6th December – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

The December Matchmaking update came out yesterday so you’ll start seeing lots of changes to the order, make up and structure of MM games. Plus the credit limit has been raised. Hopefully in a few hours someone will report here or on halo.xbox.com that they’ve hit the limit and what it is.

Today’s Christmas song of the day is Frosty the Snowman, as performed by Bowling for Soup. It’s not the most popular song over here, the Jackson 5 version being the most famous. After a few days building up and thinking of the sentimental fun of Christmas, this is the sort of song that gets you into it. We’ve had a bit of snow in the UK (mostly in the north as ever), so it really is starting to feel a lot like Christmas!

The challenges today are:

  1. One Spartan Army – Kill 100 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR
  2. The T.G. Opposition – Kill 40 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with the Shotgun – 1000 cR
  3. Like a Glove – Complete a Campaign mission on Heroic or harder with the Catch Skull on – 2500 cR
  4. T-Hug It Out – Kill 6 enemies with close quarters combat in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2400 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

One Spartan Army – Kill 100 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR

You get 120 Grunts in Gruntpocalypse, 125+ in 2x Score Attack, about 100 enemies in Score Attack and something like 330 in a Firefight Matchmaking game (although split between up to 4 people). There was a great comment a while ago (sorry I can’t remember who said it) that if you need to ‘top up’ your FF kills, jump into a game of Generator Defense or Crashsite and once you have your kills give up the defense.

The T.G. Opposition – Kill 40 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with the Shotgun – 1000 cR

The best way is 2X Score Attack on any map, particularly once the Brutes and Skirmishers turn up as they make real efforts to get to you. The Shotgun is one of the loadouts so you can use it for as long as you need, just let guys come to you rather than going into the fray.

Like a Glove – Complete a Campaign mission on Heroic or harder with the Catch Skull on – 2500 cR

No this isn’t a new challenge, we’ve had it once, 21st November 2010. I’m giving exactly the same advice as every optional Campaign mission challenge – run Nightfall, get this done in 10 minutes, tops. As a guide to Nightfall speed run I’ve picked this video off Youtube randomly, but there are hundreds like it. In fact we have further options and details on the time we did it in LASO on this Weekly Challenge page and comments. There are other levels you may be more familiar with, but honestly, you can do this in 5-6 minutes with minimal stress.

T-Hug It Out – Kill 6 enemies with close quarters combat in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2400 cR

Close Quarters is a kill using melee, assassination, Shotgun, Energy Sword, Hammer and Golf Club. Infection can be useful, as that’s all CQC. If only there was a game type where you only used hammers and swords though? I say Grifball, as that’s all CQC as well, and easy to get lots and lots of kills. For other mode options, Action Sack’s Halo Ball Extreme is great, and Infection is almost all CQC bar the Pistol. Maps like Sword Base, Countdown and Reflection give you the Sword, Powerhouse sometimes the Hammer and Asylum the Shotgun. I tend to melee a lot anyway so this should come in one game.

61 Responses to 6th December – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    Well… Scruff you still make me laugh…
    And I’m wearing shoes.
    And Reach got broken.
    I was going to play it today.
    But I found the disc in two halves.
    But it’s all good because I have ACR.
    Oh my, the only original person I’m seeing on RDC is Scruff.
    Lots of new peoples.
    Good job Matthew.
    Merry Christmas.
    🙂

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Braythor was here the other day. We’re all still around; most of us just don’t post that much because there isn’t really that much to say about the daily challenges anymore. We all know how to do them, so all we’d be really posting is “Yes I can do these. The End” 🙂

      • Braythor says:

        Yep, me me me! *waves arms frantically* I’m still here, every day, without fail, even if I don’t post, I still come along to see what the challenges are. And on a challenge related note, I’d like to see 343i change them to accommodate more commendations. I think CQ is the one most people max first in MM, so I don’t pay those challenges any attention. And FF challenges with the shotgun, yes it adds a few sprees, but why not have, say, precision weapon ones – do we see them? I know we have headshots/pistol etc, but I don’t remember ever seeing a precision weapon FF challenge, or an automatic one for that matter…Someone please correct me if I’m wrong here.

        Would’t mind some new campaign style ones too. Complete a mission with x skull on is all well and good, but let’s face it, we all pretty much do a nightfall run for those.

        Maybe I’m just being too demanding…

      • Braythor says:

        Also, I believe it is exactly one year to the day since my very first post on RDC.

