:

    Is a virtue is just like that weekly challenge from april called Not Lough, High. Everyone was saying LNOS or New Alexandria. When I did the daily challenge of getting 60k pts with 3 deaths or less, I loaded up a legendary game of ONI with alot of skulls on, not the tilt skull. I used the locator to blow up 1 wraith, and clear the area of the elite ultra and grunts. Then took out the gunner on the second wraith, boarded it got the elite out, then drove over to the AA gun. after the area is cleared you just fire the wraith at the never ending supply of phantoms, assuming that you did not activate the gun like kat constantly reminds you to. I don’t remember which skulls I had on, I’m pretty sure it was Tstorm, Grunt Bday, Iwbyd, catch, tough luck, cloud, famine, cowbell. Each phantom was worth 7200 points so it was pretty quick. When I stopped scoring and continued the level, my final point total was 146000 give or take.

Leave a Reply

