12th December – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Welcome to Monday. Christmas song of the day is the song that I reckon to be most responsible for keeping the term ‘sable’ in the English language. ‘Santa Baby’, as performed by Kylie Minogue. Generally a great song, and looking at the number of jokey tweets I see from women asking for Santa for guys they see on TV strikes a chord with them I think.

And I’ve linked Kylie singing it because getting to look at Kylie for a few minutes is time well spent in my book.

Today’s challenges are:

  1. Gunslinger – Kill 75 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2250 cR
  2. Return of the Mack – Kill 35 Elites in Campaign today on Normal or harder – 3000 cR
  3. Un, Deux, Trois – Win 3 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2900 cR
  4. Huck It, Luck It – Complete a Campaign mission on Heroic with Cloud, Tough Luck, and Catch on – 2000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Gunslinger – Kill 75 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2250 cR

Grifball as ever for high kill volumes. You can get 30, 40, 50 and more kills in a good game when you have your timing and eye in with the hammer. If you’re going for the last challenge then perhaps work in something like Team SWAT until you have that then finish this off in your favourite game type.

Return of the Mack – Kill 35 Elites in Campaign today on Normal or harder – 3000 cR

There are two good ways of getting this – ONI: Sword Base, where just playing through there are 30-40 I think, and it’s definitely worth using the target designator at the beginning on the first group (run hugging the right wall, grab the TD, either turn around and blast, then reset to last checkpoint, or try to get through the Wraiths, TD them then reset checkpoint). Or play Nightfall and try to get a checkpoint near the first Elite, then snipe or assassinate him, and again reset to last checkpoint. This is quicker but you get more kills and commendations on the ONI TD trick.

Un, Deux, Trois – Win 3 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2900 cR

If you play a Team Slayer/SWAT/Grifball/Snipers/Action Sack etc you’ll get this easier, since only two teams gives you a higher chance of winning than the 6 person multi team (for instance). Make sure you read this Weekly Challenge commentary for more hints on doing it quick.

Huck It, Luck It – Complete a Campaign mission on Heroic with Cloud, Tough Luck, and Catch on – 2000 cR

I’m giving exactly the same advice as every optional Campaign mission challenge – run Nightfall, get this done in 10 minutes, tops. As a guide to Nightfall speed run I’ve picked this video off Youtube randomly, but there are hundreds like it. In fact we have further options and details on the time we did it in LASO on this Weekly Challenge page and comments. There are other levels you may be more familiar with, but honestly, you can do this in 5-6 minutes with minimal stress.

If you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries it’s easy… you can follow on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

9 Responses to 12th December – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. My Little Housing Blog says:

    Today I will become lt col 3rd grade. Still not tired of doing only campaigns. Find myself doing Tip of the Spear most of the time, not sure why I like that level so much.

  2. Braythor says:

    Mmmm Kylie. I would ***** her ******* with ****** while ******* **** ***** feet. Ahem…

    Challenges are ok, I think my leaders commendation is about to go up to gold so that, combined with the weekly, makes the campaign ones more worthwhile.

  3. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    Ohai new achievements for Reach that I didn’t know about 😀

    • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

      speaking of which does anyone have the Dive Bomber achievement yet? I swear I had 2 Beatdowns with a Firebird medal yesterday and it still didn’t unlock the achievement. Since then I’ve been reading that you need to perform a beatdown from behind the enemy but NOT initiate an animated assassination. My apologies if it has already been discussed.

      Also just wanted to throw-in a notice about the new credit cap. My wife hit it yesterday, but instead of saying you earned the maximum for the day, it just didn’t roll the numbers into the bottom meter/tally (hope this makes sense). Not sure what the number of credits earned for the day was, but maybe next weekend we’ll keep track of it.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        The Dive Bomber achievement has to be done on an Anniversary map ONLY. All of the new achievements can only be done on certain maps – Anniversary maps for those marked ‘Anniversary’, Defiant maps for those marked ‘Defiant’.

        You also need to be jetpacking whilst hitting melee. Easiest way is to press RB just after you start pressing LB.

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        Thanks for the response Scruff.

        I was in a playlist where Solitary came up a couple of times. I wasn’t the party leader so I’m not sure if it was Anniversary, but I’m pretty sure I did the action once on Solitary and again on another ‘anniversary’ map (maybe Beaver Creek, if not Solitary). Both times I got a beat down & firebird at the same time, but no achievement. I’ll keep trying, but I just want to see if that was one of the eligible maps, and maybe get some feedback on which playlist I should play to give me the best chance for it.

        You may check out my game history to see which games I got the firebirds and beatdowns on. My gamer tag is in the parentheses.

      • Dogmeat says:

        I’ve read that the beatdown has to be from behind (but not a lengthy/fancy assassination). Therefore, you get the ninja-looking medal and firebird simultaneously to pop the cheevo. I’ll have to try this suggestion out as I FINALLY got Halo:CEA tonight! Hooray! 🙂

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Troy – I’ve been through your game history and I couldn’t find a ‘firebird’ medal on any of them. It’s possible that firebirds don’t show up on post-game reports on b.net though…

        But you were in the right playlist, if that helps. Anything in an Anniversary playlist will be right. You have to be firing the jetpack while you go for the beatdown, which is meleeing them in the back without performing an assassination. When you get behind someone, press and hold LB, then immediately tap RB, and you should get it.

        If you don’t, then make sure you haven’t already got the achievement and you just didn’t realise. TheOneInYellow knows what I’m talking about 😉

  4. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    My daily and weekly challenges just reset to “not done”, and I’m contemplating whether to do them again or not… for risk of a ban… 😦 oh my nearly 30, 000 credits I could get again…

Leave a Reply