        HURRAY ME, CAN I HAVE A BIRTHDAY COOKIE MATTHEW? Pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeease. 🙂

      • Matthew Vose says:

        No cookie but something better, because I’m now officially in a Christmas place since I found Tunis Cake in M&S, so…

        http://www.epicureansanswer.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/07/MS-tunis-cake-slice.jpg

      • TheOneinYellow says:

        Braythor & Scruff WIN!

        Just like Braythor, I too visit this website as a daily part of my ‘Websites for the Day’, and just like Scruff, I hardly post for the reasons given by him.

        We still ♥ you Matthew!!! ^_^

      • xXMaster SoulXx says:

        We’ve all grown up!

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        I’m not that new, either. There are a lot of new people, though. Like Scruff said, there’s not that much reason to post. We all know how to do the challenges. Some new ones would be better, or more options with the Custom Challenges.

      • I’m still here! 😀

        Even if I don’t post, this site is among my list of sites I open when I first start my computer in the morning

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Galahad, are you drunk?? 😀 And no you’re not the only original person, I’m here too. 😉

  2. Scruff 815 says:

    If you’re looking to get the Weekly done as quickly as possible, today is a very good day to do it. 1 speed-run of Nightfall, 1 quick game of Score Attack, and 1 game of Grifball and voila, 28,243 cR in a little over 20 minutes.

    • Steve Bergen says:

      That is what I was thinking as well. Since I do not have much time today to play Reach these are the perfect challenges for me. I also have been on here for a long time, I just don’t post that often. Thanks Matthew for the work you do here, keep it up!

      GT: stevebergen

  3. Your site is amazing! As a fairly new fps gamer its great having somewhere like here for advise, thank you! One of your commenters, braytour I think, said we dont get precision weapon ff challenges but isnt scoped just exactly that? cause we had that challenge on 24/11/11

    Anyways thanks again for all your help it is very appreciated! Awesomemum1971

  4. robert p says:

    I have never posted here but i do read the post each day..love the site! i did a really dumb first time thing yesterday..i boosted the headhunter skull with guest account signed in! I admit it..it was cool…until i signed in later and found myself temporarily banned! I am both irritated with myself and 343i..anyone have any idea how long a first time offense last? I don’t make excuses for what i did..can’t cry over spilled milk..it just drives me crazy not to earn credits for playing!
    On a positive note, maybe this will force me to take a much needed break from halo..:-)

    • Matthew Vose says:

      I think it’s 24 hours, but someone else will know better I thinks.

      Welcome btw!

      • xXMaster SoulXx says:

        yes Matthew is correct!

      • robert p says:

        Thanks for the welcome and the encouraging 24 hours! I have a library of other games..even when i get new games, i take a break to play halo and end up not going back….it’s really just sick..:-P

      • ChrisStrawhat says:

        First time I idled too much in FF I got 48 hours. Second time I got 1 week. Now I’m really careful , don’t wanna get that perm-ban :E
        Good luck

      • Scruff 815 says:

        You go AFK in FF? It’s a good job you’re not on my friends list because otherwise I’d remove you for that! 😉

      • ChrisStrawhat says:

        well aren’t you the charmer

    • DaRoflBandit says:

      Yes, the credit ban first offense lasts a day. BUT BEWARE, IF YOU PRETTY MUCH DO ANYTHING BAD CREDIT RELATED AFTER THIS (literately ANYTHING, and it takes only one after this, THE SECOND OFFENCE WILL BE A 2 *WEEK* CREDIT BAN AND A
      *CREDIT RESET*.TRUST ME, THIS HAPPENED WHEN I WAS A GENERAL AND MADE ME QUIT FOR ALL SUMMER LONG. (Until I didn’t care anymore about me being a recruit again, and I just wanted to play reach. Still, it was pretty devastating to me.)

      • xXMaster SoulXx says:

        wow…that had to suck! are you back up to General now?

      • Dragao1010 AKA: Brian says:

        do you still keep the armor permutations that you bought or is it pretty much reset EVERYTHING 343 slap*

      • ChrisStrawhat says:

        Really? That did not happen to me. First time was 48 hours (2 days), second time *1* week – it happened when I was Field Marshall and was saving up for Inclement Weather, and I was still Field Marshall with the same amount of credits when that week was over 😛

        Maybe they got different punishes? As I said I idled too much in Firefight both times, if you did something different (like “glitching” the dailies like a lot of people do) then maybe you got punished accordingly? I d’no.

      • ChrisStrawhat says:

        Punishes? Punishments. Lol

      • Scruff 815 says:

        What this means is:

        “If you’re a dirty cheater, you will pay for it”.

