7th December – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Still no news on the new credit cap, although a few rumblings on the forums that it hasn’t changed. I’ll keep an eye out.

Christmas song of the day is Richard Cheese’s ‘Christmas in Las Vegas’. I love Richard Cheese, his covers and style are excellent, and his few original songs are just wonderful. This is one of them, and is so much fun with rich imagery.

As a treat, you also get a link to his cover of ‘Last Christmas’ by Wham. Give it a listen, it perfectly expresses my feelings on that ‘song’.

Today’s challenges are:

  1. Gunslinger – Kill 150 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 5500 cR
  2. Support Structure – Earn 30 assists in Firefight Matchmaking – 2250 cR
  3. Foggy Notion – Complete a Campaign mission on Heroic with Cloud and Famine on – 1500 cR
  4. This is My Rifle… – Earn 100 kills with precision weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1500 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Gunslinger – Kill 150 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 5500 cR

Grifball as ever for high kill volumes. You can get 30, 40, 50 and more kills in a good game when you have your timing and eye in with the hammer. If you’re going for the last challenge then perhaps work in something like Team SWAT until you have that then finish this off in your favourite game type.

Support Structure – Earn 30 assists in Firefight Matchmaking – 2250 cR

Assists are slightly harder on Firefight I think (you have to deal 40% damage and someone else kills them within 4 seconds). My recommendation is normally to play Courtyard, as you tend to stick together in the entrance to the spawn room so you’re more likely to help assist and get assists from your team mates, whereas you spread out on other maps. We have FF Doubles that will be really good for this – one of you arms the Plasma Pistol to over load, the other takes out the enemy. Particularly the Brutes and Elites are easiest to get this on, and communicate with your team that you’re doing this so they can get the kills and you get the assists.

Foggy Notion – Complete a Campaign mission on Heroic with Cloud and Famine on – 1500 cR

I’m giving exactly the same advice as every optional Campaign mission challenge – run Nightfall, get this done in 10 minutes, tops. As a guide to Nightfall speed run I’ve picked this video off Youtube randomly, but there are hundreds like it. In fact we have further options and details on the time we did it in LASO on this Weekly Challenge page and comments. There are other levels you may be more familiar with, but honestly, you can do this in 5-6 minutes with minimal stress.

This is My Rifle… – Earn 100 kills with precision weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1500 cR

Always the way that when the kill volume is increased the credit return isn’t. Oh well. Precision weapons are the DMR, Sniper Rifle, Focus Beam and Needle Rifle. Team SWAT will do you well here. Unless you use melee or Pistol every kill will be a precision weapon kill, so play it a few times, try and get a good team who will cover your back (and you theirs), and just do this over a few games.

27 Responses to 7th December – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. kyle says:

    Wow! 150 kills in multiplayer matchaking. well i have gotton 70 from spawn killing in grifball before but does anyone else think that most of the daily’s and weeklys have been grifball its like all i have been playing? Well thanks anyway i check everyday keep up the good work!

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      Good luck trying to get 150 *precision* weapon kills in Grifball. 😉

      • DaRoflBandit says:

        What about the energy sword? It uses precision to get kills. WHY DOESN’T IT COUNT TOWARD THE CHALLENGE!?!?!?!? (sadface)

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        Try it. Maybe they do count. Maybe if you hit someone just right, you can get it to count as a headshot. 😉

      • DaRoflBandit says:

        Lol, I was joking. 😛

  2. yh says:

    This is 343i’s way of punishing people who didn’t bother with the weekly yesterday and day before lol.

  3. xXMaster SoulXx says:

    *ATTENTION* I’ve been told on Xbox Live that the “CREDIT CAP CHANGE” was going to be in effect for the 7th…which is today! 🙂 we shall see! AND that it has been rumored that the cap will be 343,000!!!!!!!!

  4. Locklear66 says:

    Well between work and my wife I don’t get to play much but today I drive to the ocean that means I get to spend my time in a motel playen halo….if any one wants to join me I should be on around 5:00 central time gt is Locklear66

    • Locklear66 says:

      Il play with anyone especially the new halo players to help them out just send me a friend request

  5. J.D@wg says:

    Whats up guys? Anyway, has any of yalls Xbox dashboards change? Or am I completely off on the date?

    • Dragao1010 AKA: Brian says:

      update was for everyone! And i must say, i thought i’d be disappointed with it due to it looking similar to windows phone 7, but its actually pretty slick and a lot of little improvements here and there and plus the dashboard loads quicker and what not, so all and all, its very nice!

      • JustHawkeye says:

        The kinect controls are great for the new dashboard too.

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        I haven’t checked today, but it was supposed to be yesterday, but it never happened for me. I heard they had trouble getting it out, so they delayed it a bit. I’ll check later and see if I’m able to download it yet.

  6. thegoatboy says:

    FYI – Waypoint is down “…for maintenance”

    • Locklear66 says:

      Well that sucks

      • ChrisStrawhat says:

        I almost never use waypoint. Like… what do you use it for? o.O
        I got some reach armor pieces from there. And I’ve heard you can watch RvB and stuff from there. What else do all of you do on there? :E

      • Locklear66 says:

        I mainly just watch ppl better than me and try and learn but there is also top fails and wins and torniment videos

      • ChrisStrawhat says:

        So how do you watch better people? I would like… need, to do that =P Is it like their file share or what?

      • Locklear66 says:

        Yea sometimes it’s by file share but the MLG ppl r really good and they have some video on them games

  7. Quillian86 says:

    Actually, I know of one way to get plenty of Assists: Drive around in the Rockethog (or other vehicle) in places like Unearthed, Beachhead or Installation 04, and have someone else do the shooting. Anyone want to do that with me? Please let me know! (GT: Quillian86)

  8. JustHawkeye says:

    Vechicle assists don’t count in firefight.

    • Quillian86 says:

      Er, right, sorry, my mistake about vehicle assists. (So why the heck don’t they?)

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Vehicle assists – in Firefight, Matchmaking AND Campaign – count as a Wheelman medal, rather than an Assist.

        I know it’s technically an assist, but it doesn’t count as an assist across any game type unfortunately.

  9. Frenchy58 says:

    Bizarre CR shenanigans today. I played 1 campaign, 6 swat/slayer & 4 FF. A friend joined me on FF Doubles which he quit early, allowing me to complete Doubles solo. ***Fireworks*** After that game which netted 37000 plus CRs, the system then issued DCL (daily credit limit) which computed to 237617 CRs. I had only completed the campaign daily challenge.
    343 has some SERIOUS debugging to perform on CR computation.
    BTW, will someone please explain the logic behind the DCL. Last I checked I purchased the game, subscribed to Xbox Live and pay dearly for Internet access. Some nerve telling me how much I can play the game.

    • crazybydefault says:

      You can keep playing after you hit the credit limit! I do it all the time! 😛

      You just won’t earn any credits at the end of matches. And no, you will not get banned for doing so.

  10. Ever since I got screwed out of a weekly challenge’s payout a few weeks ago, I’ve been keeping track of my daily cR in addition to my Bungie/343-time cR. From local midnight until now, I hit the cR cap which I still show as exactly 120,000 cR.

Leave a Reply

