2nd December – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

I remembered last night that I was going to link to songs on my Christmas playlist in the run up to the 25th. I don’t know how I forgot, between giving advent calendars to my team at work, putting out my Christmas Gizmo, Vader and Robot Snowmen, and wearing my new reindeer cufflinks it was very seasonal!

So today you get two. The first song I always go to is Fall Out Boy’s cover of ‘What’s This’ from the Nightmare Before Christmas soundtrack. It’s a great warm up to Christmas, to me the song really sums up the good things of Christmas that makes it a fun happy time. I much prefer this version that the Danny Elfman version, partially because I’ve never been a huge fan of NBC (although it was great seeing it in a cinema at Christmas, in 3D, a few years back).

Song two is the Bowling For Soup cover of The Ramone’s ‘Merry Christmas (I Don’t Want To Fight Tonight)’. I’ll always take this over something like Fairytale of New York, and I love the Ramones finding a way to do their own kind of Christmas song. Like some other bands though, Ramones songs often sound better when they’re covered by other bands to me. Not sure why, I love the tunes, just prefer the increased production values other people bring to them. Personal taste I guess.

Anyway, more of that tomorrow. For  today, the challenges are:

  1. Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 400 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 4000 cR
  2. Close Talking – Earn 40 kills with close quarters combat in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2600 cR
  3. Fourth Horseman – Earn 4 multikills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 3500 cR
  4. Double Double – Earn 2 Double Kills in the same match in Multiplayer Matchmaking – 2000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 400 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 4000 cR

Best options for this specifically:

  • Forge – make a game with players spawning in one spot and camp it
  • Firefight – Download my Firefight Invincible game type on my File Share, lots of Elites, lots of medals, lots of kills (plus ‘cheevos if you’ve not done the Firefight ones)
  • ONI: Sword Base – Use the Target Designator trick (run past everyone at the beginning, grab it, turn around, fire, wait for the killing to stop and restart the checkpoint)
  • Package – There are points where you can get a checkpoint just before a number of Grunts appear in the final battle, so you can gun them down and restart

Close Talking – Earn 40 kills with close quarters combat in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2600 cR

Close Quarters Combat is melee, beat down, assassination, Sword, Hammer, Golf Club and Shotgun. It’s actually my normal way of playing to shoot then melee so it should be pretty quick. Jump into Grifball and have some fun bludgeoning the other team to rack up these kills, or Infection with everything bar the pistol. Halo Ball Extreme can be good for this, but for every HBX with a high kill volume you might get plain old HB which has a 0 kill volume.

Fourth Horseman – Earn 4 multikills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 3500 cR

There are so many options for multikills – Team SWAT and Grifball are probably the best in my opinion. But any mode you’re good at will work – Squad Slayer because people cluster in it. Juggernaut (if you can get it) is really good for it. Don’t forget that multikills stack, so 4 kills in a few seconds counts as the double, triple and over kill, and you’re almost there!

Double Double – Earn 2 Double Kills in the same match in Multiplayer Matchmaking – 2000 cR

Double Kills are fairly easy to pick up,in Grifball especially. Multi Team will usually see you get 3 or 4, as you naturally get more people, closer together. Grenades and Heavy Weapons are your friend here. Really it’s whatever game you play well in.

9 Responses to 2nd December – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. My Little Housing Blog says:

    Shootin’ and Lootin’ will take me to Luitenat Colonel of second grande today.

    • Congrats! I’m suprised at the kill volume for today, usually it’s 150 or 200. Obviously the multi-kill ones are supposed to get us through the weekly, but I still have 109 to go…looks like multi-team tonight, if anyone wants to join be my guest

      GT: MisguidedDrake4

  2. Anybody know why they put the new anniversary firefight in score attack but didn’t add it to the Reach firefight arcade? It would have been so much cooler to have it come up in rotation rather than off by itself. I’m hoping they will add it later so all firefights will be together.

  3. Dragao1010 AKA: Brian says:

    hurray for easy dailies! Would finish H:CEA legendary to 1000/1000 but for some dumb reason i wanna do that with all the Halo’s But in order. So H3, Wars, H2 PC maybe, ODST, Weach and then finally H:CEA. I swear achievments are a curse to perfectionists when it comes to gaming, but at the same time, it can be really fun!

  4. xXMaster SoulXx says:

    Does anyone know if on Skyrim when you level up so do the enemies? On Oblivion it was that way and thats the only thing i didn’t like about the game. There is no point really in leveling up…so the sooner you beat the game the easier it is! I just like it when the enemies don’t level up with you. If you walk into a area say where the enemy is a level 50 and your still a level 5 obviously your gonna get ownd and thats how it should be until you reach that rank yourself! but in Oblivion if your level 50 all other enemies that use to be easy to kill are now alot stronger…

    • ChrisStrawhat says:

      I actually have Skyrim but my stupid computer crashes every 10 minutes into every time, something with the graphics card being old and… overheated. =(
      In the business of buying a new computer so I can play BF3, MW3, AssCreed Revelations, Skyrim and all that good stuff!
      YES me and my brother bought Xbox 360 only for the Halo games, of which we are huge fans. And I am more and more liking this FPS gaming with a controller instead of mouse+keyboard, and slowly but surely I am beasting more on Live 😀 (or I wish)
      But I still remain a PC nut :E
      BF3 and MW3 for PC – no brainer. No way I would buy that for Xbox 😀

  5. Paul says:

    Got the three MM in my first game of grifball and mopped up with Firefight Invincible – 40 minutes of pure fun! Thanks so much for that game type Matthew.

Leave a Reply