        No-one has been rank reset (and remained that way) for innocent reasons.

      • ChrisStrawhat says:

        Not really sure if you’re jabbing at me or not, Scruff.
        I admit idling in FF is dirty, “exploiting” the gametype. Cheating? No.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Prodding lightly with a stick is what I am doing.

        Although if you go AFK in multiplayer games (i.e. FF Arcade), you are the bane of the Reach community. I *hate* people who AFK in FF. Agh.

      • DaRoflBandit says:

        And yes, E V E R Y T H I N G credit related was reset, including armor. Now, I am a Field Marshall, pushing for Hero, and Inclement Weather. I don’t really remember what I was banned for, but it was part of a huge sweep over Reach back in June, credit banning and reseting a lot of people, and quite a bit of them wanted a reason for the ban and their history looked into by Bungie. I posted there, but i never found a reply to my request. (There was like 400 pages of comments. This was huge.)

      • ChrisStrawhat says:

        I couldn’t care less for people afkin in arcade, I personally am there to get kills anyways. More afkers mean more cR for me! 😀
        People afking in MM on the other hand… Afking and/or dropping out in the first half of the game. I hate *those* people! MM games can be ruined, IMO FF games can not =( Save for lag…

  5. Zidane says:

    Any news on the new credit cap? Rumours ir facts?

    • Frenchy58 says:

      Waypoint, Bungie site & all of my smartphone Reach apps stopped tabulating CRs @ 120k.
      The game counter kept on rolling right past 120k.
      I decided to not risk losing a lot of CRs so I stopped play @ 133k.

  6. ChrisStrawhat says:

    Man I just realized I’m not even halfway to Inheritor…
    I am an Eclipse and pushing for Nova, I’ve been thinking like “yeah after Nova it’s just the 3 coolest ranks left! im gonna be inheritor in no time!”.
    Then I googled the Reach ranks and found out at Eclipse you’ve earned 9 000 000 cR total. At Inheritor you have earned 20 000 000 cR. DOHH!!!
    So the last 4 ranks require as much cR as all of the previous ones? Jeeesus.
    Maybe I’m not gonna be Inheritor until Halo 4 comes out after all :E Or at least till next summer…

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Yes, but remember that you earn more credits per game for each promotion you earn. So as a Nova you’re going to earn more credits per game than you do now. Plus there’s custom challenges now, which, if you play a lot of Halo, can easily net you an extra 30,000 cR per day.

      • ChrisStrawhat says:

        Yeah you earn more cR, still long way to go =P
        And IMO I liked the customs *way* more when they first came out. That Headshots-Medals combo was awesome. You could easily get 25k in a couple of games, not it feels like everything has been nerfed.
        Hopefully I can max out the new cap now when I’m finally off work for the holidays to get things going

      • Scruff 815 says:

        As far as I’m aware you can do medals and kills OR headshots. So you could still do headshots + medals, as long as you don’t do kills. I *think*. Either way, you can still get a load more credits than you used to be able to get 🙂

      • ChrisStrawhat says:

        Nope both in MM and in FF they have sort of limited the payout, by having you choose either Headshots or Medals, which were by far the most paying challenges. Kills you can have regardless of what your other challenges are (unless you already have “kills of enemy type xxx” in FF, lol).

        Last time i checked the medals one in MM was worth just as much as kills in MM with the same amount =( Nerfed like crazy? I remember it being twice as much for medals or something. Lol.
        But yeah Customs is better than not having any customs.

        Not gonna use ’em when I try the new cap on saturday though, wanna see exactly when the message pops up too 😀

        Now put that stick away would you, it’s making me nervous lol

  7. 'Cos says:

    Just a note on the cR daily cap…

    My numbers aren’t making any sense to me, but it appears the daily cap has yet to be raised. I have completed some personal challenges for cR, so i won’t get the “online credit limit reached” notice, but my cR stopped accumulating BEFORE my bank went up 120k. So, am i to believe they lowered the credit cap?

    All i’m getting out of this is that the daily limit has not been modified as of yet. This stinks for me, and for us all. Soon hopefully…

    And Chris Strawhat – Keep going, sir! It isn’t that bad. I have played with/against you a few times (whether you knew it on not!) and i can tell you honestly that you are good enough to earn those credits honestly and quickly enough to get your inheritor rank. If you need/want to party up…let me know. I know less and less players are on Reach these days…

    Good luck to all, and damn, i do hope they raise the cR limit here soon. Anyone else have different results?

