8th December – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

So the new Xbox dashboard… I love it. Mostly because of all the voice control via Kinect. I’ve said it for most of the year that voice control is the best feature of Kinect and it’s especially true now. Anyone else had much chance to play with it and got any opinions?

Christmas song of the day is Let It Snow, performed by Twisted Sister. Given the weather in the UK at the moment this is almost apposite. There’s been some snow in the north, and now gale force winds everywhere with rain and general coldness. The lyrics have the cosiness you get over this time of year that I’ve talked about before, and the song also brings back memories of watching Die Hard, one of the staple Christmas films around here.

Today’s challenges are:

  1. One Spartan Army – Kill 100 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR
  2. J.H. Death Machine – Kill 40 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with the Grenade Launcher – 2000 cR
  3. A Simple Spree – Earn any spree in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR
  4. The House of Blue Leaves – Kill 111 enemies in a single Firefight Matchmaking game on Heroic – 2000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

One Spartan Army – Kill 100 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR

You get 120 Grunts in Gruntpocalypse, 125+ in 2x Score Attack, about 100 enemies in Score Attack and something like 330 in a Firefight Matchmaking game (although split between up to 4 people). There was a great comment a while ago (sorry I can’t remember who said it) that if you need to ‘top up’ your FF kills, jump into a game of Generator Defense or Crashsite and once you have your kills give up the defense.

J.H. Death Machine – Kill 40 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with the Grenade Launcher – 2000 cR

Score Attack for this one. One of the loadouts is the Grenade Launcher, so grab that and go nuts. The waves are Grunts, Jackals, Brutes, Skirmishers and finally Elites.

A Simple Spree – Earn any spree in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR

Sprees cover a lot of options, 5 kills with Shotguns, Sniper Rifle, Plasma Grenade sticks, Swords… and so on. Frankly, 10 kills with anything gets you a spree, so just do that and you’ve got a very easy 2000 credits, perhaps a quick visit to Crashsite/Generator Defence just to do it in a minute or two.

The House of Blue Leaves – Kill 111 enemies in a single Firefight Matchmaking game on Heroic – 2000 cR

Again something like Gruntpocalypse or 2x Score Attack will get you through this easily, or maybe a Firefight Doubles game of Arcadefight.

So… 2x Score Attack and stick to the Grenade Launcher and you should get them all in one game.

19 Responses to 8th December – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Braythor says:

    I love the new dashboard, mind you I HATED the last one (the one before that was much better). The beacons are annoying though… Can’t wait for 4OD and BBC iPlayer so I can stop having to plug my laptop into my tv/monitor.

    Got all the challenges in one game of 2X SA today, which was nice. I think I’m getting the hang of actually killing with the grenade launcher.

    Also, I like that this site is so well organised and that Matthew never feels the need to do things like merge threads. There’s this moron on another Halo related site who does things like that and it’s so annoying, I mean why bother? Why not just leave things as they are instead of interfering without even asking people’s opinions? I might have to find him on Reach and teabag the hell outta him.

    • Braythor says:

      Everyone else should teabag him too, I think his GTs something like Spaff 815…

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Merge things? Not easy to do with blog posts. And pretty simple to organise with one post a day 🙂

      Hope you’re enjoying the Christmas songs too.

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      Does this count as behind his back? 😉 Also, I’ve heard people found the beacons really annoying, so I just didn’t bother to set one.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      My previous comment was caught in the overly sensitive WordPress swear word filter, so let me rephrase it…

      With your terribly amusing comments I think you just ‘turned’ me. Civil Partnership me at once.

  2. dodoweirdo says:

    For J.H Death Machine I would recommend Holdout as the room you first spawn in is great for camping with the grenade launcher. All you have to do is go to the entrance, look directly up, shoot a grenade and hold it so you can detonate it anytime you want. Then wait for them to come in and blow them up 🙂

    • PEM1989 says:

      I’ve made over 9300 kills with the grenade launcher only to learn from the comment above, that you can control the detonation time.

      • dodoweirdo says:

        hahaha yeah I only realized that when I first used to mounted one on the Falcon in Tip of the Spear. I remember thinking to myself “Hey if you can control the detonation time of the mounted grenade launcher on Falcons, why cant you do the same with the grenade launcher you carry around?” Then I tested it and I was like 0.o OMG YOU CAN!

      • Lord Kinbote says:

        Wow. TOTALLY didn’t realize this, for either the handheld or Falcon.

  3. T1M3C0NSUM3R says:

    All the dailies and the weekly in one game of 2x Score Attack. That’s actually really depressing.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Meh… Thursdays are usually ‘quick finish’ days as far as the challenges go, and to be honest it’s nice to have days like this sometimes for people who haven’t got the time to “win 50 games in a week” or whatever 🙂

  4. MomOnGames says:

    Firefight Thursday. Things around here are pretty busy with kids and the holidays, but I think even I can bang these out pretty quick

    And thanks for pointing out that Die Hard is a Christmas movie. Here are my faves:

    http://goofymonkeys.blogspot.com/2011/11/christmas-movies.html

    Yippie-ki-yay….

  5. ChrisStrawhat says:

    1 game of FF Arcade on Beachhead: all the 4 dailies, and thereby the Weekly as well. Lol.
    I got some nice sniper kills on Anniversary Slayer after that too, finally getting the hang of it.

    OT: How does that cloud thing work? Am i supposed to go into settings->memory storage and transfer everything over to Cloud? Or could I just choose “Save location: Cloud” everytime the game asks me on startup? Total Xbox noob over here <—-

    • Matthew Vose says:

      You can transfer (and save) to cloud anything you might want to access from another Xbox. You’ve only got something like 511MB of space so best not to transfer everything. I’ve gone for Rock Band type things since we do play it at various places and I know I’ve got everything unlocked. I might also do some of the stuff I play in local co-op too.

  6. Flacksguy says:

    Ah….Twisted Sister. Long Island’s own.
    Ha Ha Ha,
    Growing up on L.I. In the 80’s, it was almost a Requirement to follow Twisted Sister.

    I have yet to do the Weekly also, so I going to try to do it all in one game as well. Probably on Corvette, where I can hide in those tunnels.
    …..That would make a really cool Acheivement

  7. Scruff 815 says:

    Yay the new dash! Boo the stupid beacons! That is all.

  8. Zidane says:

    Any clearer on credit cap guys?

  9. Lord Kinbote says:

    I like the new dashboard a lot also. Don’t have Kinect and didn’t play around with it a lot today, but I do prefer it to the previous one. Man, today’s challenges were awesomely easy. 1 game of 2x Score Attack on Corvette and POOM! knocked out all 5 challenges. 1 game, 15 mins, sorted.

  10. crow says:

    Got the challenges fairly easily on various ff maps. Probably did like 2 or 3 games.

    As for the dash update, I’m not fan, but let it be known that I don’t own a kinect. Also I absolutely loathe the netflix update for getting rid of the party function.

Leave a Reply

