9th December – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Christmas song of the day is Lonely This Christmas, performed by Mud. Yes this might be me being a little mopey whilst ill, but Christmas this year is going to be very strange for me having gotten divorced mid 2011. I won’t be alone, but this is still an incredibly emotive song, Christmas is definitely one of those times where it’s great being in a relationship and sharing it with someone.

Anyway, today’s challenges are:

  1. Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 400 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 4000 cR
  2. Not as Clumsy or Random… – Earn 5 kills with precision weapons in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000 cR
  3. Freelancing – Earn at least 23 kills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 10,000 cR
  4. Who’s the Big Winner? – Win 12 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 10,000 cR

Huge credit returns but harder to get them, a complete switch from yesterday.

Commentary follows after the break…

Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 400 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 4000 cR

Best options for this specifically:

  • Forge – make a game with players spawning in one spot and camp it
  • Firefight – Download my Firefight Invincible game type on my File Share, lots of Elites, lots of medals, lots of kills (plus ‘cheevos if you’ve not done the Firefight ones)
  • ONI: Sword Base – Use the Target Designator trick (run past everyone at the beginning, grab it, turn around, fire, wait for the killing to stop and restart the checkpoint)
  • Package – There are points where you can get a checkpoint just before a number of Grunts appear in the final battle, so you can gun them down and restart

Not as Clumsy or Random… – Earn 5 kills with precision weapons in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000 cR

Jump into a Team SWAT match, take out some guys and it’s an easy top up of 2000 credits. Precision weapons are the DMR, Focus Rifle, Needle Rifle and Sniper Rifle.

Freelancing – Earn at least 23 kills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 10,000 cR

Significant increase in credit return, it’s previously been 100 credits per kill, so much better return now. I know a few people will look at this and think it’s not a problem, but for us mere mortals this can be something of a challenge. If you’re good at Rumble Pit, where the total is 25 to win, you can get this. Other good options are Multi-Team Battle generally, and specifically the objective based games where kill volume is not the target, so you can keep taking guys down without the game ending. Particularly Crazy King and Oddball I’m thinking. Grifball’s also a good one at times, as is Invasion if you’re human and have a good group/defensible position.

Who’s the Big Winner? – Win 12 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 10,000 cR

This is just a little bit of a grind. Go for Team Slayer/SWAT/Snipers/Objective/Grifball/Action Sack game types so you only have two teams playing and a better chance of winning. I’d also recommend finding some guys you play well with and sticking with them. You’ll get lots of credits from the games and then a tasty tasty 10k bonus on winning your 12th. That’s all worth the gravy in my book.

16 Responses to 9th December – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Anthony says:

    Sorry to hear about your divorce, Matthew. That sucks. Keep the faith man!

  2. ChrisStrawhat says:

    Sorry to hear about the divorce, man.
    Aww two 10k cR challenges right up my alley TODAY all of days, the only day this week I won’t be playing. 😀

  3. Steve Bergen says:

    Yeah, sorry to hear about the divorce, just be strong.

    These challenges really suck if you only have an hour or two to play, good thing I have longer. The 12 wins will be hardest I think, unless you get a good team and stick with it.\

    GT: stevebergen

  4. Braythor says:

    Sorry to hear about that, Matthew. Xmas is indeed a great time to be in a relationship, not that I can really remember, been many years since I’ve experienced it. On a brighter note, I found out today I’ve got a job! This means that I will be having xmas this year (I was seriously considering not having it, as being broke, unemployed and single makes xmas the worst time of year. So I’ll still be broke, I’ll still be single, but I will have a job. Of course there’s a chance I might have to work over xmas, but either way, I’ll at least FEEL festive. So now I’ll catch up on the songs you’ve been posting, as I’ve not been listening to them previously due to the stated reasons.

    Right challenges. awesome cR haul. Rumble Pit is definitely the way to go for the 23 kills. It may take a couple of matches, BUT (and this is important) it doesn’t really matter if some people quit. I mention this because that’s exactly what happens when ‘win X games challenges’ come up – people quit if it looks like their team will lose. This infuriates me because it’s just so pathetic. It’s a TEAM game, if you don’t want to play as a team, then *£”($ off somewhere else. Anyway, sorry, but quitters are the bane of my Reach life.

    • ChrisStrawhat says:

      well am I missing something ovbious here or wouldn’t Grifball be the game to go with here? Easy getting 23 kills in one game. Too bad I can’t lay today though

    • ChrisStrawhat says:

      Agreed Quitters are the most annoying thing in the entire world! Doubly so if they are the host as well (which they always seem to be) but all rage quitters and quitters in general.

      • Braythor says:

        Yeah grifball’s a possibility, but if you’re in/against a team that’s going for the 12 wins challenge, 23 kills is going to be tough unless you’re in a party. Even so, I’d certainly put it as my second choice, but I don’t play it that often now I’ve maxed out the CQ commendation.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Nice one Bray, that’s terrific news. And in theory having a job means meeting people too which I’m sure will be good. I’m really pleased to hear your news, and hope you enjoy the season more because of it!!

  5. The new dashboard is really nice, takes some getting used to. What I don’t like is what they did to NetFlix, It’s nice an all but they took out some features that I used all the time and now it takes twice as long to load each show. The older shows are just a square box in the middle an they took out the stretch/full screen feature. Makes me wanta go kick one of Santa’s elves.

    • GamerGirl says:

      grifball is the way to go for the 23 kills, got it in one game.
      anyone want to party up for the wins challenge? gt: flowercanon

  6. Matt says:

    Got the 23 kills in one game of Grifball (had to betray my own Grif once to buy an extra few hammer swings; for some reason we needed 5 bomb plants to win even though the latest Halo Bulletin didn’t say anything about that); got the 5 precision weapon kills in one game of Anniversary BTB on Headlong (which I closed out with a rocket double kill against the Gauss Hog after I was getting picked apart by snipers/campers all game); did target locator on ONI to round up to 400 kills. No way am I going to try to win 12 games even though I’m 2 and 0 today; if I could put together a full Grifball team maybe I could get that done.

  7. Dogmeat says:

    Greetings, everyone! Complete a custom challenge before 11:59 pm PT and be rewarded with 34,300 cr next week sometime! It is part of 343i’s celebration today. 🙂

  8. 'Cos says:

    Thanks for the “heads up” on the custom challenge…challenge! 50 kills in grifball in 10 minutes = custom challenge completed. I got home at 11:25 pm. Completed the challenge 10 minutes before midnight. There were no specifications i noticed, so I hope this small of a custom will actually net me the cR next week!

    Two thoughts…
    1) With the Superjackpot @ 15k+, the dailies worth about 30k, the custom challenges we completed (not the reward yet), and the credits earned just in attempting to get 12 wins…i’m guessing the Daily Credit Cap DID get raised recently from 120k/daily. Anyone confirm this?

    2) I hope the Cap did get raised, because this might otherwise take some planning. All 343 said was we would recieve the 34,343 cR “sometime next week”. Could they be any more vague? What if i am to receive this ‘gift’ when i have already maxed out my credits for that day? How are we to plan out our credits when we have no clue as to when they are coming? For this reason, among others, i hope the daily credit cap has been raised…and quite significantly i might add!

    Thanks for hearing me out, and possibly it got you to realize this as well! Good luck to all…on and off the field of battle.

    – seventh dawg

Leave a Reply