    – seventh dawg

    • ChrisStrawhat says:

      Really? We’ve played several times? You recognized my tag? =P
      Actually… now that you mention it I think I’ve seen 7th dawg sometime? Hmm.
      Thanks for the kind words, good sir.
      Yeah I’d like that very much 😀
      I don’t have a mic though, and I consider myself a fat noob at Halo and all Xbox-related stuff, still :E Hope I’m beasting by the time Halo 4 comes out lol =P

      • ChrisStrawhat says:

        As soon as I get some time off from work, maybe on Saturday, I’m gonna try the cr*p outta that new limit =P
        Guess a lot of people is gonna get there before me though =(
        Here’s to hoping they’ve raised it all the way up to 240k! ❤

    • Frenchy says:

      Waypoint, Bungie site & all of my smartphone Reach apps stopped tabulating CRs @ 120k.
      The game counter kept on rolling right past 120k.
      I decided to not risk losing a lot of CRs so I stopped play @ 133k.

  8. Locklear66 says:

    Iv been a long time reader but I rarely post because everything I could say somebody else already has nevertheless its the best site ever it helped me alot when I first started playen…..THANKS GUYS!!!!!!

  9. Quillian86 says:

    I did the mission “New Alexandria” with on Heroic with the Catch skull on, and for some reason, it didn’t work. 😦 Anyone got any ideas as to why?

    • Dogmeat says:

      You completed it on Normal difficulty rather than on Heroic. But you probably don’t care since you did a different level (Nightfall) with the correct difficulty setting immediately afterwards.

      • Quillian86 says:

        True, I may have accidentally forgot to change the difficulity first…

        *blinks*

        …Hey, wait just a pistol-whippin’ minute, how the heck would you know which missions I played with what difficulty!?

  10. Dragao1010 AKA: Brian says:

    If anyone figures out the new daily cap, lets me know!

    • Santa_ok_not_really says:

      Looks like the cap is still 120K. But, the different is, there is no longer a message displayed when you reach the limit. All your credits for the game are shown, your total credits to not increase.

      I would post this on Halo Waypoint, BUT, I am now fed up with that forum. It’s becoming rather Bungie-ish in that a couple of people, maybe they are buds with BS Angel, take it upon themselves to basically flame/complain/preach to/set straight, and generally be b*tchy to ANYONE that dares cross their lines of good manners/behavior/forum endless “rules”…namely her names starts with a “S”, and ends in a “doodle”. I mean chill out on there. Just so tiresome, and I thought BS Angel was the big cheese there, not S…..doodle! geez

      finished rant.

      So ya, credit cap is confirmed at 120K.

      BTW. Regarding AFK’ing.. when you go into a game, and one player wants to kill everything in sight, and other (low ranked) players don’t have a chance at anything, I’ll stand and watch, and let them have their glory. That may make me the bane of Reach, but the dominating player in that game, will ensure the game gets through all its rounds.

      About this site, it’s nice. I never see someone reminded all the time about rules rules rules, or the CONSTANT reference to cookies……….ugh!!

      PS. Bowling for Soup…awesome!

      • ChrisStrawhat says:

        Actually some time ago I confirmed that if you use Custom challenges to get cR, the message will not pop up when you reach 120k. The cR you get from customs do not “count” towards getting the message, they do however count towards your total credit – meaning it still stops at 120k even if the message do not pop up yet.
        So I don’t think they’ve removed the message completely, you probably used customs like everyone else… =)

      • Matthew Vose says:

        I think I’ll be linking to one or two more BFS Christmas songs before the 25th! 😀

    • thegoatboy says:

      I can also confirm the 120k limit

      -Started the day with 639,301.
      -Played some custom challenges and did the weekly, earned 135,881
      -Showed 775,182

      I thought I would play some FF to get up to 140,000 for the day, never received an over the cR limit warning. After the games I checked my cR… it reset to 759,301 😦

  11. l0 Dolla Bagel says:

    The new credit cap is 140,000. (:

    • ChrisStrawhat says:

      140k? Rly? 100% confirmation?
      Still gonna try it out at saturday for myself, but…. Wow. That’s disappointing. I hoped it would go 180-200 at least =( What am i gonna do with those extra 20k, lol?

  12. dodoweirdo says:

    First of all, I LOVE this site, go to it all the time :D. Secondly, I didnt realize that there was such a large amount of people that also like playing FF! 🙂

  13. JustHawkeye says:

    Hehehe I am still here too, just don’t have much to say except “hi Matthew! !”. 😀

Leave a Reply

