10th December – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Christmas song of the day is again not the jolliest (still ill, still feeling sorry for myself!), but for me it’s always included because of the artist – Roy Orbison’s ‘Pretty Paper’. Personally I consider Roy Orbison to be one of the greatest singers of all time, his range and ability to emote through his vocals is rarely equalled. Again the song is evocative of elements of Christmas, although he shies away from too much nicety by bringing in the person on the street who has nothing. If Christmas is the season of giving, spare a thought if not some change, a blanket or a sandwich for someone who’s in a worse position than any of us here.

Today’s challenges are:

  1. Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 3200 cR
  2. Now I Have A Machine Gun – Earn 60 kills with automatic weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1350 cR
  3. Light Fuse, Run Away – Kill 4 enemies with grenades in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 500 cR
  4. On Tilt – Complete a Campaign mission on Heroic or harder with the Tilt Skull on – 1750 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 3200 cR

You could do this in one game of Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or some of the other variants. 2X is good because you’re likely to get slightly more than 120 so it takes account of TKs from the Covvies.

Now I Have A Machine Gun – Earn 60 kills with automatic weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1350 cR

Your multiplayer automatic weapons are the Assault Rifle, Needler, Plasma Repeater and Plasma Rifle. I’d recommend Team Slayer in Elite Slayer, so that you can use the Needler to take guys out. Rumble Pit can be really helpful too running around blazing the AR, but it’s tempting to pick up other weapons.

Light Fuse, Run Away – Kill 4 enemies with grenades in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 500 cR

Again, instead of doubling the credit return it’s been halved. Good thing it’s really simple. Any good MP type helps here. Obviously Elite Slayer is good for Plasma Grenades, and I think Slayer Pro, or maybe Team Slayer, has a loadout with Plasma grenades too. This is with any grenade too, so just jump in your favourite game type that gives you grenades and start throwing grenades into firefights. Squad Slayer on Zealot can be excellent for this, because you get groups running around and some fairly long but tight corridors.

On Tilt – Complete a Campaign mission on Heroic or harder with the Tilt Skull on – 1750 cR

I’m giving exactly the same advice as every optional Campaign mission challenge – run Nightfall, get this done in 10 minutes, tops. As a guide to Nightfall speed run I’ve picked this video off Youtube randomly, but there are hundreds like it. In fact we have further options and details on the time we did it in LASO on this Weekly Challenge page and comments. There are other levels you may be more familiar with, but honestly, you can do this in 5-6 minutes with minimal stress.

8 Responses to 10th December – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Steve Bergen says:

    These do not look like they should Saturday challenges. Too easy. I guess a couple of games of MM, one campaign, and one FF then I should be done.

    GT: stevebergen

    • Steve Bergen says:

      Also, I noticed that I got my 34, 300 Cr bonus for creating and completing a custom challenge yesterday already. 64,000 more to go to Hero.

  2. My Little Housing Blog says:

    I did not really enjoy the campaign challenge for today. Hope tomorrow will bring a better one, or better ones.

  3. Danny Mojo says:

    The MM challenges aren’t even worth it really. Yesterday the two 10k challenges gave me hope that we were gonna get some more rewarding challenges. That idea is gone now. I suppose I’ll just be on about me business and whatnot.

  4. chriscray says:

    Ok, I usually don’t like changes, but the new interface is cool, EXCEPT I can not enter waypoint! Basically, I
    can’t play a game not on disc??? WTF!!

    • chriscray says:

      OK, I had to delete current v. Of waypoint, reinstall it , and it works now, damn microflacid!

    • chriscray says:

      How do we enter/ do/ complete a custom challenge?? I guess I’m full r- tard
      2 night

      • Scruff 815 says:

        halo.xbox.com > log in > hover over your gamertag > select challenges > have fun

Leave a Reply

